Enforcement absent · United States
The FCC reported zero section 227 forfeitures collected in calendar year 2023 and in calendar year 2024 — its audited books carried the civil monetary penalties receivable at a 99.47 percent allowance for doubtful accounts as of 2025-09-30
In calendar year 2024, the Federal Communications Commission reports, neither the Commission nor the Attorney General collected forfeiture penalties or criminal fines for violations of section 227 of the Communications Act, the provision that governs robocalls and caller identif…
- Resolution status
- not confirmed
- Checked
- 2026-08-08
- Evidence type
- SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
- Outlet
- not recorded
- Authoring mode
- Derived from press reports
- Views
- 20
What is happening?
In calendar year 2024, the Federal Communications Commission reports, neither the Commission nor the Attorney General collected forfeiture penalties or criminal fines for violations of section 227 of the Communications Act, the provision that governs robocalls and caller identification spoofing. The amount is zero dollars, and it appears in the annual report the agency filed with Congress on 2025-12-23. The report for calendar year 2023, filed 2024-12-27, says the same thing in the same words.
The same report lists ten parties whose section 227 forfeiture orders the Commission referred to the Department of Justice for collection, with referral dates running from 2018-08-10 to 2024-12-03. It does not state what any of them is worth. Adding the ten forfeiture orders themselves gives USD 911,834,500 — that sum is arithmetic performed here across ten separate primary documents, and it is not a published figure. No document opened in this round states it, or any other aggregate.
The books of the agency already treat the money as unlikely to arrive. In the Agency Financial Report for fiscal year 2025, balances as of 2025-09-30, civil monetary penalties receivable stand at USD 906,383 thousand against an allowance for doubtful accounts of USD 901,605 thousand — an allowance of 99.47 percent. That receivable line covers every FCC penalty program and is nowhere broken out by section 227, so its closeness to the sum above is a coincidence and not a confirmation.
On 2026-06-04 the Supreme Court described why the architecture works this way. Deciding a pair of cases about location-data forfeitures rather than robocalls, and never mentioning section 227, it upheld the power of the Commission to impose forfeitures without a jury precisely because such an order compels nobody to pay. The statute, the Court wrote, nowhere gives the Commission the authority to execute on a forfeiture order; a recipient incurs no penalties for nonpayment, and interest does not accrue on the sum; and the second option available to a recipient is to do nothing.
Whose problem is this?
| Role | Who |
|---|---|
| Affected | People in the United States reached by illegal robocalls — about 323 million implied recipients at 4.2 billion calls in April 2026 and roughly 13 calls per person · the FCC logged 29,180 complaints under section 227(e) in 2024, which is the documented trace they left and not a count of persons |
| Raised by | The FCC itself, which publishes the zero in the report the TRACED Act requires · the Congressional Research Service, which counted two of nine referrals actively pursued · six senators who introduced the FCC Legal Enforcement Act on 2025-03-13 |
| Decides | The Department of Justice, which alone may sue to collect under 47 U.S.C. 504(a) · Congress, which alone can move that power · the FCC, which may impose and refer but not collect |
| Bears the cost | The Treasury General Fund, which never receives the penalty · phone users, who absorb the calls the deterrent was meant to prevent · the FCC, whose only monetary tool against the individual caller does not function |
The body that finds the facts is not the body that can collect on them, and the body that can collect is under no schedule. Nothing in this arrangement requires anyone to behave badly for the result to be zero.
Where does this problem end?
| Axis | This is the problem | This is not the problem |
|---|---|---|
| What | The distance between imposing a section 227 forfeiture and collecting it — an order that only a civil suit can turn into money | Whether illegal robocalls cause harm, which no source opened here disputes · whether the FCC may impose forfeitures at all, settled for the agency on 2026-06-04 |
| Who | Parties holding unpaid federal section 227 forfeiture orders, and the people their calls reached | Robocall matters brought by state attorneys general or under the Telemarketing Sales Rule, which run on separate authority |
| Where | The United States federal system | Collection of telecommunications penalties in other countries was not examined |
| When | Referrals from 2018-08-10 through 2024-12-03 · reported collection years 2023 and 2024 | Section 227 enforcement before 2018 was not examined |
| Scale | Ten referred matters · USD 911,834,500 by arithmetic across ten orders · zero collected in each of the two reported years | Consent decrees, which the agency classifies as legally collectible debts and from which it does collect |
The boundary matters because the penalty already exists and the finding of liability already exists. What has not happened is the step that turns either of them into money.
What is the state now, and what should it be?
Now
| Indicator | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Section 227 forfeitures and criminal fines collected | zero | calendar year 2024, reported 2025-12-23 |
| Section 227 forfeitures and criminal fines collected | zero | calendar year 2023, reported 2024-12-27 |
| Section 227 collection figure published | none given | calendar year 2022, reported 2023-12-27 |
| Referrals listed as pending at the Department of Justice | ten parties, oldest referred 2018-08-10 | 2025-12-23 |
| Sum of the ten referred forfeiture orders | USD 911,834,500, arithmetic across ten primary documents | 2026-08-08 |
| Referrals the Department actively pursued, January 2018 through November 2023 | two of nine | 2026-05-12 |
| Section 227 notices of apparent liability issued | one, for USD 6,000,000 | calendar year 2024 |
| Section 227 forfeiture orders issued | one, for USD 6,000,000 | calendar year 2024 |
| Citations issued to enforce section 227(d) | zero | calendar year 2024 |
| Civil monetary penalties receivable, gross, all FCC programs | USD 906,383 thousand | fiscal year 2025, balances 2025-09-30 |
| Allowance for doubtful accounts on those penalties | USD 901,605 thousand, or 99.47 percent | fiscal year 2025, balances 2025-09-30 |
| Net realizable value of those penalties | USD 4,778 thousand | fiscal year 2025, balances 2025-09-30 |
| Cash collected under fines and penalties, all FCC programs, consent decrees included | USD 59,169 thousand | fiscal year 2025 |
| Robocalls received in the United States in one month | 4.2 billion, about 13 per person | 2026-04 |
| Latest action on the bill that would let the FCC collect | referred to committee, nothing since | 2025-03-13 |
Two of those rows have to be read against each other, and the labels carry the whole difference. The USD 59,169 thousand is a fiscal year 2025 figure spanning every FCC enforcement program, and it includes consent decrees, which Note 17 of the same financial report classifies as legally collectible debts. The zero is a calendar year 2024 figure covering section 227 alone. Read together they say that the agency collects tens of millions a year from penalties parties agreed to pay, and nothing from penalties parties were ordered to pay.
Needs a new measurementthe target state: no source opened here names a collection rate the government aims for, a share of referred value it expects to recover, or a threshold below which the figure would be treated as a failure. The TRACED Act requires the number to be published and says nothing about what it should be.
How big is it?
About 323 million people. That is the count of phone users in the United States implied by the volume the Congressional Research Service reported on 2026-05-12 — 4.2 billion robocalls received in April 2026, at an average of about 13 calls per person. The division gives 323,076,923, rounded here to 323 million, which is essentially the entire phone-using population of the country.
That figure measures exposure to the conduct the uncollected penalty was meant to deter. It does not measure people harmed by the collection failure itself, and no source opened here bridges the two.
The only smaller documented quantity counts complaints rather than people. In calendar year 2024 the FCC logged 29,180 informal consumer complaints alleging violations of section 227(e), the spoofing provision under which eight of the ten referred matters were brought, and 33,137 under section 227(b). One person may file several complaints in a year, so neither total can serve as a floor on persons. The Commission also warns that a single complaint alleging several subsections may be counted up to three times across its own table, which is why the four columns are never added together here.
Not one of the ten forfeiture orders read in this round states how many distinct people received the calls it penalizes.
Under what conditions does it arise?
1. The agency that imposes cannot collect, and the agency that can collect is under no schedule. Section 504(a) of title 47 makes forfeitures recoverable in a civil suit brought in the name of the United States, and calls prosecution for their recovery the duty of the various United States attorneys. The Supreme Court described the same obligation on 2026-06-04 as one the Department may — but need not exercise. Between January 2018 and November 2023 the Congressional Research Service counted nine referrals and two that were actively pursued.
2. The collection suit is a trial de novo, so the work of the agency does not transfer. The Department does not enforce a finding. It proves the case again from zero, before a jury, against a defendant free to contest the facts and the legal conclusions alike. In the words of the Court, for the purpose of such a trial it is as if the Commission never found any facts at all. Years of subpoenas, traceback records and call-detail analysis buy no procedural advantage, which turns each referral into a full-cost case for a division whose docket holds much larger recoveries.
3. Doing nothing is free while the file sits. No interest accrues on an unpaid forfeiture, nonpayment carries no penalty of its own, and under section 504(c) the Commission may not hold the unpaid order against the party in later proceedings. The Court listed all three as reasons the scheme survives constitutional challenge. Seen from the position of the recipient, inaction is not merely tolerated but legally recognized.
4. The penalty is sized on calls, not on assets. FCC forfeitures are computed per call, so a larger figure means more calls rather than a more solvent defendant — and the computation runs on a verified subset, 33,333 verified calls for one operation the agency itself describes as having made billions, and 37,525 verified out of 2,341,125 made for another. The headline number is therefore enormous next to any defendant balance sheet and small next to the conduct, and both halves push toward zero collection.
5. The parties who are pursued frequently cannot pay. The Congressional Research Service records that the Department often cannot find the parties in question. A separate robocall judgment of USD 10,000,000 entered on 2024-01-02 was suspended outright for inability to pay. Several of the referred operations ran across borders.
What has been tried?
| Attempt | By whom | What was done | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| TRACED Act | Congress | Removed the pre-forfeiture citation requirement for section 227(b), added a penalty tier for intentional violations, extended the limitations period to four years, and created the annual report that is the only reason the zero is public. Section 504 was left untouched | enacted 2019-12-30 |
| Referral for collection | FCC | Ten section 227 forfeiture orders referred to the Department of Justice, from Party A, the oldest referred party, on 2018-08-10 to Party B, the most recent, on 2024-12-03 | 2018 to 2024 |
| A collection suit that reached judgment | Department of Justice | Sued Party C, one of the referred parties, in the District of Montana over 4,959 spoofed robocalls placed in 2018 and found to have been made with intent to cause harm, targeting communities during two widely reported events; the court entered an injunction and the full USD 9,918,000 penalty after a de novo review of the evidence | FCC order January 2021 · judgment 2024-03-19 |
| A collection suit that has not | Department of Justice | Filed a forfeiture complaint against Party A on the USD 120,000,000 order, two days before five years from the order would have run; motion to dismiss denied, mediation reported as not settled, cross summary-judgment briefing, then a stay with no judgment | complaint 2023-05-08 · stayed 2025-04-15 |
| Enforcement that needs no money to change hands | FCC | Notifications of suspected illegal traffic directing downstream providers to stop accepting a given stream, tightened Robocall Mitigation Database rules, caller identification authentication limits on third-party signing, a text-blocking rule effective 2024-09-03, and a ruling that artificial voices fall within the statute | calendar year 2024 |
| Industry traceback | The industry traceback consortium | 3,606 tracebacks, 714 providers identified of which 275 were new, and 69 percent of completed tracebacks ending in a warning or a termination by the originating provider, down from 84 percent in 2023 | calendar year 2024 |
| Legislation to let the FCC collect | Senator E, the lead sponsor, with five cosponsors | The FCC Legal Enforcement Act, S. 1025, would let the Commission prosecute for recovery if the Attorney General does not commence a prosecution within 120 days of a referral, and directs it to prioritize unpaid section 227 penalties above USD 25,000,000. The same fix was introduced as S. 2095 in the 118th Congress and was not enacted | introduced 2025-03-13 |
Two directions have been running at the same time. One writes larger penalties and refers them onward, and the other builds remedies that never require a payment. The bill that would join the two has had no recorded action for 513 days as of 2026-08-08.
What was found?
| Finding | Observed value | Evidence grade |
|---|---|---|
| Section 227 forfeitures collected in calendar year 2024 | zero | high — stated in the FCC report to Congress of 2025-12-23 |
| Section 227 forfeitures collected in calendar year 2023 | zero | high — stated in the FCC report of 2024-12-27 |
| Section 227 collection figure for calendar year 2022 | none published | high — the report of 2023-12-27 gives no such figure |
| Referrals pending at the Department of Justice | ten parties, oldest referred 2018-08-10 | high |
| Sum of the ten referred forfeiture orders | USD 911,834,500 | medium — arithmetic across ten primary orders, published nowhere |
| Referrals actively pursued, January 2018 through November 2023 | two of nine | medium — Congressional Research Service, 2026-05-12 |
| Allowance for doubtful accounts on FCC civil monetary penalties | 99.47 percent | high — audited financial statements, balances as of 2025-09-30 |
| Whether a forfeiture order is a collectible debt | not until a federal court enters judgment | high — Note 17 of that report, and the Supreme Court on 2026-06-04 |
| Whether the Department is obliged to sue | the statute says duty; the Court says may but need not | medium — the tension runs between two federal sources and is resolved by neither |
| Outcome of the largest litigated referral | no judgment three years after filing; case stayed 2025-04-15 | medium — a docket on a user-contributed mirror, last updated 2025-05-24 |
| Whether the Party C judgment produced a payment | not stated in anything opened here | low — the Department release says the court entered the penalty, and the FCC reports the same calendar year as zero collected |
| Whether the Congressional Research Service account of that judgment is supported | it uses the word recovered for a judgment the release it cites describes only as entered | low — two federal documents, read literally, disagree about the same year and the same case |
| Robocall volume in one month | 4.2 billion, about 13 per person, April 2026 | medium — Congressional Research Service citing a commercial index; the text says April 2026 while its own footnote is dated March 2026 |
| Status of the bill that would close the gap | referred to committee 2025-03-13, no action since | high — legislative status record, file updated 2026-07-01 |
Two referred matters have passed the five-year mark with no suit found. Combining the five-year period the Supreme Court described with the release dates in the FCC reports, the periods measured from issuance of the order for Party D at USD 82,106,000 and of the referred order at USD 225,000,000 — together USD 307,106,000 — elapsed on 2023-09-26 and 2026-03-18, and no section 504 collection action against either appears in the free docket mirror or in any Department release opened here. That mirror is contributed by users and is not complete, so absence in it is not proof that no case exists; the limitations period runs from when the claim first accrued, which a court could compute differently from the date the order issued; and tolling agreements are not public. Two further matters with elapsed periods were not checked at all, because the docket search began returning empty responses after about ten queries. What is recorded here is therefore no suit found, and never window closed.
Why is it still unsolved?
Enforcement absent — the instrument exists, it has been exercised successfully at least once, and in most matters it is simply not used.
Section 227 gives the FCC the power to find the violation, compute the penalty and issue the order. Section 504(a) gives the power to convert that order into money to somebody else, and the only route is a civil suit brought by the Department of Justice. That route is real and it has been walked. In the matter of Party C it produced the full USD 9,918,000 after the court reviewed the evidence anew. The authority is therefore not missing. What is missing is the exercise of it, and that is why this reads as enforcement absent rather than as a gap in the law.
The exercise is rare because the suit is a trial de novo, which means the years of investigative work behind the order carry no procedural weight. The Department starts over, before a jury, and the defendant may contest the facts and the legal conclusions alike. That is expensive, and the Congressional Research Service records the two ordinary consequences — the parties often cannot be found, or other matters rank higher. Neither of those is misconduct. They are what a docket does when a case costs full price and the party on the other side has no money. The one success took about 38 months from order to judgment and about six years from the calls.
On the other side of the ledger, waiting is free. No interest runs, nonpayment carries no separate penalty, and the Commission may not hold the unpaid order against the party in a later proceeding. The Supreme Court cited all three in June 2026 as reasons the scheme survives constitutional challenge, which produces the sharpest fact in this file — the agency won its case, and the reason it won is that its fines do not have to be paid. Meanwhile the agency has adapted around its own sanction. It now leans on remedies that work without money changing hands, cutting providers off from the network and tightening database and authentication rules, while the identification machinery runs thousands of tracebacks a year. Those tools function. Because they function, a run of zeroes can persist for years without anyone inside the system treating it as an emergency, and the single tool aimed at the person who placed the calls is the one that does not work.
What observation would mean it is solved?
Candidates — (a) the annual FCC report to Congress states a nonzero amount of section 227 forfeitures collected (b) the Department of Justice files collection suits on a majority of referred matters within a stated period (c) the allowance for doubtful accounts on FCC civil monetary penalties falls materially below 99 percent.
(a) alone is weaker than it looks. A single nonzero year could come from one settled matter and say nothing about the remaining queue. The report has never defined what its own figure counts — whether a receipt posted, a case closed, or a transfer made to the Treasury — so a number above zero would be as unreadable as the zero is. The figure can also move because the accounting boundary moved rather than because money arrived.
(b) alone counts filings. The Party A matter shows what a filed suit is worth on its own: a complaint on 2023-05-08, a motion to dismiss denied, a mediation that did not settle, summary-judgment briefing, and a stay on 2025-04-15 with no judgment. Three years of docket activity and no money. Filing begins the de novo trial and does not substitute for finishing it.
(c) alone measures an accounting judgment rather than an event. An allowance is an estimate, and it can fall because a large collectible consent decree entered the same line item. That line covers every FCC penalty program and is not broken out by section 227, so on its own it can say nothing about robocalls at all.
Each of the three can move for reasons that have nothing to do with a robocaller paying a penalty. They would have to be read together, and each of them against the size of the queue that remains.
What is it connected to?
Fills with researchfederal debt collection practice across other agencies, the enforcement architecture of the Telemarketing Sales Rule and of state attorneys general, service of process against operators incorporated abroad, and the effect of the June 2026 jury-right decision on other agencies that impose administrative penalties. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.
What these sources do not say
- What became of any referral. The same names have accumulated across the reports of 2023, 2024 and 2025, and no report says what the Department did with any of them — not filed, not declined, not settled, not time-barred. Party C is still listed as a pending referral in the report of 2025-12-23 although that case produced a judgment on 2024-03-19, and Party A is still listed although the United States sued that party on 2023-05-08. The list is stale in a way the report never acknowledges.
- How much money is at stake. The report Congress mandated names ten referred parties and their referral dates and states neither the amount of any single one nor a total. The USD 911,834,500 in this document is arithmetic across ten separate orders. A reader of the report cannot learn the figure from the report.
- What the zero counts. No document opened here defines the accounting boundary — whether it means that no receipt was posted, that no case was closed, or that nothing was transferred to the Treasury. The Party C judgment was entered in March 2024 and the same calendar year is reported as zero collected, while the Congressional Research Service, reading the same underlying facts, wrote that the Department recovered USD 9.9 million.
- What the target is. Nothing in the TRACED Act, the FCC reports, the financial statements or the Congressional Research Service names a collection rate the government aims for. There is no denominator, no goal, and no threshold at which the number would be called a failure.
- How much of the uncollectible receivable is robocall money. The 99.47 percent allowance covers every FCC penalty program. The one place the government publishes an estimate of uncollectibility is the one place it is not broken out by the program Congress asked about.
- What the fine prevents. Every document treats the penalty as a deterrent, and none estimates how many calls, or how much reported loss, the uncollected penalties failed to prevent. The causal claim that justifies the whole program is asserted and never quantified.
- Why the reporting coverage changed. Reports through 2023-12-27 covered the prior calendar year plus the first eleven months of the report year; from 2024-12-27 onward they cover the prior calendar year only. Neither later report acknowledges the change. A trade publication set the versions side by side on 2025-01-31 and attributed the change to political embarrassment, which is an opinion offered by that author and not a finding in any government document. The consequence is that as of 2026-08-08 no official figure exists for calendar year 2025 or for 2026.
- How many people were called. Every forfeiture order opened here states a number of calls and none states a number of distinct recipients. The federal record of this harm has no denominator in persons.
See the evidence
| Item | Source | Confirmation |
|---|---|---|
| Zero section 227 forfeitures or criminal fines collected in calendar year 2024 · the list of ten referred parties with referral dates from 2018-08-10 to 2024-12-03 · one notice of apparent liability and one forfeiture order in 2024, both USD 6,000,000 · zero section 227(d) citations · the complaint table for 2020 through 2024 with the warning that a complaint may be counted up to three times · 3,606 tracebacks, 714 providers identified, 275 of them new, 69 percent ending in a warning or termination against 84 percent in 2023 | Federal Communications Commission, report to Congress DA-25-1100A1 (2025-12-23) | 2026-08-08 |
| Zero section 227 forfeitures or criminal fines collected in calendar year 2023 · nine referrals listed with dates · the amounts and call counts for Party F at USD 5,134,500 and 1,141 calls, another referred party at USD 299,997,000 and 33,333 verified calls, and Party G at USD 116,156,250 and 20,650 calls | Federal Communications Commission, report to Congress DOC-408475A1 (2024-12-27) | 2026-08-08 |
| The report covering calendar year 2022 gives no forfeiture collection figure at all, and covers the prior calendar year plus 1 January to 30 November of the report year — the coverage that later reports drop | Federal Communications Commission, report to Congress DOC-399306A1 (2023-12-27) | 2026-08-08 |
| A forfeiture order creates no obligation to pay — no authority to execute on it, no interest, no penalty for nonpayment, doing nothing as a recognized option, the Department of Justice may but need not sue within five years, and the section 504 suit is the only means by which the Government can collect | Supreme Court of the United States, FCC v. AT&T, Nos. 25-406 and 25-567, decided 2026-06-04, 8-1 | 2026-08-08 |
| Statutory text — forfeitures recoverable in a civil suit in the name of the United States, prosecution for recovery framed as the duty of the various United States attorneys, and the suit conducted as a trial de novo | Cornell Legal Information Institute, 47 U.S.C. 504 | 2026-08-08 |
| Civil monetary penalties receivable of USD 906,383 thousand against an allowance of USD 901,605 thousand and a net of USD 4,778 thousand, balances as of 2025-09-30 · Note 17 distinguishing forfeiture orders, which need a court judgment to become legally collectible debts, from consent decrees, which are · fines and penalties cash collections of USD 59,169 thousand in fiscal year 2025 | Federal Communications Commission, Agency Financial Report fiscal year 2025, DA-25-1059A1 | 2026-08-08 |
| Two of the nine referrals made between January 2018 and November 2023 were actively pursued · the FCC lacks authority to pursue collection through the courts · the Department often cannot find the parties or ranks other matters higher · 4.2 billion robocalls in April 2026 at about 13 per person · reported imposter-scam losses above USD 3.5 billion in 2025 · four robocall bills listed for the 119th Congress, none of them the collection bill · the statement that the Department recovered USD 9.9 million in 2024 | Congressional Research Service, R48941 (2026-05-12) | 2026-08-08 |
| Bill text — the Commission may prosecute for recovery if the Attorney General does not commence a prosecution within 120 days of a referral, and shall prioritize unpaid section 227 penalties greater than USD 25,000,000 | US Government Publishing Office, S. 1025 as introduced 2025-03-13 | 2026-08-08 |
| Legislative status — exactly two actions, both on 2025-03-13, introduction and referral to committee, with nothing since; status file updated 2026-07-01 | US Government Publishing Office, bill status bulk data | 2026-08-08 |
| The Party C timeline — calls in 2018, an FCC penalty of USD 9,918,000 in January 2021, suit in the District of Montana, summary judgment sought in October 2023, and an injunction with the full penalty entered 2024-03-19 after a de novo review of the evidence; the release says entered and never says collected | US Department of Justice release of 2024-03-22, via the Internet Archive | 2026-08-08 |
| A USD 10,000,000 civil penalty against a voice provider suspended based on inability to pay, entered 2024-01-02 — the clearest documented endpoint of the pipeline in a defendant with no money | US Department of Justice release of 2024-01-02, via the Internet Archive | 2026-08-08 |
| Docket of the collection suit on the largest referral — complaint 2023-05-08, motion to dismiss denied 2024-02-13, answer with jury demand 2024-02-26, final mediation report of 2024-04-12 recording that the case did not settle, cross summary-judgment briefing in early 2025, stay ordered 2025-04-15, no judgment visible | CourtListener and RECAP, United States v. Abramovich, No. 1:23-cv-21723 in the Southern District of Florida; docket copy last updated 2025-05-24 | 2026-08-08 |
| Forfeiture order of USD 225,000,000 against one referred operation for approximately one billion health-insurance robocalls in the first four and a half months of 2019, released 2021-03-18 — the largest item in the referral queue | Federal Communications Commission, FCC 21-35 | 2026-08-08 |
| Forfeiture order of USD 120,000,000 against Party A for 96,758,223 illegal spoofed robocalls over three months in 2016, released 2018-05-10 — the oldest referral and the one the Department sued on | Federal Communications Commission, FCC 18-58 | 2026-08-08 |
| Three further forfeiture orders read together as the evidence that penalties are sized on a verified subset of calls — USD 82,106,000 against Party D for more than 21 million robocalls, released 2018-09-26 · USD 37,525,000 against a further referred party, which made 2,341,125 spoofed calls with the penalty computed on 37,525 verified, released 2020-10-28 · USD 9,997,750 against Party H for 47,610 spoofed calls, released 2020-11-19 | Federal Communications Commission, FCC 18-134 and two sibling orders at the same path | 2026-08-08 |
| Side-by-side comparison showing that reports through 2023 covered the report year through 30 November and that the report of 2024-12-27 does not — the comparison was re-verified here against the three primary documents, while the motive attributed to the change is the opinion of that author and not a finding in any government document | Commsrisk, trade publication, 2025-01-31 | 2026-08-08 |
| The pages of the Department of Justice and of the main FCC web host, sought for the same releases and for the agency note on the June 2026 decision | US Department of Justice · Federal Communications Commission | URL not confirmed: justice.gov returns a bot-verification interstitial and www.fcc.gov returns HTTP 403; the two Department releases were obtained instead from Internet Archive snapshots recorded above |
| Docket searches for section 504 collection actions against the four referred parties not yet checked — Party H, the party holding the USD 37,525,000 order, Party I, and Party F with Party J | CourtListener and RECAP | URL not confirmed: the service began returning empty responses after about ten queries, so these four were never checked and the finding is recorded as not checked rather than as no suit found |
| An audit by the Government Accountability Office or an Inspector General of section 227 forfeiture collection, sought to test whether any external body has examined the receivable carried at a 99.47 percent allowance | US Government Accountability Office | URL not confirmed: the search surfaced only congressional-review products on call-blocking and caller-identification rules, and no page was fetched, so this is an unsuccessful search and not a confirmed absence |
Ten of the sixteen rows carrying a URL point at a primary federal document read directly — the three FCC reports to Congress, the audited Agency Financial Report, the slip opinion of 2026-06-04, three forfeiture orders, the bill text and the bill status record. The statutory text of section 504 was read on a university host rather than on a government one. The Congressional Research Service report and the two Department of Justice releases describe events recorded elsewhere, and the two releases had to be read through Internet Archive snapshots because the originating host blocks automated retrieval. The docket is a mirror of the federal court system contributed by its users and may be incomplete, and one row is a trade publication used only for a comparison that was re-verified here against the three primary reports. Where sources overlap they agree, and the wording of the collected figure is identical across the reports of 2024 and 2025. Where they disagree the disagreement is left visible rather than settled. The Congressional Research Service writes that the Department recovered USD 9.9 million in 2024, while the release it cites says only that a court entered the penalty and the FCC reports the same calendar year as zero collected; the same report gives April 2026 for the robocall volume while its own footnote is dated March 2026; and the two releases about the Party C matter differ on the month the suit was filed, September against October 2021, and on where the defendant resides. Two limits on this table are worth naming. The sum of USD 911,834,500 appears in no document at all and is arithmetic performed here across ten separate orders, so it is presented as a derivation and never as a published figure; and the row covering three forfeiture orders carries only one URL, because the two sibling documents were retrieved from the same host path but their addresses were not recorded as opened, and this project does not reconstruct an address that was not written down. This is a Path A output (research-based definition), so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.
This table holds 19 evidence rows, 16 of which carry a source you can open · 8 distinct sources. How this table is made
People affected
Estimated range 323,000,000–323,000,000 As of 2026-04
Derivation chain
| Term | Value | Source | Assumption |
|---|---|---|---|
| Robocalls received by recipients in the United States in one month | 4,200,000,000 | Congressional Research Service R48941, 2026-05-12, citing a commercial robocall volume index | The volume counts calls placed into the United States network in April 2026 and is the only current national volume figure any source opened in this round carries. The report states April 2026 in its text while the supporting footnote is dated March 2026, an internal date mismatch that could not be resolved, so the month carries about one month of uncertainty that does not change the order of magnitude. |
| Robocalls per person in that month, as reported alongside the volume | 13 | Congressional Research Service R48941, 2026-05-12 | The per-person average is published by the same source in the same sentence as the volume, so the divisor and the dividend come from one calculation rather than from two sources joined here. The source does not state the denominator it used or whether it is the resident population, the adult population or the count of active lines, and it attaches no margin. |
| Implied recipients of robocalls in the United States in that month | 323,000,000 | derived from the two terms above | 4,200,000,000 divided by 13 is 323,076,923, rounded down here to 323,000,000. This is the population exposed to the conduct the uncollected section 227 forfeiture is meant to deter, and it is essentially the entire phone-using population of the country. It serves as both bounds because it is the only person-scale figure any opened source supports. |
Sensitivity The interval has zero width and is not a confidence interval. It is a single derived figure resting on one published volume and one published per-person average, and the reason it cannot be widened is that no opened source gives any other person-scale quantity for this problem. The obvious candidate for a floor is not one. In calendar year 2024 the FCC logged 29,180 informal consumer complaints alleging violations of section 227(e), the spoofing provision under which eight of the ten referred forfeiture matters were brought, and 33,137 under section 227(b), but a complaint is not a person: one person may file several in a year, so the tally is an upper bound on complainants rather than a floor on persons. The Commission adds that a single complaint alleging several subsections may be counted up to three times across its table, which is why the four columns are not summed. The distance between 29,180 complaints and 323 million exposed people is a factor of about 11,000, and that distance is not measurement noise. It is the gap between reporting and exposure, and any figure chosen inside it would be an argument rather than a measurement. Three things this number does not count. It does not count distinct recipients of the specific campaigns at issue: the ten referred forfeiture orders together document at least 1.12 billion calls, and not one of them states how many people received them, so calls cannot be converted into persons. It does not count money lost: reported imposter-scam losses in the United States exceeded USD 3.5 billion in 2025, and no source attributes any part of that to the ten referred parties, while a forfeiture in any case would go to the Treasury General Fund and not to anyone who was called. And it does not count harm caused by the collection failure itself, because no source estimates how many calls would not have been placed had the USD 911,834,500 in referred penalties been collected. The limit in the opposite direction is that the count is bounded to calls into the United States network, while several of the referred operations ran across borders and any recipients outside the country fall outside the figure entirely.
Regional breakdown No source opened here reports robocall volume, complaint counts or exposure by state or region. The FCC complaint table is national and broken out only by statutory subsection, the volume index is national, and the forfeiture orders count calls placed rather than the places they reached. Splitting the national figure by state population would be proportional allocation and would also be wrong on its own terms, because the calls are placed to number blocks rather than distributed with residence, and several of the referred operations ran across borders.
What is missing 2
Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.
- SectionWhat is it connected to?
federal debt collection practice across other agencies, the enforcement architecture of the Telemarketing Sales Rule and of state attorneys general, service of process against operators incorporated abroad, and the effect of the June 2026 jury-right decision on other agencies that impose administrative penalties. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.
Fills with research
- SectionWhat is the state now, and what should it be?
the target state: no source opened here names a collection rate the government aims for, a share of referred value it expects to recover, or a threshold below which the figure would be treated as a failure. The TRACED Act requires the number to be published and says nothing about what it should be.
Needs a new measurement
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
Comments
The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.
The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.
You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.
The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.
You must be signed in to comment.
You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.
This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.
No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.
You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.
Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
No comments yet.