Institutional gap · United States
No federal limit on restraint and seclusion in schools — 105,700 students were restrained or secluded in one school year
Approximately 105,700 public school students in the United States were physically restrained, mechanically restrained, or placed in seclusion during school year 2021-22. That is the figure the Office for Civil Rights published in January 2025, drawn from 17,704 public school dis…
- Resolution status
- not confirmed
- Checked
- 2026-08-08
- Evidence type
- SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
- Outlet
- not recorded
- Authoring mode
- Derived from press reports
- Views
- 19
What is happening?
Approximately 105,700 public school students in the United States were physically restrained, mechanically restrained, or placed in seclusion during school year 2021-22. That is the figure the Office for Civil Rights published in January 2025, drawn from 17,704 public school districts and 98,010 schools, with 99.9 percent of required submitters certifying their data. As of 2026-08-08 it is still the most recent federal count.
There is no federal law that limits the practice. GAO told a House committee on 2009-05-19 that it found no federal laws restricting the use of restraints and seclusion in public or private schools, and that it could not locate any website, federal agency or other entity collecting information on how often the methods were used. The Department of Education published fifteen principles on 2012-05-15, and the footnote on the first page of that document states that it sets out no new requirements and confers no rights on anyone.
A bill that would set a rule has been filed in every Congress since 2009. The House of Representatives passed H.R. 4247 on 2010-03-03. The Senate never took it up. Sixteen years later the current version, H.R. 6617, was introduced on 2025-12-11 with 32 cosponsors and referred to committee, where it sits as of 2026-08-08.
Inside the school year 2021-22 total: about 68,800 students physically restrained, approximately 8,200 mechanically restrained, and almost 28,700 placed in seclusion. Students served under IDEA were 14 percent of K-12 enrollment that year and 76 percent of those physically restrained.
Whose problem is this?
| Role | Who |
|---|---|
| Affected | Public school students subjected to physical restraint, mechanical restraint or seclusion — about 105,700 in school year 2021-22 · students served under IDEA were 14 percent of enrollment and 76 percent of those physically restrained · Black students were 15 percent of enrollment and 40 percent of those mechanically restrained · boys were 51 percent of enrollment and 80 percent of those restrained or secluded |
| Raised by | GAO, in testimony to the House Committee on Education and Labor in 2009 · disability and civil rights organizations, about 60 of which endorsed the 2025 bill · a nonprofit newsroom and a metropolitan daily, whose 2019 records investigation produced a state emergency order within days |
| Decides | Congress, which alone can enact a binding limit · the Department of Education, which chose guidance over rulemaking in 2012 and administers the count · state legislatures, which have written every binding rule that currently exists |
| Bears the cost | Students and their families, who carry the exposure and can only litigate one case at a time · 17,704 school districts, which would take on training, documentation and annual reporting duties under the bill |
The group carrying the exposure is spread one district at a time, and the group that would carry the compliance duty is organized into permanent national associations.
Where does this problem end?
| Axis | This is the problem | This is not the problem |
|---|---|---|
| What | The absence of any federal instrument that limits restraint and seclusion in schools, and the resulting position that the practice is never unlawful as such | Whether restraint is ever justified — the bill itself would permit physical restraint against imminent danger of serious injury |
| The merits of any particular state law are a separate question | ||
| Who | Students in schools inside the federal civil rights data collection universe | Restraint and seclusion in hospitals, residential treatment and juvenile facilities were not examined here |
| Where | The United States | Practice and regulation in other countries were not examined |
| When | 2009-05-19 GAO testimony through 2026-08-08 | Events before that testimony were not examined |
| Scale | About 105,700 students in school year 2021-22 · one chamber passage in sixteen years | Individual cases and their legal outcomes are outside this frame |
The boundary matters here because the remedy has already been drafted and has already passed one chamber. What is missing is not a diagnosis and not a text but a floor vote and an effective date.
What is the state now, and what should it be?
Now
| Indicator | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Federal law limiting restraint or seclusion in schools | none | 2026-08-08 |
| Binding federal instrument of any kind naming the practice | none — the 2012 department document disclaims new requirements in its own footnote | 2012-05-15 |
| Students physically restrained, mechanically restrained or secluded | approximately 105,700 | school year 2021-22 |
| Students physically restrained | about 68,800 | school year 2021-22 |
| Students mechanically restrained | approximately 8,200 | school year 2021-22 |
| Students placed in seclusion | almost 28,700 | school year 2021-22 |
| Share of those physically restrained served under IDEA | 76 percent, against 14 percent of K-12 enrollment | school year 2021-22 |
| Most recent published federal count | school year 2021-22, published January 2025 | 2026-08-08 |
| Districts reporting zero incidents | 70 percent | school year 2015-16 |
| Federal quality check applied to those reports | fewer than 100 large districts | school year 2015-16 |
| Chamber passages of the bill since it was first filed in 2009 | one — the House, on 2010-03-03 | 2026-08-08 |
| Current bill | H.R. 6617, introduced 2025-12-11, 32 cosponsors, in committee | 2026-08-08 |
| Jurisdictions requiring an emergency threatening physical danger before restraint of any child | 22 of 51, up from 3 in 2009 | 2019-07-01 |
| Jurisdictions banning all seclusion for all children | 2 of 51 | 2019-07-01 |
| Department of Education workforce | 4,133 reduced to approximately 2,183 | 2025-03-11 |
Needs a new measurementthe target state: no source opened here names a number that restraint or seclusion should fall to, or a date by which. H.R. 6617 would set a rule and require annual state reporting of incidents disaggregated by injury and death, and the federal collection sets a count. Neither sets a goal, so nothing on this record can be behind schedule.
How big is it?
Between about 68,800 and 105,700 students in school year 2021-22. The published federal total is approximately 105,700 and it is the exact arithmetic sum of its three components — 68,800 plus 8,200 plus 28,700. The label on that total says physically restrained, mechanically restrained, and/or placed in seclusion, which reads as a count of distinct students, and a student both restrained and secluded should appear once. No endnote or analytical note in the report says whether the components overlap. If the three groups are disjoint the distinct total is 105,700. If the two smaller groups fall entirely inside the largest, the distinct total is 68,800.
That is the width in one direction. In the other direction the whole range is a floor. GAO reported that 70 percent of districts recorded zero incidents in school year 2015-16, that the federal quality check reached fewer than 100 large districts, and that district and state officials did not share a common understanding of the definitions. No source publishes a correction factor, so how far above this range the real figure sits cannot be stated from anything opened here.
The count also measures students rather than events. One state record shows how far apart those units are. More than 20,000 seclusion incidents were logged across more than 100 Illinois districts between school year 2017-18 and early December 2018, against a national figure of 28,700 students secluded in a full school year.
Applying the published IDEA shares to each component gives roughly 74,100 students served under IDEA in school year 2021-22, about 70 percent of that year total drawn from 14 percent of enrollment. That figure is derived here rather than published by the department, and it inherits the same overlap question as the total.
Under what conditions does it arise?
1. The binding federal instruments are all general. IDEA guarantees a least restrictive environment and an individualized education program. Section 504 and Title II of the ADA bar disability discrimination, Title VI bars race discrimination, and constitutional claims reach excessive force through civil rights suits. None of them names restraint or seclusion and none sets a threshold, so the practice is never unlawful in itself. It becomes unlawful only when a particular use is proved discriminatory or excessive, one student at a time and after the fact.
2. The executive branch declined to close the gap by rule. In 2012 the department published fifteen principles and stated in its own footnote that they impose no requirement and confer no right. No source opened here records any later rulemaking that would set a threshold. What remains is the statute route.
3. The statute route has one veto point and it has held since 2010. The House passed the bill on 2010-03-03. The Senate companion arrived on 2010-09-29, near the end of that Congress, and died. Every version since has died in committee without a floor vote in either chamber, and no source opened here states a reason for that.
4. The exposed group is concentrated and the compliance burden is dispersed. Students served under IDEA were 14 percent of enrollment and about 70 percent of the counted exposure in school year 2021-22, and their families act one district at a time. The reporting and training duties would fall on 17,704 districts represented by permanent associations. About 60 organizations endorsed the 2025 bill and it has collected no floor time.
5. The federal act that does exist is a count, and the count cannot see itself fail. Districts report their own numbers against definitions that officials read differently — GAO found disagreement over whether confinement counts as seclusion when an adult stays in the room. In school year 2015-16, 70 percent of districts reported zero.
What has been tried?
| Attempt | By whom | What was done | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Testimony establishing the factual predicate | GAO, report GAO-09-719T | Reported no federal law restricting the practice, no entity collecting data on it, hundreds of alleged abuse and death cases over two decades, and 10 examined cases with a conviction, liability or large settlement, in at least 5 of which the staff involved were still employed as educators | 2009-05-19 |
| First bill — H.R. 4247, Keeping All Students Safe Act | 111th Congress, sponsor Representative A | Passed the House of Representatives. The engrossed text bars mechanical restraint, chemical restraint, restraint that restricts breathing and aversive interventions, and permits physical restraint only against imminent danger of physical injury by trained personnel | 2010-03-03 |
| Senate companion — S. 3895 | 111th Congress, sponsor Senator B | Introduced nearly seven months after House passage and died in committee | 2010-09-29 |
| The federal collection begins carrying the items | Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights | The federal response becomes a biennial count rather than a rule | school year 2009-10 onward |
| Guidance instead of rulemaking | Department of Education | Fifteen principles published, disclaiming new requirements in footnote 1 | 2012-05-15 |
| Reintroduction in each Congress | Members of the 112th through 118th Congresses | Filed and died in committee each time. Bill numbers and sponsors for these Congresses rest on a tertiary source and are not asserted here | 2011 through 2023 |
| Audit of the count | GAO, report GAO-20-345 | Found federal quality control largely ineffective or absent for school year 2015-16 data and made six recommendations, which the department accepted and which the product page records as closed as implemented by August 2024 | 2020-04-21 |
| State records investigation | A nonprofit newsroom and a metropolitan daily | Assembled seclusion records from more than 100 districts. State officials issued an emergency order halting isolated timeout and legislation followed | 2019-11-19 |
| State laws written from the federal template | State legislatures | Emergency-only restraint limits for all children went from 3 jurisdictions in 2009 to 22 by 2019-07-01, with the congressional bills used as models | 2009 through 2019 |
| Comment on the collection docket ED-2024-SCC-0128 | An advocacy organization working on this practice | Supported five proposed elements covering restraint and seclusion in placements outside districts, where rates are said to run highest, and reported that district-level instance data became hard to locate after a website redesign | 2024-11-25 |
| Reduction in force | Department of Education | Departmental workforce fell from 4,133 to approximately 2,183, including 259 deferred resignations and 313 voluntary separation incentive payments | 2025-03-11 |
| Current bill — H.R. 6617 with Senate companion S. 3448 | 119th Congress, House sponsor Representative C, 32 cosponsors | Section 101 would bar seclusion, mechanical restraint, chemical restraint and restraints that restrict breathing, and permit physical restraint only against imminent danger of serious injury after less restrictive interventions fail. Section 202 would require annual state reporting of incidents disaggregated by injury or death, untrained personnel, law enforcement involvement, race, ethnicity, economic status, English proficiency and disability | 2025-12-11 |
Two directions were tried and only one of them moved. The statute never passed, and the text of the statute nevertheless rewrote state law in nineteen additional jurisdictions between 2009 and 2019 by being copied.
What was found?
| Finding | Observed value | Evidence grade |
|---|---|---|
| A federal law limits restraint or seclusion in schools | no | high — the 2009 GAO testimony, the 2012 department footnote and a 2024 peer-reviewed review all state it independently |
| Students restrained or secluded, school year 2021-22 | approximately 105,700 | high — federal report read directly |
| Components of that total | 68,800 physical restraint · 8,200 mechanical restraint · 28,700 seclusion | high — same report |
| Whether the total counts distinct students | not stated — the total equals the exact sum of the three components while the label reads and/or | high for the arithmetic · absent for the explanation |
| Share of those physically restrained served under IDEA | 76 percent, against 14 percent of K-12 enrollment | high |
| Districts reporting zero incidents, school year 2015-16 | 70 percent | medium — printed on the GAO product page; the full report exceeded the fetch size limit and the Highlights sheet does not carry the figure |
| Federal quality control over those reports, school year 2015-16 | largely ineffective or nonexistent, with no outlier rules | high — GAO Highlights sheet read directly |
| Chamber passages of the bill | one, the House on 2010-03-03 | high — the engrossed text is itself the artifact of passage |
| Introduction date of the current bill | 2025-12-11 | high — govinfo text · one secondary source reports 2025-12-12 |
| Endorsing organizations for the current bill | about 60 | low — a single trade outlet; both sponsor pages refused access |
| Per-Congress bill numbers between 2011 and 2023 | filed and died in committee each Congress | low — tertiary source only; congress.gov and a commercial legislative tracking site refused automated access |
| Jurisdictions requiring an emergency before restraint of any child | 22 of 51 as of 2019-07-01, against 3 in 2009 | medium — one detailed survey, seven years old and still the most recent found |
| Whether a federal count later than school year 2021-22 exists | not determinable | high for the attempt — both department data portals returned only a loading state |
| Federal count of injuries or deaths from the practice | none found | medium — GAO reported no such collection in 2009 and nothing opened here shows one since |
Why is it still unsolved?
Institutional gap — the rule that would close it was drafted in 2009, passed one chamber in 2010, and has never been scheduled since.
A general instrument can punish a bad outcome after the fact, but it cannot tell anyone what to do beforehand. That is the whole difference between the instruments in force and the instrument in draft. IDEA, Section 504, Title II, Title VI and constitutional claims all reach restraint and seclusion, and none of them names the practice or sets a threshold, so a family seeking a limit has to win a case rather than read a rule. The department had the option of writing that threshold by rule and instead published fifteen principles that disclaim, in their own footnote, any requirement at all.
The second part is that the remaining route runs through a chamber that has never scheduled it. The House passed the bill on 2010-03-03 with a large majority. The Senate companion was introduced nearly seven months later, with almost no time left in that Congress, and died. Every version since has died in committee. Nothing opened here states a reason — no committee report, no cost estimate, no recorded opposition testimony. The bill is described everywhere in the passive voice, and a failure with no named cause leaves no one to answer for it.
The third part is the loop that holds the first two in place. With no rule, the only federal act is a count. The count is self-reported by districts against definitions they read differently, and in school year 2015-16 seventy percent of districts reported zero while the federal quality check reached fewer than 100 large districts. A number assembled that way is one any district can set aside as not describing itself, so it never becomes the pressure that would force a rule. The gap produces the weak count and the weak count protects the gap.
There is a fourth movement, and it is the uncomfortable one. The bill has been governing anyway. States copied the text, and emergency-only restraint limits for all children went from 3 jurisdictions in 2009 to 22 by 2019-07-01 without a single enactment in Washington. That is a real gain and it is distributed exactly backwards. In the first half of 2019 protective bills died in eight states with weak or no existing law while two states that already had statutes strengthened them. Which rules protect a student depends on the state line, and the states with no rules are the states where new rules keep failing.
What observation would mean it is solved?
Candidates — (a) a federal statute or rule takes effect that sets a threshold on restraint and bars seclusion (b) the federal count of students restrained or secluded falls across several consecutive collections (c) every jurisdiction carries a binding law with emergency-only restraint limits and mandatory reporting.
(a) alone is weaker than it looks. A statute can arrive with exemptions wide enough or an effective date distant enough that nothing changes in a classroom. The current bill routes reporting through the states without stating what follows for a state that reports nothing, which is the position the federal count is already in.
(b) alone is worse. The count cannot detect a district that reports zero incorrectly, so a fall could equally mean fewer children restrained or fewer districts reporting. The collection is biennial and the most recent published year ended in 2022, so several consecutive collections is close to a decade of waiting. The unit is also wrong for the question, because it counts students rather than events and a child restrained forty times counts once.
(c) alone counts paper. Twenty-two jurisdictions already required an emergency before restraint as of 2019-07-01, and the practice continued at the scale the federal count records. Coverage in a statute book is not the same as a classroom where it does not happen. The three have to be read together, and (b) cannot be read at all until someone publishes what the zeroes are worth.
What is it connected to?
Fills with researchrestraint and seclusion in hospitals, residential treatment and juvenile facilities · school policing and the presence of law enforcement in discipline, which the current bill reaches explicitly · special education funding and staffing shortages · the same practice and the same regulatory question in other countries. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.
What these sources do not say
- Whether the headline number counts each student once. The published total of approximately 105,700 is the exact arithmetic sum of its three components, while its label reads and/or, which reads as a count of distinct students. No endnote, analytical note or methodology statement in the report addresses the difference. The most cited number in this field has an unexplained construction.
- How wrong the zeroes are. GAO named false zero reporting in April 2020 for school year 2015-16 data, and the department closed all six recommendations by August 2024, but no source opened here publishes a correction factor. Nothing states what the count would be if the zeroes were right, or what share of districts reporting zero actually had incidents.
- What left the paperwork. For the same collection and the same 17,717 annual responses, the estimated annual burden moved 2,290,195 hours on 2024-10-17, to 2,378,410 on 2025-01-16, to 1,762,790 on 2025-08-07 — a drop of about 26 percent in seven months. None of the three notices contains the word restraint or the word seclusion, and none names a single removed data element.
- When the next count arrives. The department overview for the 2023-24 collection lists the restraint and seclusion items in full, including instance counts, and states no publication date. Both department data portals returned only a loading state across four attempts on two hostnames, so a reader cannot determine from the source whether a newer federal count exists.
- Whether anyone counts harm. The federal collection counts exposure, not injury, hospitalization or death. GAO reported in 2009 that it could find no entity collecting such information, and nothing opened here shows that one now exists. Section 202 of the current bill would require injury and death to be reported, which means the bill itself treats this as a known hole.
- What a limit would cost. No cost estimate, no committee report and no opposition statement was reachable in any source opened here, in sixteen years of filings. The one quantified compliance figure that exists anywhere in this file is a paperwork burden estimate that does not mention the practice.
- How many jurisdictions have no binding protection today. The most detailed comparison across 51 jurisdictions still serves its July 2019 edition at its canonical address as of 2026-08-08. The 2024 peer-reviewed review states that most states have legislation or guidance and publishes no counts.
- Who was cut. The March 2025 announcement reports the halving of the department and lists the statutory programs that continue. It does not state whether the Office for Civil Rights, which administers the count and enforces Section 504 in schools, was among the offices reduced.
See the evidence
| Item | Source | Confirmation |
|---|---|---|
| School year 2021-22 counts — approximately 105,700 students total, 68,800 physically restrained, 8,200 mechanically restrained, 28,700 secluded · demographic shares · universe of 17,704 districts and 98,010 schools with 99.9 percent certified submission · rounding to the nearest hundred and privacy perturbation | US Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights — 2021-22 Civil Rights Data Collection, A First Look, January 2025 | 2026-08-08 |
| No federal laws restricting restraint and seclusion · no entity found collecting data on the practice · hundreds of alleged abuse and death cases over two decades · 10 examined cases with staff still employed in at least 5 · state-law counts as of 2009 | US Government Accountability Office — GAO-09-719T, testimony of 2009-05-19 | 2026-08-08 |
| Fifteen principles published 2012-05-15, with footnote 1 stating the document sets out no new requirements and confers no rights | US Department of Education — Restraint and Seclusion, Resource Document | 2026-08-08 |
| 70 percent of districts reported zero incidents in school year 2015-16 · the quality check applied to fewer than 100 large districts · six recommendations, all closed as implemented by August 2024 | US Government Accountability Office — GAO-20-345 product page | 2026-08-08 |
| Quality control largely ineffective or nonexistent · no rules flagged outliers · officials lacked a common understanding of the definitions and read the seclusion definition inconsistently · confirms the analysed year is school year 2015-16 | US Government Accountability Office — GAO-20-345 Highlights sheet | 2026-08-08 |
| H.R. 4247 passed the House of Representatives on 2010-03-03 · prohibitions on mechanical and chemical restraint, breathing-restricting restraint and aversive interventions · physical restraint limited to imminent danger of physical injury by trained personnel | US Government Publishing Office, govinfo — BILLS-111hr4247eh engrossed House text | 2026-08-08 |
| H.R. 6617 introduced 2025-12-11 with 32 cosponsors and referred to committee · Section 101 prohibitions · Section 202 annual state reporting disaggregated by injury or death, untrained personnel and law enforcement involvement · no findings section | US Government Publishing Office, govinfo — BILLS-119hr6617ih introduced House text | 2026-08-08 |
| About 60 endorsing organizations including a national pediatric medical association and a national autism advocacy organization · Senate cosponsor · reintroduction reported as 2025-12-12 · restates the 105,700 figure and the disproportion shares | K-12 Dive | 2026-08-08 |
| Estimated annual burden 1,762,790 hours for 17,717 annual responses under OMB control number 1870-0504 · no occurrence of the word restraint or the word seclusion | Federal Register — Department of Education notice of 2025-08-07, raw text endpoint | 2026-08-08 |
| Estimated annual burden 2,378,410 hours for the same collection and the same 17,717 annual responses | Federal Register — Department of Education notice of 2025-01-16, document 2025-01058, raw text endpoint | URL not confirmed: opened in this round as a companion raw text endpoint on the same host, but the full address was not recorded verbatim and is not reconstructed here |
| Estimated annual burden 2,290,195 hours for the same collection and the same 17,717 annual responses | Federal Register — Department of Education notice of 2024-10-17, document 2024-23892, raw text endpoint | URL not confirmed: opened in this round as a companion raw text endpoint on the same host, but the full address was not recorded verbatim and is not reconstructed here |
| The 2023-24 collection retains restraint and seclusion items in full, split by IDEA and non-IDEA and disaggregated by race, sex, English learner and disability, plus number of instances · collection described as generally biennial · no publication date stated | US Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights — 2023-24 Civil Rights Data Collection, General Overview, Changes, and List of Data Elements | 2026-08-08 |
| State law as of 2019-07-01 across 51 jurisdictions — 22 requiring an emergency before restraint of any child against 3 in 2009 · 2 banning all seclusion for all children · 30 with meaningful protections for all children · protective bills died in eight states in the first half of 2019 while Oregon and Virginia strengthened existing law · congressional bills used as templates | Researcher D, How Safe Is the Schoolhouse, published through the Autism National Committee, edition dated 2019-07-10 | 2026-08-08 |
| Peer-reviewed confirmation that no federal law addresses the practice and that each state sets its own policy, with many differences among them · abstract publishes no state counts | Researcher E and others — Exceptional Children, published online 2024-04-18 | 2026-08-08 |
| More than 20,000 seclusion incidents across more than 100 Illinois districts between school year 2017-18 and early December 2018 · of roughly 12,000 documented incidents, more than one third recorded no safety justification · state emergency order and legislation followed publication | ProPublica Illinois and the Chicago Tribune — The Quiet Rooms, 2019-11-19 | 2026-08-08 |
| Support for five proposed elements covering restraint and seclusion in placements outside districts, where rates are said to run highest · report that district-level instance data became hard to locate after the website redesign | Alliance Against Seclusion and Restraint, comment on docket ED-2024-SCC-0128, 2024-11-25 | 2026-08-08 |
| Departmental workforce fell from 4,133 to approximately 2,183 on 2025-03-11, including 259 deferred resignations and 313 voluntary separation incentive payments · the release does not state whether the Office for Civil Rights was affected | US Department of Education press release | 2026-08-08 |
| Public elementary and secondary enrollment of 49.4 million in fall 2021, the denominator behind the approximate rate of one student in 470 | National Center for Education Statistics — Condition of Education, Public School Enrollment, as-of May 2024 | 2026-08-08 |
| Per-Congress reintroduction pattern between 2011 and 2023, all versions dying in committee | Wikipedia — Keeping All Students Safe Act | 2026-08-08 · tertiary, used for the pattern only and never for a load-bearing fact |
| Primary confirmation of bill numbers, sponsors, cosponsor counts and latest actions for every version between 2011 and 2025, including Senate companion S. 3448 | US Congress, congress.gov bill pages and legislation search · GovTrack | URL not confirmed: HTTP 403 on three congress.gov attempts and two attempts on the legislative tracking site |
| Federal enforcement actions on school seclusion and restraint under Title II of the ADA — the substitute mechanism operating in the absence of a statute | US Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division | URL not confirmed: HTTP 403, and an archive route was refused. The enforcement record is a hole in this research and nothing is asserted about it |
| Whether any restraint or seclusion figure for school year 2023-24 or later has been published | US Department of Education — civilrightsdata.ed.gov and ocrdata.ed.gov | URL not confirmed: both portals returned only a loading state on four attempts across two hostnames |
| The body of the data-quality audit, sought for the text surrounding the school year 2015-16 figure of 70 percent zero reporting and any estimate of how many of those zeroes were wrong | US Government Accountability Office — GAO-20-345 full report PDF | URL not confirmed: fetch exceeded the maximum content length, report over 10 MB |
| Sponsor list, statistics and stated rationale for the 2025 bill from the sponsors themselves | US Senate sponsor newsroom · House Education and Workforce Committee fact sheet | URL not confirmed: HTTP 403 on both, which is why the endorsement count rests on one trade outlet |
Four primary federal documents were read end to end. The 2021-22 First Look report, the 2009 GAO testimony, the two congressional bill texts and the 2023-24 overview were opened as PDFs or plain text and extracted locally rather than summarized, and every figure in this dossier that carries a number came from one of them or from a GAO page read verbatim. The three Federal Register notices were fetched twice each so the burden-hour figures could be compared character by character; the burden drop is a comparison performed here and is not asserted by any single notice, and two of the three rows carry no address because only the document numbers survived into the research record and a plausible address is not assembled to fill the gap. Three disagreements are left visible rather than resolved. The introduction date of the current bill is 2025-12-11 in the primary text and 2025-12-12 in the one trade outlet that reported it, and no source explains the one-day difference. The same federal report uses 14 percent of enrollment for students with disabilities in the restraint section and 17 percent in the discipline section, under two different definitions that a reader comparing sections would not see. And the total of 105,700 is at once described as a count of distinct students and published as the exact sum of three possibly overlapping components, which is why the population range in this dossier has two ends rather than one. One methodological warning belongs on the record: during this research a GAO PDF fetch returned an unrelated defense infrastructure report, and the summarizer produced a confident fabricated quotation matching the subject requested. Every non-primary figure here was checked against raw document text for that reason. This is a Path A output, so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.
This table holds 24 evidence rows, 17 of which carry a source you can open · 11 distinct sources. How this table is made
People affected
Estimated range 68,800–105,700 As of school year 2021-22
Derivation chain
| Term | Value | Source | Assumption |
|---|---|---|---|
| Public school students physically restrained | 68,800 | US Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights — 2021-22 Civil Rights Data Collection, A First Look, published January 2025 | The largest of the three component counts, and therefore the low end of the range on its own. That end holds only if every mechanically restrained student and every secluded student is also inside this group, which the report neither states nor rules out. |
| Public school students mechanically restrained | 8,200 | Same report, same school year | Adds to the high end only if this group is disjoint from the other two. The report gives no overlap information in any endnote or analytical note. |
| Public school students placed in seclusion | 28,700 | Same report, same school year | Adds to the high end only if this group is disjoint from the other two. 68800 plus 8200 plus 28700 equals 105700, which is exactly the total the report publishes, so the published total is the fully disjoint case. |
Sensitivity The width of this range is an overlap the source never resolves. The published total of approximately 105,700 is the exact arithmetic sum of the three components, while its label reads physically restrained, mechanically restrained, and/or placed in seclusion, which reads as a count of distinct students in which a student both restrained and secluded appears once. No endnote, analytical note or methodology statement in the report says which reading applies, so the number of distinct students lies between the largest component and the sum. What the range fails to count: incidents rather than students, since a child restrained forty times counts once and the report publishes only student counts even though instance elements exist in the collection; students in placements outside school districts, where elements to capture them were only proposed for the 2025-26 collection and advocacy comment says rates run highest; injury, hospitalization and death, none of which any federal collection records; and any school year after 2021-22, four of which have ended with no published federal figure as of 2026-08-08. The limit in the opposite direction is that the whole range is a floor, not a band around the truth. GAO reported that 70 percent of districts recorded zero incidents in school year 2015-16, that the federal quality check reached fewer than 100 large districts, and that officials read the definitions inconsistently; no source publishes a correction factor, so the real figure sits above this range by an amount nobody has quantified. Two smaller effects run inward: counts of 1,000 or greater are rounded to the nearest hundred, and public-use counts carry small random adjustments for privacy. For scale rather than for precision, 105,700 against public elementary and secondary enrollment of 49.4 million in fall 2021 is roughly 0.21 percent, about one student in 470 per school year; that ratio is approximate because the enrollment denominator includes prekindergarten while the shares in the report are K-12.
Regional breakdown The report publishes national totals and demographic shares only. No state, district or regional breakdown of the restraint and seclusion counts appears in any source opened in this round, and the two Department of Education data portals that would carry district-level figures returned only a JavaScript loading state on four attempts across two hostnames. The one sub-national figure found anywhere is an Illinois incident count assembled by journalists from district records, which uses a different unit and a different period and therefore cannot be placed inside this range.
What is missing 2
Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.
- SectionWhat is it connected to?
restraint and seclusion in hospitals, residential treatment and juvenile facilities · school policing and the presence of law enforcement in discipline, which the current bill reaches explicitly · special education funding and staffing shortages · the same practice and the same regulatory question in other countries. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.
Fills with research
- SectionWhat is the state now, and what should it be?
the target state: no source opened here names a number that restraint or seclusion should fall to, or a date by which. H.R. 6617 would set a rule and require annual state reporting of incidents disaggregated by injury and death, and the federal collection sets a count. Neither sets a goal, so nothing on this record can be behind schedule.
Needs a new measurement
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
Comments
The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.
The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.
You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.
The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.
You must be signed in to comment.
You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.
This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.
No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.
You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.
Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
No comments yet.