Institutional exemption · United States
Four US territories are outside SSI by federal statute as of 2026 — American Samoa has no replacement benefit at all, and the Supreme Court held the exclusion constitutional in 2022
Supplemental Security Income, known as SSI, is the federal cash benefit for aged, blind and disabled people with almost no income and almost no assets, and it does not reach four US territories. The Social Security Advisory Board stated in its 2025 statement on the program that …
- Resolution status
- not confirmed
- Checked
- 2026-09-18
- Evidence type
- SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
- Outlet
- ssab-ssi-statement
- Authoring mode
- Derived from press reports
- Views
- 1
What is happening?
Supplemental Security Income, known as SSI, is the federal cash benefit for aged, blind and disabled people with almost no income and almost no assets, and it does not reach four US territories. The Social Security Advisory Board stated in its 2025 statement on the program that American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands are outside SSI, and that a person who spends a full calendar month in any of the four cannot receive the benefit for that month. Residents of the Northern Mariana Islands are inside the program, treated the same as residents of the 50 states and the District of Columbia.
Three of the four excluded territories — Guam, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands — receive a federal block grant for Aid to the Aged, Blind, and Disabled instead. American Samoa receives neither.
The replacement is not equivalent in size. As of June 2022 reporting, monthly payments under that block grant in Puerto Rico were 80 dollars in the aged category, 128 dollars for blind recipients and 80 dollars for disabled adults. The federal maximum payment at the same time was 841 dollars a month for an individual and 1,261 dollars for a couple. The federal maximum is adjusted each year for the cost of living and reaches 994 dollars for an individual in 2026 after a 2.8 percent adjustment. The opened sources describe the block grant as a capped statutory amount rather than one that tracks prices, and none of them states the amount of that cap or the year it was fixed.
On 2022-04-21 the Supreme Court decided United States v. Vaello Madero and held that excluding residents of Puerto Rico from SSI does not violate the equal protection component of the Fifth Amendment. The case arose after the federal government sought to recover payments made to a recipient who had moved from a state to Puerto Rico. The majority opinion treated the fact that residents of Puerto Rico are exempt from most federal income, gift, estate and excise taxes as a rational basis for the different treatment. The sole dissent argued that recipients of this benefit have incomes low enough that they would owe little or no federal income tax wherever they lived, so that the tax rationale does not reach this program.
Whose problem is this?
| Role | Who |
|---|---|
| Affected | Aged, blind and disabled residents of American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands. In Puerto Rico alone the estimated number who would qualify if the program applied is 435,886 to 455,200, against 30,207 people actually receiving the block grant benefit as of 2022 reporting |
| Raised by | The recipient who litigated the 2022 case · members of Congress from the excluded territories, who have filed extension bills in successive Congresses · the Social Security Advisory Board, which set out the exclusion in its 2025 statement · a policy research institute in Puerto Rico, which published an eligibility and cost estimate in 2020 |
| Decides | Congress, which writes the statutory definition of the places the program covers · the Supreme Court, which ruled in 2022 that the Constitution does not require the change · the territorial governments, which administer the block grant within a federal ceiling they do not set |
| Bears the cost | Aged, blind and disabled residents of the four territories, who receive a smaller benefit or none · territorial governments and families absorbing what the benefit does not cover · residents of American Samoa, who have no comparable program to fall back on |
The body that can change the statutory definition is Congress, and the court that reviewed the exclusion has already said the Constitution does not require that change.
Where does this problem end?
| Axis | This is the problem | This is not the problem |
|---|---|---|
| What | The statutory exclusion of four territories from the federal benefit, the capped block grant that stands in for it in three of them, and its total absence in the fourth | Whether the benefit rules themselves are set correctly — the asset limit and the income counting rules apply identically to residents of the 50 states and are a separate problem |
| The political status of Puerto Rico — statehood, independence, or the current commonwealth arrangement — is a value question sitting next to this one, and it is not decided or argued here | ||
| The parallel exclusion from the national food assistance program, which runs under a different statute and is only mentioned as context | ||
| Who | Aged, blind and disabled residents of the four excluded territories | Residents of the Northern Mariana Islands, who are inside the program, and residents of the 50 states |
| Where | The four excluded US territories, with Puerto Rico carrying most of the opened evidence | Comparable territorial or overseas benefit arrangements in other countries were not examined |
| When | The position as of 2026-09-18, with the 2022 decision and the 2021 and 2025 bills as the recent record | The legislative history of how each territory came to be included or excluded was not examined |
| Scale | An estimated 435,886 to 455,200 potentially eligible residents in Puerto Rico, and a total resident population of 49,710 in American Samoa as of the 2020 Census | The size of the eligible population in Guam and the US Virgin Islands, which no opened source gives |
The line that creates this problem is a definition in federal law, not a decision made by any territorial government.
What is the state now, and what should it be?
Now
| Indicator | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Places inside the program | the 50 states, the District of Columbia and the Northern Mariana Islands | 2025 board statement |
| Places outside SSI | American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands | 2025 board statement |
| Effect of a full calendar month spent in an excluded territory | no benefit for that month | 2025 board statement |
| Replacement program in Guam, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands | a federal block grant for aid to the aged, blind and disabled | 2025 board statement |
| Replacement program in American Samoa | none | 2025 board statement |
| Monthly block grant payment in Puerto Rico, aged category | 80 dollars | June 2022 reporting |
| Monthly block grant payment in Puerto Rico, blind category | 128 dollars | June 2022 reporting |
| Monthly block grant payment in Puerto Rico, disabled adults | 80 dollars | June 2022 reporting |
| Federal maximum payment, individual | 841 dollars | 2022 |
| Federal maximum payment, couple | 1,261 dollars | 2022 |
| Federal maximum payment, individual | 994 dollars | 2026 |
| Federal maximum payment, couple | 1,491 dollars | 2026 |
| Annual cost-of-living adjustment applied to the federal payment | 2.8 percent | 2026 |
| Indexation of the block grant ceiling | described as a fixed statutory amount; the amount is not stated by any opened source | 2026-09-18 |
| Constitutional challenge to the exclusion | decided against the challenge, 8 to 1 | 2022-04-21 |
| Recipients of the block grant benefit in Puerto Rico | 30,207 | 2022 reporting |
| Block grant benefit spending in Puerto Rico | 23.7 million dollars, with 1.3 million in administration | fiscal year 2017 |
| Bill that would extend the program to the territories | H.R.4814, referred to the Committee on Ways and Means | 2025-07-29 |
Needs a new measurementthe target state: no source opened here names an official target. No statute sets a date by which the exclusion ends, no federal agency names a payment level the territories are meant to reach, and the 2025 board statement describes the exclusion without proposing a schedule for ending it. The pending bill would extend the program to the territories, but a bill referred to committee is a proposal and not a target. Estimates published by policy organizations exist and are not substituted here for an official one, because an advocacy estimate is a position rather than a standard the government has set for itself.
How big is it?
435,886 to 455,200 residents of Puerto Rico are estimated to qualify for the federal benefit if it applied there. The lower end rests on a 2018 survey basis and the upper end on a 2020 Census basis, and the two were produced by different organizations using different methods, so the interval is a spread between two estimates rather than a margin of error around one.
The figures above describe Puerto Rico only, so they form a floor for the four excluded territories rather than a total. No source opened here gives an eligible population for Guam or the US Virgin Islands. For American Samoa the only figure available is the total resident population, 49,710 in the 2020 Census, down 10.5 percent from 2010. That is a headcount of everyone on the islands and not an estimate of who would qualify, so it is reported here as a ceiling on the population with no comparable program rather than added into the interval.
Against the estimated eligible population in Puerto Rico, 30,207 people were receiving the block grant benefit as of 2022 reporting, and benefit spending in fiscal year 2017 was 23.7 million dollars. No opened source reconciles the number receiving the replacement benefit with the number estimated to qualify for the federal one, and the two counts rest on different definitions of eligibility.
Under what conditions does it arise?
1. The exclusion sits in the definition of where the program applies. The statutory definition places the 50 states, the District of Columbia and the Northern Mariana Islands inside and leaves the other four territories outside. A program that is defined by a list of places cannot be extended by the agency that administers it.
2. The replacement is a ceiling, not a schedule. The federal payment is a per-person amount adjusted every year for the cost of living, and it reached 994 dollars for an individual in 2026. The block grant is a fixed federal contribution divided among recipients by the territory, which is why a monthly payment of 80 dollars in Puerto Rico in 2022 sits alongside a federal maximum payment of 841 dollars a month in that same year.
3. The constitutional route has been tried and closed. After the 2022 decision, a challenge on the same equal protection ground no longer has a path through the courts, so the remaining route runs through Congress.
4. Extension bills are referred and expire. Two bills filed in the 117th Congress stayed in committee until the Congress ended. A budget reconciliation bill carrying an extension passed the House in November 2021 and was not taken up by the Senate. A bill with the same purpose was filed again in 2025 and referred to committee.
5. The people affected are counted as an estimate rather than as a caseload. Because the program does not operate in the four territories, there is no application file, no denial rate and no waiting list to measure. The size of the gap has to be modeled from survey data, which is why the two available estimates for Puerto Rico differ by nearly twenty thousand people.
What has been tried?
| Attempt | By whom | What was done | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Constitutional litigation | A benefit recipient, against the federal government, in United States v. Vaello Madero | Argued that excluding residents of Puerto Rico denies equal protection under the Fifth Amendment. The Supreme Court decided against the challenge, 8 to 1, and the government position on recovering the payments prevailed | decided 2022-04-21 |
| Extension bill — Territorial Equity Act, S.1228 and H.R.2713 | Members of the 117th Congress | Filed to extend the program to the excluded territories. Remained in committee and expired with the Congress | filed 2021-04-20 |
| Extension bill — Supplemental Security Income Equality Act, H.R.537 | Members of the 117th Congress | Same purpose. Remained in committee and expired with the Congress | filed 2021-01-28 |
| Extension inside a budget reconciliation bill — Build Back Better Act | House majority of the 117th Congress | Carried a provision extending the program. Passed the House and was not taken up by the Senate | passed the House 2021-11 |
| Extension bill refiled — Supplemental Security Income Equality Act, H.R.4814 | Members of the 119th Congress representing the excluded territories | Filed again and referred to the Committee on Ways and Means. No later committee action is reported by any opened source | filed 2025-07-29 |
| Cost estimation | SSA Office of the Chief Actuary | Produced estimates of what extending the program would cost, reported as 2.27 billion dollars a year on a 2020 estimate and 20.7 billion dollars across 2025 through 2034 on an estimate dated 2024-11-08. Neither memorandum could be opened here, and no opened source states the assumptions behind either figure | 2020 and 2024 |
Two routes have been tried and neither has changed the statute. The judicial route ended in 2022 with a decision that the Constitution permits the exclusion, and the legislative route has produced bills in three Congresses that reached committee and stopped there.
What was found?
| Finding | Observed value | Evidence grade |
|---|---|---|
| Four territories are outside SSI | American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands | high — federal advisory board statement opened directly |
| Northern Mariana Islands residents are inside it | yes, on the same terms as state residents | high — same statement |
| A full calendar month in an excluded territory removes the benefit for that month | yes | high — same statement |
| American Samoa has neither the federal program nor the block grant | yes | high — same statement |
| Monthly block grant payments in Puerto Rico | 80 dollars aged, 128 dollars blind, 80 dollars disabled adults | medium — single opened journalism source, not confirmed against a program document |
| Federal maximum payment in 2022 | 841 dollars individual, 1,261 dollars couple | medium — same single opened source |
| Federal maximum payment in 2026 | 994 dollars individual, 1,491 dollars couple, after a 2.8 percent adjustment | medium — single opened legal commentary, not confirmed against an agency page |
| The block grant is capped and does not track the federal payment schedule | yes | medium — described consistently by opened secondary sources, none of which states the cap amount |
| Supreme Court ruling on the exclusion | does not violate equal protection under the Fifth Amendment, decided 2022-04-21 | high — two opened case summaries agree; the slip opinion could not be rendered |
| Vote in that ruling | 8 to 1 | medium — one opened summary |
| Extension bills in the 117th Congress | remained in committee and expired | medium — single opened journalism source |
| Budget reconciliation bill carrying an extension | passed the House in November 2021, not taken up by the Senate | medium — same source |
| Extension bill in the 119th Congress | H.R.4814 filed 2025-07-29 and referred to the Committee on Ways and Means | high — bill text opened |
| Estimated Puerto Rico residents who would qualify | 435,886 on a 2018 survey basis, 455,200 on a 2020 Census basis | medium — two opened secondary sources, different years and methods, neither acknowledging the other |
| Recipients of the block grant benefit in Puerto Rico | 30,207 | medium — single opened journalism source, base year not stated |
| Puerto Rico residents aged 65 and over below the poverty line | more than 256,000 | medium — single opened journalism source, base year not stated |
| Block grant spending in Puerto Rico, fiscal year 2017 | 23.7 million dollars in benefits, 1.3 million in administration | medium — opened publication of a policy research institute |
| American Samoa resident population | 49,710, down 10.5 percent from 2010 | high — Census Bureau release opened directly |
| Cost of extending the program to the territories | reported as 2.27 billion dollars a year on a 2020 estimate and 20.7 billion dollars for 2025 through 2034 on a 2024 estimate | low — figures appear in search result text attributed to the SSA Office of the Chief Actuary; neither memorandum could be opened |
Why is it still unsolved?
Institutional exemption — the people left out are not people the program failed to reach. They are outside the definition of where the program operates, and no amount of administration can move that line.
That distinction decides which remedies are available. When a benefit is underused, the fixes are outreach, simpler forms, more staff. Here every one of those fixes would land on a program that does not run in the four territories at all. The one remedy that matches the mechanism is an amendment to the statute, and the record shows bills filed in three Congresses that were referred to committee and went no further.
The Northern Mariana Islands sit inside the same program, which shows that the line is a specific statutory list rather than a general rule about territories. The same point runs the other way for the replacement benefit: three of the four excluded territories receive a block grant and the fourth receives nothing, so even the compensating arrangement is a list rather than a principle. No opened source sets out a principle that explains which territories are inside and which are outside, or why one of the four excluded ones has no replacement at all.
The second reason the position holds is that the constitutional route closed in 2022. Until then, a court could have required the change without Congress acting. After the decision, the exclusion stands as a matter the Constitution permits, and the dissent recorded the objection that the tax rationale does not fit a benefit paid to people with almost no taxable income. That objection is on the record and it did not carry.
The third reason is that nothing in the process produces a deadline. A bill that is referred to committee and never reported out leaves no formal denial behind, so each Congress starts from the same position as the last one and the filing of a new bill is indistinguishable, from the outside, from progress. Meanwhile the gap widens by arithmetic rather than by decision, because the federal payment rises with the cost of living every year and the block grant ceiling does not.
What observation would mean it is solved?
Candidates — (a) Congress amends the statutory definition so that the four territories are inside the program, with a stated effective date (b) the monthly payment received by aged, blind and disabled residents of the territories reaches the federal schedule (c) the number of people receiving assistance in the territories approaches the number estimated to qualify.
(a) alone is weaker than it looks. An extension can arrive with a phase-in long enough, an eligibility rule narrow enough or an appropriation short enough that the payment on the ground does not move. An extension enacted in one Congress can also be narrowed in a later one, which would turn a solved observation back into an unsolved one without any change in the territories themselves.
(b) alone measures the wrong side of the arithmetic. The federal payment rises every year with the cost of living, so a gap can close because the territory payment rose or because the federal figure was held down. It could also close on paper for a category that few people fall into, which is why the payment for blind recipients being higher than the payment for the aged category in the same territory tells nothing about how many people receive either.
(c) alone counts caseload, not adequacy. Enrolment can rise while the amount per person stays where it was, and the count of people estimated to qualify is itself a model rather than a measurement, with the two available estimates for Puerto Rico differing by nearly twenty thousand people. The three have to be read together, and none of them can be read for Guam or the US Virgin Islands until someone publishes an eligible population for those two territories.
What is it connected to?
Fills with researchthe parallel exclusion from federal food assistance, the wider set of federal programs that treat territories differently, the political status question that sits beside this one, and the treatment of overseas or dependent territories in the social security systems of other countries. Relation type and evidence grade were not established in this round.
What these sources do not say
- The current payment level under the block grant. The most recent figures any opened source gives for Puerto Rico are the June 2022 amounts of 80, 128 and 80 dollars by category. No opened source gives a 2025 or 2026 figure, and none states whether the amounts have changed since.
- The amount of the statutory funding ceiling. Opened secondary sources describe the block grant as capped at a fixed statutory amount set in an earlier fiscal year, and not one of them states what that amount is or names the year. The primary documents that would carry it returned an automated refusal.
- The position in Guam and the US Virgin Islands. No opened source gives a recipient count, a payment level or an estimate of the eligible population for either territory. The opened evidence is concentrated on Puerto Rico, and nothing in it indicates whether the other two figures exist elsewhere.
- Why American Samoa has no block grant. Three of the four excluded territories receive one and American Samoa does not. No opened source explains how that difference arose or when.
- The assumptions behind the cost estimates. The two figures attributed to the SSA Office of the Chief Actuary appear in search result text. Neither memorandum could be opened, and no opened source states whether the estimates account for administrative costs or for people moving between a territory and a state.
- What has happened to the 2025 bill. No opened source reports a hearing, a committee vote or a co-sponsor count for H.R.4814 after its referral on 2025-07-29.
- A current agency position. No source opened here carries a statement from the Social Security Administration responding to the criticism of the exclusion. The reasoning on the public record is the rationale the Supreme Court majority accepted in 2022, which is a court document rather than an agency position, and the dissent in the same case records the objection to it.
See the evidence
| Item | Source | Confirmation |
|---|---|---|
| Structure of the territorial exclusion — four territories outside the program, Northern Mariana Islands inside, a full calendar month in an excluded territory removing the benefit, and American Samoa alone having no replacement block grant | Social Security Advisory Board, 2025 statement on Supplemental Security Income | 2026-09-18 |
| Monthly block grant payments in Puerto Rico by category against the federal maximum payment for an individual and a couple, as of 2022 · 30,207 recipients · more than 256,000 residents aged 65 and over below the poverty line · an estimate of 455,200 potentially eligible | USC Center for Health Journalism, reporting with El Nuevo Día, 2022-06-07 | 2026-09-18 |
| Extension bills in the 117th Congress and the budget reconciliation route — filing dates, committee referral and the outcome of each | USC Center for Health Journalism, 2022-06-07 | 2026-09-18 |
| Holding, date and vote in United States v. Vaello Madero, the rationale in the majority opinion and the objection in the dissent | Harvard Law Review, Volume 136 | 2026-09-18 |
| Case overview, the equal protection question presented and the lower court history | Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute | 2026-09-18 |
| Text of H.R.4814 in the 119th Congress as introduced, with the filing date of 2025-07-29 and referral to the Committee on Ways and Means | US Government Publishing Office, GovInfo | 2026-09-18 |
| Estimate of 435,886 Puerto Rico residents who would qualify, on a 2018 survey basis, and block grant spending of 23.7 million dollars in benefits with 1.3 million in administration for fiscal year 2017 | Center for a New Economy, 2020 | 2026-09-18 |
| Federal maximum payment for 2026 of 994 dollars for an individual and 1,491 dollars for a couple, after a 2.8 percent cost-of-living adjustment from the 2025 figure | Mandelbaum Barrett PC, practice note | 2026-09-18 |
| American Samoa resident population of 49,710 in the 2020 Census, down 10.5 percent from 2010 | US Census Bureau press release, 2021 | 2026-09-18 |
| Full text of the 2022 opinion in United States v. Vaello Madero | Supreme Court of the United States, slip opinion | URL not confirmed: the PDF could not be rendered in this round; the holding is taken from two opened case summaries instead |
| Estimate of the fiscal effect of extending the program to the territories, cumulative for 2025 through 2034, dated 2024-11-08 | SSA Office of the Chief Actuary | URL not confirmed: ssa.gov returned HTTP 403 to automated retrieval |
| Estimate of the annual fiscal effect of extending the program, dated 2020-06-11 | SSA Office of the Chief Actuary | URL not confirmed: ssa.gov returned HTTP 403 to automated retrieval |
| Overview of the block grant program and the statutory ceiling on federal funding fixed in an earlier fiscal year | Center on Budget and Policy Priorities | URL not confirmed: cbpp.org returned HTTP 403 to automated retrieval |
| Legislative status record for H.R.4814 — filing date, committee of referral and co-sponsors | Congress.gov, Library of Congress | URL not confirmed: congress.gov returned HTTP 403 to automated retrieval |
No primary federal document on the benefit itself was read in full. The one federal text opened end to end is the introduced version of H.R.4814, which carries its own filing date and committee referral. The 2025 statement of the Social Security Advisory Board, a federal body, was opened directly and is the source for the structure of the exclusion, and the Census Bureau release was opened directly for the American Samoa population. Everything about payment levels comes from opened journalism and professional commentary that cite program figures rather than from a program document, which is why those rows are graded medium. The slip opinion in the 2022 case could not be rendered, so the holding rests on two opened case summaries that agree with each other. Five rows carry no URL because the hosts returned an automated refusal or the file would not render, and no substitute address was put in their place. Where the opened sources disagree the disagreement is left visible: the two estimates of how many Puerto Rico residents would qualify differ by nearly twenty thousand and rest on different survey years, and neither acknowledges the other. This is a research-based definition, so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.
This table holds 14 evidence rows, 9 of which carry a source you can open · 8 distinct sources. How this table is made
People affected
Estimated range 435,886–455,200 As of 2018 survey basis at the low end and 2020 Census basis at the high end, both reported through 2022
Derivation chain
| Term | Value | Source | Assumption |
|---|---|---|---|
| Puerto Rico residents estimated to qualify for the federal benefit if the program applied there, on a 2018 American Community Survey basis | 435,886 | A policy research institute in Puerto Rico, 2020 publication. Full citation in the evidence table of the dossier. | Low end of the interval. This is a modeled eligibility estimate rather than a caseload, because the program does not operate in the territory and therefore produces no applications to count. It is placed at the low end because its survey base year is the earlier of the two. |
| Puerto Rico residents estimated to qualify for the federal benefit if the program applied there, on a 2020 Census basis | 455,200 | Figure attributed to the 2020 Census and carried in opened journalism dated 2022-06-07. Full citation in the evidence table of the dossier. | High end of the interval. Same quantity as the low end, estimated by a different organization from a different data base year, so the two endpoints are alternative estimates and not a measured spread. |
Sensitivity This interval covers Puerto Rico only, so it is a floor for the four excluded territories and not a total. No source opened here gives an estimate of the eligible population in Guam or in the US Virgin Islands, so those two territories add an unknown amount above the high end. For American Samoa the only available figure is the total resident population, 49,710 in the 2020 Census, and it is deliberately not added here: a headcount of everyone living on the islands is a different quantity from an estimate of who would qualify, and adding it would mix the two. The width of the interval is not a confidence interval. It is the distance between two estimates of the same quantity made by different organizations from different base years, and neither of the two opened sources acknowledges the other or states its counting basis. A separate count runs far below both: 30,207 people were receiving the replacement block grant benefit in Puerto Rico as of 2022 reporting, and no opened source reconciles that number with either eligibility estimate or states whether the two rest on the same definition of eligibility. Both endpoints are also older than the document. No opened source updates either estimate past 2022, so population change in the territory since then is unmeasured here.
Regional breakdown No source opened here gives an eligible population for Guam, the US Virgin Islands or American Samoa, so there is nothing to allocate across the four territories. Splitting a combined figure by resident population would be proportional allocation, and it would be wrong in both directions at once here, because the share of residents who are aged, blind or disabled with almost no income differs by territory and because one of the four has no replacement program at all.
What is missing 2
Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.
- SectionWhat is it connected to?
the parallel exclusion from federal food assistance, the wider set of federal programs that treat territories differently, the political status question that sits beside this one, and the treatment of overseas or dependent territories in the social security systems of other countries. Relation type and evidence grade were not established in this round.
Fills with research
- SectionWhat is the state now, and what should it be?
the target state: no source opened here names an official target. No statute sets a date by which the exclusion ends, no federal agency names a payment level the territories are meant to reach, and the 2025 board statement describes the exclusion without proposing a schedule for ending it. The pending bill would extend the program to the territories, but a bill referred to committee is a proposal and not a target. Estimates published by policy organizations exist and are not substituted here for an official one, because an advocacy estimate is a position rather than a standard the government has set for itself.
Needs a new measurement
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
Comments
The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.
The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.
You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.
The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.
You must be signed in to comment.
You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.
This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.
No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.
You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.
Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
No comments yet.