All problems

Supply disparity · United States

13.4 million residential electricity disconnections in 2024 — the federal standard that would bar cutting power in dangerous weather has been optional since 1978

The United States counted its residential electricity disconnections nationally for the first time in April 2026. The Energy Information Administration published the 2024 Residential Utility Disconnections Report, the first output of Form EIA-112, and it recorded 13,447,935 resi…

Resolution status
not confirmed
Checked
2026-08-08
Evidence type
SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
Outlet
not recorded
Authoring mode
Derived from press reports
Views
26

What is happening?

The United States counted its residential electricity disconnections nationally for the first time in April 2026. The Energy Information Administration published the 2024 Residential Utility Disconnections Report, the first output of Form EIA-112, and it recorded 13,447,935 residential electricity disconnections for nonpayment during calendar year 2024 against 143,033,986 residential electricity accounts — a national rate of 9.4 disconnection events per 100 accounts. The form is a census of every utility on the federal electric and gas reporting frames rather than a sample, with a weighted response rate of 93.5 percent on the electricity side.

The unit has to be read carefully, because the number invites a misreading. EIA states that a single customer account may receive more than one final notice, disconnection or reconnection within one calendar year. This is a count of events, and it is not a count of households that lost power.

No federal rule governs the act being counted. Section 201(b)(1) of the Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. 824(b)(1), confines federal jurisdiction to interstate transmission and wholesale sales and states that the subchapter does not apply to any other sale of electric energy and that the federal commission has no jurisdiction over facilities used in local distribution. The Congressional Research Service put the consequence plainly in a report dated 2023-01-31 — current law and policy give state and local regulators essentially all authority over disconnection policies and practices.

A federal standard nevertheless exists, and it has existed since 1978-11-09. PURPA wrote federal standard number four, procedures for termination, at 16 U.S.C. 2623(b)(4), and filled it out at 16 U.S.C. 2625(g) with reasonable prior notice, notice of rights and remedies, a reasonable opportunity to dispute, express provision for elderly and handicapped consumers, and no termination during periods a state regulatory authority finds especially dangerous to health where the consumer shows inability to pay. But 16 U.S.C. 2623(a) required only that each state regulatory authority and each nonregulated utility hold a hearing within two years and determine whether to adopt the standard. The floor was drafted, handed to the states as a question, and the two-year window closed around 1980.

The result is visible in the 2024 federal data. Oklahoma recorded 30.4 disconnection events per 100 residential electricity accounts, Texas 23.6 and Florida 20.6, against 1.9 in Massachusetts and 1.2 in Wyoming — a spread of about 24 times between the highest state and the lowest.

Whose problem is this?

RoleWho
AffectedResidential electricity customers behind on a bill. 13.4 million disconnection events in 2024, concentrated in states without weather protection and among customers of municipal utilities and rural cooperatives
Raised byA university-based research group, which built the only published state-by-state policy inventory · a national association of state energy-assistance directors and a national low-income housing advocacy organization · the sponsors of H.R. 2486 · EIA itself, which now publishes the count
DecidesThe 50 state regulatory commissions and the legislatures behind them, which hold the disconnection authority · Congress, which alone can make the 1978 standard mandatory · municipal and cooperative utility boards, which sit outside most commission rules
Bears the costHouseholds that lose service, and those that avoid losing it by going without food, medicine or safe indoor temperature · LIHEAP, which reached 18 percent of income-eligible households in 2023 · utilities carrying over USD 21 billion in residential arrears as of September 2024

The body that could level the map is the one body that decided in 1978 not to. Every actor with authority over the act itself is a state actor, and no state actor has authority over any other state.

Where does this problem end?

AxisThis is the problemThis is not the problem
WhatThe absence of any binding national floor on residential electricity disconnection, and the resulting variation in whether a household is protected during dangerous weatherWhether utilities should be paid is not in dispute here, and neither is the design of any particular state rule. Natural gas disconnections are counted separately and are not merged into this frame
WhoResidential electricity customers under state jurisdictionCommercial and industrial disconnection is outside this frame
WhereThe United States and its 50 states plus the District of ColumbiaDisconnection rules in other countries were not examined
When1978 through 2026-08-08, with the quantitative window fixed at calendar year 2024The pre-1978 history of state termination rules was not examined
Scale13.4 million disconnection events in 2024 · 9.4 events per 100 accounts nationallyDelivered fuels such as heating oil and propane have no disconnection to prohibit and are not in the count

The boundary matters here because the rule already exists in federal text and only the obligation to apply it is missing. That is a different problem from one where nobody has written the rule.

What is the state now, and what should it be?

Now

IndicatorValueAs of
Binding federal disconnection standard in forcenone2026-08-08
Federal termination standard on the books16 U.S.C. 2623(b)(4) and 2625(g), adoption left to each stateenacted 1978-11-09
Residential electricity disconnections for nonpayment13,447,935calendar year 2024
Residential electricity accounts143,033,986calendar year 2024
National rate9.4 disconnection events per 100 accountscalendar year 2024
Residential electricity final notices94.9 millioncalendar year 2024
Residential electricity reconnections11.4 millioncalendar year 2024
Highest and lowest state ratesOklahoma 30.4 · Wyoming 1.2, a spread of about 24 timescalendar year 2024
States with cold-weather protection41 by the only inventory that publishes its method · 43 on the same dashboard as updatedJune 2023 · Spring 2026
States with hot-weather protection20 by that inventory · 25 on the updated dashboardJune 2023 · Spring 2026
States with no weather protection of any kindseven — Alaska, Florida, Hawaii, Nebraska, North Dakota, Tennessee, UtahJune 2023
Disconnection rate by utility ownershipmunicipal 12.3 · cooperative 7.8 · investor-owned 6.3 per 100 customerscalendar year 2024
Households receiving a disconnect or delivery stop notice16.19 million of 132.54 million, 12.2 percent, up from 10.0 percent2024 preliminary · 2020 final
Residential utility arrearsover USD 21 billion, with over 21 million households in debt to an electric utilitySeptember 2024

Needs a new measurementthe target state: no source opened here names a target disconnection rate, an acceptable rate, or a threshold at which anything would trigger. The United States now publishes a national disconnection rate to two decimal places with no stated intent to read it against. The 1978 standard describes a floor in words rather than in numbers, and no opened source reports how many states adopted it or what rate it was meant to produce.

How big is it?

About 6.7 million to 13.4 million residential electricity accounts, for calendar year 2024. The upper bound is the census count itself, 13,447,935 disconnection events, and it is a ceiling on distinct accounts because repeats can only lower the account figure and never raise it. The lower bound is not published by anyone. EIA holds the number of distinct accounts disconnected at least once and does not report it, so the floor here rests on an assumption of two events per affected account, chosen to show the width of the interval rather than derived from any source.

The width of that interval is a publication choice rather than a sampling problem. The census is essentially complete, and the gap between the two bounds is entirely the distance between events and households.

A second and fully source-backed anchor measures who lacks the floor at all. The seven states found in June 2023 to have no weather-based protection of any kind held 17,057,411 residential electricity accounts in 2024, about 11.9 percent of the national total. That figure mixes two reference dates, a 2023 policy status against 2024 account counts, and the mixture is stated rather than smoothed. The corresponding number for the summer-only gap cannot be produced, because no opened source publishes the list of states that lack hot-weather protection.

A separate household-denominated measure exists and answers a different question. The residential energy consumption survey found 16.19 million of 132.54 million households, 12.2 percent, received a disconnect or delivery stop notice in 2024. That survey asks about notices and never asks whether service was actually cut.

Under what conditions does it arise?

1. Retail service was placed outside federal reach by design. The Federal Power Act confines the federal commission to interstate transmission and wholesale sales and excludes local distribution facilities. The agency that regulates electricity nationally has no authority over the act in question, and that is the architecture rather than an oversight.

2. The one federal standard that speaks to the act was written as a question. PURPA required each state to hold a hearing within two years and determine whether to adopt the termination standard. A consider-and-determine statute produces 50 answers to one question, frozen at the moment each state answered, with no mechanism to ask again.

3. The protection map and the weather map have drifted apart. Heat-related deaths in the United States totaled 21,518 between 1999 and 2023, rising from 1,069 in 1999 to 2,325 in 2023, with the age-adjusted rate up 63 percent and the annual increase running at 16.8 percent from 2016 through 2023. Billion-dollar winter disasters rose from 31 in the two decades to 2004 to 73 in the two decades to 2024. Summer protection remains the minority column in every inventory.

4. Whole classes of provider sit outside the state rules themselves. Moratoria bind commission-regulated companies. In the 2024 federal data municipal utilities disconnected at 12.3 per 100 customers and cooperatives at 7.8, against 6.3 for investor-owned utilities, and large municipal systems reached 16.4 per 100.

5. Arrears grew faster than assistance. Residential utility arrears passed USD 21 billion by September 2024, roughly one household in six or seven was behind on an electric or gas bill, and LIHEAP reached 18 percent of income-eligible households in 2023 with under 3 percent of income-eligible households receiving cooling help in FY2023.

What has been tried?

AttemptBy whomWhat was doneWhen
Federal termination standard, made optionalCongress, through PURPAWrote notice, dispute and dangerous-weather protections into 16 U.S.C. 2625(g), then required only that each state hold a hearing and decide whether to adopt themenacted 1978-11-09
Near-national floor during the pandemicStates and utilitiesAbout 88 percent of residential electricity customers were temporarily protected by state moratoria or voluntary practice in early 2020; nearly all had expired by the end of 20212020 to 2021
A state adopting a summer rule after a deathArizona Corporation CommissionApproved emergency rules barring most Arizona electric utilities from disconnecting late-paying customers between June 1 and October 15, after a 2018 death that followed a summer disconnection2019-06-20
Buying the measurementCongress, through P.L. 117-328Directed up to USD 3 million for a monthly survey of final notices, disconnections and reconnections; Form EIA-112 was approved 2024-10-15, collected through 2025, and published April 20262023 to 2026
Building the policy inventoryA university-based research groupReviewed statutes and administrative code in all 50 states and the District of Columbia and recommended that the federal government consider national standardsJune 2023
Federal legislation through the spending powerRepresentative A and cosponsors, H.R. 2486Would lift the LIHEAP authorization ceiling, define extreme heat and extreme cold as crisis triggers, condition assistance on state assurances, require states to assess and adapt shutoff policies, and require standardized arrears reportingintroduced 2025-03-31
Proposed elimination of the assistance programThe FY2026 budget proposalProposed ending LIHEAP, about USD 4 billion serving roughly 6 million households, on the stated ground that states already have policies preventing disconnectionMay 2025
Loss of the program staffDepartment of Health and Human ServicesThe entire federal LIHEAP staff of 23 was terminated within a wider reduction, with USD 378 million of appropriated funds still unreleased to states2025-04-01
Rejection of the eliminationCongressAppropriated USD 4.045 billion for LIHEAP in FY2026, a USD 20 million increase, after releasing the final USD 401.5 million of FY2025 on 2025-04-30FY2026

Two of these are the whole story in miniature. The one time a near-national floor existed it was built in months and dismantled in months, and no federal instrument was created to retain any part of it. The one time Congress finally moved, it moved the measuring instrument and not the rule.

What was found?

FindingObserved valueEvidence grade
Federal jurisdiction over retail disconnectionnone; authority sits with state and local regulatorshigh — statute text plus a Congressional Research Service report
A federal termination standard exists in the codeyes, since 1978, adoption left to each statehigh — two sections of the code read directly
States that adopted the 1978 standardnot reported by anyonelow — no opened source counts it
Residential electricity disconnections, 202413,447,935 events against 143,033,986 accountshigh — federal census with 93.5 percent weighted response
National rate, 20249.4 disconnection events per 100 accountshigh — counts route, cross-checked at 9.41 against the published monthly rates
Spread between states, 2024Oklahoma 30.4 against Wyoming 1.2, about 24 timeshigh — computed from two tables of the same report
Summer contrast between two hot states, June to September 2024Arizona 0.16 against Florida 6.51 events per 100 accountsmedium — arithmetic is firm, attribution is not; this is a contrast and not a causal estimate
Disconnection rate by ownership class, 2024municipal 12.3 · cooperative 7.8 · investor-owned 6.3 per 100medium — one independent analysis of the federal microdata; the federal report publishes no ownership split
States with cold and hot weather protection41 and 20 in June 2023 · 40 and 21 in March 2025 · 43 and 25 in Spring 2026medium — three sources, three counting rules, one direction
Households receiving a disconnect or delivery stop notice10.0 percent in 2020 rising to 12.2 percent in 2024high — the same survey table in two rounds
Disconnection rate by race of householdernot reported by any opened sourcelow — the federal census carries no demographics and the demographic survey asks only about notices
Annual disconnection share used before the censusabout 1 percent of households, against 9.4 events per 100 accounts measuredlow — the older figure has no readable derivation and no source reconciles the two
Reported disconnections before the censusnearly 3 million in 2022, described by the same researchers as a drastic underestimatemedium — a measurement artifact against the 2024 census, not a surge
Residential arrearsover USD 21 billion, over 21 million households in electric-utility debtmedium — legislative findings and an assistance-directors note, same order
Effect of moratoria on pandemic outcomesinfections lower by 4.4 percent and mortality lower by 7.4 percentmedium — a single working paper, scoped to pandemic-era moratoria and pandemic mortality only

Why is it still unsolved?

Supply disparity — the same household need meets a different rule at every state line and at every change of provider class, and no procedure exists to level it.

The first movement is jurisdictional and deliberate. In 1935 the Federal Power Act put retail service outside federal reach, and in 1978 Congress wrote the termination standard anyway and then declined to require it. What 16 U.S.C. 2623(a) asked of each state was a determination, not compliance. A statute of that shape does not produce a floor; it produces a map. The two-year window closed around 1980, the answers were never re-collected, and the map has been carried forward for 46 years while the weather it was answering has changed. Heat-related deaths rose 117 percent between 1999 and 2023 and the sharpest part of that rise came after 2016, entirely outside the window in which any state was asked the question.

The second movement is that the disparity nests inside itself. A household inside a protected state can still be outside the protection in four ways, and each of them is invisible in the national count. Municipal utilities and rural cooperatives are generally outside state commission jurisdiction, and in 2024 they disconnected at roughly twice the investor-owned rate. Delivered fuels have no disconnection to prohibit, because the supplier simply does not deliver and no form records it. Pay-in-advance lapses are excluded from the federal definition, so the households whose service ends most quietly are the ones the count is built not to see. Tenants can lose service for a nonpayment that is not theirs, under notice periods that in some states are shorter than the ones customers get. The least-covered providers cut the most, and the least-covered households are the least counted.

The third movement is the inversion that keeps the pattern stable. In May 2025 a federal budget proposal argued for ending the assistance program on the ground that states already have policies preventing disconnection. The unevenness that is the problem was offered as the reason no federal action is needed. The premise is testable and no one on either side tested it, because the one measurement that would settle it — the share of households covered by an enforceable protection at the moment the temperature crosses a threshold — is not produced by any body in the country. Meanwhile the route by which a protection actually gets adopted runs through a single death that becomes newsworthy inside a single state, as it did in Arizona in 2019. There is no route by which the same fact changes the rule in Florida, Texas or Oklahoma.

What observation would mean it is solved?

Candidates — (a) a binding national minimum takes effect, whether by making the 1978 standard mandatory or by new statute, with a stated effective date (b) the spread between the highest and lowest state disconnection rates narrows over several years (c) the disconnection rate falls in the states and provider classes that currently sit outside protection.

(a) alone is weaker than it looks. The 1978 text shows how a fully drafted floor can sit in the code for 46 years without binding anyone. A mandatory version could still leave municipal utilities, cooperatives, delivered fuels and pay-in-advance customers outside its reach, and every one of those exclusions already exists inside state rules today. A national minimum that inherits the existing carve-outs would change the map and not the holes in it.

(b) alone measures the wrong thing. Convergence can come from protected states getting worse as easily as from unprotected states getting better, and the national rate moves with arrears, weather and utility practice at the same time. The spread also depends on a unit that is not the one readers assume, because these are events per 100 accounts and not households cut off.

(c) alone counts what the instrument can see. The federal census excludes pay-in-advance lapses by definition, records no duration between a disconnection and a reconnection, and carries no demographic breakdown at any level. A rate that falls while prepay adoption rises would look like progress and might not be any. The three have to be read together, and all three have to be read against the fact that no source anywhere states what rate would be acceptable.

What is it connected to?

Fills with researchwater and telecommunications shutoffs under the same state regulatory structure, prepaid electricity markets and their growth, landlord and tenant utility law, energy burden and housing cost, and disconnection rules in other countries. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.

What these sources do not say

  • Whether any state adopted the 1978 federal standard. The termination standard is live in the United States Code. No opened source says how many state regulatory authorities adopted it, how many declined, or whether any has revisited its determination in the 46 years since. The statute that most nearly answers this problem is tracked by nobody who writes about this problem.
  • What the measurement was for. Congress directed up to USD 3 million and three years of work to produce the national count, and not one opened source names a federal body empowered to act on the result. The data gap identified in January 2023 is now closed, and no source states what policymaking followed.
  • What an acceptable rate would be. Not the statistical agency, not the research service, not the policy inventory, not the pending bill, not the assistance directors. There is no target, no threshold and no trigger anywhere in the opened record.
  • How long anyone was without power. The federal report counts 13.4 million disconnections and 11.4 million reconnections and publishes no elapsed time between them. A two-hour lapse and a six-month one are the same row, and the residual of about 2.0 million between the two counts is not explained.
  • How large the pay-in-advance population is. The federal form excludes those lapses from the definition of a disconnection, and where utilities reported them anyway the values were imputed. No opened source estimates how many residential accounts are prepay or how often they lapse, and prepay is concentrated in exactly the high-rate states.
  • The disconnection rate by race, income, age or disability. The federal census carries no demographic breakdown at any level, and the household survey that carries all of them asks only whether a notice was received. The most cited disparity in this field is a disparity in warnings, not in outcomes.
  • What share of households the protections actually cover. Moratoria bind commission-regulated companies and not municipal utilities, cooperatives or delivered fuels. Nobody states what share of households that excludes, even now that the ownership split is computable from the federal data.
  • What happens after reconnection. Reconnection fees, deposits and the arrears that survive a moratorium are named as the reason a moratorium defers rather than forgives, and no opened source quantifies the cost of getting back on.

See the evidence

ItemSourceConfirmation
First national census of residential disconnections — 13,447,935 electricity disconnections, 94.9 million final notices, 11.4 million reconnections against 143,033,986 accounts in 2024 · state counts and monthly rates · pay-in-advance lapses excluded by definition · gas and electricity must not be summed · mandated by P.L. 117-328 with up to USD 3 millionUS Energy Information Administration, 2024 Residential Utility Disconnections Report, Form EIA-112 (April 2026)2026-08-08
Federal law leaves essentially all disconnection authority to state and local regulators · about 88 percent of residential electricity customers temporarily protected in early 2020 and nearly all moratoria expired by the end of 2021 · about 1 percent of households estimated disconnected annually · comprehensive national data did not then existCongressional Research Service R47417, Electric Utility Disconnections (2023-01-31), via EveryCRSReport2026-08-08
Federal Power Act Section 201(b)(1) — federal jurisdiction reaches interstate transmission and wholesale sales, does not apply to any other sale of electric energy, and does not extend to facilities used in local distribution16 U.S.C. 824(b)(1), Cornell Legal Information Institute2026-08-08
PURPA federal standard number four, procedures for termination, and the consider-and-determine obligation that left adoption to each state regulatory authority and each nonregulated utility within two years16 U.S.C. 2623, Cornell Legal Information Institute2026-08-08
Content of the 1978 termination standard — prior notice with rights and remedies, a reasonable opportunity to dispute, no termination during periods especially dangerous to health where the consumer shows inability to pay, and express provision for elderly and handicapped consumers16 U.S.C. 2625(g), Cornell Legal Information Institute2026-08-08
State protection inventory as of June 2023 — 41 states with cold-weather protection, 20 with hot-weather, seven with none of any kind, four protecting households with young children · nearly 3 million reported disconnections in 2022 described as a drastic underestimate · recommendation that the federal government consider national standardsEnergy Justice Lab, Indiana University — Researchers B, C and D, Electric Utility Disconnections, Legal Protections and Policy Recommendations (June 2023)2026-08-08
Policy counts as of Spring 2026 — 43 states protecting during winter or extreme cold, 25 during summer or severe heat, four protecting households with young childrenEnergy Justice Lab, Indiana University — Utility Disconnections Dashboard 2.02026-08-08
Legislative findings — 10 states with no winter and 29 with no summer shutoff protection as of March 2025 · LIHEAP reached 18 percent of income-eligible households in 2023 and under 3 percent received cooling help in FY2023 · arrears over USD 21 billion with over 21 million households in electric-utility debt · the bill creates no federal disconnection prohibitionH.R. 2486, Heating and Cooling Relief Act, 119th Congress, introduced 2025-03-312026-08-08
FY2026 budget proposal to eliminate LIHEAP on the stated ground that states already have policies preventing disconnection, and the rebuttal that moratoria only defer payment and bind only regulated companies rather than municipal utilities, cooperatives or delivered fuels · arrears about USD 21 billion, one household in six behindNational Energy Assistance Directors Association, note on the FY2026 budget proposal (May 2025)2026-08-08
LIHEAP appropriated USD 4.045 billion for FY2026, a USD 20 million increase · final USD 401.5 million of FY2025 released 2025-04-30 · program serves about 6 million householdsNational Energy Assistance Directors Association, note on the FY2026 outcome2026-08-08
Termination of the entire federal LIHEAP staff of 23 on 2025-04-01 within a wider reduction, with USD 378 million of appropriated funds still unreleased to statesNational Low Income Housing Coalition (2025-04-07)2026-08-08
Utility-level analysis of the federal microdata — municipal utilities 12.3, cooperatives 7.8 and investor-owned utilities 6.3 disconnections per 100 customers in 2024 · large municipals 16.4 · Texas and Oklahoma do not require public disconnection reporting to state regulatorsEnergy and Policy Institute — Researchers E, F and G (2026-06-22)2026-08-08
Household energy insecurity in 2024 — 132.54 million households, 43.56 million with any energy insecurity, 16.19 million receiving a disconnect or delivery stop notice, 8.16 million unable to use air-conditioning equipment; the survey asks about notices and never about disconnectionUS Energy Information Administration, RECS 2024 Table HC11.1, preliminary release March 20262026-08-08
The 2020 baseline for the same table — 123.53 million households, 33.58 million with any energy insecurity, 12.36 million receiving a disconnect notice, 6.35 million unable to use air-conditioning equipmentUS Energy Information Administration, RECS 2020 Table HC11.1, final release August 20252026-08-08
Arizona Corporation Commission emergency rules of 2019-06-20 barring most Arizona electric utilities from disconnecting late-paying customers between June 1 and October 15, adopted after a 2018 death that followed a summer disconnectionArizona Daily Independent (2019-06-20)2026-08-08
Heat-related mortality trend — 21,518 deaths between 1999 and 2023, rising from 1,069 to 2,325, age-adjusted rate up 63 percent, annual increase of 16.8 percent from 2016 through 2023JAMA — Researcher H and others, Trends of Heat-Related Deaths in the US, 1999-2023 (published online 2024-08-26)2026-08-08
Causal estimate scoped to pandemic-era moratoria and pandemic outcomes — disconnection moratoria reduced infections by 4.4 percent and mortality by 7.4 percent, with national adoption estimated at 8.7 and 14.8 percentNBER Working Paper 28394 — Researcher I and others (January 2021)2026-08-08
The full CRS R47417 text with its table of disconnections by race of householder and its figure of state disconnection policiesCongressional Research Service via crsreports.congress.govURL not confirmed: HTTP 403 Forbidden, and the mirror that opened serves a truncated rendering with the tables and figures omitted
State-by-state cold-weather and hot-weather disconnection policy tables, the canonical federal-adjacent inventoryLIHEAP Clearinghouse, HHS Office of Community ServicesURL not confirmed: the host redirected and the redirect target failed TLS certificate verification
Peer-reviewed analysis of whether state disconnection protections reduce the incidence of energy insecurityCell Press, iScience (2023)URL not confirmed: HTTP 403 Forbidden
Wire-service and metropolitan reporting on the 2019 Arizona summer rule and its later permanent formAssociated Press and azcentral.comURL not confirmed: both hosts are blocked for the fetch tool used in this round

One primary federal dataset was read directly and it carries most of this document. The EIA-112 report was opened as a PDF and every national and state figure here is computed from its own tables, with the counts route cross-checked against its published monthly rates at 9.41 against 9.40. The three sections of the United States Code were read directly and are the only primary legal texts here, and the bill text of H.R. 2486 was read in full specifically to check whether it contains a disconnection prohibition; it does not, and a third-party headline claiming otherwise is not supported by the text. Everything else is secondary. Where sources disagree the disagreement is left visible rather than resolved. The count of protecting states is 41 and 20 in an inventory that publishes its method, 40 and 21 in a legislative finding that does not, and 43 and 25 on a later dashboard, and none of the three reconciles with the others. The older working figure of about 1 percent of households disconnected annually cannot be squared with 9.4 events per 100 accounts, and no opened source attempts it. The move from nearly 3 million reported disconnections in 2022 to 13.4 million in the 2024 census is a change in measurement rather than a change in conditions, and it is recorded here as such. Two figures were sought in this round and could not be reproduced from anything opened, so neither appears anywhere above — a single settled count of states barring disconnection during extreme weather, and annual disconnection rates broken out by race of householder. The utility-ownership rates rest on a single independent analysis, since the federal report publishes no ownership breakdown. The Arizona and Florida summer contrast is arithmetic on the federal tables and is not a causal estimate, and the one causal estimate cited here is scoped to pandemic-era moratoria and pandemic mortality and must not be read onto heat. This is a Path A output (research-based definition), so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.

This table holds 21 evidence rows, 17 of which carry a source you can open · 11 distinct sources. How this table is made

People affected

Estimated range 6,723,96813,447,935 As of 2024

Derivation chain

TermValueSourceAssumption
Residential electricity disconnections for nonpayment reported on Form EIA-112 for calendar year 2024, a census of every utility on the federal electric and gas reporting frames with a weighted response rate of 93.5 percent and regression imputation for the remainder13,447,935US Energy Information Administration, 2024 Residential Utility Disconnections Report, April 2026EIA states that a single customer account may be disconnected more than once in a calendar year, so this is a count of events rather than of accounts. Repeat events can only lower the number of distinct accounts and never raise it, which makes the event count a source-backed ceiling and fixes the high bound.
Distinct residential electricity accounts disconnected at least once in 2024, if each affected account averaged two disconnection events over the year6,723,968arithmetic on the same EIA-112 total; the divisor is published by no sourceThe divisor of two is an assumption and not a derivation. EIA holds the number of distinct accounts disconnected at least once and does not publish it, and no opened source reports the repeat frequency, so the floor is chosen to show the width of the interval rather than to estimate the value. A divisor of one collapses the interval onto the ceiling and a larger divisor lowers the floor further, and nothing opened in this round can decide between them.

Sensitivity The width of this interval is not statistical uncertainty. The underlying collection is a census rather than a sample, essentially complete at 93.5 percent weighted response with the remainder imputed, so the distance between the two bounds is entirely the distance between disconnection events and distinct accounts, which is a publication choice rather than a sampling problem. Neither bound is a count of households. What the figure fails to count runs in one direction only, and every omission is stated by the sources themselves: pay-in-advance lapses are excluded from the federal definition of a disconnection and their size is unknown, delivered fuels such as heating oil and propane have no disconnection to prohibit and are recorded nowhere, tenants who lose service for a nonpayment that is not theirs are counted by nobody at national scale, and the 1.7 million residential natural gas disconnections of the same year cannot be added because EIA warns of significant overlap between the two customer populations. The limit in the opposite direction is that the count captures only households whose service actually ended, while a much larger group avoids that outcome by going without. In the same period 17.55 million households reported leaving the home at an unhealthy temperature and 32.89 million reported reducing or forgoing food or medicine to pay energy costs, and none of them appear in any disconnection count. Duration is also absent, so a lapse of two hours and a lapse of six months are the same row. A separate and fully source-backed exposure figure sits alongside this interval and answers a different question: the seven states found in June 2023 to have no weather-based disconnection protection of any kind held 17,057,411 residential electricity accounts in 2024, about 11.9 percent of the national total, a figure that mixes a 2023 policy status with 2024 account counts.

Regional breakdown State-level disconnection figures do exist in the federal report and are used in the dossier, but they are event counts on the same basis as the national total, not counts of distinct accounts. Converting them would require the same repeat frequency that EIA does not publish, and there is no reason to assume that frequency is uniform across states, since the states with the highest rates are also the states with the least state-level reporting and the greatest exposure to pay-in-advance service, which the federal definition excludes. A regional breakdown built on a divisor assumed constant across states would carry a precision the sources do not support.

What is missing 2

Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.

1Fills with researchThe material exists. We simply have not looked yet.
  • Section
    What is it connected to?

    water and telecommunications shutoffs under the same state regulatory structure, prepaid electricity markets and their growth, landlord and tenant utility law, energy burden and housing cost, and disconnection rules in other countries. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.

    Fills with research
1Needs a new measurementNo published source carries this value. Someone has to count it.
  • Section
    What is the state now, and what should it be?

    the target state: no source opened here names a target disconnection rate, an acceptable rate, or a threshold at which anything would trigger. The United States now publishes a national disconnection rate to two decimal places with no stated intent to read it against. The 1978 standard describes a floor in words rather than in numbers, and no opened source reports how many states adopted it or what rate it was meant to produce.

    Needs a new measurement

Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page

Comments

Total comments
0

The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.

The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.

You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.

The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.

You must be signed in to comment.

You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.

This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.

No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.

You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.

Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.

Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page

No comments yet.