All problems

Enforcement absent · United States

CMS set an 80 percent participation goal for Medicaid child health screenings in 1990 with a 1995 deadline — the national participation rate was 51 percent in fiscal 2023

Federal law makes preventive health screening a mandatory Medicaid benefit for enrolled children from birth through age 20. The benefit is called EPSDT — Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment — and it is defined at 42 U.S.C. 1396d(r). The Omnibus Budget Reconci…

Resolution status
not confirmed
Checked
2026-08-20
Evidence type
SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
Outlet
not recorded
Authoring mode
Derived from press reports
Views
12

What is happening?

Federal law makes preventive health screening a mandatory Medicaid benefit for enrolled children from birth through age 20. The benefit is called EPSDT — Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment — and it is defined at 42 U.S.C. 1396d(r). The Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989, Pub. L. 101-239 section 6403(c), directed the Secretary of Health and Human Services to set participation goals for each state. In 1990 CMS set the participant ratio goal at 80 percent, set an identical 80 percent goal for the screening ratio, and set the deadline at federal fiscal year 1995.

The participant ratio measures the share of eligible children who received at least one recommended well-child screening in the year. GAO reported that ratio nationally as 64 percent in fiscal 2010, then 61, 62, 63, 59, 58, 58 and 59 percent through fiscal 2017. In June 2025 GAO reported 51 percent for fiscal 2023, down from the 59 percent it had reported for fiscal 2019.

A second requirement is stricter and is not a percentage goal at all. Since 1998 the State Medicaid Manual has required blood lead testing for 100 percent of children at 12 months and again at 24 months. GAO reported in June 2025 that CMS still does not have accurate and complete national data with which to determine whether the states comply.

The shortfall has been documented across three decades by two federal oversight bodies. HHS Office of Inspector General reported in 1997 that 60 percent of children in managed care did not receive required screenings. In May 2010 the same office examined a nine-state sample and found that 76 percent of children, about 2.7 million, missed at least one required medical, vision or hearing screening, and that 41 percent received no medical screening at all.

Whose problem is this?

RoleWho
AffectedChildren from birth through age 20 enrolled in Medicaid — 33 million in fiscal 2022, of whom about 85 percent, roughly 28 million, received services through managed care
Raised byHHS Office of Inspector General, from 1997 onward · GAO, in reports issued 2011, 2019, 2024 and 2025 · Congress, which wrote a review requirement into the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act of 2022
DecidesCMS, which set the goal, receives the Form CMS-416 reports and oversees state programs · state Medicaid agencies, which run the programs and contract with managed care plans · Congress, which can attach a deadline or a consequence to the goal
Bears the costChildren who do not receive a screening they are already entitled to · their families · state and federal budgets later, when a condition found late costs more to treat than a condition found early

The body that set the goal in 1990 is the same body that receives the annual reports showing whether it was met.

Where does this problem end?

AxisThis is the problemThis is not the problem
WhatThe gap between the federal participation goal set in 1990 and the screening rate actually delivered, and the absence of a routine federal comparison of state performance against that goalWhether these children are entitled to the benefit — EPSDT is a mandatory Medicaid benefit and that is not in dispute here
WhoChildren from birth through age 20 already enrolled in Medicaid or CHIPUninsured children who are not enrolled at all, which is a coverage question and a separate problem
ServicePreventive screening delivery, including well-child screenings and blood lead testingAccess to treatment after a condition is found, which GAO describes as harder to measure and which is analytically a second stage
Benefit scopeMedical, vision and hearing screeningDental benefits, which CMS tracks under a separate initiative with its own indicator
WhereThe 50 states and the District of ColumbiaChildren in commercial or employer coverage, for whom no federal participation obligation of this kind exists
WhenThe 1990 goal through the fiscal 2023 reporting yearWhether the benefit itself should be widened or narrowed
Value questionsWhether a rate published by CMS meets a goal published by CMSWhether Medicaid should be larger or smaller, whether managed care is the right delivery model, and whether the federal government or the states should decide — all contested, and none of them answered here

The boundary sits at delivery rather than eligibility, because these children are already enrolled and the benefit is already mandatory under federal law.

What is missing is not a rule and not a target but a routine comparison between the target and the result.

What is the state now, and what should it be?

Now

IndicatorValueAs of
National participation ratio51 percentfiscal 2023
National participation ratio, previously reported59 percentfiscal 2019
National participation ratio series64, 61, 62, 63, 59, 58, 58, 59 percentfiscal 2010 through fiscal 2017
Children enrolled and eligible for EPSDT33 millionfiscal 2022
Share receiving services through managed careabout 85 percent, roughly 28 millionfiscal 2022
National blood lead testing compliance ratenot published — GAO reports the CMS data as not accurate and complete enough to determine compliance2025-06
Federal assessment of state performance against the goalHHS did not concur with the GAO recommendation to conduct one2019-08
2011 GAO reporting recommendationclassified open2019-03
2024 GAO prior authorization oversight recommendationsnot implemented2025-03
2019 GAO blood lead data recommendationpartially addressed2025-06
Jurisdictions producing Form CMS-416 from federal T-MSIS data instead of their own records31 states, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islandsfiscal 2023

Should be

StandardLevelSet by
Participant ratio80 percentCMS in 1990, with a fiscal 1995 deadline
Screening ratio80 percentCMS in 1990
Blood lead testing at 12 and 24 months100 percent of childrenCMS State Medicaid Manual, in force since 1998

The target state here does not have to be inferred, because the federal agency published both a number and a deadline more than three decades ago.

No year for which the sources opened here report a national figure reaches that number, and the deadline that governed it passed in 1995.

How big is it?

About 14 million children in a single year. Fiscal 2017 is the one year for which the sources opened here give a rate and a count from the same report and the same fiscal year: about 20.2 million children, or 59 percent, received at least one recommended well-child screening. The remainder of that denominator is roughly 13.7 to 14.4 million children who did not.

Participation counts a child as reached after a single screening, even when the recommended schedule calls for several.

That makes the figure a floor rather than a ceiling. In the nine-state sample HHS OIG examined for 2007, 59 percent of the children who did receive a medical screening were missing at least one of the five statutory components, most often a laboratory test such as blood lead. It also excludes lead testing entirely, because the standard there is 100 percent and no national compliance rate exists to subtract from it.

The most recent national rate is lower than the one used above. GAO reported 51 percent for fiscal 2023, but that report does not publish the eligible denominator for that year, so no count is derived from it here. Multiplying a fiscal 2023 rate by a fiscal 2022 enrollment total would combine two different populations and produce a number that no source supports.

Under what conditions does it arise?

1. The goal exists and nothing compares performance to it on a schedule. In August 2019 GAO made six recommendations to HHS. The department concurred with three and did not concur with three, among them the recommendation that CMS regularly assess state performance against the goals CMS had itself set.

2. Delivery runs through contracts, and oversight of those contracts was not exercised in the states GAO sampled. About 85 percent of enrolled children received services through managed care in fiscal 2022. In April 2024 GAO found that none of the four states in its sample reviewed a representative sample of the EPSDT service denials made by managed care plans.

3. The measurement basis changed part way through the series. By fiscal 2023, 31 states, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands were producing the Form CMS-416 report from federal T-MSIS data rather than from their own records. A series that runs from 1990 to 2023 therefore does not rest on one method throughout.

4. The strictest requirement has no national measurement at all. Blood lead testing is an absolute standard rather than a percentage goal, and GAO reported in both 2019 and June 2025 that CMS lacks accurate and complete national data on compliance.

A requirement that nobody measures nationally produces no number that anyone can be shown to have missed.

5. Where money is attached, the amount attached is small. As GAO reported in June 2025, North Carolina, Ohio and Washington ran withhold or incentive arrangements tied to child screening performance in 2024 and 2025, with 1 to 3 percent of capitation payments linked to them. GAO also reported that performance data for the North Carolina arrangement was not expected to be available until 2026.

What has been tried?

AttemptBy whomWhat was doneWhenResult
Statutory mandate to set participation goalsCongress, Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989Directed the Secretary of Health and Human Services to establish state EPSDT participation goals; benefit codified at 42 U.S.C. 1396d(r)1989Goals were set the following year
80 percent participant and screening ratio goalsCMSSet both goals at 80 percent with a fiscal 1995 deadline1990Not reached nationally in any year reported by the sources opened here; the highest figure in the 2010 to 2023 series is 64 percent
First audit of screening in managed careHHS Office of Inspector GeneralExamined delivery of required screenings to children in managed care1997Found 60 percent did not receive required screenings
Blood lead testing requirementCMS, State Medicaid ManualRequired testing of 100 percent of children at 12 and 24 months1998In force; national compliance data still reported as not accurate and complete in 2025
Oral Health Initiative indicatorCMSSet a national dental goal of 52 percent by fiscal 20152010The sealant indicator was dropped in 2016 over calculation problems
Nine-state sample auditHHS Office of Inspector GeneralReviewed screening records for children in nine states2010-05Found 76 percent missed at least one required screening and 41 percent had no medical screening; four recommendations issued to CMS
Reporting improvement recommendationGAO, report GAO-11-293RRecommended improvements to the reports used to monitor child health services2011-04CMS concurred; still classified open as of March 2019
Six further recommendationsGAO, report GAO-19-481Covered data collection, performance assessment and review of the goals2019-08HHS concurred with three and did not concur with three
Statutory review requirementCongress, Bipartisan Safer Communities Act of 2022Required CMS to review EPSDT implementation in managed care and report to Congress2022CMS engaged an outside research contractor whose study runs through fiscal 2027
Prior authorization oversight recommendationsGAO, report GAO-24-106532Two recommendations on federal oversight of managed care denials for children2024-04Not implemented as of March 2025
Best practice guidance to statesCMS, State Health Official Letter 24-005Issued guidance on adhering to EPSDT requirements2024-09Advisory guidance; the sources opened here describe no binding enforcement instrument attached to it
Payment arrangements tied to screeningNorth Carolina, Ohio and WashingtonWithhold and incentive arrangements linking part of managed care payment to child screening performance2024 to 20251 to 3 percent of capitation linked; North Carolina performance data not expected until 2026

Two directions have run in parallel for three decades — measure the shortfall, and recommend that someone act on the measurement. The first has produced a continuous record. The second has produced recommendations that were partly accepted, partly declined and, where accepted, in one case still open eight years later.

What was found?

FindingObserved valueEvidence grade
Participation goal and deadline set by CMS80 percent by fiscal 1995high — GAO-19-481
National participation ratio, fiscal 202351 percenthigh — GAO-25-107570
National participation ratio, fiscal 201959 percenthigh — GAO-25-107570
Participation series, fiscal 2010 through fiscal 201764 percent falling to 59 percenthigh — GAO-19-481
Children screened at least once, fiscal 2017about 20.2 million, 59 percenthigh — GAO-19-481, rate and count from the same report and year
Blood lead testing requirement100 percent at 12 and 24 months since 1998high — GAO-19-481
National blood lead compliance ratenone publishedhigh as a statement of absence — GAO reports the CMS data as not accurate and complete, in 2019 and again in 2025
Nine-state screening shortfall, 2007 records76 percent missed at least one required screening; 41 percent had no medical screeninghigh for that sample, not national — OEI-05-08-00520
Component completeness among screened children, 2007 records59 percent missed at least one of five statutory componentshigh for that sample, not national — same report
Managed care shortfall, 199760 percent did not receive required screeningsmedium — cited within the 2010 OIG report; the 1997 report itself was not opened
Status of the 2011 recommendationopen as of March 2019high — GAO-19-481
HHS response to the 2019 recommendationsconcurred with three, did not concur with threehigh — GAO-19-481
Status of the 2024 prior authorization recommendationsnot implemented as of March 2025high — GAO-25-107570
Enrollment and managed care share, fiscal 202233 million children, about 85 percent in managed carehigh — GAO-25-107570, citing MACPAC
State spread in participation, fiscal 2019about 87 percent in Hawaii, 36 to 38 percent in Alaska and South Dakotamedium — no later state-level distribution was found in this round

Why is it still unsolved?

Enforcement absent — the goal, the deadline and the reporting form all exist, and the step that would connect a missed goal to a consequence does not.

The federal government set a number and a date, collected the data showing the number was not reached, and did not build the routine that compares one to the other. In August 2019 GAO recommended that CMS regularly assess state performance against the goals it had set, and HHS did not concur with that recommendation.

The second part is that delivery and oversight sit at different levels. About 85 percent of the children are served under contracts between state agencies and managed care plans. In April 2024 GAO examined four states and found that none of them reviewed a representative sample of the EPSDT service denials made by the plans they contracted with, and as of March 2025 the two recommendations GAO issued on that point had not been implemented.

The third part is that a slow decline does not arrive as an event. The rate fell from 64 percent in fiscal 2010 to 59 percent in fiscal 2017, before the pandemic, and to 51 percent by fiscal 2023. Each step is a point or two, and a goal that has been missed every year for three decades produces no year in which it is newly missed.

There is movement on the record, and it should be read as the response of the agencies rather than as silence. Congress required a review of EPSDT in managed care in the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act of 2022. CMS issued best practice guidance to state health officials in September 2024 and engaged an outside research contractor whose study runs through fiscal 2027. Three states have tied a small share of managed care payment to screening performance. What none of the sources opened here attaches to any of this is a date by which the participation ratio has to be higher.

What observation would mean it is solved?

Candidates — a. the national participant ratio reported on Form CMS-416 reaches 80 percent, the level CMS set in 1990. b. CMS publishes an assessment comparing each state to that goal on a stated schedule. c. CMS publishes a national blood lead testing compliance rate measured against the 100 percent requirement.

a alone is weaker than it looks. The participant ratio counts a child as reached after one screening in a year, so it can rise while the recommended schedule is still not delivered. The measure also changed basis part way through the series, and a rise that coincides with the switch to T-MSIS reporting could not be read as a change in delivery without a separate comparison.

b alone counts process. An assessment that is published but carries no consequence changes the record without changing the screening.

Coverage on a report is not the same as a screening reaching the child who needs it.

c is narrow but unambiguous. The lead requirement is absolute rather than proportional, so there is no threshold that can be partly met. What publishing a rate would end is the state of not knowing, which is where GAO has left that item since 2019. The three have to be read together, and a is only meaningful alongside a measure of whether the full recommended schedule was delivered.

What is it connected to?

Fills with researchchildhood lead exposure policy, oversight of managed care contracts for other Medicaid populations, school-based health services, the federal share of special education costs, and comparable child preventive care obligations in other countries. Relation type and evidence grade were not established in this round.

What these sources do not say

  • How many children missed a screening in fiscal 2023. GAO published the 51 percent rate for that year without the eligible denominator behind it. The 2019 report gave both figures for fiscal 2017; the 2025 report gives only the rate.
  • The national blood lead testing compliance rate. No source opened here gives one. GAO reported in 2019 and again in June 2025 that the CMS data are not accurate and complete enough to determine whether the states comply.
  • State-level participation for fiscal 2023. The most recent state distribution found in this round is for fiscal 2019, ranging from about 87 percent in Hawaii to 36 to 38 percent in Alaska and South Dakota. No source opened here gives a later one.
  • Why the rate declined. The fall from 64 percent in fiscal 2010 to 59 percent in fiscal 2017 predates the pandemic. No source opened here carries a causal analysis of that decline from CMS or GAO. Pandemic effects are described only for the period after 2020.
  • Whether the series is comparable across the T-MSIS transition. By fiscal 2023 a majority of reporting jurisdictions had changed the basis of the Form CMS-416 report. No source opened here quantifies what that change does to the national rate, so the 1990 goal and the 2023 figure are not stated by any source to rest on the same measurement.
  • How complete screenings are today. The finding that 59 percent of screened children missed at least one statutory component comes from a nine-state sample of 2007 records. No source opened here gives a later national figure for component completeness.
  • What CMS says about the 51 percent figure. No source opened here carries a published CMS response to the fiscal 2023 rate. The positions of the agencies that are on the record are these: HHS concurred with three of the six 2019 recommendations and did not concur with three, CMS issued best practice guidance to state health officials in September 2024, and CMS engaged an outside research contractor to conduct the review Congress required, with the study running through fiscal 2027.

See the evidence

ItemSourceConfirmation
1990 participant and screening ratio goals of 80 percent with a fiscal 1995 deadline · national participation series of 64, 61, 62, 63, 59, 58, 58 and 59 percent for fiscal 2010 through fiscal 2017 · about 20.2 million children, 59 percent, screened at least once in fiscal 2017 · blood lead testing required for 100 percent of children at 12 and 24 months since 1998 · the 2011 recommendation still open as of March 2019 · six recommendations in August 2019 with three concurrences and three non-concurrences · Oral Health Initiative goal of 52 percent by fiscal 2015 and the sealant indicator dropped in 2016U.S. Government Accountability Office, report GAO-19-481, Medicaid: Additional CMS Data and Oversight Needed to Help Ensure Children Receive Recommended Screenings, 2019-08-162026-08-20
National participation ratio of 51 percent in fiscal 2023 and 59 percent in fiscal 2019 · 33 million children enrolled and about 85 percent in managed care in fiscal 2022 · blood lead compliance data still not accurate and complete as of June 2025 · the 2024 prior authorization recommendations not implemented as of March 2025 · the 2019 lead data recommendation only partially addressed · the review requirement in the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act of 2022 and the contracted study running through fiscal 2027 · state withhold and incentive arrangements at 1 to 3 percent of capitation with North Carolina performance data not expected until 2026 · 31 states and four other jurisdictions reporting from T-MSIS in fiscal 2023U.S. Government Accountability Office, report GAO-25-107570, Medicaid Managed Care: Actions to Improve the Extent to Which Children Receive Medical Screenings and Treatment, 2025-06-252026-08-20
Summary statement of the fiscal 2023 rate and of the outstanding recommendationsHighlights page for report GAO-25-1075702026-08-20
Nine-state sample for 2007 records — 76 percent of children, about 2.7 million, missed at least one required medical, vision or hearing screening · 41 percent received no medical screening · among about 2 million who did receive a medical screening, 59 percent missed at least one of the five statutory components, most often a laboratory test at 38 percent · four recommendations to CMS · the 1997 finding that 60 percent of children in managed care did not receive required screenings, cited in the introductionU.S. HHS Office of Inspector General, Most Medicaid Children in Nine States Are Not Receiving All Required Preventive Screening Services, OEI-05-08-00520, 2010-052026-08-20
None of four sampled states reviewed a representative sample of EPSDT service denials by managed care plans · two recommendations on federal oversight of prior authorizationU.S. Government Accountability Office, report GAO-24-106532 on oversight of prior authorization decisions by managed care plans for children, issued 2024-04-30 and released 2024-05-292026-08-20
State-level distribution of participation for fiscal 2015 through fiscal 2019, including the top and bottom statesNational Health Law Program, EPSDT Trends Fact Sheet 2015-2019, 2021-08-27 — a reanalysis of CMS Form CMS-416 aggregates published by a policy advocacy organization, used here only for the aggregate distribution and for nothing normative2026-08-20
Scope and statutory basis of EPSDT as a mandatory Medicaid benefit for children through age 20 · fiscal 2022 child enrollmentMedicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, a congressional advisory body, EPSDT in Medicaid2026-08-20
Statutory definition of the EPSDT benefit42 U.S.C. 1396d, subsection r, as published by the Cornell Legal Information Institute2026-08-20
Best practice guidance issued to state health officials on adhering to EPSDT requirements, 2024-09-26CMS, State Health Official Letter 24-005URL not confirmed: medicaid.gov returned HTTP 403 to automated fetch; the letter is cited in a footnote of GAO-25-107570
CMS portal page for EPSDT reporting dataCMS, EPSDT Data pageURL not confirmed: medicaid.gov returned HTTP 403 to automated fetch
Requirement that CMS review EPSDT implementation in managed care and report to CongressBipartisan Safer Communities Act, Pub. L. 117-159, section 11004, 136 Stat. 1313, 1319, 2022URL not confirmed: cited indirectly through footnote 9 of GAO-25-107570; the statute text itself was not opened
Recommendation to improve the reports used to monitor child health care services in Medicaid and CHIP, 2011-04-05U.S. Government Accountability Office, report GAO-11-293RURL not confirmed: cited indirectly through footnote 24 of GAO-19-481; the report itself was not opened
Finding that 60 percent of children in managed care did not receive required screenings, 1997-05U.S. HHS Office of Inspector General, Medicaid Managed Care and EPSDT, OEI-05-93-00290URL not confirmed: cited indirectly through footnote 1 of OEI-05-08-00520; the report itself was not opened
Earlier federal review of Medicaid preventive services, 2009-08U.S. Government Accountability Office, Medicaid Preventive Services: Concerted Efforts Needed to Ensure Beneficiaries Receive Services, GAO-09-578URL not confirmed: cited indirectly through footnote 3 of OEI-05-08-00520; the report itself was not opened

No primary CMS document was read here. Eight URLs were opened directly and all eight are federal oversight reports, a congressional advisory page, a statutory text or a reanalysis of federal aggregates. The two CMS surfaces that would carry the underlying Form CMS-416 tables and the 2024 guidance letter returned HTTP 403 to automated fetch and are recorded as unconfirmed rather than filled in with a substitute address. Four further items are cited only through footnotes in reports that were opened, and they are marked as such rather than presented as directly consulted.

Where the opened sources overlap on a value they agree, and no conflicting figure was found for any number used above: the 80 percent goal, the 1995 deadline and the 100 percent lead testing requirement appear in the 2019 report, and the fiscal 2019 and fiscal 2023 rates appear in the 2025 report, which states the fiscal 2019 value as the one it had reported earlier. The one break in the record is not a disagreement between sources but a change of measurement basis — by fiscal 2023 a majority of reporting jurisdictions produced Form CMS-416 from federal T-MSIS data rather than from their own records, and no opened source states what that change does to comparability across the series. That break is why the 1990 goal and the 2023 figure are presented above as published values rather than as two points on one continuous measure. This is a Path A output, a research-based definition, so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.

This table holds 14 evidence rows, 8 of which carry a source you can open · 5 distinct sources. How this table is made

People affected

Estimated range 13,700,00014,400,000 As of federal fiscal year 2017

Derivation chain

TermValueSourceAssumption
Children who received at least one recommended well-child screening under EPSDT, federal fiscal year 201720,200,000GAO report GAO-19-481, 2019-08-16, analysis of CMS Form CMS-416Published as about 20.2 million. Treated as rounded to the nearest 100,000, so the true value lies between 20,150,000 and 20,250,000. This is the numerator of the participant ratio, not a count of children who completed the full recommended schedule.
National participant ratio, federal fiscal year 20170.59GAO report GAO-19-481, 2019-08-16, same report and same fiscal year as term 1Published as 59 percent. Treated as rounded to the nearest whole percent, so the true value lies between 58.5 and 59.5 percent. This pair is used because fiscal 2017 is the only year in which the sources opened supply a rate and a matching count from one report; the more recent rate of 51 percent for fiscal 2023 is published without its denominator.
Children in the Form CMS-416 eligible denominator who did not receive a recommended well-child screening, federal fiscal year 201714,000,000Derived from terms 1 and 2 by division and subtraction; no source states this figure directlyTerm 1 divided by term 2, minus term 1. Interval endpoints pair the rounding bounds that minimize and maximize the result: 20,150,000 at 59.5 percent gives 13,715,546, and 20,250,000 at 58.5 percent gives 14,365,385, rounded outward to 13,700,000 and 14,400,000. The point value at the published figures is 14,037,288.

Sensitivity The interval width comes only from rounding in the two published figures. Both are drawn from the same report and the same fiscal year, so the interval carries no allowance for spread in the underlying data and is not a confidence interval. The count is a floor rather than a ceiling in three ways. First, the participant ratio counts a child as reached after a single screening even when the recommended schedule calls for several, and in a nine-state sample of 2007 records HHS Office of Inspector General found that 59 percent of the children who did receive a medical screening were missing at least one of the five statutory components. Second, it excludes blood lead testing, for which the standard is 100 percent of children at 12 and 24 months and for which no national compliance rate is published. Third, it is a fiscal 2017 figure and the national rate has since fallen to 51 percent for fiscal 2023, but the report carrying that rate does not publish the eligible denominator for that year, so no current count is derived here and the fiscal 2023 rate is not multiplied by the fiscal 2022 enrollment total of 33 million, which is a different measure of a different population. In the opposite direction the count overstates the shortfall for any child who received a recommended screening that the Form CMS-416 report did not capture, and by fiscal 2023 a majority of reporting jurisdictions had changed the basis of that report from their own records to federal T-MSIS data, so capture is not stated by any opened source to be constant across the series.

Regional breakdown The rate and count pair used for this chain is national only. The most recent state-level distribution found in this round is for fiscal 2019, two years later than the pair, and it runs from about 87 percent in Hawaii down to 36 to 38 percent in Alaska and South Dakota, so state rates are far from uniform. Splitting the national total by state child population would be proportional allocation, which this repository does not accept, and it would be wrong in both directions at once because the states with the largest child populations are not the states with the lowest participation rates.

What is missing 1

Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.

1Fills with researchThe material exists. We simply have not looked yet.
  • Section
    What is it connected to?

    childhood lead exposure policy, oversight of managed care contracts for other Medicaid populations, school-based health services, the federal share of special education costs, and comparable child preventive care obligations in other countries. Relation type and evidence grade were not established in this round.

    Fills with research

Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page

Comments

Total comments
0

The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.

The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.

You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.

The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.

You must be signed in to comment.

You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.

This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.

No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.

You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.

Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.

Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page

No comments yet.