All problems

Institutional exemption · United States

As of the survey published 2025-11-20, more than 600,000 people across 41 states were on waiting or interest lists for Medicaid home care that federal waiver rules permit states not to provide

More than 600,000 people sat on Medicaid home-care waiting or interest lists across 41 states in the state survey KFF published on 2025-11-20, and the average reported wait was 32 months. The total rose 14 percent over the prior year, with 29 states reporting an increase and 12 …

Resolution status
not confirmed
Checked
2026-08-08
Evidence type
SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
Outlet
not recorded
Authoring mode
Derived from press reports
Views
19

What is happening?

More than 600,000 people sat on Medicaid home-care waiting or interest lists across 41 states in the state survey KFF published on 2025-11-20, and the average reported wait was 32 months. The total rose 14 percent over the prior year, with 29 states reporting an increase and 12 reporting a decrease, and the average wait fell from 40 months in the 2024 round.

Almost three quarters of the people counted in that round — 74 percent — have an intellectual or developmental disability. Older adults and people with physical disabilities are 23 percent, and everyone else, including medically fragile children and people with brain or spinal cord injury, makes up the remaining 4 percent. The reported wait splits sharply by group in the same survey: 37 months for intellectual and developmental disability waivers, 63 months for autism-specific waivers, and 15 months for older adults and people with physical disabilities.

Over a longer window the national total moves the other way. The same survey series counted 819,886 people in FY2018 and more than 692,000 in 2023. Part of that decline is a change in counting rather than a change in service — between 2018 and 2020 the total fell by 155,000, and nearly half of that came from one state introducing an eligibility screen that removed close to 70,000 people from its list at once.

None of this is a malfunction of Medicaid. It is a permitted feature of one Medicaid authority. Section 1915(c) lets a state forego certain Medicaid requirements in order to target home and community-based services to specific populations, cap the number of beneficiaries who receive them, and hold a waiting list for people who cannot be served under the cap. State plan authorities carry no such permission, which is why MACPAC describes state plan HCBS as putting a state at greater financial risk than a waiver.

Whose problem is this?

RoleWho
AffectedThe people on the lists — more than 600,000 across 41 states as of the survey published 2025-11-20, of whom 74 percent have an intellectual or developmental disability · their households · the family members absorbing the unpaid load
Raised byKFF, which has surveyed state HCBS officials since 2001 and whose 2025 round is the 23rd · MACPAC, which reviewed 254 waiver documents in March 2020 · state HCBS officials and advocates interviewed by MACPAC
DecidesState legislatures and governors, whose annual appropriations set how many waiver slots exist · CMS, which approves each 1915(c) waiver for up to five years and the maximum capacity named in it · Congress, which decides whether home and community-based services stay optional
Bears the costThe listed people, who wait · unpaid family caregivers, put at 63 million nationally as of 2025 in an AARP figure carried by KFF, more than 8 million of whom rely on Medicaid for their own coverage · state budgets, on the side that is not legally required

The body that could end the queue outright is Congress, and the body that moves it in practice is a state legislature writing a one-year appropriation. Neither is the body that publishes the number.

Where does this problem end?

AxisThis is the problemThis is not the problem
WhatThe legal permission to cap enrollment and hold a list for home care, while the same level of care delivered in a nursing facility is a required benefit that admits no queueWhether home care is better or cheaper than institutional care — not in dispute in any source opened here
The merits of any single waiver design are a separate question
WhoPeople who qualify for or have requested waiver home and community-based services and are on a listPeople who already hold a slot and cannot find a worker — a second, parallel constraint that produces no list
WhereThe United States · 41 states reporting a list as of the survey published 2025-11-20Home-care queues outside Medicaid, and comparable queues in other countries, were not examined
When1981, when Medicaid HCBS was first authorized through 1915(c) waivers, through 2026-08-08The period before 1981 was not examined
ScaleMore than 600,000 listed · 32-month average reported wait, from 33 of the 41 states that answeredTotal unmet need for home care — both KFF and MACPAC state that a waiting list does not measure it

A person who qualifies for nursing facility care receives it because no queue is permitted there. That asymmetry is the whole boundary of this document, and it is written into the authority a state chooses when it decides to deliver care at home instead.

What is the state now, and what should it be?

Now

IndicatorValueAs of
People on Medicaid home-care waiting or interest listsmore than 600,000KFF survey published 2025-11-20
States reporting a list41KFF survey published 2025-11-20
Change over the prior yearup 14 percent · 29 states up, 12 downKFF survey published 2025-11-20
Average reported wait32 months, from 33 of the 41 states that answeredKFF survey published 2025-11-20
Average reported wait, prior round40 months2024 round
Composition74 percent intellectual and developmental disability · 23 percent older adults and people with physical disabilities · 4 percent all othersKFF survey published 2025-11-20
Wait by group37 months intellectual and developmental disability · 63 months autism-specific waivers · 15 months older adults and physical disabilitiesKFF survey published 2025-11-20
States that do not screen for Medicaid eligibility before adding a personsix — Florida, Iowa, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, TexasKFF survey published 2025-11-20
Share of the national total held by those six states325,000, or 54 percentKFF survey published 2025-11-20
National total, earlier rounds of the same series819,886 in FY2018 · more than 692,000 in 2023FY2018 and 2023
Approved 1915(c) waivers254, across 47 states and DCMarch 2020, MACPAC
Waiver documents that never mention a waiting list55 of 254March 2020, MACPAC
Wait time reported to CMSnoneAugust 2020, MACPAC
Federal maximum acceptable waitnone found in any source opened here2026-08-08
States constraining home-care spending44 of 50 responding · 37 cap total enrollment · 34 limit personal-care hours or visits · 47 use prior authorization for state plan home careFY2025, published 2025-11-20
States intending to newly cap waiver participants in FY20268reported before the 2025 reconciliation law was enacted
Direct-care workforce shortagereported by all 50 states and DC · 41 states reported permanent home-care provider closures within the yearKFF round published 2026-01-05

Needs a new measurementthe target state: no source opened here names a number of slots that would clear the lists, a maximum acceptable wait, or a date by which either should happen. The Olmstead opinion requires only that a list move at a pace it calls reasonable and declines to quantify that pace. CMS waiver instructions require only that selection policies be objective and applied consistently across the service area of the waiver. KFF and MACPAC both publish the wait and neither proposes a benchmark to measure it against.

How big is it?

Between 275,000 and 600,000 people, as of the KFF state survey published 2025-11-20.

The high bound is everyone a state has written down: more than 600,000 across 41 states. The low bound removes the block that no state has checked. Six states — Florida, Iowa, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina and Texas — add people to a list without first screening them for Medicaid eligibility, and those six hold 325,000 people, 54 percent of the national total. Some unknown share of them would not qualify if screened. The only calibration available is Ohio, where introducing an eligibility screen between 2018 and 2020 removed close to 70,000 people from a list without serving any of them.

The gap between the two bounds is not measurement noise but a difference between states about when eligibility gets checked. That boundary has itself moved twice in seven years: eight states did not screen in FY2018, holding 61 percent of the national total, and six did not in 2025, holding 54 percent. The floor is soft in a further way worth stating rather than hiding. KFF describes the screening states as checking eligibility before or while a person is on the list, whereas the earlier MACPAC wording is before placement. Those are different guarantees, so 275,000 is a floor on listed people in states that check, not a certified count of eligible people denied service. No source reports the latter.

Neither bound should be read as people receiving no help. More than 80 percent of people on waiver waiting lists are eligible for personal care through the Medicaid state plan of their state, and MACPAC found that people waiting for a waiver slot commonly receive state plan services, EPSDT for children under 21, school-based services, or a lower-tier waiver in the meantime. The honest sentence is that 275,000 to 600,000 people have asked for or qualify for a level of home support their state is legally permitted not to provide, and that no source in existence says how many of them are receiving nothing.

Under what conditions does it arise?

1. The waiver is chosen because it permits the queue. MACPAC describes 1915(c) as the authority that allows a state to forego certain Medicaid requirements in order to target benefits to specific populations, cap the number of beneficiaries served, and create waiting lists for people who cannot be served under the cap. The corollary is stated just as plainly: state plan authorities do not allow waiting lists, because state plan services must be available to every enrollee for whom they are medically necessary, so state plan HCBS puts a state at greater financial risk than a waiver does. The queue is not a defect of the instrument. It is the thing the instrument buys.

2. Home care is optional and nursing facility care is not. KFF states this asymmetry in two separate briefs. A state official told MACPAC that because HCBS are optional they are always more vulnerable to budget cuts than nursing facility services. Budget pressure therefore has one target and not the other.

3. Capacity is a negotiated budget line, not a function of how many people qualify. A 1915(c) waiver is approved by CMS for up to five years and names a maximum capacity for each operating year; changing that number requires an amendment. MACPAC found that state funding was cited as the most important factor in many states for increasing waiver capacity, with explicit backing from a governor or a legislature making the difference.

4. The queue has a legal bypass, reserved for people who are already institutionalized. States hold reserved capacity so that certain people can enroll immediately without joining the list, and MACPAC found this was most often used for people leaving institutions, including transitions under Money Follows the Person. The fastest route to the front of the line runs through the setting the waiver was meant to avoid.

5. The most common ordering rule rewards joining before you need to. Of the 254 waivers reviewed in March 2020, 199 document how the list is managed, and first come first served is the most common approach at 62 waivers. MACPAC records that this can encourage individuals to seek enrollment in anticipation of future needs, and describes families adding young children to intellectual and developmental disability lists years before the need arrives.

What has been tried?

AttemptBy whomWhat was doneWhen
Section 1915(c) waiver authorityCongressAuthorized Medicaid coverage of home and community-based services through a waiver that carried an enrollment cap from the beginning. The remedy for institutional bias and the queue arrived in the same instrument1981
Rebalancing LTSS spending toward home careFederal and state policyHome care passed institutional care on the spending axis — 59 percent of Medicaid LTSS dollars as of FY2016 by the MACPAC figure, 56 percent as of 2018 by the KFF figure, with a state range of 30 to 83 percent. It did not create an entitlementthrough 2018
Olmstead v. L.C.US Supreme CourtHeld that unnecessary institutional segregation is discrimination under ADA Title II, and in the same opinion supplied a safe harbor for a state with a comprehensive plan and a list moving at a reasonable pace1999
Olmstead settlement agreementsIndividual states, under litigationMACPAC records one interviewed state prioritizing moves out of nursing homes under a settlement, and another switching to first come first served because of a lawsuitreviewed March 2020
Money Follows the PersonFederal demonstration, voluntary for statesMoved people who had lived in an institution for at least 90 days back to the community. MACPAC found reserved waiver capacity is most often set aside for exactly these transitionsreviewed March 2020
State plan alternatives — 1915(i), 1915(j), 1915(k)StatesThese authorities exist and cannot carry waiting lists; the Community First Choice option adds a 6 percentage point federal match increase for attendant services. Take-up is not quantified in any source opened herereviewed August 2020
Making HCBS a mandatory benefitProposed by state officials and advocates interviewed by MACPACNamed as the change that would make the biggest difference in eliminating waiting lists, with one advocate proposing a partial version covering a subset of services. Not enacted; HCBS remains optionalAugust 2020
Managed long-term services and supportsStatesContested in the MACPAC record — one state was cited as having used it to serve everyone eligible, one served more people without significantly reducing its list, and an advocate reported no impact on list sizereviewed August 2020
State appropriationsGovernors and legislaturesThe lever MACPAC found most often decisive for adding capacity. It is annual and runs 51 ways, which is why 29 states rose and 12 fell in the same survey yearcontinuing
List maintenanceStatesStates that cut lists sharply told MACPAC they did it by removing duplicate applications and people who had moved, died or no longer needed services. One state added an eligibility screen and removed close to 70,000 people at a stroke2018 to 2020
Ensuring Access to Medicaid Services final ruleCMSPublished in the Federal Register as document 2024-08363, pages 40542 to 40874. The excerpt retrieved this round covered advisory committees and fee-for-service payment transparency; no HCBS provision appeared in it2024-05-10
The 2025 reconciliation lawCongressSigned 2025-07-04. CBO, as reported by KFF, estimates federal Medicaid spending falls by USD 911 billion over ten years after interactions, about 14 percent of federal Medicaid spending over the period, with 76 percent of the reduction in the second five years2025-07-04

Two of these attempts move the number without moving a person. Adding an eligibility screen and clearing duplicates both shorten a list, and the survey that publishes the national total cannot separate that from service.

What was found?

FindingObserved valueEvidence grade
1915(c) permits a state to cap enrollment and hold a waiting listyeshigh — MACPAC states it twice, in body text and in Appendix A, and KFF states it independently
State plan authorities permit no waiting listyeshigh — MACPAC, August 2020
Nursing facility care is required and most home care is optionalyeshigh — KFF states it in two separate briefs
People on lists across 41 statesmore than 600,000high — KFF survey published 2025-11-20
Change over the prior yearup 14 percentmedium — single source, and the responding set changes every round
Average reported wait32 months, from 33 of 41 responding statesmedium — single source, unweighted by list size, and the eight states that did not answer are not named
Seven-year direction of the national totaldown from 819,886 in FY2018medium — same survey series, but the set of non-screening states changed, so the two totals do not count the same population
Share held by states that do not screen first325,000, or 54 percent, across six statesmedium — single source
Waiver documents that never mention a waiting list55 of 254medium — MACPAC, March 2020, now six years old
Wait time reported to the federal governmentnonehigh — MACPAC states it flatly
A federal maximum acceptable waitnone foundmedium — an absence across every source opened here, not a positive statement by any of them
Olmstead safe harbor for a list that moves at a reasonable pacepresent in the opinion, pace unquantifiedhigh — read directly
Direct-care workforce shortageall 50 states and DChigh — KFF round published 2026-01-05
HCBS share of Medicaid LTSS dollars59 percent for FY2016 per MACPAC against 56 percent for 2018 per KFFlow — two sources, two years, two definitions, not reconciled by either
Whether placement on a waiting list can be appealednot establishedlow — no source opened here addresses it in either direction

Why is it still unsolved?

Institutional exemption — the entitlement exists and is fully operative, and the queue rests on a lawful carve-out from it that a federal agency reviews and signs.

The people on these lists are not people the system failed to notice. Every one of them is on a document CMS approved. A 1915(c) waiver names a maximum capacity for each operating year, runs for up to five years, and can only be enlarged by amendment, so the number of people a state may serve is settled in advance of knowing how many will qualify. What the waiver trades away is comparability, freedom of choice and statewideness, and what it obtains in exchange is legal permission to serve fewer people than qualify. A state that delivered the same services under a state plan authority would have no ability to hold a list at all, which is precisely why MACPAC describes that route as the financially riskier one.

The second movement is that the queue is legally sufficient rather than legally deficient. The Olmstead opinion is where a reader expects the remedy to be, and it is instead where the safe harbor is: a state that has a comprehensive, effectively working plan and a list moving at a reasonable pace, not driven by an effort to keep its own institutions full, meets the reasonable-modifications standard. No source opened this round quantifies that pace. A state whose list moves is compliant, and a state whose list moves slowly is, absent litigation, also compliant. MACPAC records litigation moving two individual states and nothing setting a national floor.

The third movement is why nothing registers. There is no adverse determination at the moment a person joins a list — there is a slot count and a date, and the person who qualifies and does not receive is administratively still in process, for 32 months on average and, by the interview evidence MACPAC collected, for as long as 14 years in one state. Nobody is denied, so no adverse determination accumulates in a record that a court or a legislature could later read, and whether the placement itself can be contested is a question no source opened this round answers in either direction. Meanwhile the lever that actually moves capacity is an annual state appropriation, which is why 29 states rose and 12 fell in the same year and why no national trajectory exists to point at. The 2025 reconciliation law now presses on the optional side of that ledger by USD 911 billion over ten years, and eight states had already said they intend to newly cap waiver participants in FY2026 before it was enacted.

What observation would mean it is solved?

Candidates — (a) the reported national list total falls (b) the reported average wait falls (c) home and community-based services become a benefit that cannot carry a waiting list.

(a) alone is the weakest of the three. One state removed close to 70,000 people by introducing an eligibility screen, and states that cut lists sharply told MACPAC they did it partly by clearing duplicates and people who had moved, died or no longer needed services. The set of states that add people without screening changed between FY2018 and 2025, so the FY2018 total of 819,886 and the 2025 total of more than 600,000 do not count the same population. A falling total is compatible with more people being served and equally compatible with fewer people being counted.

(b) alone is worse, because of how the number is made. The 32-month figure comes from 33 of 41 responding states, is not weighted by list size, and the eight states that did not answer are not named. In the same round the list grew 14 percent while the average wait fell 20 percent, and no source explains how both can be true. Behind the average there is no median, no percentile and no state-level figure, against an interview range running from 291 days to 14 years.

(c) alone counts law rather than care. A benefit that cannot hold a list can still be limited in other ways: 34 states limited personal-care hours or visits in FY2025 and 47 used prior authorization for state plan home care. All 50 states and DC report direct-care workforce shortages and 41 report permanent provider closures within a year, so a slot with no worker attached is served by the measure and unmet in fact. The three have to be read together, and (a) has to be read against what each state changed about its counting that year.

What is it connected to?

Fills with researchthe direct-care workforce and immigration policy, the effect of the 2025 reconciliation law on optional Medicaid benefits as states write FY2026 and FY2027 budgets, the enforcement history of Olmstead since 1999, unpaid family caregiving as the absorbing layer, and the HCBS content of the CMS Ensuring Access final rule. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.

What these sources do not say

  • No target exists anywhere. Not a number of slots that would clear the lists, not a maximum acceptable wait, not a date. The Olmstead opinion requires a reasonable pace and declines to quantify it, CMS waiver instructions require selection policies to be objective and consistently applied and say nothing about speed, and both KFF and MACPAC report the wait without proposing a benchmark for it.
  • Wait time is not reported to the federal government. MACPAC states it flatly, and notes that the survey does not report at the state level either. The single national wait-time figure in American policy comes from a foundation survey of state officials, now in its 23rd round, whose series page gives no response rate, no fieldwork dates and no statement of whether participation is voluntary.
  • The drop from 40 months to 32 months is reported and never explained. The list grew 14 percent in the same round in which the average wait fell 20 percent. Both numbers are published on the same page with no account of how they fit — not a change in composition, not a change in the responding set, not faster service. The earlier decline from 2018 to 2020 is explained in detail; this one is not explained at all.
  • Nobody defines when the wait starts. Application, screening, slot request or something else — no source says, and because screening happens at different points in different states, MACPAC concludes the lists are not comparable across states. No source proposes a common definition and no body claims authority to impose one.
  • The distribution behind the average is never published. There is one 63-month figure for autism waivers and an interview range from 291 days to 14 years, which together imply a long right tail. There is no median, no percentile, no state-level wait time, and no count of how many people have waited more than five years.
  • Whether placement on a list can be appealed. The MACPAC review dedicated to how states administer these lists never uses the words appeal, fair hearing or due process. That silence is reportable and it is not the same as establishing that no such right exists — nothing opened this round settles the question in either direction.
  • How people meet their needs while waiting, and what becomes of those who leave without a slot. MACPAC states directly that states do not track how people may be getting their needs met as they wait, so no source can say how many of the 600,000 receive nothing at all. Nobody counts deaths on a list, entries into institutions from a list, or people who simply stop waiting; MACPAC interviewees said it was possible that people enter institutions to obtain services while waiting, and left it there.
  • Nobody counts people who hold a slot and cannot find a worker, and for 55 of 254 waivers the existence of a list is itself undocumented. All 50 states and DC report shortages and 41 report permanent provider closures within a year, yet no source quantifies authorized service hours that go unfilled — those people are served on paper and appear in no queue. And in the March 2020 review, 55 waiver documents do not mention waiting lists at all, so whether one exists, and how the state manages capacity and unmet need, is unknown. A federal agency approved all 254 of those documents.

See the evidence

ItemSourceConfirmation
More than 600,000 people on lists in 41 states, up 14 percent with 29 states up and 12 down · 32-month average wait from 33 of 41 responding states, down from 40 months · 74 percent intellectual and developmental disability, 23 percent older adults and physical disability, 63 months for autism waivers · six non-screening states holding 325,000, or 54 percent · one state removing close to 70,000 through an eligibility screen · more than 80 percent eligible for state plan personal care · the KFF caveat that a list is an incomplete measure of unmet needKFF, waiting lists 2016 to 2025 brief, published 2025-11-202026-08-08
The legal mechanism — 1915(c) allows a state to forego certain Medicaid requirements to target benefits, cap the number of beneficiaries and create waiting lists, while state plan authorities do not allow waiting lists and therefore carry greater financial risk · 254 waivers as of March 2020 with 55 whose list status is unknown · wait time not reported to CMS · states do not track how people meet needs while waiting · interview range of 291 days to 14 years · reserved capacity used most often for institutional transitions · first come first served in 62 waivers · state funding named the most important factor for capacityMACPAC, issue brief on state management of HCBS waiver waiting lists, August 20202026-08-08
Olmstead v. L.C., 1999 — unnecessary institutional segregation is discrimination under ADA Title II, and the safe harbor for a state with a comprehensive plan and a list moving at a reasonable pace not driven by an effort to keep its institutions full. The pace is not quantifiedCornell Legal Information Institute2026-08-08
Independent statement of the cap authority — waivers let states limit the number of beneficiaries receiving services, target specific populations, or limit availability to parts of the state · FY2016 Medicaid HCBS spending of USD 95 billion against USD 67.1 billion institutional, about 59 percent of Medicaid LTSSMACPAC, home and community-based services subtopic page2026-08-08
Second statement that nursing home LTSS coverage is mandatory while most HCBS coverage is optional · 5.7 million Medicaid LTSS users in 2021, 75 percent receiving HCBS and 57 percent under 65 · total US LTSS spending of USD 415 billion in 2022 with Medicaid paying 61 percent · more than 692,000 on waiting lists in 2023 with 72 percent intellectual and developmental disabilityKFF, ten things about long-term services and supports2026-08-08
FY2018 baseline — 41 of 51 states reporting lists, 819,886 total, 39-month average across 30 responding states with a range of 1 to 71 months, eight non-screening states holding 61 percent or about 499,000, and ten states with no list at allKFF, key state policy choices about Medicaid HCBS, FY2018 round2026-08-08
Capacity limits that never produce a list, FY2025 — 44 of 50 responding states constrain home-care spending, 37 cap total enrollment, 37 cap per-participant spending, 38 cap spending on specific services, 34 limit personal-care hours or visits, 47 use prior authorization · for FY2026, 8 states intend to newly cap waiver participants and 12 plan new service-specific limits, reported before enactment of the reconciliation lawKFF, state management of Medicaid home care spending, published 2025-11-202026-08-08
Second independent statement of the mandatory and optional asymmetry — nursing facility care is required and states choose whether to provide most home care · 5.1 million people used Medicaid home care in 2023 against 1.4 million in institutional long-term care · take-up of the new waiver authority created by the 2025 reconciliation law is expected to be low · the underlying survey was generally completed before enactmentKFF, Medicaid home care in 2025, published 2026-01-052026-08-08
The parallel constraint that produces no queue — all 50 states and DC report direct-care workforce shortages, 48 states raised payment rates, 41 states reported permanent home-care provider closures within the year and 28 reported adult day health closures · median 2025 rates of USD 19 per hour for a personal care provider, USD 41 for a home health aide and USD 70 for a registered nurseKFF, payment rates for Medicaid home care, published 2026-01-052026-08-08
Earlier round of the same workforce question, held here only to mark non-comparability — median rates of USD 18, USD 40 and USD 64, shortages reported by all 48 responding states, and the identical count of 41 states reporting permanent provider closures within the yearKFF, payment rates and state responses to workforce challenges, earlier survey round2026-08-08
Fiscal pressure on the optional benefit — CBO estimates the enacted 2025 reconciliation package reduces federal Medicaid spending by USD 911 billion over ten years after interactions, about 14 percent of the period total, with 76 percent of the reduction in the final five years. No enrollment-loss estimate has been published for the enacted packageKFF presentation of CBO estimates2026-08-08
Provenance of the only national wait-time measure — KFF has surveyed state HCBS officials since 2001 and the 2025 round is the 23rd. The series page states no response rate, no fieldwork dates, and does not say whether participation is voluntaryKFF, Medicaid home care survey series page2026-08-08
State variation attributable to policy choice rather than need — HCBS at 56 percent of Medicaid LTSS dollars nationally as of 2018 with a state range of 30 to 83 percent, two-thirds of the FY2018 waiting-list population living in non-expansion states, and variation attributed to which populations a state chooses to serve and the resources it commitsKFF, state variation in Medicaid LTSS policy choices2026-08-08
Publication of the CMS Ensuring Access to Medicaid Services final rule in the Federal Register on 2024-05-10 as document 2024-08363, pages 40542 to 40874. The retrieved excerpt ended near page 40555 and covered advisory committees and fee-for-service payment transparency, so no HCBS provision, reporting duty or compliance date is confirmed from this rowGovInfo, Government Publishing Office2026-08-08
Attempted — the primary CMS program text on 1915(c) authority, covering what a state may waive, whether it may limit the number of participants served, cost neutrality and five-year renewal terms. This would have been the primary federal confirmation of the cap authority now carried by MACPAC aloneMedicaid.gov, CMSURL not confirmed: HTTP 403 Forbidden
Attempted — federal legislative history of proposals to make HCBS a mandatory benefit or to raise the federal match for it, and the text of the 2025 reconciliation law. No bill number, sponsor, status or provision is stated anywhere in this document as a resultCongress.govURL not confirmed: HTTP 403 Forbidden on every request
Attempted — the regulatory text at 42 CFR 441.311 on HCBS reporting requirements, including any duty to report waiting-list data, and the CMS summary of the HCBS provisions of the Ensuring Access final rule. Whether any federal rule now requires a state to report waiting-list data is therefore unverifiedeCFR and Federal Register, NARA and GPO, and CMS.govURL not confirmed: eCFR and federalregister.gov returned 302 redirects to a bot-block interstitial, which is not content and was not followed; cms.gov returned HTTP 403

No primary federal document was read this round. Every attempt at one failed: Medicaid.gov, Congress.gov and CMS.gov returned HTTP 403, and the eCFR and Federal Register redirected to a bot-block interstitial. The consequence is specific and worth naming — the central legal claim of this document, that 1915(c) permits a state to cap enrollment and hold a list while state plan authorities do not, rests on MACPAC stating it twice in one brief and once more on a separate topic page, with KFF stating it independently in the same terms. It is well corroborated among secondary authorities and unconfirmed against the statute or the regulation. One primary source was read directly, the Olmstead opinion, and it is the source of the safe harbor rather than of a remedy. Where the sources disagree the disagreement is left standing rather than resolved. The national total reads 819,886 for FY2018, more than 692,000 for 2023 and more than 600,000 for 2025, but the set of states that add people without screening turned over in between, so the endpoints do not count the same population; the average wait reads 39, then 40, then 32 months across responding sets that change every round and are never named; the share held by non-screening states reads 61 percent across eight states and then 54 percent across six; the HCBS share of Medicaid LTSS dollars reads 59 percent for FY2016 from MACPAC and 56 percent for 2018 from KFF, and neither acknowledges the other. Two figures are deliberately not treated as independent confirmation: the count of 41 states reporting permanent provider closures appears identically in two survey rounds with different fieldwork years, and it is cited here from one round only. Two counts of family caregivers, 63 million as of 2025 and 38 million as of 2021, use different definitions and are not reconciled by either publisher, so neither is used to support a claim here. This is a Path A output, research-based rather than observation-linked, so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.

This table holds 17 evidence rows, 14 of which carry a source you can open · 4 distinct sources. How this table is made

People affected

Estimated range 275,000600,000 As of 2025 state survey published 2025-11-20

Derivation chain

TermValueSourceAssumption
People on Medicaid home-care waiting or interest lists across 41 states600,000KFF, 23rd annual survey of state Medicaid HCBS officials, published 2025-11-20, reported as more than 600,000Sets the high bound. It counts everyone a state has written down, including people added in states that do not check Medicaid eligibility first, so it is an upper limit on the listed population rather than a count of eligible people denied service.
People on lists in the six states that add someone before screening for Medicaid eligibility325,000Same survey. The six states are Florida, Iowa, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina and Texas, together holding 54 percent of the national totalSubtracted to reach the low bound. An unknown share of these 325,000 would not qualify if screened. The only calibration available is Ohio, where introducing an eligibility screen between 2018 and 2020 removed close to 70,000 people from the list without serving any of them.
Listed people in states that check Medicaid eligibility before or while a person is on the list275,000Derived as 600,000 minus 325,000 from the same survey published 2025-11-20The low bound, and a soft floor. KFF describes these states as screening before or while a person is on the list, so some share were placed first and screened later. It is therefore a floor on listed people in states that check, not a certified count of eligible people denied service.

Sensitivity The width of the range, 325,000 people, is not measurement noise. It is a difference between states about when eligibility is checked, and it is more than half the headline figure. That boundary itself moves: eight states did not screen in FY2018, holding 61 percent of a national total of 819,886, and six did not in 2025, holding 54 percent of a total above 600,000, with three states leaving the set and one joining. The FY2018 and 2025 totals therefore do not count the same population. Neither bound counts unmet need that produces no list at all: people in states that do not cover the applicable service, people subject to per-participant limits rather than an enrollment cap, with 34 states limiting personal-care hours or visits in FY2025, people who hold a waiver slot and cannot find a worker, with all 50 states and DC reporting direct-care workforce shortages and 41 reporting permanent provider closures in the round published 2026-01-05, and people in the roughly ten states that keep no list. In the opposite direction, neither bound is a count of people receiving nothing. More than 80 percent of people on waiver waiting lists are eligible for personal care through the Medicaid state plan of their state, and MACPAC found that people waiting commonly receive state plan services, EPSDT for children under 21, school-based services or a lower-tier waiver. No source in existence reports how many receive nothing at all, because MACPAC states that states do not track how people meet their needs while waiting.

Regional breakdown The only national source, the KFF survey of state HCBS officials, did not publish waiting-list figures at the state level in the round published 2025-11-20, and MACPAC states that this information is not reported to CMS. The six non-screening states are named with a combined total of 325,000 but no per-state values were opened this round. MACPAC further concludes that the lists are not comparable across states, because screening happens at different points in different states and no source defines when the wait begins, so a state-level split could not be constructed even from the fragments available.

What is missing 2

Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.

1Fills with researchThe material exists. We simply have not looked yet.
  • Section
    What is it connected to?

    the direct-care workforce and immigration policy, the effect of the 2025 reconciliation law on optional Medicaid benefits as states write FY2026 and FY2027 budgets, the enforcement history of Olmstead since 1999, unpaid family caregiving as the absorbing layer, and the HCBS content of the CMS Ensuring Access final rule. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.

    Fills with research
1Needs a new measurementNo published source carries this value. Someone has to count it.
  • Section
    What is the state now, and what should it be?

    the target state: no source opened here names a number of slots that would clear the lists, a maximum acceptable wait, or a date by which either should happen. The Olmstead opinion requires only that a list move at a pace it calls reasonable and declines to quantify that pace. CMS waiver instructions require only that selection policies be objective and applied consistently across the service area of the waiver. KFF and MACPAC both publish the wait and neither proposes a benchmark to measure it against.

    Needs a new measurement

Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page

Comments

Total comments
0

The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.

The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.

You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.

The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.

You must be signed in to comment.

You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.

This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.

No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.

You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.

Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.

Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page

No comments yet.