All problems

Supply shortage · New Zealand

New Zealand records a midwife shortfall of 680 full-time equivalents, 20.3 percent of total need, in its 2024 health workforce plan, which projects that the shortage will not grow further by 2033

New Zealand delivers most maternity care through a Lead Maternity Carer, and most of those carers are midwives who are not employed by a hospital. They are paid module by module under a notice made under section 88 of the New Zealand Public Health and Disability Act 2000. The wo…

Resolution status
not confirmed
Checked
2026-09-18
Evidence type
SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
Outlet
healthnz-workforce-plan-midwifery
Authoring mode
Derived from press reports
Views
1

What is happening?

New Zealand delivers most maternity care through a Lead Maternity Carer, and most of those carers are midwives who are not employed by a hospital. They are paid module by module under a notice made under section 88 of the New Zealand Public Health and Disability Act 2000. The workforce analysis published by Health New Zealand, Te Whatu Ora records about 3,350 midwives in full-time equivalent terms, about half of them employed directly by Health New Zealand in hospitals and facilities and the rest working as self-employed Lead Maternity Carers.

The Health Workforce Plan 2024 records a current shortage of 680 midwives in full-time equivalent terms, which it states as 20.3 percent of total need. The same document estimates no additional shortage by 2033, and attaches a condition to that estimate: training and overseas recruitment have to continue above the current replacement rate. It also records that 38.4 percent of the 187 midwives who graduated in 2023 leave the profession.

The gap appears at the other end as people without a carer. On 2025-06-10 the national professional body for midwives published an analysis of 2022 payment data from the primary maternity services system. That analysis records that 91.5 percent of women registered in pregnancy had a Lead Maternity Carer and 8.2 percent had none at any point during the pregnancy, and that the shortfall concentrates in Auckland, Counties Manukau and the Hutt Valley and falls more heavily on Māori, Pacific, Indian and MELAA families, which is the same set of groups Health New Zealand names on its own maternity programme page when it states that the present system does not work well for Māori, Pacific and disabled families.

Whose problem is this?

RoleWho
AffectedWomen who register for maternity care, including the 8.2 percent who in 2022 had no Lead Maternity Carer at any point in pregnancy. The access gap concentrates in Auckland, Counties Manukau and the Hutt Valley and falls more heavily on Māori, Pacific, Indian and MELAA families, which is the set of groups Health New Zealand itself names when it states that the present system does not work well for Māori, Pacific and disabled families
Raised byHealth New Zealand, which published the shortfall in its own workforce plan · the national professional body for midwives, which analysed the payment data · news organisations reporting from affected districts
DecidesHealth New Zealand, which holds the workforce plan and commissions maternity services · the Ministry of Health, which makes the section 88 notice that sets the payment structure · the Government, which sets health budgets and immigration settings
Bears the costMidwives carrying caseloads in a workforce counted as 20.3 percent short of assessed need · women who go through a pregnancy without a continuous carer · hospital services that absorb demand a community carer would otherwise hold

The body that counts the shortfall is also the body that commissions the services the shortfall constrains, and the plan it published projects that the shortage will not grow rather than that it will close. Nothing in the material opened here obliges any other body to reach a stated number of midwives by a stated date.

Where does this problem end?

AxisThis is the problemThis is not the problem
WhatThe shortage of midwives available to work as Lead Maternity Carers, the access gap it produces, and the training, retention and payment structure that sets how many of them there areWhether maternity care should be delivered through a self-employed continuity model or through salaried hospital employment. That is a live value question next to this one, and this dossier takes no side in it
Whether the module rates in the section 88 notice are set at the right level. That is a pay dispute and it is excluded
Whether immigration settings should be loosened to admit more overseas-qualified midwives. That is a separate policy question and it is excluded
WhoWomen registering for maternity care, and the midwives who carry the caseloadsClinical decisions in individual births
WhereNew ZealandMaternity workforce arrangements in other countries were not examined
WhenThe 2007 section 88 notice through 2026-09-18, with the 2020 budget package, the 2021 notice and the 2024 workforce plan as the marked pointsThe history of the midwifery workforce before the first section 88 notice
Scale680 full-time equivalents short in the 2024 plan, 20.3 percent of assessed need · 8.2 percent of registered women without a carer in 2022The obstetric workforce, and the opening and closing of birthing facilities, which appear here as context and not as the subject

The boundary sits at the supply of carers rather than at the buildings they work in, because a facility with nobody to staff it and a district where no carer is taking bookings produce the same result for the person seeking care. The payment structure is inside the boundary and the level of the payments is outside it, because how a workforce is engaged is a structural question and what it should be paid is a contested one.

What is the state now, and what should it be?

Now

IndicatorValueAs of
Midwifery workforceabout 3,350 full-time equivalents, about half employed directly by Health New ZealandHealth Workforce Plan 2024
Recorded shortage680 full-time equivalents, 20.3 percent of total needHealth Workforce Plan 2024
Projection to 2033no additional shortage, stated as conditional on training and overseas recruitment continuing above the current replacement rateHealth Workforce Plan 2024
Graduates leaving the profession38.4 percent of the 187 who graduated in 2023Health Workforce Plan 2024
Vacancy trackingvacancies recorded as harder to track in the community part of the workforceHealth Workforce Plan 2024
Women registered in pregnancy with a Lead Maternity Carer91.5 percent2022 payment data, published 2025-06-10
Women with no Lead Maternity Carer at any point in pregnancy8.2 percent2022 payment data, published 2025-06-10
Where the access gap concentratesAuckland, Counties Manukau, Hutt Valley2022 payment data, published 2025-06-10
A different shortage figure in circulation40 percent, with the gap described as closing in 2031press report of 2023-07-06, citing a health workforce taskforce report
Payment structureper-module payment under the Primary Maternity Services Notice 2021, made under section 88gazetted 2021-06-30, in force 2021-11-29
Annual birthsmore than 60,000Health New Zealand maternity programme page, no year stated
Maternity commissioning frameworkKahu Taurima, first districts from 2025, national completion targeted for 2029-07-01Health New Zealand maternity programme page

Needs a new measurementthe target state: no source opened here gives a dated official target for eliminating the midwife shortfall. The Health Workforce Plan 2024 states the shortage as 20.3 percent of total need, which implies full staffing against assessed need as the intended end state, and it attaches no date to reaching it. The only figure it gives for 2033 is that the shortage will not grow further, and that figure is conditional on training and overseas recruitment running above the current replacement rate. A date of 2031 appears in a 2023 press report citing a health workforce taskforce report that was not opened, and no source opened here connects that date to the 2024 projection. No source opened here gives a target for the share of women who should have a Lead Maternity Carer, or for the difference between districts or between population groups. This dossier does not supply a target of its own in that empty place.

How big is it?

The shortfall is published as a workforce number rather than as a count of people affected. The Health Workforce Plan 2024 records 680 full-time equivalents short against total need, which it states as 20.3 percent of that need, out of a workforce of about 3,350 full-time equivalents.

The access side is published as a share. In the 2022 primary maternity services payment data, 91.5 percent of women registered in pregnancy had a Lead Maternity Carer and 8.2 percent had none at any point during the pregnancy.

A third figure sits between the two. Of the 187 midwives who graduated in 2023, the workforce plan records that 38.4 percent leave the profession, which is the rate at which the training pipeline loses the people it has just produced.

No count of affected people is derived here. The share of 8.2 percent is measured on the 2022 cohort of women registered for maternity care. The only figure for births that any source opened here gives is a statement on a Health New Zealand programme page that more than 60,000 babies are born each year, and that page attaches no year to it. Multiplying an undated annual total by a share measured in one named year would produce a count whose reference year cannot be stated, so the multiplication is not performed and the population file records the estimate as not derivable.

The two published numbers answer different questions, because one counts the carers missing from the roster and the other counts the share of women who reached the end of a pregnancy without one. Neither of them is a count of the people who would gain a carer if the shortfall closed.

Under what conditions does it arise?

1. The workforce is split between two employment forms and only one of them is counted the same way. About half the midwifery workforce is employed directly by Health New Zealand and the rest work as self-employed Lead Maternity Carers. The same workforce analysis that publishes the 680 figure records that vacancies are harder to track in the community part of the workforce.

2. The training pipeline loses a large share of what it produces. The plan records 187 graduates in 2023 and 38.4 percent of them leaving the profession. Training more people reduces the shortfall only to the extent that the people trained stay in it.

3. The levers pulled so far mostly move money rather than people. The 2020 budget package of NZD 242 million over four years included NZD 85 million to expand the section 88 modules, and the 2024 workforce plan records a shortage of 680 full-time equivalents. No source opened here states what the shortfall was before that package, so the two figures sit beside each other without a stated relationship.

4. The size of the gap is not one number. A press report of 2023-07-06 cites a health workforce taskforce report giving a shortage of 40 percent and a gap closing in 2031. The workforce plan of 2024 gives 20.3 percent and a projection of no additional shortage by 2033. No source opened here sets out the counting basis of either figure.

5. The effect lands district by district before it appears in a national figure. A press report of 2018-02-19 records more than 140 pregnant women in Canterbury unable to find a Lead Maternity Carer over one holiday period, with the same pattern described in Auckland, Tauranga, parts of Waikato and Wanaka. A public broadcaster report of 2025-02-14 records one district left without a resident obstetric specialist, with residents travelling up to three hours each way for specialist care, and a charitably funded birthing centre in another district closing with the plan for a replacement facility on hold.

Each of these conditions is stated in material published by either the health agency itself or by news organisations reporting from the districts affected. None of them is contradicted by anything else opened here, and the first of them is recorded by the agency about its own data.

What has been tried?

AttemptBy whomWhat was doneWhen
Primary maternity services notice under section 88Ministry of HealthA notice setting per-module payment for Lead Maternity Carer services. The 2007 notice and its eight later amendments were replaced by the Primary Maternity Services Notice 2021gazetted 2021-06-30, in force 2021-11-29
Four-year maternity packageGovernmentNZD 242 million spread across six items, including NZD 85 million to expand the section 88 modulesannounced 2020-07-16
Five interim workforce strategiesHealth New ZealandStudent retention, wider graduate pathways, retention of the existing workforce, growth of support roles, and a simpler pathway for overseas-qualified midwivesHealth Workforce Plan 2024
Kahu Taurima commissioning framework and a three-day postnatal stayHealth New ZealandRegional rollout beginning in 2025, with national completion targeted for 2029-07-012025 to 2029
Policy recommendations to the GovernmentThe national professional body for midwivesRecommendations covering sustainable workforce investment, priority support for districts with the widest access gaps, navigation support for women, and protection of the continuity of care model2025-06-10

Most of the attempts on this record change how the service is paid for or who plans it, and the workforce strategies published in 2024 are the ones aimed directly at the number of midwives. No source opened here reports a measured outcome for any of the five.

What was found?

FindingObserved valueEvidence grade
Midwifery workforce sizeabout 3,350 full-time equivalents, about half employed directly by Health New Zealandhigh — Health New Zealand workforce analysis page opened directly
Recorded shortage680 full-time equivalents, 20.3 percent of total needhigh — same page
Projection to 2033no additional shortage, stated as conditional on training and overseas recruitment continuing above the current replacement ratehigh — same page
Graduate attrition38.4 percent of the 187 midwives who graduated in 2023 leave the professionhigh — same page
Vacancy trackingvacancies described as harder to track in the community part of the workforcehigh — same page
Registration with a Lead Maternity Carer in 202291.5 percent registered, 8.2 percent with none at any point in pregnancymedium — analysis of the primary maternity services payment data by the national professional body for midwives; the payment data itself was not opened
Where the access gap concentratesAuckland, Counties Manukau and the Hutt Valley, falling more heavily on Māori, Pacific, Indian and MELAA familiesmedium — same analysis
A competing shortage figure40 percent, with the gap described as closing in 2031low — press report citing a health workforce taskforce report that was not opened, and it does not agree with the figure in the 2024 plan
Payment structureper-module payment under the Primary Maternity Services Notice 2021, replacing the 2007 notice and eight amendmentshigh — the gazetted notice was opened directly
2020 maternity packageNZD 242 million over four years across six items, including NZD 85 million for section 88 modulesmedium — a government release republished by the professional body; the budget document was not opened
Annual birthsmore than 60,000medium — Health New Zealand programme page, with no year attached to the figure
Kahu Taurima timetableregional rollout from 2025, national completion targeted for 2029-07-01medium — same programme page; no outcome is reported yet
Regional service lossesone district left without a resident obstetric specialist with travel of up to three hours each way, and a charitably funded birthing centre closed in another district with its replacement on holdmedium — public broadcaster report of 2025-02-14
Earlier access failuresmore than 140 pregnant women in Canterbury unable to find a Lead Maternity Carer over one holiday period, with the same pattern reported in Auckland, Tauranga, parts of Waikato and Wanakamedium — press report of 2018-02-19
Position stated on behalf of the health agencya written reply reported in 2023 stating an intention to deploy the workforce equitably and sustainablylow — reported within a press account; no primary statement was opened

Why is it still unsolved?

Supply shortage — the model depends on people choosing to enter and stay in self-employed practice, and the only official projection on the record is that their number holds rather than rises to meet assessed need.

The shortfall is a count of people, and most of what has been done moves money. A notice sets what each module of care pays. A package in 2020 put NZD 85 million into those modules. A commissioning framework changes who plans the service in each district. None of those steps changes how many people finish midwifery training and remain in practice, and the plan that publishes the shortfall also publishes that 38.4 percent of the 2023 graduating cohort leave the profession.

The second part is that about half of the shortage has no meter. Roughly half the workforce is employed directly and the rest is self-employed, and the same analysis that gives the 680 figure records that vacancies are harder to track on the community side. An unfilled hospital position is a line in a staffing return. A district where no self-employed carer is taking new bookings produces no vacancy anywhere, and the person who cannot find a carer enters the record only later, as a share of a payment dataset published by a professional body.

The third part is that the size of the gap is given two different values and the horizon has moved without a stated link between the two. One lineage puts the shortage at 40 percent and describes the gap closing in 2031. The workforce plan of 2024 puts it at 20.3 percent and projects that it will not grow further by 2033, on the condition that training and overseas recruitment run above the replacement rate. No source opened here states the counting basis of either figure or connects the two dates. A shortfall carrying two values with no published reconciliation cannot produce a single missed target.

The fourth part, which is the one that keeps the pattern stable, is that the failure produces no event. There is no dated public target for eliminating the shortfall, so no year arrives in which one is missed. The share of women without a carer is published by a professional body rather than as an official indicator with a threshold attached. Reports of a district losing a service arrive one district at a time, and each of them reads locally rather than as an instalment of a national count.

What observation would mean it is solved?

Candidates — (a) Health New Zealand publishes a workforce update recording the midwife shortfall at or near zero against its own assessed need, with the date on which it was measured (b) the share of women registered in pregnancy who have a Lead Maternity Carer rises toward the whole cohort in the payment data, and the difference between districts and between population groups narrows (c) the share of each graduating cohort that remains in practice rises across several consecutive years.

(a) alone counts the roster and not the care. A national total can reach assessed need while Auckland, Counties Manukau and the Hutt Valley stay short, because the shortfall is published nationally and the access gap recorded in the 2022 payment data is regional. Assessed need is also a figure the same body sets, so the gap between supply and need can close from either side of the subtraction.

(b) alone can move for reasons outside the workforce. The measure is built from payment records for women who registered, so a change in who registers changes the denominator. The 8.2 percent is one year of one dataset, and no source opened here publishes the same measure for any other year, so there is no series from which a direction could be read.

(c) alone is upstream and slow. Retention sets how much of each cohort survives into practice, and a cohort of 187 is small against a workforce of about 3,350 full-time equivalents. Better retention would take years to appear as a smaller shortfall, and it says nothing about which districts the people who stay end up working in. The three have to be read together, and (b) is the one that speaks to the person who could not find a carer.

What is it connected to?

Fills with researchthe obstetric and anaesthetic workforce in the same facilities, the viability of rural hospital maternity services, recognition pathways for overseas-qualified health workers, housing and living costs as drivers of where health workers settle, primary care access for pregnant women outside the Lead Maternity Carer system, and maternity workforce arrangements in Australia and other comparable jurisdictions. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.

What these sources do not say

  • Why the two shortage figures differ. One lineage gives 40 percent and the workforce plan gives 20.3 percent for a broadly similar period. No source opened here sets out the counting basis of either, and neither acknowledges the other.
  • How the 2031 date and the 2033 projection relate. A 2023 press report describes the gap closing in 2031 and the 2024 workforce plan projects no additional shortage by 2033. Whether those are one calculation updated or two calculations resting on different premises is not stated in anything opened here.
  • What the 8.2 percent converts to in people. The count of births or registrations for 2022 was not obtained. The official statistics release for births and deaths for the year ended December 2022 returned only its title to the automated reader, so the denominator is not stated here and no count of affected people is derived.
  • The text of section 88 itself. Only the gazetted notice made under it was opened. The legislation site did not return the section to the automated reader, so the statutory wording is neither reproduced nor characterised here.
  • What self-employed Lead Maternity Carers actually earn. The module rates sit in the notice. No source opened here publishes the distribution of actual income, or the effective hourly return, for carers working under it.
  • How many community vacancies there are. Health New Zealand records that vacancies are harder to track in the community part of the workforce, and no source opened here publishes a count for that part. The absence of that count is recorded by the agency itself.
  • The vacancy rate in the employed workforce. A news report exists whose subject is the midwife vacancy rate in the Health New Zealand workforce, and its text was not received by the automated reader, so no vacancy figure is stated here.
  • A national picture of regional access. The districts named in the 2022 analysis are the districts that analysis names. No map or table covering every district was found, so nothing here says how the access gap is distributed outside those districts.
  • Whether the 2025 recommendations were adopted. No source opened here reports a government response to them.
  • What Kahu Taurima has changed. The framework begins regionally in 2025 with national completion targeted for 2029-07-01. Nothing opened here reports a measured effect on access.
  • A response to these findings from the bodies named. The only position found is a written reply reported in 2023, stating an intention to deploy the workforce equitably and sustainably. No statement, rebuttal or explanation from Health New Zealand or the Ministry of Health addressing the 2024 shortfall figure or the 2022 access gap was found in anything opened here.

See the evidence

ItemSourceURLConfirmation
Midwifery workforce analysis — shortage of 680 full-time equivalents at 20.3 percent of total need · estimate of no additional shortage by 2033, conditional on training and overseas recruitment above the current replacement rate · 38.4 percent of 187 graduates in 2023 leaving the profession · about 3,350 full-time equivalents, about half employed directly · vacancies harder to track in the community part of the workforceHealth New Zealand \Te Whatu Ora, Health Workforce Plan 2024, midwifery analysishttps://www.healthnz.govt.nz/about-us/what-we-do/planning-and-performance/health-workforce-planning/health-workforce-plan-2024-detailed-analysis-and-data/workforce-plan-profession-specific-analysis/health-workforce-plan-midwifery-analysis2026-09-18
Analysis of 2022 primary maternity services payment data — 91.5 percent of women registered in pregnancy with a Lead Maternity Carer, 8.2 percent with none at any point · concentration in Auckland, Counties Manukau and the Hutt Valley · wider gaps for Māori, Pacific, Indian and MELAA families · policy recommendations to the GovernmentNew Zealand College of Midwives, media release of 2025-06-10https://www.midwife.org.nz/news/media-release-10-june-opportunities-to-strengthen-equitable-access-to-continuity-of-care/2026-09-18
A shortage figure of 40 percent and a gap described as closing in 2031, attributed to a health workforce taskforce report · student attrition and financial pressure on studentsRadio New Zealand, report of 2023-07-06https://www.rnz.co.nz/news/health/493251/critical-shortage-of-midwife-students-as-pressures-grow-on-system2026-09-18 · the taskforce report itself was not opened
One district left without a resident obstetric specialist, with travel of up to three hours each way for specialist care · a charitably funded birthing centre closed in another district with its replacement on holdRadio New Zealand, report of 2025-02-14https://www.rnz.co.nz/news/political/541816/uneven-maternity-care-across-aotearoa2026-09-18
More than 140 pregnant women in Canterbury unable to find a Lead Maternity Carer over one holiday period, with the same pattern reported in Auckland, Tauranga, parts of Waikato and WanakaNZ Herald, report of 2018-02-19https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/midwifery-in-crisis-with-pregnant-women-unable-to-find-lead-maternity-carers/EFRZTFI5NNFWZHBZN2OZ62BWBU/2026-09-18
More than 60,000 births a year, with no year attached to the figure · Kahu Taurima commissioning framework with national completion targeted for 2029-07-01 · the agency statement that the present system does not work well for Māori, Pacific and disabled familiesHealth New Zealand \Te Whatu Ora, maternity programme pagehttps://www.healthnz.govt.nz/about-us/what-we-do/programmes-and-initiatives/maternity2026-09-18
Maternity package of NZD 242 million over four years announced 2020-07-16, across six items and including NZD 85 million to expand the section 88 modulesNew Zealand College of Midwives, republishing a government releasehttps://www.midwife.org.nz/news/242-million-boost-for-mothers-and-maternity-services/2026-09-18 · the budget document itself was not opened
Primary Maternity Services Notice 2021 made under section 88, gazetted 2021-06-30 and in force 2021-11-29, replacing the 2007 notice and its eight amendmentsNew Zealand Gazettehttps://gazette.govt.nz/notice/id/2021-go24732026-09-18
Publication page for the Primary Maternity Services Notice 2021Ministry of Health New ZealandURL not confirmed: the page returned HTTP 403 to the automated reader
Births and deaths for the year ended December 2022, the count the 8.2 percent share would be measured againstStats NZURL not confirmed: the page returned its title but not its body to the automated reader, so no birth count is used here
A report on the midwife vacancy rate in the Health New Zealand workforceStuffURL not confirmed: the page returned its title but not its body to the automated reader, so no vacancy figure is used here

No primary workforce plan document was read in full. The Health New Zealand midwifery workforce analysis page and the maternity programme page were opened directly, as was the gazetted section 88 notice; together they carry the 680 figure and its 20.3 percent statement, the conditional projection to 2033, the graduate attrition rate, the workforce size and split, the agency record that community vacancies are harder to track, the annual birth statement, the Kahu Taurima timetable and the payment structure. The access figures of 91.5 percent and 8.2 percent come from an analysis of payment data published by a professional body, and the payment data behind them was not opened. The competing shortage figure of 40 percent and the 2031 date come from a press report citing a taskforce report that was not opened, which is why they are graded low and appear in the body as a second figure rather than as the figure. The regional service losses and the earlier access failures come from a public broadcaster report and a newspaper report respectively. Three rows are carried without a URL rather than removed: the ministry publication page returned HTTP 403, and the official births release and the vacancy report returned titles without bodies, so no birth count and no vacancy rate appear anywhere in this dossier. Where the opened sources disagree the disagreement is left visible rather than resolved, and the disagreement over the size of the shortage is treated in the body as part of the problem. This is a Path A output (research-based definition), so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.

This table holds 11 evidence rows, 8 of which carry a source you can open · 5 distinct sources. How this table is made

People affected

Estimated range Not derivable

The reason and what is missing are listed under “What is missing” below

What is missing 3

Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.

1Fills with researchThe material exists. We simply have not looked yet.
  • Section
    What is it connected to?

    the obstetric and anaesthetic workforce in the same facilities, the viability of rural hospital maternity services, recognition pathways for overseas-qualified health workers, housing and living costs as drivers of where health workers settle, primary care access for pregnant women outside the Lead Maternity Carer system, and maternity workforce arrangements in Australia and other comparable jurisdictions. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.

    Fills with research
2Needs a new measurementNo published source carries this value. Someone has to count it.
  • Section
    What is the state now, and what should it be?

    the target state: no source opened here gives a dated official target for eliminating the midwife shortfall. The Health Workforce Plan 2024 states the shortage as 20.3 percent of total need, which implies full staffing against assessed need as the intended end state, and it attaches no date to reaching it. The only figure it gives for 2033 is that the shortage will not grow further, and that figure is conditional on training and overseas recruitment running above the current replacement rate. A date of 2031 appears in a 2023 press report citing a health workforce taskforce report that was not opened, and no source opened here connects that date to the 2024 projection. No source opened here gives a target for the share of women who should have a Lead Maternity Carer, or for the difference between districts or between population groups. This dossier does not supply a target of its own in that empty place.

    Needs a new measurement
  • Derived value
    The affected population could not be derived

    The share of women who went through a pregnancy with no Lead Maternity Carer is published for 2022 at 8.2 percent, but the count that share is measured against was not obtained. The only birth figure any opened source gives is a statement on a Health New Zealand programme page that more than 60,000 babies are born each year, and that page attaches no year to it. Multiplying an undated annual total by a share measured in one named year would produce a count whose reference year cannot be stated, so the multiplication is not performed. The official births and deaths release for the year ended December 2022 returned its title but not its body to the automated reader and is carried in the evidence table as an unconfirmed row.

    A confirmed count of births, or of women registered for maternity care, for 2022 on the same basis as the primary maternity services payment data that produced the 91.5 percent and 8.2 percent figures; a second year of the same access measure, so that the share is not a single observation; and a district-level breakdown of the access gap, which no opened source publishes for districts beyond Auckland, Counties Manukau and the Hutt Valley.

    Needs a new measurement

Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page

Comments

Total comments
0

The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.

The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.

You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.

The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.

You must be signed in to comment.

You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.

This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.

No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.

You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.

Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.

Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page

No comments yet.