Enforcement absent · Canada
Canada banned more than 1,500 assault-style firearm models in 2020 and promised compensation — the individual declaration window closed in 2026 with 68,717 firearms declared against a federal estimate of 144,000, and the amnesty now ends 90 days after a Supreme Court case that has not been heard
On 2020-04-18 and 2020-04-19 an attack in Nova Scotia killed 22 people, the deadliest such event recorded in Canada. Twelve days later, on 2020-05-01, the federal cabinet prohibited more than 1,500 models and variants of what it called assault-style firearms, among them the AR-1…
- Resolution status
- not confirmed
- Checked
- 2026-08-15
- Evidence type
- SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
- Outlet
- not recorded
- Authoring mode
- Derived from press reports
- Views
- 10
What is happening?
On 2020-04-18 and 2020-04-19 an attack in Nova Scotia killed 22 people, the deadliest such event recorded in Canada. Twelve days later, on 2020-05-01, the federal cabinet prohibited more than 1,500 models and variants of what it called assault-style firearms, among them the AR-15 and other commonly owned semi-automatic rifle patterns. It did this by Order in Council under the Criminal Code rather than by a vote in Parliament, and the prohibition took effect the same day.
The prohibition arrived with two promises attached. The first was an amnesty, so that people already holding the newly prohibited firearms would not be prosecuted while they waited, initially for two years. The second was a compensation program that would buy the firearms back. The prohibition took effect immediately. The compensation program did not.
Six years later the collection figures are far below the federal estimate of what is out there. A Public Safety Canada transition binder dated 2023-02-14 put the number of firearms in scope at about 144,000, counting only those previously registered as restricted, and recorded that the industry association put it at about 518,000 once unregistered firearms were included. The individual declaration window ran for ten weeks, from 2026-01-19 to 2026-03-31, and 37,869 people declared 68,717 firearms. That is less than half of the lower of the two estimates and about an eighth of the higher one.
The deadline that would have forced the issue has been moved four times, and the fourth time it stopped being a date. The amnesty was extended in March 2022 to 2023-10-30, in October 2023 to 2025-10-30, and on 2025-10-10 to 2026-10-30. Then an order registered on 2026-06-05 replaced the fixed expiry in all three of the earlier amnesty orders with a different rule altogether: the amnesty now runs until 90 days after Supreme Court of Canada files 41858, 41859, 41860 and 41861 conclude. Those files are a constitutional challenge to the prohibition itself, brought by a firearms-owner advocacy organization, dismissed at the Federal Court in October 2023 and at the Federal Court of Appeal in April 2025, and granted leave to appeal on 2026-03-19. The question in them is whether the cabinet could create a prohibition of this size by order rather than by statute. No decision has issued and reporting places one in the following year.
Meanwhile the prohibition itself kept growing. The list was extended again in late 2024, and by 2026-03-19 it covered more than 2,500 models, about 67 percent more than the order of 2020 carried.
Whose problem is this?
| Role | Who |
|---|---|
| Affected | People still holding a prohibited firearm under an amnesty with no fixed end, a group nobody has counted · the 37,869 individuals who declared and are now waiting on a program still running · licensed owners generally, who cannot know when the shielded period closes |
| Raised by | The Parliamentary Budget Officer, which costed the program in 2021 and said the number of firearms was uncertain · the industry association, whose much larger estimate the federal binder itself records · a firearms-owner lobby group, which challenged the spending · the litigants now before the Supreme Court · reporting outlets that assembled the collection totals |
| Decides | The federal cabinet, which made the prohibition by order and has extended the amnesty four times · Public Safety Canada, which designs and runs the compensation program · the Supreme Court of Canada, which will rule on whether the order-making power reached this far · Parliament, which could legislate in place of the order and has not |
| Bears the cost | Taxpayers, through a program whose pre-delivery costing ran from 47 million to 756 million Canadian dollars with administration excluded as not estimable · owners, who carry criminal exposure that resumes on a date now set by a court calendar · police forces, which would have to enforce a prohibition against a population of unknown size |
The body that made the prohibition is the same body that decides when the shield over non-compliance lapses, and it has moved that date every time it approached. Nothing outside that body sets the clock, and since June 2026 the clock is not a date at all.
Where does this problem end?
| Axis | This is the problem | This is not the problem |
|---|---|---|
| What | The gap between a prohibition that took effect in 2020 and a compensation program that collected a small fraction of the estimated stock, together with an amnesty extended four times and now tied to litigation | Whether prohibiting these firearms is sound policy, which is a separate argument |
| Whether any particular model belongs on the list | ||
| Who | Holders of the prohibited models, and the federal bodies that made and run the program | General firearms licensing in Canada, the handgun sale freeze of 2022, the other provisions of Bill C-21 and magazine capacity limits, all of which move independently of this program |
| Where | Canada, at the federal level | Provincial regimes such as the long-gun registry operated by Quebec. This program applies uniformly across the country, so no province needs to be separated out of it |
| When | 2020-05-01 through 2026-08-15 | The history of firearms regulation in Canada before 2020 was not examined |
| Scale | 68,717 firearms declared by individuals against federal and industry estimates of about 144,000 and about 518,000 | The total number of firearms in Canada, and the number of licence holders, neither of which is the population this program was sized against |
The boundary matters because the prohibition and the compensation program are two separate things and only one of them has actually been carried out. The prohibition is in force, it has been in force since the day it was made, and it has since grown by about two thirds. What has not happened is the part that was supposed to make the prohibition real on the ground, and the amnesty is the instrument that has kept the difference from surfacing as a criminal matter.
What is the state now, and what should it be?
Now
| Indicator | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Models prohibited by the original order | more than 1,500 | 2020-05-01 |
| Models prohibited after later extensions | more than 2,500, about 67 percent above the 2020 figure | 2026-03-19 |
| Instrument used | Order in Council under the Criminal Code, no parliamentary vote | 2020-05-01 |
| Federal estimate of firearms in scope | about 144,000, counting only those previously registered as restricted | 2023-02-14 |
| Industry estimate of firearms in scope | about 518,000, registered and unregistered | recorded 2021 and 2023 |
| Independent count reconciling the two | none found | 2026-08-15 |
| Individual declaration window | 2026-01-19 to 2026-03-31, ten weeks | 2026-03-31 |
| Firearms declared by individuals | 68,717 | 2026-03-31 |
| Individuals who declared | 37,869 | 2026-03-31 |
| Business phase, firearms destroyed | 12,000 | 2026-03-19 |
| Business second window, firearms claimed | more than 61,900; whether this includes the 12,000 is not established | 2026-06-04 |
| Amnesty as first set | two years from the order | 2020-05-01 |
| Amnesty after three extensions | 2026-10-30 | extended 2025-10-10 |
| Amnesty as it now stands | 90 days after Supreme Court files 41858, 41859, 41860 and 41861 conclude | registered 2026-06-05 |
| Date those files conclude | not established; a decision is reported as expected the following year | 2026-08-15 |
| Pre-delivery cost estimate | 47 million to 756 million Canadian dollars, administration excluded as not estimable | 2021-06-29 |
| Program cost reported after the individual window | about 800 million Canadian dollars, by a trade outlet that does not state its basis | 2026 |
| Spending reported before any firearm was collected | 67.2 million Canadian dollars, fiscal year not stated in the source | undated in source |
| Supreme Court leave to appeal | granted | 2026-03-19 |
| Ruling on the constitutional challenge | none | 2026-08-15 |
The state the program describes is one in which no prohibited firearm remains in private hands and the amnesty lapses because there is nothing left for it to shield. That end state has never been in dispute and it is what the compensation program exists to reach.
What is missing is a date. Until June 2026 there was one, and it had already been moved three times. The order registered on 2026-06-05 removed it and put a court process in its place, so the moment at which the prohibition becomes enforceable against ordinary holders is now set by four case files rather than by a calendar. No source opened here reports a federal target for how many firearms should have been collected by any particular date, nor a target rate of participation against either of the two estimates of the stock.
How big is it?
What is counted is firearms, and the counts do not agree with each other. Public Safety Canada put the stock at about 144,000 as of 2023-02-14, counting only firearms previously registered as restricted. The industry association put it at about 518,000, adding those never registered, and that larger figure appears in the federal costing of 2021 and in the federal binder of 2023 without either document adopting it or refuting it. The two differ by a factor of about 3.6, and no independent study opened here closes the gap.
Against those estimates, 68,717 firearms were declared by 37,869 individuals in the ten-week window that closed on 2026-03-31. On the business side, 12,000 firearms had been destroyed as of 2026-03-19 and more than 61,900 were claimed in a second window that closed on 2026-06-04. Whether the second figure includes the first is not stated anywhere opened here, so the two are reported separately and are not added together in this document.
A firearm is not a person, and the ratio between them is measured only on the group that complied. The 37,869 individuals who declared held about 1.8 firearms each. Nothing opened here reports what a household that did not declare is holding, and the error runs in both directions at once, since a person who owned a single prohibited rifle had the least to lose by handing it in while a collector had the most.
The licence figures cannot supply a ceiling either. Canada recorded 2,458,677 firearms licence holders in 2025 and 794,768 of those held the restricted class, both figures rising over the year before. The restricted class is the closest candidate for an upper bound, because many of the prohibited firearms had been registered in it before 2020. Many is not all, and no source opened here closes the membership of the group, so a count of restricted licences bounds nothing.
Needs a new measurementthe number of people. No source opened here counts the people who hold a prohibited firearm, either before the program or after it. Everything counted in this document is counted in firearms, and the population file therefore records the estimate as not derivable rather than assembling one out of parts that do not fit together.
Under what conditions does it arise?
1. The instrument was administrative, and that cuts both ways. A prohibition made by order took effect in twelve days without a parliamentary vote, and the same list has since grown from more than 1,500 models to more than 2,500 by the same route. That speed is now the question before the Supreme Court, and while the question is open the prohibition is in force and the shield over non-compliance is in force with it.
2. The population was never counted. A program cannot report a completion rate against a denominator it does not have. The federal estimate and the industry estimate differ by a factor of about 3.6 and the difference is the unregistered stock, which is by definition the part no registry can see. Every published figure for how well the program did depends on which of the two numbers the reader picks.
3. Participation is voluntary while the amnesty runs. Handing in a prohibited firearm is a decision each owner makes, and the consequence of not making it is deferred for as long as the amnesty is extended. A prohibition that carries no date carries no cost for waiting, and waiting is what the record shows.
4. The body that set the deadline is the body that keeps moving it. Three extensions and one replacement of the expiry rule have issued from the same cabinet that made the prohibition. Each one was a lawful administrative act and each one arrived shortly before the previous expiry, which means the pattern is visible only in the sequence and never in any single order.
5. Litigation now sets the clock. Since June 2026 the amnesty ends 90 days after four court files conclude, so the enforcement date is downstream of a schedule that neither the government nor the owners control. A challenge to a rule has become the thing that suspends the rule, without any court having ordered a suspension.
The condition that holds all of this in place is that nothing about the shortfall produces an event. No deadline passes, no report is due, and the prohibition on paper looks the same on a day when nothing is collected as on a day when a great deal is.
What has been tried?
| Attempt | By whom | What was done | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prohibition by order | Federal cabinet, as Governor in Council | Prohibited more than 1,500 models and variants under the Criminal Code, effective immediately, with sale and use barred and possession shielded for two years | 2020-05-01 |
| Cost estimate before delivery | Parliamentary Budget Officer | Costed the compensation program at 47 million to 756 million Canadian dollars, carrying the uncertainty over the number of firearms rather than resolving it, and excluding administration as not estimable | 2021-06-29 |
| First amnesty extension | Federal cabinet | Extended by 18 months, to 2023-10-30 | 2022-03 |
| Internal sizing of the stock | Public Safety Canada | A transition binder put the figure at about 144,000 previously registered firearms and recorded an industry figure of about 518,000 alongside it | 2023-02-14 |
| Second amnesty extension | Federal cabinet | Extended to 2025-10-30 | 2023-10 |
| Extension of the prohibited list | Public Safety Canada | Added further models, taking the list past 2,500 | late 2024 |
| Business phase of the compensation program | Public Safety Canada with the police and business partners | Collected and destroyed 12,000 firearms held as business inventory | through 2026-03 |
| Third amnesty extension | Federal cabinet | Extended to 2026-10-30 | 2025-10-10 |
| Individual declaration window | Public Safety Canada | Opened for ten weeks; 37,869 people declared 68,717 firearms, less than half the federal estimate of the stock | 2026-01-19 to 2026-03-31 |
| Second business window | Public Safety Canada | Reopened for business claims; more than 61,900 firearms claimed by the closing date, with no stated relation to the 12,000 already destroyed | 2026-04-23 to 2026-06-04 |
| Replacing the amnesty deadline with a court trigger | Federal cabinet, by order registered in the Canada Gazette | Amended the amnesty orders of 2020, 2024 and 2025 so that all three expire 90 days after the conclusion of four Supreme Court files, removing the fixed end date | registered 2026-06-05 |
| Constitutional challenge to the prohibition | A firearms-owner advocacy organization, through the Federal Court and the Federal Court of Appeal to the Supreme Court of Canada | Dismissed at first instance and on appeal; leave to appeal granted, with a decision reported as expected the following year | 2023-10 to 2026-03-19 |
Two directions have been tried and they are working against each other. One is administrative and has moved quickly, taking the prohibited list from more than 1,500 models to more than 2,500 and running the compensation program in phases. The other is judicial and has moved slowly, and it has now absorbed the deadline that the first direction depended on.
What was found?
| Finding | Observed value | Evidence grade |
|---|---|---|
| A prohibition was made by order on 2020-05-01 covering more than 1,500 models | yes | high — two opened sources agree, one of them the federal costing |
| Models prohibited after later extensions | more than 2,500, about 67 percent above 2020 | medium — one opened news source |
| Federal estimate of firearms in scope | about 144,000, previously registered as restricted, at 2023-02-14 | high — the federal transition binder page itself opened |
| Industry estimate of firearms in scope | about 518,000, registered and unregistered | medium — attributed to the industry association and repeated in two federal documents, neither of which adopts or tests it |
| Ratio between the two estimates | about 3.6 to 1 | high — arithmetic on the two figures above |
| Independent count reconciling them | none found in this round | high as an absence |
| Firearms declared in the individual window | 68,717 by 37,869 people, 2026-01-19 to 2026-03-31 | medium — the precise figures come from a private tracker; the federal release that corroborates more than 67,000 declared could not be opened |
| Business firearms destroyed in the first phase | 12,000 as of 2026-03-19 | medium — one opened news source |
| Business firearms claimed in the second window | more than 61,900 by 2026-06-04 | medium — the same private tracker |
| Relation between those two business figures | not established | — no source opened here states whether they overlap |
| Amnesty extended three times before 2026 | to 2023-10-30, to 2025-10-30, to 2026-10-30 | medium — the sequence comes from a private tracker; the underlying orders were not opened individually |
| Amnesty expiry now tied to four Supreme Court files | 90 days after files 41858, 41859, 41860 and 41861 conclude | high — the registered order text was opened directly |
| Leave to appeal granted | 2026-03-19, with a decision expected the following year | medium — one opened news source |
| Pre-delivery cost estimate | 47 million to 756 million Canadian dollars, administration excluded | high — the costing publication itself |
| Reported compliance rate of 3.3 to 7.7 percent | computed by a trade outlet that does not state the stock figures it divided by | low — second-order value with an unstated denominator |
| Reported program cost of about 800 million Canadian dollars and about 12,000 Canadian dollars per firearm collected | same outlet, basis not stated | low |
| Spending of 67.2 million Canadian dollars before any firearm was collected | asserted by a firearms-owner lobby group with no fiscal year attached | low |
| Firearms licences in force in 2025 | 2,458,677 in total and 794,768 in the restricted class | medium — a trade publication citing the annual federal report, which was not opened |
Why is it still unsolved?
Enforcement absent — the prohibition took effect on the day it was made, and every mechanism that would have turned it into a change on the ground has been deferred by the same body that made it.
The first part is that the prohibition and the collection were separated in time, and only the separation has held. Declaring a firearm prohibited is an act of drafting and it was complete in twelve days. Getting it out of a house requires a program, a payment, a place to take it and a reason to go, and the individual half of that program did not open until nearly six years later and then stayed open for ten weeks. During those six years the prohibition was fully in force and almost entirely unenforced, and the amnesty is what made those two facts compatible.
The second part is that the deadline was always inside the same hands as the rule. An amnesty is an administrative act, so extending it costs nothing procedurally and produces no vote, no report and no finding of failure. Each of the four extensions arrived shortly before the previous one expired, and each was in itself unremarkable. The pattern only appears when the four are laid end to end, and no document in the sequence is required to lay them end to end.
The third part is the quietest and it is why the shortfall cannot be settled by argument. Nobody knows the denominator. If the stock is about 144,000 then just under half of it was declared by individuals, and if it is about 518,000 then about an eighth was. Both readings are available from federal documents, the second only as a figure the federal documents record without adopting, and neither can be tested because the difference between them is precisely the part that was never registered. A program that cannot state what fraction of its target it reached cannot be shown to have failed, which is also to say it cannot be shown to have worked.
What observation would mean it is solved?
Candidates — a. the amnesty expires on a stated date and is not extended again. b. an independent count of the prohibited stock is published and the collected share is reported against it. c. the Supreme Court rules and the government states what follows for the firearms still in private hands.
a alone is weaker than it looks. An amnesty can lapse without a single additional firearm being collected, and what would follow is a population of unknown size holding prohibited property with no shield. That is a change in legal exposure rather than a change in how many prohibited firearms are in circulation, and it could just as easily produce a fifth extension as an enforcement campaign. The expiry is also no longer a date at all, so this observation cannot even be scheduled until the court files conclude.
b is the strongest of the three and it does not exist yet. No count that reconciles the federal figure with the industry figure was found in this round. Until one exists, every statement about the shortfall is a ratio whose denominator the reader has to choose, which is why the two available choices differ by a factor of about 3.6. Building this measure is harder than it sounds, because the gap between the two estimates is made of firearms that were never registered anywhere, and it is possible that the true answer is that the count cannot be built rather than that nobody has tried.
c counts posture, not firearms. A ruling would settle whether the cabinet could act by order, and either outcome leaves the practical question untouched. If the prohibition stands, the same uncollected stock sits under the same program. If it falls, the program ends without the stock ever having been counted, and this document would close because the rule went away rather than because the rule was carried out.
The honest reading is that b has to be built before it can be read, a can be reported as a resolution while nothing has moved, and c is the one most likely to arrive first and to say the least about the thing this document is about.
What is it connected to?
Fills with researchthe closest structural relative in this corpus is the enforcement gap in cladding remediation in the United Kingdom, where buildings were officially judged unsafe and the volume of remediation actually started fell far below the volume judged. Both are cases in which a government made a formal determination and then did not deliver the removal or repair the determination implied. The mechanisms differ, because that one turns on who pays for work on a building and this one turns on voluntary surrender of private property under a shifting deadline, and relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round. No relation to firearms policy in other countries was examined, and no adjacent Canadian program was pursued.
What these sources do not say
- How many firearms are actually in scope. The federal figure of about 144,000 and the industry figure of about 518,000 sit in the same documents without either being tested. No audit office, statistical agency or independent study opened here has tried to reconcile them. The sources also do not say which kind of gap this is: whether nobody has investigated the question, or whether firearms held outside any registry cannot be counted at all. Those two are different problems with different remedies and the material treats them as one.
- How many people hold prohibited firearms. Every count here is a count of firearms. No source converts them into owners, and none reports how many firearms a non-declaring household holds, which is the ratio the conversion would need.
- Whether the two business figures overlap. The 12,000 destroyed by 2026-03-19 and the more than 61,900 claimed by 2026-06-04 are reported separately and no source opened here states whether the second includes the first. The federal pages that would settle it refused automated retrieval.
- What the compliance percentages were divided by. A trade outlet reported a rate of 3.3 to 7.7 percent and a program cost of about 800 million Canadian dollars, or about 12,000 Canadian dollars per firearm collected. The article does not state the stock figures behind the percentages, so the range is not reproducible and is recorded here as that outlet arithmetic rather than as a finding.
- Which fiscal years the 67.2 million Canadian dollars covers. A lobby group asserts that this was spent before any firearm was bought back. No year is attached, and no federal accounting opened here confirms or contradicts it.
- When the Supreme Court will rule, or what a ruling would do to the program. Reporting places a decision in the following year and no source opened here analyses what either outcome would mean for firearms already declared, for payments already made, or for the amnesty that is now pegged to the conclusion of the files.
- What enforcement after the amnesty would look like. No source reports any prosecution, seizure or enforcement plan directed at undeclared prohibited firearms. This is an absence with an obvious reason, since the amnesty has not ended, but it means there is no evidence at all about the step the whole design depends on.
- Whether anyone who declared has been paid. The declaration totals are reported as declarations. Nothing opened here reports how many claims were assessed, how much was disbursed to individuals, or how long payment took.
See the evidence
| Item | Source | Confirmation |
|---|---|---|
| Cost of the compensation program estimated at 47 million to 756 million Canadian dollars with administration excluded as not estimable · the uncertainty over the number of firearms carried rather than resolved · the industry figure of about 518,000 recorded | Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer, Cost Estimate of the Firearm Buy-Back Program, 2021-06-29 | 2026-08-15 |
| Federal estimate of about 144,000 firearms in scope counting only those previously registered as restricted, with the industry estimate of about 518,000 recorded alongside it | Public Safety Canada, transition binder material on the firearms buyback program, dated 2023-02-14 | 2026-08-15 |
| The individual declaration window of 2026-01-19 to 2026-03-31 with 37,869 people declaring 68,717 firearms · the second business window of 2026-04-23 to 2026-06-04 with more than 61,900 firearms claimed · the amnesty extensions of March 2022, October 2023 and 2025-10-10 | Holdover.ca, a private tracker page that compiles federal announcements on the compensation program | 2026-08-15 — a private compilation, not a government publication; the federal releases it cites are the rows below that could not be opened |
| A reported compliance rate of 3.3 to 7.7 percent against the collection goal, a program cost of about 800 million Canadian dollars and about 12,000 Canadian dollars per firearm collected | The Reload, a United States firearms trade publication, on the conclusion of the program | 2026-08-15 — the article does not state the stock figures used as denominators, so the percentages are recorded here as that outlet arithmetic |
| Leave to appeal granted by the Supreme Court of Canada on 2026-03-19 · the prohibited list past 2,500 models · 12,000 business firearms destroyed as of that date · the dismissals at the Federal Court in October 2023 and the Federal Court of Appeal in April 2025 · a decision expected the following year | CP24, Supreme Court of Canada to hear challenge of federal firearms ban, 2026-03-19 | 2026-08-15 |
| The assertion that 67.2 million Canadian dollars had been spent before any firearm was bought back | National Firearms Association, a firearms-owner lobby group, in a post on program spending | 2026-08-15 — an advocacy source with an interest in the outcome; no fiscal year is attached to the figure |
| The Order in Council of 2020-05-01 prohibiting more than 1,500 models and variants, including the AR-15 and other commonly owned semi-automatic rifle patterns, twelve days after the Nova Scotia attack of 2020-04-18 and 2020-04-19 in which 22 people were killed · the initial two-year amnesty and the promise of a buyback | Al Jazeera, report on the prohibition, 2020-05-01 | 2026-08-15 |
| The amnesty orders of 2020, 2024 and 2025 amended so that all three expire 90 days after the conclusion of Supreme Court of Canada files 41858, 41859, 41860 and 41861, replacing the fixed end date | Canada Gazette Part II, Order Amending Certain Orders Declaring an Amnesty Period, SOR/2026-114, registered 2026-06-05 and published 2026-06-17 | 2026-08-15 |
| The 2025 amnesty order that the 2026 amendment acts on | Justice Laws Website, Order Declaring an Amnesty Period 2025, SOR/2025-87 | 2026-08-15 |
| Firearms licences in force in 2025 at 2,458,677 in total, up from 2,412,122 in 2024, and 794,768 in the restricted class, up 2.5 percent | TheGunBlog.ca, a firearms trade publication, citing the annual federal report on firearms | 2026-08-15 — the underlying federal report was not opened |
| Federal announcement of the close of the individual declaration window with more than 67,000 firearms declared, 2026-04 | Public Safety Canada news release | URL not confirmed: automated fetch returned HTTP 403 |
| Federal announcement of the close of the business window and the extension of the amnesty on account of the Supreme Court process, 2026-06 | Public Safety Canada news release | URL not confirmed: automated fetch returned HTTP 403 |
| Reporting that the declared total came to fewer than half the firearms the government had planned to buy back | CBC News | URL not confirmed: automated fetch returned HTTP 403 |
| Reporting on the extension of the amnesty pending the Supreme Court ruling | CBC News | URL not confirmed: automated fetch returned HTTP 403 |
| Reporting that the tally of more than 67,000 firearms fell well short of the federal estimate | The Canadian Press | URL not confirmed: automated fetch returned HTTP 429 |
| Federal announcement extending the list of prohibited models, 2024-12 | Public Safety Canada news release | URL not confirmed: automated fetch returned HTTP 403 |
| The federal progress and data reporting page for the compensation program | Public Safety Canada, progress update page for the Assault-Style Firearms Compensation Program | URL not confirmed: automated fetch returned HTTP 403 |
No primary program record was read in full, and the evidentiary weakness of this document sits in one place that should be read plainly. The precise collection figures that this document is built on, being 68,717 firearms declared by 37,869 people and more than 61,900 claimed in the second business window, come from a private tracker rather than from a government publication. Every Public Safety Canada page that would confirm them directly, including the release announcing that more than 67,000 firearms were declared, refused automated retrieval and appears above as a row with no URL. So the federal confirmation of the federal result is present in this table only as an unopened row, which is why those findings are graded medium rather than high. Two federal documents did open and they carry the load elsewhere: the costing publication of 2021 supplies the cost range and the industry estimate, and the registered order of 2026-06-05 supplies the current amnesty rule word for word, which is the single most consequential fact here and the one held to the highest grade. The sourcing on the rest is one-sided in a way worth naming, since a trade publication, a firearms-owner lobby group and a private tracker are advocacy or trade sources with an interest in how this program is judged, and their figures are used here only where the direction of their interest does not change the arithmetic. Where sources overlap they agree, since the prohibition date and the initial scope appear in two opened sources and the amnesty extension of 2025 appears both in the tracker and in the registered order that amends it. Where they do not overlap the gap is left visible, so the relation between the 12,000 business firearms destroyed and the more than 61,900 later claimed is reported as unestablished rather than resolved by addition, and the compliance percentages published by one outlet are labelled as that outlet arithmetic rather than adopted. This is a research-based definition, so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode is press-derived.
This table holds 17 evidence rows, 10 of which carry a source you can open · 10 distinct sources. How this table is made
People affected
Estimated range Not derivable
The reason and what is missing are listed under “What is missing” below
What is missing 3
Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.
- SectionWhat is it connected to?
the closest structural relative in this corpus is the enforcement gap in cladding remediation in the United Kingdom, where buildings were officially judged unsafe and the volume of remediation actually started fell far below the volume judged. Both are cases in which a government made a formal determination and then did not deliver the removal or repair the determination implied. The mechanisms differ, because that one turns on who pays for work on a building and this one turns on voluntary surrender of private property under a shifting deadline, and relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round. No relation to firearms policy in other countries was examined, and no adjacent Canadian program was pursued.
Fills with research
- SectionHow big is it?
the number of people. No source opened here counts the people who hold a prohibited firearm, either before the program or after it. Everything counted in this document is counted in firearms, and the population file therefore records the estimate as not derivable rather than assembling one out of parts that do not fit together.
Needs a new measurement - Derived valueThe affected population could not be derived
The quantity this problem asks for is the number of people who hold a prohibited firearm under an amnesty with no fixed end, and no source opened here counts people in any form. Everything counted is counted in firearms, and the firearm counts do not agree with each other. Public Safety Canada put the stock at about 144,000 as of 2023-02-14, counting only firearms previously registered as restricted, and recorded an industry association figure of about 518,000 that adds firearms never registered. The two differ by a factor of about 3.6, the difference is by definition the part no registry can see, and no independent study opened here reconciles them. Against those estimates, 37,869 individuals declared 68,717 firearms in the window that closed on 2026-03-31, and on the business side 12,000 firearms had been destroyed as of 2026-03-19 while more than 61,900 were claimed in a second window that closed on 2026-06-04, with no source stating whether the second figure includes the first. Subtracting declarations from either estimate would also mix bases, since the minuend counts registered firearms at 2023-02-14 and the subtrahend counts declarations made in 2026 that may include firearms never registered. Converting firearms into people fails for a separate reason. The only observed ratio is about 1.8 firearms per declarant, and it is measured solely on the group that complied; nothing opened here reports what a household that did not declare is holding, and the error runs in both directions at once, since an owner of a single prohibited rifle had the least to lose by handing it in while a collector had the most. The licence figures cannot bound the population either. Canada recorded 2,458,677 firearms licence holders in 2025 and 794,768 holders of the restricted class, and the restricted class is the closest candidate for a ceiling because many of the prohibited firearms had been registered in it before 2020. Many is not all, and no source opened here closes the membership of the group, so a count of restricted licences bounds nothing. The sources also do not distinguish whether this population is uninvestigated or uncountable, which are different problems with different remedies.
An independent count of prohibited firearms in scope that reconciles the federal figure of about 144,000 with the industry figure of about 518,000; a count of people rather than firearms, at any date, before or after the program; the ratio of firearms to owners among those who did not declare, or any survey of that group; a statement of whether the 12,000 business firearms destroyed by 2026-03-19 are included in the more than 61,900 claimed by 2026-06-04; the share of the prohibited models that had been registered in the restricted class before 2020, which is what would decide whether a restricted licence count can serve as a ceiling; and any breakdown of declarations or of the remaining stock by province or territory, none of which is published in any source opened here.
Needs a new measurement
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
Comments
The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.
The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.
You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.
The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.
You must be signed in to comment.
You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.
This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.
No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.
You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.
Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
No comments yet.