Measurement absent · United States
FAA cut the controller availability factor to 1.87 for FY2026, setting a staffing target of 12,563 without publishing how trainees count
The Federal Aviation Administration publishes a controller workforce plan every year, and the edition dated 2026-06-01 sets the FY2026 total staffing target at 12,563 controllers. That number is the product of an input the agency changed in the same document. The plan states tha…
- Resolution status
- not confirmed
- Checked
- 2026-08-24
- Evidence type
- SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
- Outlet
- DOT Office of Inspector General
- Authoring mode
- Derived from press reports
- Views
- 23
What is happening?
The Federal Aviation Administration publishes a controller workforce plan every year, and the edition dated 2026-06-01 sets the FY2026 total staffing target at 12,563 controllers. That number is the product of an input the agency changed in the same document. The plan states that FAA adopted a revised controller availability factor of 1.87, reduced from the prior factor of 2.14 used in the FY2025 plan, and that the FY2026 target of 12,563 follows from it.
The plan also changes how the workforce on the other side of that target is counted. It adopts a metric called CPC-Equivalent Workforce, which weights controllers still in training by equivalence ratios — and it does not publish the ratios. Its own appendix, listing all 313 air traffic control facilities with actual on board figures as of 2025-09-20, prints a target of 12,563, a certified professional controller total of 10,693, and a facility total of 14,223 counting every trainee. The document does not state which of those two on-board totals the target is meant to be read against.
The line most often used to describe an understaffed facility turns out not to be a staffing target at all. A DOT Office of Inspector General audit issued 2023-06-21 records that FAA officials stated that when the certified-controller staffing level at a facility falls below an 85-percent threshold, the agency prioritizes the placement of controllers at that facility. It is a rule for dispatching scarce people, agreed between the agency and the union that represents controllers. The same audit records that the underlying staffing levels were set as interim values in October 2014 and that after more than eight years no comprehensive review of them had been conducted for any facility, because the offices involved and the union did not agree on the availability factors used in the model.
Whose problem is this?
| Role | Who |
|---|---|
| Affected | Air travellers · serving controllers, who absorb the training load and the overtime · controllers in training, of whom 2,293 out of 3,132 fell short of weekly training expectations in the week of 2025-04-27 to 2025-05-03 · communities served by the 266 contract towers, which are about half of all control towers in the national airspace system |
| Raised by | DOT Office of Inspector General, in audits of 2021, 2023 and 2026 · the independent review FAA commissioned under section 437(b) of the FAA Reauthorization Act of 2024 |
| Decides | FAA, which sets the staffing model, the availability factor, the hiring plan and facility placement · Congress, which wrote section 437(b) and section 605 of the FAA Reauthorization Act of 2024 and which appropriates |
| Bears the cost | The federal budget · field facilities, whose own training is degraded when they absorb more trainees than they can carry · the four contractors that run contract towers, which lose trained controllers to federal hiring |
The body that sets the target is the same body that sets the rule for counting the workforce against it, and the audit office that measures the gap has to use whichever rule is in force at the time it measures.
Where does this problem end?
| Axis | This is the problem | This is not the problem |
|---|---|---|
| What | The absence of a settled rule for measuring the gap — which people count toward the target, against a target whose input the agency revised | Whether controllers are competent or working hard is not in question here |
| Ageing control equipment and system modernisation are a separate problem | ||
| Whether air traffic control should be corporatised or removed from the agency is a contested policy question and is excluded here | ||
| Whether the union that represents controllers should hold a role in setting staffing models is a contested question of labour policy and is excluded here | ||
| Who | Controllers employed by FAA at 313 facilities · controllers employed by contractors at 266 contract towers, counted separately | Airline crew shortages are a different labour market |
| Where | The United States | Controller staffing arrangements in other countries were not examined |
| When | The interim staffing levels of October 2014 through the plan dated 2026-06-01 | Controller staffing before 2014 was not examined |
| Scale | A target of 12,563 for FY2026, against on-board totals of 10,693 certified and 14,223 including trainees as of 2025-09-20 | The count of contract tower controllers is a separate pool and is not added to these |
The boundary matters because two labour pools with different employers and different training clocks are routinely described as one shortage, and their gaps are reported in the same sentence as though they could be summed.
What is the state now, and what should it be?
Now
| Indicator | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
| FY2026 total staffing target | 12,563 | FY2026 plan, dated 2026-06-01 |
| Controller availability factor | 1.87, reduced from 2.14 in the FY2025 plan | FY2026 plan |
| Certified professional controllers deployed | about 11,000 | April 2026 |
| Controllers in the training pipeline | about 4,000 | April 2026 |
| Appendix on-board detail | CPC 10,693 · CPC-IT 1,001 · Developmental 2,529 · facility total 14,223 · FAA Academy 608 · grand total 14,832 | 2025-09-20 |
| Controllers employed, agency total | about 14,500, of which almost 11,000 are CPCs | employment data as of 2026-03-07 |
| Air traffic control facilities | 313 — 144 airport towers, 25 approach control, 119 combined tower and approach, 4 combined control, 21 route centers | 2026-06 |
| Contract towers | 266 towers staffed by more than 1,500 contractor controllers, about half of all towers in the system | 2026-03 |
| Contract tower shortfall | 276 controllers, roughly 18 percent of that workforce | April 2025 |
| Critical facilities below the 85 percent placement line | 20 of 26, with New York TRACON at 54 percent and Miami Tower at 66 percent | data as of March 2022, reported 2023-06-21 |
| Critical facilities below the workforce plan minimum, trainees excluded | 22 of 26 | March 2022 |
| Busiest facilities serving the Core 30 airports more than 15 percent below target | 19 | reported 2026-01-06 |
| Facilities meeting or exceeding target training hours | 2 of 313 | 2022 through 2024 |
| Facilities meeting the training target after it was adjusted downward | 65 percent | reported 2026-06-24 |
| FY2025 hires | 2,028 against a target of 2,000, the highest since 2008 | FY2025 |
| FY2025 total workforce losses and net change | 1,460 losses, net gain of 568 | FY2025 |
| Time to certification | 1.5 to 3 years, per the audit office · 1 to 3 years after the Academy, per the agency recruiting page | 2026 |
| Average weeks to certified professional controller | 99.62 as of 2022-07-30, falling to 83.11 as of 2025-12-27 | 2025-12-27 |
Should be
The target state is published and dated. The FY2026 plan sets hiring targets of 2,200, 2,300 and 2,400 new controllers in FY2026, FY2027 and FY2028, and the audit office records that the agency announced it anticipates hiring at least 8,900 new controllers through 2028 to achieve full staffing levels and offset anticipated attrition. Full staffing itself is defined per facility: the plan prints a 2026 staffing target for each of the 313 facilities, summing to 12,563.
What is not published is the rule that connects the two sides. The plan adopts the CPC-Equivalent Workforce metric to weight trainees against the target and does not print the equivalence ratios, so the official reading of the plan cannot be reproduced from the plan.
How big is it?
What the record supports is a set of magnitudes, each carrying its own document and date. The FY2026 plan sets a target of 12,563 controllers and its appendix prints, as of 2025-09-20, a certified professional controller total of 10,693 and a facility total of 14,223 including trainees, with 608 more at the Academy for a grand total of 14,832. Separately, the audit office states the agency employs about 14,500 controllers in more than 300 facilities, of which almost 11,000 are certified, on employment data current as of 2026-03-07. An earlier audit gives about 13,300 controllers with about 10,600 certified in 2023. These are three counts from three documents with three dates, one of which includes the Academy and two of which do not, and they are not a series.
The second pool is counted separately and on a different clock. The contract tower program comprises 266 towers in 46 states staffed by more than 1,500 contractor controllers, handling more than 18 million tower operations in CY2024, about 30 percent of the total. That program was understaffed by 276 controllers, roughly 18 percent, as of April 2025. Those controllers are employed by contractors rather than by the agency, and the audit puts their replacement cycle at three to six weeks to hire and onboard plus an additional 30 to 60 days to certify.
The record does carry counts of facilities below a line, and each names the line it was measured against and the date it was measured on: 20 of 26 critical facilities below the 85 percent placement line and 22 of 26 below the workforce plan minimum with trainees excluded, both on March 2022 data, and 19 of the busiest facilities serving the Core 30 airports more than 15 percent below target, reported 2026-01-06. All three predate the revision of the availability factor in the plan dated 2026-06-01, and no document opened here restates any of them on the current baseline or prints a single system-wide shortfall figure.
Needs a new measurementthe affected population is not derivable as a count of people. No document opened here links controller staffing to a number of passengers, flights or delay minutes attributable to it, so the population file for this document records the estimate as not derivable rather than assembling one from parts that do not share a definition.
Under what conditions does it arise?
1. The measure was interim and then it moved. The audit issued 2023-06-21 records that interim certified-controller staffing levels were developed in October 2014 to be used until a comprehensive review was completed, and that after more than eight years no such review had been conducted for any facility. The measure that decides whether a facility is short was set as a temporary value and then left in place for more than eight years. One exception is recorded: a single route center was revised from 241 to 275 in 2022. In the plan dated 2026-06-01 the availability factor was revised from 2.14 to 1.87 and the FY2026 target of 12,563 follows from it.
2. Two baselines give different answers for the same facilities on the same date. Measured against the 85 percent placement line, 20 of 26 critical facilities were below it. Measured against the workforce plan staffing minimum with trainees excluded, 22 of 26 were below it. Both figures are as of March 2022 and both appear in the same audit, which records that considerable debate remained about how to account for the contributions of trainees and about the appropriate level of staffing.
3. Headcount and capacity are not the same quantity. The same audit records that as of August 2022 a controller who is not yet certified spends, on average, less than half of the time on position — 41 percent. A workforce total that counts trainees at full weight therefore describes something other than the capacity available to move traffic, and that is exactly the gap the unpublished equivalence ratios were adopted to bridge.
4. The constraint is throughput, not the calendar. The audit issued 2026-06-24 names two limits directly: the number of instructors at the Academy creates a practical limit on trainee throughput, and there are limits to how many trainees field facilities can absorb without delaying or degrading training at those facilities. Both are purchasable inputs rather than fixed durations.
5. The training system misses its own targets, and the targets were then adjusted. Across 2022 through 2024 only 2 of the 313 facilities met or exceeded their target training hours. Against targets the agency lowered for reported impediments, 65 percent of facilities met the adjusted target. Of more than 40 impediments identified since 2019, none had been removed as of the audit.
6. Two labour pools run on different clocks. The contract tower cycle is measured in weeks plus days and the federal cycle in years, and adding the two gaps together produces a number that describes neither.
7. The pipeline is exposed to appropriations. The FY2026 plan records that a lapse in funding at the beginning of FY2026 resulted in job declinations and trainee losses, and lists it alongside sequestration in FY2013, the FY2019 shutdown and the pandemic as disruptions to the same pipeline.
What has been tried?
| Attempt | By whom | What was done | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Audit of contract tower staffing levels | DOT Office of Inspector General | Found that the agency does not proactively set contract tower staffing levels but reviews contractor-submitted plans, and that the program-wide minimum of four controllers per tower lacks any supporting analysis or study; 257 towers at the time | 2021-08-18 |
| Audit of critical facility staffing and training | DOT Office of Inspector General | Found 20 of 26 critical facilities below the 85 percent placement line and 22 of 26 below the workforce plan minimum excluding trainees, both on March 2022 data, and found the staffing levels unrevised since the October 2014 interim values | 2023-06-21 |
| Audit announcement on contract tower workforce needs | DOT Office of Inspector General | Opened the audit that became the 2026 report; recorded 264 towers with about 1,400 contractor controllers as the baseline | 2024-06-25 |
| Independent review of the staffing models | Commissioned by FAA under section 437(b) of the FAA Reauthorization Act of 2024 | Compared the two competing staffing models, one from the financial and labour analysis office and one from the collaborative resource working group, and evaluated their strengths and weaknesses | 2025-06-18 |
| Expanded hiring and higher Academy pay | FAA | Hired 2,028 controller trainees in FY2025 against a target of 2,000, the highest since 2008, and raised Academy starting salaries by nearly 30 percent | FY2025 |
| Retention bonus | FAA | Retained nearly 400 retirement-eligible controllers and operations supervisors at a cost of about 12.3 million dollars, with almost 500 eligible in FY2026 at a projected 15.5 million dollars | FY2025 to FY2026 |
| Top Management Challenges report | DOT Office of Inspector General | Named hiring and training the next generation of controllers a top departmental challenge, and reported 19 of the busiest facilities serving the Core 30 airports more than 15 percent below staffing targets | 2026-01-06 |
| Audit of contract tower workforce needs | DOT Office of Inspector General | Mandated by section 605 of the FAA Reauthorization Act of 2024; found improved monitoring and higher staffing levels alongside a shortfall of 276 controllers, roughly 18 percent, as of April 2025, and recorded that all four contractors had hired zero enhanced training-initiative graduates as of July 2025 | 2026-03-24 |
| Revised availability factor and a new workforce metric | FAA | Adopted an availability factor of 1.87 in place of 2.14, setting the FY2026 target at 12,563, and adopted the CPC-Equivalent Workforce metric without publishing its equivalence ratios | 2026-06-01 |
| Audit of the National Training Initiative and supplemental pay | DOT Office of Inspector General | Found on-the-job training instruction costs up 160 percent against training hours up less than 20 percent, only 2 of 313 facilities meeting target training hours across 2022 through 2024, and 65 percent meeting the target after it was adjusted downward | 2026-06-24 |
Three directions ran at once — hire more, pay more to keep people, and change the model that says how many people are needed. The third arrived in the same document as the target it produced.
What was found?
| Finding | Observed value | Evidence grade |
|---|---|---|
| FY2026 total staffing target | 12,563 controllers | high — stated in the FY2026 plan and reproduced in its appendix total |
| Controller availability factor | 1.87, reduced from 2.14 in the FY2025 plan, with the plan stating the target follows from it | high |
| Certified controllers deployed and controllers in the pipeline | about 11,000 and about 4,000, as of April 2026 | high |
| Appendix on-board detail, 2025-09-20 | CPC 10,693 · CPC-IT 1,001 · Developmental 2,529 · facility total 14,223 · Academy 608 · grand total 14,832 | high |
| Equivalence ratios behind the CPC-Equivalent Workforce metric | not printed in the plan that adopts the metric | high |
| What the 85 percent line is | a placement-prioritization trigger, not a staffing adequacy target | high — audit of 2023-06-21, footnote to the staffing discussion |
| Staffing levels unrevised after the October 2014 interim values | no comprehensive review for any facility after more than eight years | high — audit of 2023-06-21 |
| Two baselines disagree on the same date | 20 of 26 against the placement line, 22 of 26 against the plan minimum excluding trainees, both March 2022 | high |
| Time a not-yet-certified controller spends on position | 41 percent on average, August 2022 | high |
| Facility count | 313, itemised into five categories | high — audit of 2026-06-24, corroborated by 313 appendix rows in the FY2026 plan |
| Busiest facilities serving the Core 30 airports more than 15 percent below target | 19 | high — reported 2026-01-06, attributed there to the independent review |
| Contract tower shortfall | 276 controllers, roughly 18 percent, as of April 2025 | high — audit of 2026-03-24 |
| Primary cause of contract tower attrition | one contractor reported 35 percent of its controllers departed in CY2024 to take positions with FAA or the Department of Defense | high — audit of 2026-03-24 |
| Contract tower replacement cycle | three to six weeks to hire and onboard, plus an additional 30 to 60 days to certify | high |
| Contract tower staffing standard | the program-wide minimum of four controllers per tower lacks any supporting analysis or study | high — audit of 2021-08-18 |
| Time to certification | 1.5 to 3 years per the audit office; 1 to 3 years after the Academy per the agency recruiting page | high — both figures are published, but they do not share a starting point: the audit office measures from hire and the recruiting page from after the Academy, so the two are close without being the same measure |
| Average weeks to certification | 99.62 as of 2022-07-30, falling to 83.11 as of 2025-12-27, about 40 percent down from a December 2022 peak of 137 weeks | medium — the figure is published, but the average pools developmentals with already-certified controllers transferring facilities, so it is not a clean new-hire measure |
| On-the-job training hours delivered against target | 2022: 781,100 of 1.8 million · 2023: 775,684 of 1.6 million · 2024: 920,994 of 1.8 million | high |
| Facilities meeting or exceeding target training hours, 2022 through 2024 | 2 of 313 | high |
| Facilities meeting the target after it was adjusted downward | 65 percent | high |
| Trainees short of weekly training expectations, week of 2025-04-27 to 2025-05-03 | 2,293 of 3,132, or 73 percent | high |
| Identified training impediments removed since 2019 | none of more than 40 | high |
| Projected losses FY2026 through FY2028 | Academy attrition 743, 770, 775 against retirements 215, 229, 273; totals 1,711, 1,753, 1,843 | high |
| FY2025 hires, losses and net change | 2,028 hired against a target of 2,000; 1,460 lost; net gain of 568 | high |
| Statutory age rules | applicants must be under 31 at application; mandatory retirement at 56 | high — recruiting page and FY2026 plan agree |
| Distribution of staffing across facilities | about 30 percent of facilities significantly below target and about another 30 percent above it | medium — publisher summary page for the independent review; the report body was not opened |
| Which staffing model the independent review favours | the publisher summary describes a recommendation to rebuild staffing on the traditional modelling approach rather than the newer collaborative models; the FY2026 plan characterises the same review as concluding the legacy models remain valid and sound | medium — summary page against a sponsor restatement, with the report body not opened |
Why is it still unsolved?
Measurement absent — the quantity that would say how short the system is has no settled definition, and the two documents that would fix it moved in the same year.
Start with the arithmetic that nobody performs. The plan prints a target of 12,563, a certified professional controller total of 10,693, and a facility total of 14,223 as of 2025-09-20, and it does not state which of the two on-board totals the target is to be read against. The metric it adopts to settle that question, CPC-Equivalent Workforce, weights trainees by ratios the plan does not print. So the document that sets the target does not supply the rule for reading it, and the reader is left holding three numbers and no operation.
The line that most descriptions of this problem rely on was never a measure of adequacy in the first place. The audit issued 2023-06-21 records that the 85 percent threshold exists so that the agency knows where to send controllers next. A dispatch rule tells you which facility is most starved relative to its peers. It does not tell you whether the system as a whole has enough people, and it cannot, because it is defined against a baseline that was itself provisional.
That baseline is the third part. It was set as an interim value in October 2014, it went more than eight years without the comprehensive review it was explicitly waiting for, and the reason recorded in the audit is that the offices involved and the union did not agree on the availability factors in the model. Then in the plan dated 2026-06-01 the availability factor was revised from 2.14 to 1.87, and the FY2026 target of 12,563 follows from the revision. A target that moves when one factor is revised does not settle the question it was built to answer.
The same shape appears one layer down, in training. Only 2 of the 313 facilities met or exceeded their target training hours across 2022 through 2024. The agency then credited facilities by allowing them to lower their hourly training targets, and against the lowered targets 65 percent of facilities met them. Two different numbers describe the same year of training depending on which target is in force, and the record does not carry a single figure that survives the change.
It also appears in the second labour pool, arriving from the opposite direction. The audit issued 2021-08-18 found that the program-wide minimum of four controllers per contract tower lacks any supporting analysis or study, and the 2026 audit that reports a shortfall of 276 controllers against that minimum also records that the agency faces challenges validating the staffing data contractors submit. The contract tower gap is measured against a standard the audit office itself called unsupported, using data the agency says it has difficulty validating.
Two mechanisms that are often blamed for this turn out to point elsewhere. Retirement is the smaller loss and it is shrinking: the plan projects 215 retirements in FY2026 against 743 losses at the Academy, and states that the long-anticipated retirement wave has passed. And the lead time is not a fixed constant either — the average weeks to certification fell from a December 2022 peak, and the audit office names the binding limits as Academy instructor supply and the number of trainees that field facilities can absorb. Both of those are quantities somebody buys. Which means the question of whether enough has been bought reduces, again, to a measurement: the training hours that facilities are missing, counted against a target that has already been adjusted once.
What observation would mean it is solved?
Candidates — (a) the agency publishes the equivalence ratios behind the CPC-Equivalent Workforce metric and a facility-level count of how many facilities sit below target under that rule (b) the number of facilities meeting or exceeding their target training hours rises from 2 of 313 without the target being adjusted downward (c) the average weeks to certification falls while the certified share of the workforce rises (d) the contract tower shortfall closes without federal hiring slowing.
(a) alone counts a publication, not a controller. Printing the ratios would make the gap readable; it would not change it by one person. Its value is that every later observation becomes checkable, which none of them are today.
(b) has a known escape route. The record already contains one instance of targets being adjusted downward when they were missed, and 65 percent compliance against the adjusted target sitting beside 2 of 313 against the original. Any future rise has to be read against which target was in force, or it measures the target rather than the training.
(c) is the cleanest of the four and still needs a caveat. The average weeks figure pools developmentals with already-certified controllers transferring between facilities, so it can fall because more transfers happened rather than because new hires certified faster. Read it with the certified share, and read both against the same date.
(d) can move for the wrong reason. The 2026 audit records that federal and defence hiring from the contract pool is the primary cause of attrition there, with one contractor reporting 35 percent of its controllers departing in CY2024 for such positions. The two numbers are coupled by construction: federal hiring success mechanically worsens the contract tower figure, so a closing contract gap may mean federal hiring stopped.
What is it connected to?
Fills with researchair traffic system modernisation and the state of control equipment · flight delay and cancellation statistics and how much of either is attributed to staffing · the continuity of federal appropriations, which the FY2026 plan names as a pipeline disruption · the repository problem `us-critical-legacy-system-modernization-stall`. Relation type and evidence grade were not established.
What these sources do not say
- Which on-board total the target is measured against. The FY2026 plan prints a target of 12,563, a certified controller total of 10,693 and a facility total of 14,223 on the same page, and states no rule for choosing between them. The metric it adopts to settle the question, CPC-Equivalent Workforce, depends on equivalence ratios the plan does not print, so the official reading of the plan cannot be reproduced from the plan.
- A single system-wide shortfall figure. None of the documents opened here states one. The FY2026 plan gives a target and separately reports about 11,000 certified controllers deployed with about 4,000 more in the training pipeline as of April 2026, and it performs no subtraction. The Fiscal Year 2026 Top Management Challenges report was searched in full text and carries no such figure either.
- A published washout rate. The FY2026 plan projects Academy attrition in absolute numbers — 743, 770 and 775 for FY2026 through FY2028 — and developmental losses of 208, 202 and 225, and it does not state the intake cohort those projections are computed against. Dividing them by the planned hire count for the same year mixes fiscal-year cohorts and would not produce the rate.
- Why the availability factors were disputed. The audit issued 2023-06-21 records that the offices involved and the union did not agree on them and that the comprehensive review therefore did not happen. It does not describe what the disagreement was about, and the FY2026 plan, which resolves the number, does not say whether the disagreement was resolved with it.
- What the total staffing target was before the revision. The workforce plan landing page carries only the current edition and offers no archive of prior editions, so the FY2025 total under the prior availability factor of 2.14 does not appear in anything opened here. The direction of the change is stated in the plan; the size of it is not.
- What the new equivalence ratios do to earlier counts. No document opened here restates any prior facility count under the FY2026 factor of 1.87, so the 20 of 26, the 22 of 26 and the 19 Core 30 facilities cannot be compared to anything measured after the revision.
- The count of facilities below their own target. The FY2026 plan prints per-facility targets and per-facility on-board figures and prints no count of how many facilities sit below. Neither audit prints one on the current baseline.
- How the two labour pools relate in the ledger. The 2026 contract tower audit records that federal and defence hiring is the primary cause of contract tower attrition, and no document opened here states what share of the 276 is a transfer within the national airspace system rather than a loss from it.
- What the independent review says in full. The findings on the distribution of staffing across facilities and on which staffing model to rebuild from are taken from the publisher project and publication summary pages. The report body sits behind a separate catalog flow and was not opened, and the sponsor restatement of the same report in the FY2026 plan is differently weighted from the publisher summary.
See the evidence
| Item | Source | Confirmation |
|---|---|---|
| FY2026 total staffing target of 12,563 · availability factor of 1.87 reduced from 2.14 in the FY2025 plan · CPC-Equivalent Workforce adopted with equivalence ratios not printed · about 11,000 certified controllers deployed and about 4,000 in the training pipeline as of April 2026 | FAA, Air Traffic Controller Workforce Plan 2026-2028 | 2026-08-24 |
| Appendix facility staffing targets as of 2025-09-20 — 313 facility rows, target 12,563, CPC 10,693, CPC-IT 1,001, Developmental 2,529, facility total 14,223, Academy 608, grand total 14,832 | FAA, Air Traffic Controller Workforce Plan 2026-2028 | 2026-08-24 |
| FY2025 hires of 2,028 against a target of 2,000, the highest since 2008 · Academy starting salaries raised nearly 30 percent · total FY2025 workforce losses of 1,460 and a net gain of 568 · retention bonus keeping nearly 400 at about 12.3 million dollars with almost 500 eligible in FY2026 at a projected 15.5 million dollars · forward hiring targets of 2,200, 2,300 and 2,400 | FAA, Air Traffic Controller Workforce Plan 2026-2028 | 2026-08-24 |
| Projected losses FY2026 through FY2028 — Academy attrition 743, 770, 775 · retirements 215, 229, 273 · developmental losses 208, 202, 225 · totals 1,711, 1,753, 1,843 · the long-anticipated retirement wave has passed · mandatory retirement at 56 · a lapse in funding at the beginning of FY2026 produced job declinations and trainee losses, listed alongside sequestration in FY2013, the FY2019 shutdown and the pandemic as disruptions to the same pipeline | FAA, Air Traffic Controller Workforce Plan 2026-2028 | 2026-08-24 |
| The workforce plan landing page carries a single current edition dated 2026-06-01 and offers no archive of prior editions | FAA, Air Traffic Controller Workforce Plan page | 2026-08-24 |
| About 14,500 controllers in more than 300 facilities with almost 11,000 certified, employment data as of 2026-03-07 · 313 facilities itemised into five categories · certification typically completed in 1.5 to 3 years · Academy instructor supply and facility absorption capacity named as the practical limits on throughput · average weeks to certification of 99.62 as of 2022-07-30 falling to 83.11 as of 2025-12-27 · a rise from an average of 87 weeks to a December 2022 peak of 137 weeks, then a fall of about 40 percent through December 2025 | DOT Office of Inspector General, report AV2026031 | 2026-08-24 |
| On-the-job training hours delivered against target for 2022, 2023 and 2024 · only 2 of 313 facilities met or exceeded target training hours across those years · 65 percent met the target after facilities were credited with lower hourly targets · 2,293 of 3,132 trainees short of weekly expectations in the week of 2025-04-27 to 2025-05-03 · more than 40 impediments identified since 2019 with none removed · instruction costs up 160 percent against hours up less than 20 percent · the announced plan to hire at least 8,900 controllers through 2028 | DOT Office of Inspector General, report AV2026031 | 2026-08-24 |
| Landing page recording report AV2026031 as a self-initiated audit issued 2026-06-24 | DOT Office of Inspector General | 2026-08-24 |
| 20 of 26 critical facilities below the 85 percent threshold with New York TRACON at 54 percent and Miami Tower at 66 percent · 22 of 26 below the workforce plan staffing minimum excluding trainees as of March 2022 · the 85 percent threshold described as a placement-prioritization trigger · interim staffing levels developed October 2014 with no comprehensive review after more than eight years because the offices involved and the union did not agree on availability factors · one exception recorded, a single route center revised from 241 to 275 certified controllers in 2022 · a not-yet-certified controller on position 41 percent of the time as of August 2022 · about 13,300 controllers with about 10,600 certified | DOT Office of Inspector General, report AV2023035 | 2026-08-24 |
| Landing page recording report AV2023035 issued 2023-06-21 and restating the 20 of 26 finding | DOT Office of Inspector General | 2026-08-24 |
| Contract tower program of 266 towers in 46 states staffed by more than 1,500 contractor controllers, about half of all towers in the system, handling more than 18 million tower operations in CY2024, about 30 percent of the total · understaffed by 276 controllers or roughly 18 percent as of April 2025 · three to six weeks to hire and onboard plus an additional 30 to 60 days to certify · one contractor reporting 35 percent of its controllers departed in CY2024 for federal or defence positions as the primary cause of attrition · challenges validating contractor-supplied staffing data · zero enhanced training-initiative graduates hired by any of the four contractors as of July 2025 | DOT Office of Inspector General, report AV2026022 | 2026-08-24 |
| Landing page recording report AV2026022 issued 2026-03-24 and mandated by section 605 of the FAA Reauthorization Act of 2024 | DOT Office of Inspector General | 2026-08-24 |
| 19 of the busiest facilities serving the Core 30 airports more than 15 percent below staffing targets · New York TRACON with 170 staffing triggers from August 2021 through August 2022 · hiring and training the next generation of controllers named a top departmental challenge | DOT Office of Inspector General, Fiscal Year 2026 Top Management Challenges, report 25P9001P000 | 2026-08-24 |
| Landing page for the Fiscal Year 2026 Top Management Challenges report dated 2026-01-06 | DOT Office of Inspector General | 2026-08-24 |
| Contract tower staffing levels reviewed from contractor-submitted plans rather than set by the agency, and the program-wide minimum of four controllers per tower lacking any supporting analysis or study; 257 towers at the time handling about 28 percent of operations | DOT Office of Inspector General, report AV2021035 | 2026-08-24 |
| Audit announcement baseline of 264 contract towers with about 1,400 contractor controllers managing about 28 percent of national operations | DOT Office of Inspector General, audit announcement 24A3005A000 | 2026-08-24 |
| Certification described as 1 to 3 years of experience after the Academy · applicants must be under 31 years of age at application · retirement eligibility at age 50 with 20 years of service | FAA, controller hiring page | 2026-08-24 |
| Project page confirming the study compared the two competing staffing models, one from the financial and labour analysis office and one from the collaborative resource working group | National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, project TRB-CAAS-23-04 | 2026-08-24 |
| Publisher summary stating that about 30 percent of facilities operate significantly below staffing targets while about another 30 percent exceed them, and recommending incentives for transfers between over- and under-staffed airports and a rebuild of staffing on the traditional modelling approach | National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, consensus study publication page | 2026-08-24 |
| A single system-wide shortfall figure of about 3,000 controllers | none located | URL not confirmed: transportation.gov returned HTTP 403 to every fetch attempt, and no opened document states the figure |
| A Department of Defense inspector general report of July 2026 on civilian controller shortages | US Department of Defense Office of Inspector General | URL not confirmed: dodig.mil returned HTTP 403 to every fetch attempt and the federal oversight search index renders results only through scripting, so neither the existence nor the contents of such a report could be checked |
| Local reporting that small airports are hit hardest | regional broadcast reporting | URL not confirmed: the story was not reached, and the contract tower audit of 2026-03-24 covers the same ground from a primary source |
| The FY2025 edition of the workforce plan, covering 2025 through 2027, which would carry the total staffing target under the prior availability factor of 2.14 | FAA | URL not confirmed: the workforce plan landing page carries only the current edition and offers no archive of prior editions |
| A published Academy or on-the-job washout rate | none located | URL not confirmed: the FY2026 plan projects Academy attrition in absolute numbers and does not state the intake cohort those projections are computed against |
| The full text of the independent review of the staffing models | National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine | URL not confirmed: only the project and publication summary pages were opened; the report body sits behind a separate catalog flow |
Three primary documents carry most of this file and all three were opened directly: the FAA controller workforce plan dated 2026-06-01, the DOT Office of Inspector General audit of on-the-job training issued 2026-06-24, and the audit of critical facility staffing issued 2023-06-21. Two further audits, on contract towers in 2021 and 2026, and the departmental challenges report of 2026-01-06 were opened as well. Where documents overlap they agree: the facility count of 313 appears both as an itemised footnote in the 2026 training audit and as 313 appendix rows in the workforce plan, and the age rules appear in both the recruiting page and the workforce plan. The certification lead time is stated in two places that do not share a starting point — 1.5 to 3 years in the training audit, measured from hire, and 1 to 3 years on the agency recruiting page, measured from after the Academy — so the two figures sit close together without being the same measure. Where they differ the difference is left visible rather than resolved: three controller headcounts of about 13,300, about 14,500 and 14,832 come from three documents with three dates and different treatment of the Academy, and the publisher summary of the independent review and the workforce plan restatement of the same review are differently weighted. Two findings rest on publisher summary pages rather than the report body and are graded medium for that reason. This is a Path A output (research-based definition), so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.
This table holds 25 evidence rows, 19 of which carry a source you can open · 3 distinct sources. How this table is made
People affected
Estimated range Not derivable
The reason and what is missing are listed under “What is missing” below
What is missing 3
Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.
- SectionWhat is it connected to?
air traffic system modernisation and the state of control equipment · flight delay and cancellation statistics and how much of either is attributed to staffing · the continuity of federal appropriations, which the FY2026 plan names as a pipeline disruption · the repository problem `us-critical-legacy-system-modernization-stall`. Relation type and evidence grade were not established.
Fills with research
- SectionHow big is it?
the affected population is not derivable as a count of people. No document opened here links controller staffing to a number of passengers, flights or delay minutes attributable to it, so the population file for this document records the estimate as not derivable rather than assembling one from parts that do not share a definition.
Needs a new measurement - Derived valueThe affected population could not be derived
No document opened here links controller staffing to a count of people harmed. The published figures describe controllers and facilities, not passengers affected, and no source attributes a share of delay or cancellation to staffing. The supply side itself has no single value either: the FAA Air Traffic Controller Workforce Plan 2026-2028 sets an FY2026 target of 12,563 controllers while its appendix prints, as of 2025-09-20, a certified professional controller total of 10,693 and a facility total of 14,223 counting trainees, and the plan does not publish the equivalence ratios that its newly adopted CPC-Equivalent Workforce metric would use to weight trainees against that target.
A published count of facilities below their own staffing target on the current baseline; the counts that are on the record — 20 of 26 and 22 of 26 critical facilities on March 2022 data, and 19 of the busiest facilities serving the Core 30 airports reported 2026-01-06 — all predate the revised availability factor of 1.87. Also missing: the passenger or operations volume handled by those facilities, and a published share of delay or cancellation attributable to controller staffing rather than to weather, equipment or airline scheduling
Needs a new measurement
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
Comments
The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.
The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.
You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.
The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.
You must be signed in to comment.
You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.
This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.
No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.
You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.
Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
No comments yet.