All problems

Enforcement absent · Canada

The Canada Disability Benefit pays at most $2,400 a year where the federal budget office estimated $14,356 would close the widest provincial gap, and no identified instrument requires provinces to exempt it

Canada created a federal cash payment for working-age adults with disabilities and then set it at a level far below what its own costing office had measured, and it created the payment inside a division of powers where another government can take the money back.

Resolution status
not confirmed
Checked
2026-08-17
Evidence type
SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
Outlet
not recorded
Authoring mode
Derived from press reports
Views
15

What is happening?

Canada created a federal cash payment for working-age adults with disabilities and then set it at a level far below what its own costing office had measured, and it created the payment inside a division of powers where another government can take the money back.

The Canada Disability Benefit Act, introduced as Bill C-22, received royal assent on 2023-06-22 and came into force on 2024-06-22. Section 3 of the Act states the purpose as reducing poverty and supporting the financial security of working-age persons with disabilities. Section 12 carries a review provision. The Act names a purpose. It does not name an amount.

In 2023-11-16 the Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer published a costing of the benefit. Measured against the Market Basket Measure poverty line, closing the largest gap among the provinces and territories would take $14,356 a year in 2024 terms, rising to $22,701 once the extra costs of living with a disability are counted. Three modelled scenarios were priced between $2.1 billion and $20.1 billion a year.

Budget 2024 allocated $6.1 billion over six years starting in 2024-25 and $1.4 billion a year after that, and Budget 2025 added $115.7 million over four years. The maximum benefit was set at $2,400 a year, or $200 a month. Applications opened 2025-06-20 and the first payments went out in 2025-07. As of 2025-11-09 more than 330,000 assessments had been processed and more than 218,000 people were receiving a payment, against the federal estimate of 600,000 eligible people. Payments over 2025-07 through 2025-10 totalled $154 million.

Social assistance in Canada is administered by the provinces and territories. The federal government asked each of them not to count the new payment as income when calculating provincial assistance. That request carries no legal force. As of 2025, 11 provinces and territories said they would not offset it, Alberta said it would offset it in full, and the Northwest Territories had not stated a position.

Alberta announced the full offset in 2025-03 and applied it from 2025-07. Its Assured Income for the Severely Handicapped program covered roughly 77,000 to 80,000 people in 2025 at $1,901 to $1,940 a month for a single recipient. The responsible provincial ministry stated in a published response of June 2025 that the Alberta payment level is the highest in Canada and already exceeds a federal benchmark it put at $1,811 a month. For those recipients the federal payment changes the source of the money and not the amount of it.

Whose problem is this?

RoleWho
AffectedWorking-age adults with disabilities living on low incomes — about 600,000 the federal government counted as eligible, against about 911,000 below the poverty line in 2022. Within that, roughly 77,000 to 80,000 Alberta assistance recipients whose provincial payment falls by the same amount the federal payment adds
Raised byDisability advocacy organizations that tracked which jurisdictions would offset the payment · policy research foundations that published costings and critiques · the federal costing office, whose published figure sits far above the amount adopted
DecidesParliament and the federal cabinet, which set the benefit amount by regulation · each provincial and territorial government, which decides on its own whether the payment counts as income · the Canada Revenue Agency, which controls the Disability Tax Credit approval that gates access
Bears the costRecipients in an offsetting jurisdiction, who gain nothing · recipients everywhere else, who gain $200 a month against a measured gap several times larger · federal spending, which flows through to provincial treasuries wherever an offset applies

The government that pays the money and the government that can cancel its effect are different governments, and the one that pays has no instrument to bind the other. That is the shape of this problem rather than a detail of it.

Where does this problem end?

AxisThis is the problemThis is not the problem
WhatA federal benefit whose exemption from provincial income tests depends entirely on voluntary provincial agreement, and an adopted amount below the lowest scenario the federal costing office pricedWhether cash transfers are the right instrument for disability poverty — that is a value question this document does not settle
Whether provinces should retain autonomy over social assistance design — the division of powers is treated here as a fact, not as something to be judged
WhoWorking-age adults with disabilities in the eligible populationRecipients of the Canada Pension Plan disability benefit, provincial long-term care and health supports, and other disability programs unrelated to this benefit
Individual recipient accounts are outside this frame
WhereFederal, pan-Canadian and English-speaking provincial scopeQuebec-specific social assistance design is outside scope and appears only as one of the jurisdictions that declined to offset
When2023-06 royal assent through 2026-08-17Disability benefit proposals before Bill C-22 were not examined
AdjacentHow a federal payment survives contact with provincial income testsWhether the Disability Tax Credit approval process should be reformed — treated here only as the gate that exists, not as a defect to be judged

The boundary here is not whether the payment is large enough on its own but whether one government can protect what it pays from being counted as income by another. Those two questions have different answers and different remedies, and this document holds both without merging them.

What is the state now, and what should it be?

Now

IndicatorValueAs of
Maximum benefit$2,400 a year, $200 a month2025-07 onward
Amount the federal costing office measured as needed to close the largest provincial gap$14,356 a year, or $22,701 counting disability-related extra costs2024 terms, published 2023-11-16
Scenarios priced by that office$2.1 billion to $20.1 billion a year2023-11
Federal allocation$6.1 billion over six years from 2024-25, $1.4 billion a year ongoing, plus $115.7 million over four yearsBudget 2024 and Budget 2025
People the federal government counted as eligibleabout 600,0002024
People receiving a paymentmore than 218,0002025-11-09
Assessments processedmore than 330,0002025-11-09
Total paid out$154 million2025-07 through 2025-10
Jurisdictions that will not count it as income11 provinces and territories2025, tracker undated
Jurisdictions offsetting it in full1 — Alberta2025-07 onward
Jurisdictions with no stated position1 — Northwest Territories2025, tracker undated
Federal instrument that could require an exemptionnone identified2026-08-17
Alberta assistance caseload affectedabout 77,000 to 80,0002025
Alberta single-recipient monthly amount$1,901 to $1,9402025
Successor Alberta programAlberta Disability Assistance Program from 2026-07-02, about 46,000 transferred2026-07
Transitional payment for transferred recipients$200 a month until 2027-12-31, then the base rate of $1,740 a month2026-07 onward
New applicants after the transition$1,740 a month with no transitional payment2026-07-02 onward
Earnings exemption under the remaining assistance programreduced from $1,072 to $350 a month2026-07
Couple rate under the successor program88 percent of the individual maximum each2026-08

Needs a new measurementthe target state: no source opened here names an official target for what the benefit amount should reach, a target for how many people it should lift above the poverty line beyond a published projection, or a date by which the question of provincial offsetting is to be settled. Section 3 of the Act states a purpose without a number, and the review provision at section 12 is a procedural step rather than a threshold. The costing office published what closing the gap would cost, which is a price and not a commitment. The one forward-looking figure attributed to the federal government is a projection that about 20,000 people would move above the poverty line in the first year and about 25,000 by the tenth, and a projection is a forecast of an outcome rather than a standard that anyone has undertaken to meet.

How big is it?

Between about 600,000 and about 911,000 people, depending on which end of the frame is counted.

The narrower count is the population the federal government itself said the payment would reach. The wider count is the population the stated purpose of the Act names, being working-age adults with disabilities living below the Market Basket Measure poverty line in 2022. The distance between the two is roughly 311,000 people, and most of that distance is the Disability Tax Credit approval that gates access to the payment.

Neither figure counts the people actually paid. More than 218,000 had received a payment as of 2025-11-09, which is about a third of the lower bound and about 36 percent of the federal eligibility estimate. In 2022 about 8 million Canadians aged 15 and over, or 27.0 percent of that population, reported at least one disability, which is the outer population from which every narrower count here is drawn.

Within the counted population sits a subset for whom the net effect is zero rather than small. Roughly 77,000 to 80,000 people were receiving Alberta assistance in 2025, and for them the federal payment is subtracted from the provincial one. About 46,000 of them had moved to the successor provincial program by 2026-07, with a transitional payment scheduled to end on 2027-12-31.

Under what conditions does it arise?

1. Social assistance is a provincial responsibility. A federal payment lands on top of programs whose income tests are written and changed elsewhere. The federal Act names a purpose and assigns no instrument that would keep the payment out of those tests.

2. The federal ask has no enforcement attached. Each jurisdiction decided on its own whether to exempt the payment, on its own timetable, and one decided the other way. Eleven agreed, one declined, one has not said. The count can move again in either direction without any federal step being taken.

3. The amount was set below the lowest priced scenario. The costing office published three scenarios and the amount adopted sits under all of them, so even where no offset applies the gap the Act named remains mostly open.

4. Access runs through a tax credit approval. Eligibility for the payment requires Disability Tax Credit approval, and one opened commentary reports that about 40 percent of working-age adults with a severe disability hold that approval, with about 25 percent completing every step from application through claiming the credit. The year of the underlying study is not stated in that commentary.

5. Provincial program design can move the total independently. Alberta replaced its assistance program with a successor from 2026-07-02, carrying a transitional payment that ends on 2027-12-31, a lower base rate for new applicants, a reduced earnings exemption, and a couple rate set at 88 percent of the individual maximum from 2026-08. Each of these changes the household total without any change to the federal payment.

What has been tried?

AttemptBy whomWhat was doneWhenResult
Legislate a poverty-reduction purposeParliament of CanadaPassed the Canada Disability Benefit Act, stating the purpose at section 3 and a review provision at section 12Royal assent 2023-06-22, in force 2024-06-22The Act names a purpose and leaves the amount to regulation
Cost the benefit before it was setOffice of the Parliamentary Budget OfficerPublished a model and three scenarios, measuring $14,356 a year to close the largest provincial gap and $22,701 counting disability-related costs2023-11-16The amount adopted sits below the lowest of the three scenarios
Fund the benefitFederal governmentAllocated $6.1 billion over six years and $1.4 billion a year ongoing, then added $115.7 million over four yearsBudget 2024, Budget 2025Maximum benefit set at $2,400 a year
Consult on the draft regulationsEmployment and Social Development CanadaRan a public comment process reported to have drawn about 3,000 submissions2024Advocacy organizations assessed the final regulations as substantially unchanged
Ask provinces and territories not to count it as incomeFederal governmentRequested an income exemption in each jurisdiction, with no legal instrument behind the request2024 through 202511 agreed, Alberta declined, Northwest Territories unstated
Offset the payment in fullGovernment of AlbertaCounted the federal payment as income against provincial assistanceAnnounced 2025-03, applied from 2025-07Net effect of the federal payment is zero for that caseload
State the provincial position publiclyAlberta ministry responsible for assistancePublished a response stating the provincial payment level is the highest in Canada and above a federal benchmark the province put at $1,811 a monthJune 2025Position unchanged as of 2026-08-17
Replace the provincial programGovernment of AlbertaMoved about 46,000 recipients to a successor program with a transitional payment to 2027-12-31, a base rate of $1,740 a month, a reduced earnings exemption and an 88 percent couple rate2026-07-02 onwardHousehold totals move again in 2028 without any federal step
Campaign for reversalDisability advocacy organizationsPublic statements and a rally calling for the offset to be withdrawn2025-05 onwardNo change to the offset reported as of 2026-08-17

Two things were tried in sequence and neither reached the other. The federal side priced the gap, funded a payment, and asked for an exemption. The provincial side, in one jurisdiction, exercised a power the federal side had no way to condition.

What was found?

FindingObserved valueEvidence grade
The benefit exists and is being paidyes, first payments 2025-07high — federal briefing note gives monthly totals
Maximum benefit amount$2,400 a year, $200 a monthhigh — two opened sources agree
Amount measured as needed to close the largest provincial gap$14,356 a year in 2024 terms, $22,701 counting disability-related costshigh — federal costing office publication, 2023-11-16
Federal instrument that could require provincial exemptionnone identifiedmedium — no opened source names one
Jurisdictions that will not offset11 provinces and territoriesmedium — a single advocacy tracker carrying no visible update date
Jurisdictions offsetting in fullone, Albertahigh — three opened sources agree
Jurisdictions with no stated positionone, Northwest Territorieslow — same undated tracker
Alberta assistance caseloadabout 77,000 to 80,000 in 2025medium
Alberta single-recipient monthly amount$1,901 to $1,940 in 2025medium
Alberta stated positionprovincial payment level is the highest in Canada and above a federal benchmark the province put at $1,811 a monthhigh for the fact that the ministry said it — the response is published in full by the organization that received it and is consistent with news reporting opened here. The benchmark figure itself is not confirmed: no opened source identifies what federal measure it refers to, and it matches neither annual amount the costing office published
People the federal government counted as eligibleabout 600,000medium — a reported federal estimate, restated by one opened source
People receiving a paymentmore than 218,000 as of 2025-11-09high — federal briefing note
Assessments processedmore than 330,000 as of 2025-11-09high — same note
Total paid, 2025-07 through 2025-10$154 millionhigh — same note
Working-age adults with disabilities below the poverty line911,000 in 2022medium — research publication citing the national survey
Disability prevalence, aged 15 and over8 million, 27.0 percent, in 2022high — national statistical agency
People projected to move above the poverty lineabout 20,000 in year one, about 25,000 by year tenmedium — reported as a federal projection by one opened publication
Share of working-age adults with severe disability holding the tax credit approvalabout 40 percentlow — one opened commentary, year of the underlying study not stated
Share completing every step from application to claiming the creditabout 25 percentlow — same commentary, citing an advisory committee report not opened here
Successor program base rate after the transitional payment ends$1,740 a month after 2027-12-31medium
Earnings exemption under the remaining assistance programreduced from $1,072 to $350 a monthmedium
Couple rate under the successor program88 percent of the individual maximum each, from 2026-08medium

Why is it still unsolved?

Enforcement absent — the federal law states what it wants provinces to do and contains nothing that makes them do it.

A request that carries no instrument is not weaker enforcement but the absence of enforcement, and the difference shows up only where a jurisdiction decides the other way. For eleven jurisdictions the request and a requirement look identical, because the outcome is the same. In one they diverge completely, and that divergence is the whole measure of what the federal side actually holds. The eleven agreements are not evidence that the mechanism works. They are evidence that eleven governments happened to agree.

The second part is that the province is exercising a power it holds. Social assistance design falls to the provinces, and no source opened here identifies a federal provision that removes or conditions that power for this payment. The provincial ministry has stated its own position on the record, that its payment level is the highest in Canada and already above a federal benchmark it named. Whatever else is true of the outcome, the federal government did not lose an argument here. It never had the standing to make one.

The third part is that the shortfall and the offset are separate failures that read as one. Even in a jurisdiction that exempts the payment entirely, the recipient gains $200 a month against a gap the federal costing office measured at more than $1,100 a month. Fixing the offset would not close that. Raising the amount would not stop a jurisdiction from counting it. A remedy aimed at either one alone leaves the other exactly where it is, and the public argument tends to be about whichever one is in the news.

The fourth part is that the arithmetic keeps moving on the provincial side, on a schedule nobody at the federal level set. A transitional payment ends on 2027-12-31, a base rate drops, an earnings exemption falls, and a couple rate is cut to 88 percent of the individual maximum. Each of these changes what a household receives without changing a single federal figure, so the federal payment can stay constant while the outcome it was meant to produce moves.

What observation would mean it is solved?

Candidates — (a) every province and territory exempts the payment from social assistance income tests and that exemption is fixed in a form that does not depend on an annual policy choice (b) the benefit amount is raised toward the level the federal costing office measured, with the amount stated as of a year (c) the count of working-age adults with disabilities below the poverty line falls over several consecutive years.

(a) alone counts agreement, not protection. Eleven jurisdictions already agree, and that agreement is the current state rather than a solution to it. An exemption held as an administrative decision can be reversed by the same kind of decision that made it, and the sources opened here differ on whether the existing eleven are fixed in legislation or held as guidance. A count of twelve or thirteen would still be a count of choices.

(b) alone counts the federal side only. Raising the amount without changing how it is treated in an offsetting jurisdiction raises the size of the transfer to that provincial treasury rather than to the recipient. It also does not touch the tax credit approval that gates access, so a larger payment reaching the same share of the eligible population changes the depth of the remedy and not its reach.

(c) alone is the slowest and the most confounded. Poverty counts move with the labour market, with other transfers, with provincial program redesign and with the measure itself being rebased. A fall could reflect this benefit or none of it, and a fall recorded while a province is cutting a base rate would be measuring two policies against each other. The three have to be read together, and (a) has to be read as a question about durability rather than about the current tally.

What is it connected to?

Fills with researchfederal-provincial transfer conditionality in other social programs, the design of disability income support in other federal states, the tax credit approval process as an access gate in its own right, and the treatment of federal payments in provincial income tests more generally. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.

What these sources do not say

  • Why the amount was set where it was. No source opened here carries an on-the-record federal explanation of the decision to adopt $2,400 a year after the costing office published $14,356. Sources record both figures and the gap between them; none records a stated reason.
  • What the federal government says about an offsetting jurisdiction. No source opened here carries a federal statement of what follows when a province counts the payment as income in full, nor any federal assessment of how much of the allocated funding flows through to provincial treasuries as a result.
  • Whether the eleven exemptions are legally fixed. Sources opened here describe the eleven decisions differently, some as legislated and some as administrative, and none sets out which form each jurisdiction used. That distinction determines whether the current tally is durable.
  • The current position of the remaining jurisdiction. The tracker opened here shows the Northwest Territories as undecided and carries no visible date of last update, so no opened source establishes the position as of 2026-08.
  • How many eligible people are stopped at the tax credit gate. No source opened here connects the tax credit approval share to the application and payment counts for this benefit. As a result no opened source establishes whether the 600,000 estimate counts only people already approved or also people who would be approved if they applied.
  • The distribution of payments. The total paid and the number of recipients are published for different reference dates, and no source opened here gives an official distribution of how far individual payments were reduced by the income test.
  • What the federal benchmark of $1,811 a month refers to. The provincial position rests on a federal figure of $1,811 a month, and no source opened here identifies what federal measure that figure comes from. It matches neither of the two annual amounts the costing office published, and no opened source restates it other than as the position of the province.
  • Whether any legal challenge exists. No source opened here reports a court proceeding or a human rights complaint about the offset. This is recorded as an absence in the sources rather than as a finding about whether one could be brought.
  • What the successor program changes in outcome terms. Sources opened here give the rates, the transition dates and the caseload moved, and none gives an estimate of the effect on household incomes after 2027-12-31.
  • The 2026 figures. No source opened here gives a recipient count or a payment total for any month after 2025-10, so the most recent operating figures available are from late 2025.

See the evidence

ItemSourceConfirmation
Disability prevalence — 8 million people aged 15 and over, 27.0 percent, in 2022Statistics Canada, New data on disability in Canada, 20222026-08-17
Statute — royal assent 2023-06-22, in force 2024-06-22, purpose at section 3, review provision at section 12, coming into force at section 14Justice Laws Website, Canada Disability Benefit Act2026-08-17
Costing — $14,356 a year to close the largest provincial gap and $22,701 counting disability-related costs, in 2024 terms, with three scenarios priced at $2.1 billion to $20.1 billion a yearOffice of the Parliamentary Budget Officer, The Canada Disability Benefit: Model and Scenarios (2023-11-16)2026-08-17
Federal allocation of $6.1 billion over six years and $1.4 billion a year ongoing, and the estimate of 600,000 eligible peopleInvestment Executive, Canada Disability Benefit gets $6.1B in funding (2024-04-16)2026-08-17
Operating figures — more than 330,000 assessments processed and more than 218,000 people paid as of 2025-11-09, $154 million paid over 2025-07 through 2025-10, maximum of $2,400 a year, and the Budget 2025 addition of $115.7 million over four yearsEmployment and Social Development Canada, Question Period Note EF_018, Canada Disability Benefit2026-08-17
A second federal briefing note on the same benefit carrying only a qualitative statement of uptake and no figuresEmployment and Social Development Canada, Question Period Note EF_017, Canada Disability Benefit (2025-11-17)2026-08-17
Jurisdiction-by-jurisdiction positions on counting the payment as income — 11 not offsetting, Alberta offsetting in full, Northwest Territories unstatedDisability Without Poverty, CDB Clawback Map of Canada2026-08-17, page carries no visible date of last update
Alberta offset announced 2025-03 and applied from 2025-07 · assistance caseload of about 77,000 to 80,000 · single-recipient rate of $1,901 to $1,940 a month · the ministry position that the rate is the highest in Canada and above a federal benchmark the province put at $1,811 a month · advocacy rally of 2025-05The Tyee, Only Alberta Will Claw Back New Federal Money for Disabled People (2025-05-12)2026-08-17
The original broadcaster report of the Alberta announcement of 2025-03CBC News, Alberta to claw back federal disability benefit from AISH recipientsURL not confirmed: the page returned HTTP 403 to automated retrieval
Advocacy response to the Alberta offset decisionGlobal News, report of 2025-03 on advocacy criticism of the Alberta offset decision2026-08-17
The full published response of the responsible Alberta ministry of June 2025, setting out the provincial position on the assistance programs and the federal benefitVoice of Albertans with Disabilities, The Voice – June 2025: Response to Concerns about AISH, ADAP, and the Canada Disability Benefit2026-08-17
Successor program from 2026-07-02 — about 46,000 recipients transferred, transitional payment of $200 a month to 2027-12-31, base rate of $1,740 a month, earnings exemption cut from $1,072 to $350 a month, couple rate of 88 percent of the individual maximum from 2026-08Plan Institute, What the Changes to AISH and ADAP Mean for Disabled Albertans (2026-07-23)2026-08-17
Federal projection that about 20,000 people would move above the poverty line in year one and about 25,000 by year ten · the consultation on the draft regulations drawing about 3,000 submissions and the assessment that the final regulations were substantially unchangedPolicy Magazine, commentary of 2025-05-19 on fixing the new Canada Disability Benefit2026-08-17
911,000 working-age adults aged 18 to 64 with disabilities below the Market Basket Measure poverty line in 2022Maytree, Not too late to better the Canada Disability Benefit (2024-09-20)2026-08-17
Assessment that the benefit as designed will not end disability poverty, and the reasoning behind that assessmentMaytree, Why the Canada Disability Benefit will not end disability poverty and how it could2026-08-17
Tax credit approval as the access gate — about 40 percent of working-age adults with a severe disability approved, and about 25 percent completing every step from application to claiming the creditPolicy Options (IRPP), The disability tax credit needs immediate reform (2024-06)2026-08-17, year of the underlying study not stated in the source
Proposals to restructure the benefit so that it reaches the stated purpose of the ActPolicy Options (IRPP), Retool the Canada Disability Benefit to end disability poverty (2024-11)2026-08-17
The official federal description of the benefit, its eligibility conditions and its payment scheduleGovernment of Canada, Canada Disability BenefitURL not confirmed: the page returned HTTP 403 to automated retrieval
Official counts of Disability Tax Credit approvals by year, which would allow the access gate to be measured directlyCanada Revenue Agency, Disability Tax Credit Statistics 2014 to 2023 Calendar YearsURL not confirmed: the page returned HTTP 403 to automated retrieval
The provincial fact sheet setting out the successor program rates and conditionsGovernment of Alberta, Alberta Disability Assistance Program fact sheetURL not confirmed: text could not be extracted from the published PDF

No primary federal document beyond the statute text was read in full. The Act text, the costing publication and the two federal briefing notes were opened directly and carry the dates, the section references, the priced scenarios and the operating counts. The official federal benefit page, the tax credit statistics tables and the provincial fact sheet could not be retrieved, so the figures they would confirm are taken from sources that cite them, and those rows are left with an empty URL and a stated reason rather than filled with a substitute address. The original broadcaster report of the Alberta announcement returned HTTP 403 to automated retrieval. The same announcement, its dates, the caseload and the stated provincial position are carried by two other opened sources and by the published ministry response itself. Where sources overlap they agree: the maximum of $2,400 a year appears in two opened sources, the Alberta offset and its 2025-07 start appear in three, and the caseload range appears in two. Where they differ the difference is left visible rather than resolved — the count of jurisdictions declining to offset rests on a single tracker that carries no update date, the descriptions of whether those exemptions are legislated or administrative are inconsistent across sources, and the two figures on the tax credit gate come from one commentary that does not state the year of the study behind them. This is a research-based definition, so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.

This table holds 20 evidence rows, 16 of which carry a source you can open · 13 distinct sources. How this table is made

People affected

Estimated range 600,000911,000 As of 2022-2024

Derivation chain

TermValueSourceAssumption
People the federal government counted as eligible for the Canada Disability Benefit (2024)600,000Federal estimate published at the time of the 2024 budget allocation, restated by one opened financial trade publicationLow end of the interval. This count is bounded by Disability Tax Credit approval, which is the gate to the payment, so it is narrower than the population the Act names. It is used as the floor because it is the only count the paying government itself has put on the record.
Working-age adults aged 18 to 64 with disabilities living below the Market Basket Measure poverty line in Canada (2022)911,000Policy research foundation publication citing the Canadian Survey on Disability 2022 and Market Basket Measure poverty data from the national statistical agencyHigh end of the interval. This is the population named by the stated purpose of the Canada Disability Benefit Act, which is to reduce poverty among working-age persons with disabilities. It is used as the ceiling because the Act sets that purpose without narrowing it to those who clear the tax credit gate.

Sensitivity The interval is bounded below by the count the paying government published and above by the count the stated purpose of the Act names. The width of about 311,000 is the distance between who the payment can reach and who it was written for, and most of that distance is the Disability Tax Credit approval that gates access. Neither end counts the people actually paid: more than 218,000 had received a payment as of 2025-11-09, about a third of the lower bound. Neither end isolates the subset for whom the net effect is zero rather than small, because a province counts the payment as income in full against its own assistance; that caseload was about 77,000 to 80,000 in 2025, of whom about 46,000 had moved to a successor provincial program by 2026-07. In the other direction the interval may be too wide: no opened source states whether the 600,000 figure counts only people already approved for the tax credit or also people who would be approved if they applied, no opened source restates either bound for a year later than 2024, and the poverty count is from 2022 while the benefit began paying in 2025-07. The count also says nothing about depth. Everyone inside it faces a maximum of 2400 dollars a year against the 14356 dollars a year the federal costing office measured as needed to close the largest provincial gap in 2024 terms, so the number of people affected and the size of the shortfall are separate quantities that this chain does not combine.

Regional breakdown No opened source gives a province-by-province count of people receiving the payment, or of people whose provincial assistance is reduced because of it. The only jurisdiction-level count available is a provincial assistance caseload, which counts recipients of a provincial program rather than recipients of the federal benefit living in that province, and the two are not the same set. Splitting the national total by population share would invent the distribution rather than measure it, and the distribution is exactly what is at issue here, because the treatment of the payment differs by jurisdiction.

What is missing 2

Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.

1Fills with researchThe material exists. We simply have not looked yet.
  • Section
    What is it connected to?

    federal-provincial transfer conditionality in other social programs, the design of disability income support in other federal states, the tax credit approval process as an access gate in its own right, and the treatment of federal payments in provincial income tests more generally. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.

    Fills with research
1Needs a new measurementNo published source carries this value. Someone has to count it.
  • Section
    What is the state now, and what should it be?

    the target state: no source opened here names an official target for what the benefit amount should reach, a target for how many people it should lift above the poverty line beyond a published projection, or a date by which the question of provincial offsetting is to be settled. Section 3 of the Act states a purpose without a number, and the review provision at section 12 is a procedural step rather than a threshold. The costing office published what closing the gap would cost, which is a price and not a commitment. The one forward-looking figure attributed to the federal government is a projection that about 20,000 people would move above the poverty line in the first year and about 25,000 by the tenth, and a projection is a forecast of an outcome rather than a standard that anyone has undertaken to meet.

    Needs a new measurement

Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page

Comments

Total comments
0

The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.

The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.

You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.

The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.

You must be signed in to comment.

You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.

This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.

No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.

You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.

Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.

Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page

No comments yet.