All problems

Measurement absent · New Zealand

New Zealand set a target of 1.4 rheumatic fever hospitalisations per 100,000 for June 2017 and recorded 2.9 in 2016, and none of the five national health targets in force since July 2024 measures rheumatic fever

In 2012 New Zealand gave acute rheumatic fever a national number. As one of the Better Public Services targets, the Government set out to cut first hospitalisations for the disease by two-thirds, from a 2009 to 2011 baseline of 4.0 per 100,000 to 1.4 per 100,000 by 2017-06. The …

Resolution status
not confirmed
Checked
2026-09-15
Evidence type
SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
Outlet
healthnz-rheumatic-fever-hospitalisations
Authoring mode
Derived from press reports
Views
6

What is happening?

In 2012 New Zealand gave acute rheumatic fever a national number. As one of the Better Public Services targets, the Government set out to cut first hospitalisations for the disease by two-thirds, from a 2009 to 2011 baseline of 4.0 per 100,000 to 1.4 per 100,000 by 2017-06. The Rheumatic Fever Prevention Programme that carried the target ran from 2012-07 to 2017-06 at a reported cost of NZD 65 million, working through eleven high-risk district health boards.

A national evaluation of the programme published in the International Journal of Epidemiology records the rate at 2.9 per 100,000 in 2016. In 2016 the Ministry of Health acknowledged, as reported at the time, that the target was unlikely to be met by its deadline. A ministry official pointed to community sore throat clinics outside schools that had not been as quick or as convenient as hoped, and two Auckland district health boards reported rates that had risen rather than fallen. The same coverage said the ministry would keep funding the eleven boards at NZD 5 million a year until 2022.

In 2022 the health system itself was rebuilt. The Pae Ora (Healthy Futures) Act 2022, which received royal assent on 2022-06-14, replaced all twenty district health boards with a single national body, Health New Zealand, Te Whatu Ora.

In 2023-06 a Rheumatic Fever Roadmap 2023–2028 was published as a five-year national plan. Its official summary page at Health New Zealand gives no numeric target and no date, either for the hospitalisation rate or for the gap between population groups. Separately, the Government now reports against five national health targets in force since 2024-07 — emergency department stays within six hours, first specialist assessment within four months, elective treatment within four months, cancer treatment within 31 days, and immunisation at 24 months. None of the five measures rheumatic fever.

The rate is still counted. Health New Zealand publishes a first hospitalisation rate of 3.8 per 100,000 for 2024 and 3.2 per 100,000 for 2025. In 2025 the rate was 7.8 for Māori, 23.0 for Pacific peoples and 0.3 for everyone else, which Health New Zealand describes as 26 times and more than 75 times the rate of the comparison group — figures published with no national numeric target now in force for any of them to be measured against.

Whose problem is this?

RoleWho
AffectedChildren and young people admitted to hospital with a first episode of acute rheumatic fever and their families. The burden is concentrated among Pacific peoples and Māori: in 2024 the new case rate among children aged 5 to 14 was 76.7 per 100,000 for Pacific children, 51 cases, and 25.5 per 100,000 for Māori children, 46 cases
Raised byHealth New Zealand, which publishes the hospitalisation data set · the national public health science institute, which reports case rates by age and ethnicity · child health researchers who have tracked the disease across twenty years · news organisations
DecidesThe Government, which chooses the national health targets · the Ministry of Health, which set the 2012 programme · Health New Zealand, which holds the 2023–2028 roadmap and delivers services
Bears the costThe children who are admitted and their families · hospitals that carry the admissions · the programmes that were funded for fixed terms and then had to be carried by someone else or by no one

The body that counts the rate every year and the body that chooses which rates carry a target are both inside government. Nothing outside government obliges either of them to put the two together again after the 2017 deadline passed.

Where does this problem end?

AxisThis is the problemThis is not the problem
WhatThe absence of a numeric national target and date for rheumatic fever after the 2012 target expired in 2017-06, while the rate continues to be publishedThe clinical diagnosis and treatment of acute rheumatic fever. That is medicine, not the yardstick, and it is excluded
Whether national health targets should be set for particular ethnic groups at all. That is a live value question next to this one, and this dossier takes no side in it
The science of developing a Group A streptococcus vaccine, which appears here only as an attempt on the record
WhoChildren and young people with a first episode, with the highest rates among Pacific peoples and MāoriIndividual clinical decisions by individual hospitals or clinicians
WhereNew ZealandRheumatic fever programmes in other countries, including Australia, were not examined
When2012-07 target set · 2017-06 target date · 2023-06 roadmap · 2024-07 five national targets · through 2026-09-15The history of rheumatic fever control before 2012
ScaleFirst hospitalisation rate of 3.2 per 100,000 in 2025 · new case rates by age and group in 2024Rheumatic heart disease in adults who had an earlier episode, which no source opened here counts

Cold, damp and crowded housing is often discussed alongside this disease, and the enforcement of rental housing standards is treated in a separate dossier rather than here. The boundary of this one is the yardstick and not the disease, because a rate that is still counted every year now has no number in force to be counted against.

What is the state now, and what should it be?

Now

IndicatorValueAs of
Last national numeric target1.4 per 100,000 first hospitalisations by 2017-06, from 4.0 in 2009 to 2011set 2012
Rate recorded in the programme evaluation2.9 per 100,0002016
Dedicated national programmeRheumatic Fever Prevention Programme, NZD 65 million, ended 2017-062017-06
Funding described after the programmeNZD 5 million a year to eleven district health boards until 2022as described in 2016
First hospitalisation rate, all groups3.8 per 100,0002024
First hospitalisation rate, all groups3.2 per 100,0002025
First hospitalisation rate by groupMāori 7.8 · Pacific peoples 23.0 · non-Māori non-Pacific 0.32025
New case rate, aged 5 to 14Pacific 76.7, 51 cases · Māori 25.5, 46 cases2024
National planRheumatic Fever Roadmap 2023–2028, summary page names no numeric target or date2023-06
National health targets in forcefive, none for rheumatic feversince 2024-07
Vaccine research fundingNZD 10 million for Group A streptococcus vaccine work2021-11-19

Needs a new measurementthe target state: the 2012 figure of 1.4 per 100,000 by 2017-06 is the last numeric statement of the intended state found in any source opened here, and its date has passed. The Health New Zealand summary page for the 2023–2028 roadmap names no successor figure and no date, and none of the five national health targets in force since 2024-07 names one. No source opened here gives a target for the gap between Pacific peoples, Māori and the rest of the population. This dossier does not supply a target of its own in that empty place.

How big is it?

The published measure is a rate, not a count of people. The national first hospitalisation rate was 3.2 per 100,000 in 2025 and 3.8 per 100,000 in 2024, and in 2025 it was 23.0 for Pacific peoples, 7.8 for Māori and 0.3 for non-Māori non-Pacific people.

The counts that are published are for children. In 2024 there were 51 new cases among Pacific children aged 5 to 14, a rate of 76.7 per 100,000, and 46 among Māori children aged 5 to 14, a rate of 25.5 per 100,000.

The pattern is long. A peer-reviewed study covering 2000 to 2020 gives rates among children of 50.9 per 100,000 for Pacific children against 1.0 for European or Other children, 22.4 for Māori children, and 31.4 in the most deprived fifth of areas.

A count of affected people is not derived here. The sources opened give rates per 100,000 but not the population counts by age and ethnic group that would turn those rates into people, and none gives the share of first episodes that go on to long-term rheumatic heart disease. The annual count of children admitted is therefore the only size this dossier can state, and it says nothing about the heart damage carried forward from earlier years.

Under what conditions does it arise?

1. The target lived inside a fixed-term programme. The 2017-06 target date and the end of the Rheumatic Fever Prevention Programme were the same month. When the programme ended, the date passed with it, and no source opened here records a successor date being set at that point.

2. The follow-on money was time-limited too. The funding described in 2016 ran to eleven district health boards until 2022, and in 2022 the Pae Ora (Healthy Futures) Act 2022 replaced all twenty boards with Health New Zealand. The bodies named as recipients of that funding no longer exist in the same form.

3. The rate is measured but not compared with anything. Health New Zealand publishes a first hospitalisation rate every year. Without a target, a year in which the rate rises produces no missed target and no required report.

4. The national target set does not include it. The five national health targets in force since 2024-07 cover emergency department stays, specialist assessment, elective treatment, cancer treatment timing and childhood immunisation. A condition outside that set is not reported against any of them.

5. The burden falls where the rates are highest, not where the targets are. Across 2000 to 2020 the highest rates were among Pacific and Māori children and in the most deprived fifth of areas. Those are the places a population-wide target of 1.4 per 100,000 was meant to reach, and no target now names them.

What has been tried?

AttemptBy whomWhat was doneWhen
Rheumatic Fever Prevention ProgrammeMinistry of Health · eleven high-risk district health boardsNZD 65 million programme including school sore throat clinics, carrying the target of 1.4 first hospitalisations per 100,000 by 2017-06; the evaluation records 2.9 in 20162012-07 to 2017-06
Follow-on fundingMinistry of HealthNZD 5 million a year to the same eleven boards until 2022, as described in 20162017 to 2022
Group A streptococcus vaccine researchGovernment funding to University of Auckland-led researchNZD 10 million announced for work on a vaccine to prevent rheumatic fever2021-11-19
Health system restructuringParliamentPae Ora (Healthy Futures) Act 2022, royal assent 2022-06-14, replacing twenty district health boards with Health New Zealand2022
Rheumatic Fever Roadmap 2023–2028Health New Zealand and the Ministry of HealthFive-year national plan; the summary page names no numeric target or date2023-06
Pacific Healthy Homes initiativeGovernmentNZD 4.02 million for improvements to 600 homesreported 2024-09-18
National health targetsGovernmentFive targets for waiting times, cancer treatment and immunisation; the Government has reported improvement on all five; none measures rheumatic feverin force since 2024-07

The country has tried a funded programme with a number, then funding without a number, then a plan without a number, and alongside those a vaccine research grant and a housing initiative. The only attempt on the record that carried a numeric target with a date was the first one, and that date passed in 2017.

What was found?

FindingObserved valueEvidence grade
National target set in 2012first hospitalisations for acute rheumatic fever down by two-thirds, from 4.0 per 100,000 in 2009 to 2011 to 1.4 per 100,000 by 2017-06high — national programme evaluation article opened directly
Rate recorded in 20162.9 per 100,000high — same evaluation
Ministry acknowledgement in 2016 that the target was unlikely to be metyes, with community sore throat clinics outside schools described as slower and less convenient than hoped and two Auckland boards reporting risesmedium — press report
Programme size, period and reachNZD 65 million, 2012-07 to 2017-06, eleven district health boardsmedium — press report
Funding after the programmeNZD 5 million a year to eleven boards until 2022medium — press report written in 2016, before the period it describes
First hospitalisation rate, 2024 and 20253.8 and 3.2 per 100,000high — Health New Zealand data set page opened directly
First hospitalisation rate by group, 2025Māori 7.8 · Pacific peoples 23.0 · non-Māori non-Pacific 0.3, described as 26 and more than 75 times the comparison grouphigh — same page
New case rate aged 5 to 14, 2024Pacific 76.7 per 100,000 with 51 cases · Māori 25.5 with 46 caseshigh — national public health science institute publication opened directly
Child rates across 2000 to 2020Pacific 50.9 · European or Other 1.0 · Māori 22.4 · most deprived fifth of areas 31.4, per 100,000high — peer-reviewed article opened directly
Rate ratios given in the same article53 for Pacific, 23 for Māori, 22 for the most deprived fifthmedium — the ratios do not equal the quotient of the rounded rates shown beside them, and their basis was not confirmed
National plan published 2023-06Rheumatic Fever Roadmap 2023–2028; summary page names no numeric target or datehigh for the summary page — Health New Zealand page opened directly · the full document was not read
Five national health targetsemergency department within six hours, first specialist assessment within four months, elective treatment within four months, cancer treatment within 31 days, immunisation at 24 months; none measures rheumatic fevermedium — public broadcaster report; the target documents were not opened
Vaccine research fundingNZD 10 million announced 2021-11-19medium — press report
Pacific Healthy Homes initiativeNZD 4.02 million for 600 homes, reported 2024-09-18medium — press report
Health system restructuringroyal assent 2022-06-14, twenty district health boards replaced by Health New Zealandmedium — encyclopedia entry
People of Māori descent at the 2023 census978,246, 19.6 percent of the populationmedium — press report of census results

Why is it still unsolved?

Measurement absent — the rate is still counted every year, but since 2017-06 there has been no national number in force for it to be measured against.

A target turns a statistic into a test. In 2012 the first hospitalisation rate had one: 1.4 per 100,000 by 2017-06. The 2016 figure of 2.9 could be read against it, and in 2016 the Ministry of Health did read it that way and said the target was unlikely to be met. That reading was only possible because a number and a date existed. The number was attached to a programme with a fixed end, and when the programme ended the date passed without a successor on the record.

The second part is that each later step left the yardstick where it was. Follow-on funding was described in 2016 as running to 2022. In 2022 the district health boards that received it were replaced by a single national body. In 2023 a five-year roadmap was published, and its official summary names no target figure and no date. From 2024-07 the Government reported against five national health targets, and rheumatic fever is not one of them. None of these steps removed the measurement, and none of them put a number back beside it.

The third part, which keeps the pattern stable, is that the absence produces no event. Health New Zealand publishes 3.8 per 100,000 for 2024 and 3.2 for 2025, with rates of 23.0 for Pacific peoples and 7.8 for Māori in 2025, and nothing in the national target set turns those figures into a missed target, a report to Parliament or a revised plan. A rate with no target can rise or fall without anyone being required to say whether that was the intended direction.

What observation would mean it is solved?

Candidates — (a) a numeric national target with a date is set for rheumatic fever, published in the roadmap or in the national target set (b) the first hospitalisation rate falls over several consecutive years on a stated counting basis (c) the gap in rates between Pacific peoples, Māori and the rest of the population narrows over several consecutive years.

(a) alone is paper. A target restores the test but not the result. The 2012 target existed for five years and the rate recorded in 2016 was 2.9 against 1.4. A new number would make the next shortfall visible, and it would change nothing for the children admitted in the meantime.

(b) alone can mislead. The public health science institute describes 2024 case rates as a return to pre-pandemic levels, which means the series has already moved for reasons outside any programme. A fall over a few years could reflect a disruption rather than prevention, and a series without a stated counting basis cannot be compared across the 2016 evaluation and the current data set.

(c) alone can move in the wrong way. A gap can narrow because rates in the comparison group rise. In 2025 that group was at 0.3 per 100,000, so the difference between groups is almost entirely the level among Pacific peoples and Māori. The three have to be read together, and (a) is the one that would let (b) and (c) be read against something.

What is it connected to?

Fills with researchrental housing quality and its enforcement, household crowding, access to primary care for sore throat, rheumatic heart disease in adults, the 2022 health system restructuring more generally, and rheumatic fever programmes in Australia and other comparable jurisdictions. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.

What these sources do not say

  • Why no numeric target followed the 2012 one. No source opened here carries a Government, Ministry of Health or Health New Zealand explanation of why the 2023–2028 roadmap summary names no target figure, or why rheumatic fever is not among the five national health targets. The Government release announcing the roadmap did not return its text to the automated reader, so whatever it says is not reflected here.
  • Whether the full roadmap contains a number. Only the official summary page was read. The full document did not load on two attempts, so whether a target figure appears somewhere inside it is not established.
  • The rate at the deadline. No source opened here gives the first hospitalisation rate for the period ending 2017-06. The latest figure tied to the programme evaluation is the 2016 rate of 2.9.
  • Whether the 2016 figure and the current data set count on the same basis. The 2016 rate comes from the programme evaluation and the 2024 and 2025 rates from the Health New Zealand data set. No source opened here states that the two use the same case definition, so the direction of change between 2016 and 2025 is not stated here.
  • Whether the follow-on funding ran to 2022 and what replaced it. The NZD 5 million a year was described in 2016. No source opened here confirms that it was paid through to 2022, ended then, or continued under Health New Zealand.
  • When the district health boards stopped operating. The royal assent date of 2022-06-14 was confirmed. The date on which the boards were actually replaced was not.
  • The Pacific population count. No source opened here gives the 2023 census count for Pacific peoples. The census figure that was opened is reported as people of Māori descent, and no source opened here says whether that matches the group definition used in the rate series.
  • How many first episodes lead to rheumatic heart disease. No source opened here gives that progression rate, so no estimate of long-term heart disease is made.
  • What the ratios in the twenty-year study rest on. The stated ratios of 53, 23 and 22 differ from the quotient of the rounded rates shown beside them, and the material opened does not state whether they are adjusted.
  • What the Pacific Healthy Homes initiative achieved. No source opened here reports a measured outcome for the 600 homes.
  • Where the vaccine research stands. The 2021 funding announcement gives no completion date, and no source opened here reports a vaccine entering the national immunisation schedule.

See the evidence

ItemSourceConfirmation
First hospitalisation rates for rheumatic fever — 3.8 per 100,000 in 2024 and 3.2 in 2025 · Māori 7.8, Pacific peoples 23.0 and non-Māori non-Pacific 0.3 in 2025, with multiples of 26 and more than 75Health New Zealand, rheumatic fever hospitalisations data set2026-09-15
A 2023 child health report on hospitalisation rates among Pacific and Māori children · Pacific Healthy Homes initiative of NZD 4.02 million covering 600 homesRNZ, Pacific news2026-09-15
New case rates in 2024 among children aged 5 to 14 — Pacific 76.7 per 100,000 with 51 cases, Māori 25.5 with 46 cases · rates described as a return to pre-pandemic levelsPublic Health and Forensic Science Institute, news release2026-09-15
Child rates across 2000 to 2020 — Pacific 50.9, European or Other 1.0, Māori 22.4, most deprived fifth 31.4 per 100,000, with stated ratios of 53, 23 and 22State of child health: acute rheumatic fever in Aotearoa New Zealand, PMC2026-09-15
Baseline of 4.0 per 100,000 in 2009 to 2011, target of 1.4 by 2017-06, rate of 2.9 in 2016Primary prevention of rheumatic fever in the 21st century: evaluation of a national programme, International Journal of Epidemiology2026-09-15
Ministry acknowledgement in 2016 that the target was unlikely to be met · NZD 65 million programme across eleven district health boards · sore throat clinic delivery and rises in two Auckland boards · NZD 5 million a year until 2022NZ Herald, Government admits it is likely to fail on rheumatic fever target2026-09-15
Rheumatic Fever Roadmap 2023–2028 as a five-year national plan, with no numeric target or date on the summary pageHealth New Zealand, Rheumatic Fever Roadmap 2023–2028 publication page2026-09-15 · summary page only; the full document was not read
Full text of the Rheumatic Fever Roadmap 2023–2028Health New Zealand, Te Whatu OraURL not confirmed: the document address redirected to the Health New Zealand home page on two attempts and the document itself was not received
NZD 10 million for Group A streptococcus vaccine research led by the University of Auckland, announced 2021-11-19RNZ2026-09-15
Pae Ora (Healthy Futures) Act 2022, royal assent 2022-06-14, twenty district health boards replaced by Health New ZealandWikipedia, Pae Ora (Healthy Futures) Act 20222026-09-15 · royal assent date only; the date on which the boards stopped operating was not confirmed
People of Māori descent at the 2023 census, 978,246 or 19.6 percent of the populationNZ Herald, Census 2023 results2026-09-15
The five national health targets and the Government report of improvement on all five, with no rheumatic fever measure among themRNZ, political news report on the five health targets2026-09-15
Government release announcing the 2023–2028 roadmapBeehive.govt.nz, New roadmap to tackle rheumatic feverURL not confirmed: the automated reader received an empty page body, so the release text was not read and none of its figures are used
2023 census count of Pacific peoplesStats NZ, 2023 Census national and regional dataURL not confirmed: the page returned no figures to the automated reader, so no Pacific population count is used here

No full primary planning document was read. The Health New Zealand data set page and the roadmap publication page were opened directly, as were the programme evaluation article, the twenty-year child health study and the public health science institute release; together they carry the 2012 target, the 2016 rate, the 2024 and 2025 rates by group and the absence of a numeric target on the roadmap summary. The full roadmap document, the Government release on the roadmap and the census page for Pacific peoples did not return their content and are left as unconfirmed rows rather than removed. The Ministry acknowledgement of 2016, the programme cost, the follow-on funding and the vaccine and housing initiatives come from press reports, and the list of five national health targets comes from a public broadcaster report rather than from the target documents. Where the opened sources disagree the disagreement is left visible: the rate ratios in the twenty-year study do not match the quotient of the rounded rates shown beside them, and the 2016 evaluation and the current Health New Zealand data set are not stated by any opened source to count on the same basis. This is a Path A output (research-based definition), so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.

This table holds 14 evidence rows, 11 of which carry a source you can open · 7 distinct sources. How this table is made

People affected

Estimated range Not derivable

The reason and what is missing are listed under “What is missing” below

What is missing 3

Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.

1Fills with researchThe material exists. We simply have not looked yet.
  • Section
    What is it connected to?

    rental housing quality and its enforcement, household crowding, access to primary care for sore throat, rheumatic heart disease in adults, the 2022 health system restructuring more generally, and rheumatic fever programmes in Australia and other comparable jurisdictions. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.

    Fills with research
2Needs a new measurementNo published source carries this value. Someone has to count it.
  • Section
    What is the state now, and what should it be?

    the target state: the 2012 figure of 1.4 per 100,000 by 2017-06 is the last numeric statement of the intended state found in any source opened here, and its date has passed. The Health New Zealand summary page for the 2023–2028 roadmap names no successor figure and no date, and none of the five national health targets in force since 2024-07 names one. No source opened here gives a target for the gap between Pacific peoples, Māori and the rest of the population. This dossier does not supply a target of its own in that empty place.

    Needs a new measurement
  • Derived value
    The affected population could not be derived

    The sources opened for this dossier publish first hospitalisation rates and new case rates per 100,000, but none gives the population counts by age and ethnic group, on the same group definition as the rate series, that would turn those rates into a count of people. The only census figure opened is a count of people of Maori descent, which may not match the ethnic group definition behind the rates, and the 2023 census count for Pacific peoples was not obtained. No source opened gives the share of first episodes of acute rheumatic fever that progress to rheumatic heart disease, so the long-term burden cannot be estimated either. The counts that are published, 51 new cases among Pacific children and 46 among Maori children aged 5 to 14 in 2024, cover only part of the affected population and are not a total.

    Population aged 5 to 14 and all ages by ethnic group for 2024 and 2025 on the same group definition as the Health New Zealand rate series; 2023 census count for Pacific peoples; national population denominator for 2025; progression rate from acute rheumatic fever to rheumatic heart disease

    Needs a new measurement

Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page

Comments

Total comments
0

The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.

The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.

You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.

The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.

You must be signed in to comment.

You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.

This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.

No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.

You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.

Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.

Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page

No comments yet.