Institutional gap · Australia
Western Australia's 2023 heritage amendment let the Premier take a tribunal review of a ministerial consent to damage an Aboriginal site and decide it in place of the tribunal
In Western Australia, consent to use land in a way that damages or destroys a registered Aboriginal heritage site is given by a Minister under Section 18 of the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1972 (WA). Since a 2023 amendment, a party can ask the State Administrative Tribunal to review…
- Resolution status
- not confirmed
- Checked
- 2026-09-15
- Evidence type
- SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
- Outlet
- wa-legislation-aboriginal-heritage-amendment-2023
- Authoring mode
- Derived from press reports
- Views
- 6
What is happening?
In Western Australia, consent to use land in a way that damages or destroys a registered Aboriginal heritage site is given by a Minister under Section 18 of the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1972 (WA). Since a 2023 amendment, a party can ask the State Administrative Tribunal to review that consent decision, and the Premier can take the review application and decide it in place of the tribunal.
The path to that arrangement ran through a reform and its reversal. On 2020-05-24, two rock shelters at Juukan Gorge that sources describe as in use for more than 46,000 years were destroyed during mining operations carried out under a consent the state had issued under Section 18 as the Act then stood. The mining operator has published its own account of the event, including an apology and the remedial steps it describes.
Western Australia then legislated a replacement, the Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Act 2021, which received royal assent on 2021-12-22 and commenced in full on 2023-07-01. It included a statutory Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Council with a majority of Aboriginal members, empowered to make recommendations on heritage-impact applications. On 2023-08-08, 38 days after full commencement, the state government announced that it would repeal the 2021 Act and return to the 1972 Act.
The Aboriginal Heritage Legislation Amendment and Repeal Act 2023 (WA) received royal assent on 2023-10-24, and the restored and amended 1972 Act commenced on 2023-11-15. That amendment did two things to the consent regime at once:
- According to a law firm analysis of the legislation, it gave native title parties a right to apply to the State Administrative Tribunal for review of a Section 18 consent decision, where the original 1972 Act had given that right only to the project proponent.
- It inserted Section 18A. Under s 18A(2), where an application is made to the tribunal under section 18(5) for review of a Minister decision under section 18(3) or (6A), the Premier may determine the application if the Premier considers that it raises issues of such State or regional importance that it would be appropriate for the Premier to determine it. Under s 18A(4), the Premier has a 14-day window after the tribunal application is made in which to act.
On the enacted text, a consent decision made by a Minister of the state government can go to a tribunal for review, and the head of that same government can take the review and decide it in place of the tribunal.
Whose problem is this?
| Role | Who |
|---|---|
| Affected | Native title parties and Traditional Owners whose registered heritage sites can be the subject of a Section 18 consent · more broadly, the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people of Western Australia, about 89,000 people at the 2021 Census · project proponents and landholders, whose own review applications fall under the same Section 18A wording |
| Raised by | The Western Australian Parliament itself, through the 2021 replacement Act · the federal parliamentary inquiry whose report of 2021-10-18 examined the Juukan Gorge destruction · legal practitioners analysing the 2023 amendment |
| Decides | The Minister, who makes the Section 18 consent decision · the State Administrative Tribunal, which hears a review application unless the Premier acts · the Premier, who may determine the application under Section 18A · the Western Australian Parliament, which enacted both provisions |
| Bears the cost | Parties seeking review, whose application can be moved from the tribunal to the Premier within 14 days · heritage sites, where a consent decision authorises damage or destruction |
The review right and the power to take it over were enacted in the same amending Act, and they apply to the same applications. The words of Section 18A read here do not limit the power by who made the review application, so a proponent seeking review is inside the same wording as a native title party.
Where does this problem end?
| Axis | This is the problem | This is not the problem |
|---|---|---|
| What | The Western Australian consent mechanism: a Section 18 consent by a Minister, a tribunal review under section 18(5), and the Premier power in Section 18A to determine that review | Whether resource development or other land use should proceed on or near registered Aboriginal sites — a value question this document does not answer |
| Whether final heritage decisions ought to sit with elected government or with an independent tribunal or council — a value question this document does not answer; it records where the statute places them | ||
| Whether the 2021 Act was better or worse policy than the restored 1972 Act | ||
| Liability, fault or any tribunal or court finding concerning the Juukan Gorge destruction itself | ||
| Who | Parties to Section 18 consent decisions and review applications in Western Australia | Native title compensation and land rights litigation in general |
| Where | Western Australia | The Commonwealth national heritage framework, used here only as background · the narrower amendments in South Australia and the Northern Territory in 2024 and 2025 |
| When | The 2021 Act, from assent on 2021-12-22, through the restored regime in force from 2023-11-15, to 2026-09-15 | The history of Section 18 decisions before 2020 |
| Scale | The mechanism as written, and the published record of its use | A count of sites damaged under Section 18 consents, which no source opened provides |
The boundary is drawn around a single state statute and the path a consent decision travels once someone asks for it to be reviewed. Everything outside that path, including the national debate that the same destruction set off, is context rather than the object of this document.
What is the state now, and what should it be?
Now
| Indicator | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Law governing consent to damage registered Aboriginal sites | Aboriginal Heritage Act 1972 (WA), restored and amended | commenced 2023-11-15 |
| Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Act 2021 (WA) | repealed by the Aboriginal Heritage Legislation Amendment and Repeal Act 2023 | repealing Act assented 2023-10-24 |
| Days between full commencement of the 2021 Act and the repeal announcement | 38 | 2023-07-01 to 2023-08-08 |
| Tribunal review of a Section 18 consent available to native title parties | yes, per law firm analysis of the amendment | 2023 |
| Premier power to determine a tribunal review application | yes, under s 18A(2), where the Premier considers the application raises issues of State or regional importance | enacted text, assented 2023-10-24 |
| Time allowed for the Premier to act | 14 days after the tribunal application is made, under s 18A(4) | enacted text, assented 2023-10-24 |
| Recorded uses of the Section 18A power | not reported in any source opened | 2026-09-15 |
| Published registers of ministerial decisions under s 18(3), s 18(6A) and s 18B(3) | exist, broken out by year, including a January 2026 to current file | 2026-09-15 |
| National cultural heritage legislation | not enacted; no reports, papers or other documents published since 2022, per a 2025 status review | 2025 |
Needs a new measurementthe target state: no source opened sets an official standard for when the Section 18A power should be used, how its use should be recorded, or what share of review applications should reach a tribunal determination. The state government did state what it wanted from the 2023 repeal — to reset, end confusion and strike the right balance — but that statement concerns the repeal of the 2021 Act and does not describe a target for the review mechanism.
How big is it?
The size of this problem cannot be expressed as a count of affected people from the sources opened. The quantity that would measure it is the number of Section 18 consents, tribunal review applications and Premier determinations since 2023-11-15. The Western Australian government publishes named registers of ministerial decisions under s 18(3), s 18(6A) and s 18B(3), year by year, but none of the sources used here reports counts drawn from them.
Two whole-state anchors describe the reach of the regime rather than its use. At the 2021 Census about 89,000 people in Western Australia identified as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander, 3.3 percent of the state population. A Western Australian government page states that about 86 percent of the state land mass is covered by a registered or determined native title claim, a figure dated to around 2018 and 2019 on that page.
Neither figure counts people affected by any single decision, and the two figures describe different things measured in different years. They are not multiplied or combined here, and the affected population is recorded as not derivable.
Under what conditions does it arise?
1. Consent to damage a site is an executive decision. Under Section 18 a Minister decides whether land may be used in a way that damages or destroys a registered Aboriginal site. The Juukan Gorge destruction in 2020 took place under a consent issued under that section as it then stood.
2. Review exists, but its forum depends on a discretion. The 2023 amendment connects a tribunal review under section 18(5) to a Premier power under Section 18A. The test in s 18A(2) is framed around what the Premier considers to be issues of State or regional importance. The sources opened set out no further criteria for that judgement.
3. The window is short and runs from the application. The Premier has 14 days after the tribunal application is made. A party that files for review therefore learns within about two weeks whether the tribunal or the Premier will decide it.
4. Use of the power is not visible in the sources opened. Decision registers exist for ministerial consents, but no source opened reports whether any review application has been determined by the Premier. Without that record, the practical reach of the provision cannot be read from the statute alone.
5. The alternative structure was withdrawn after a short period in force. The 2021 Act placed a statutory council with a majority of Aboriginal members into the application process, and the government announced its repeal 38 days after it commenced in full. The Premier said the 2021 Act had unintentionally caused stress, confusion and division, that its requirements went too far, were too complicated and placed unnecessary burdens on property owners, and that reverting to the original legislation would allow a reset. The Minister for Aboriginal Affairs told Parliament on 2023-08-09 that the 2021 Act had not delivered the clarity and security the government desired.
A review provision and a power to take that review over were written into the consent regime by one amending Act and took effect on the same day.
What has been tried?
| Attempt | By whom | What was done | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Act 2021 | Western Australian Parliament | Replacement regime with a statutory Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Council, majority Aboriginal membership, making recommendations on heritage-impact applications | assented 2021-12-22 · full commencement 2023-07-01 |
| Repeal announcement | Western Australian government, announced by the Premier | Announced repeal of the 2021 Act and a return to the 1972 Act, citing stress, confusion, complexity and burdens on property owners | 2023-08-08 |
| Statement to Parliament | Minister for Aboriginal Affairs | Said the 2021 Act had not delivered the clarity and security the government desired | 2023-08-09 |
| Aboriginal Heritage Legislation Amendment and Repeal Act 2023 | Western Australian Parliament | Repealed the 2021 Act, restored and amended the 1972 Act, extended tribunal review of Section 18 decisions to native title parties per law firm analysis, and inserted the Section 18A Premier power with a 14-day window | assented 2023-10-24 · restored Act commenced 2023-11-15 |
| Published decision registers | Western Australian Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage | Registers of ministerial decisions under s 18(3), s 18(6A) and s 18B(3), by year | through 2026 |
| Federal parliamentary inquiry | Commonwealth Parliament, joint committee | Report of 2021-10-18 with eight recommendations following the Juukan Gorge destruction | 2021-10-18 |
| Commonwealth response | Commonwealth government | Accepted seven of eight recommendations, including a commitment to new national cultural heritage legislation, and signed a partnership with a national First Nations heritage-protection alliance to co-design it | 2022-11-24 |
| Status of national reform | Commonwealth government and the partner alliance | Partnership extended to June 2026 · no reports, papers or other documents published since 2022, per a 2025 status review | 2024–2025 |
| Narrower state and territory amendments | State and Territory parliaments | Offence, penalty and administrative changes only, a different mechanism in different jurisdictions | SA commenced 2025-01-01 · NT passed 2025-05-15 |
Two structures were tried in Western Australia within two years, one built around a statutory council and one built around the restored Minister consent with a new review right. The second structure contains both the review right and the power that can move that review away from the tribunal.
What was found?
| Finding | Observed value | Evidence grade |
|---|---|---|
| Section 18A lets the Premier determine a tribunal review application of a Section 18 decision where the Premier considers it raises issues of State or regional importance | yes | high — enacted text of the 2023 amending Act, official Western Australian legislation site |
| Time allowed for the Premier to act | 14 days after the tribunal application | high — same enacted text |
| Royal assent to the repealing and amending Act | 2023-10-24 | high — same enacted text |
| Full commencement of the 2021 Act | 2023-07-01 | medium — a news report and two law firm analyses agree |
| Repeal of the 2021 Act announced | 2023-08-08 | medium — news report of that date |
| Days between full commencement and the repeal announcement | 38 | medium — difference between the two dates above |
| Commencement of the restored and amended 1972 Act | 2023-11-15 | medium — law firm analysis only |
| Native title parties may seek tribunal review of a Section 18 decision, a right the original 1972 Act gave only to proponents | yes | medium — law firm analysis; the enacted wording of section 18(5) was not among the provisions read directly |
| Reasons stated by the government for the repeal | stress, confusion and division · too complicated · unnecessary burdens on property owners · lack of clarity and security | medium — news report of the statements by the Premier and the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs |
| Uses of the Section 18A power since 2023-11-15 | not reported | none — no source opened addresses it |
| Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people in Western Australia, 2021 Census | about 89,000, 3.3 percent of the state population | high — Australian Bureau of Statistics page opened |
| Share of state land mass under a registered or determined native title claim | about 86 percent | low — government page, figure dated to around 2018 and 2019 |
| Commonwealth recommendations accepted | seven of eight | medium — news report; the government response document itself returned HTTP 403 |
| National reform documents published since 2022 | none, as of a 2025 status review | medium — law firm review |
| Date of the Juukan Gorge destruction | 2020-05-24 | medium — the mining operator page and a law firm summary |
Why is it still unsolved?
Institutional gap — the review right added to the consent regime in 2023 reaches the tribunal only where the head of the government whose Minister made the decision does not take the application within 14 days.
The first part of the gap is structural. A Minister makes the Section 18 consent decision, a party applies to the State Administrative Tribunal for review, and under Section 18A the Premier may determine that application instead. The original decision and its review can therefore both sit inside the same executive government. The test for moving the application is the Premier's own view that it raises issues of State or regional importance, and no source opened describes further criteria, a requirement to give reasons, or a report to Parliament attached to that step.
The second part is visibility. The government publishes registers of ministerial consent decisions, yet no source opened reports how many review applications have been filed or how many the Premier has determined. A power that has never been used and a power used in every large project look the same when only the statute can be read. That means the existence of the review right cannot, on the available record, be translated into how often a tribunal actually decides a review.
The third part is that the other available structure was removed rather than adjusted. The 2021 Act had placed a statutory council with a majority of Aboriginal members into the process, and it was repealed after 38 days of full operation. The government gave public reasons for that repeal, and this document does not weigh them. Those reasons concern the 2021 Act; no source opened gives a stated reason for adding the Section 18A power.
What observation would mean it is solved?
Candidates — (a) Section 18A is repealed or amended so that a tribunal review of a Section 18 consent is decided by the tribunal (b) every use of the Section 18A power is published, with the matter, the date and the reasons given (c) the decision registers show, year by year, how many Section 18 review applications were filed and how many were determined by the tribunal rather than by the Premier.
(a) alone is weaker than it looks. Removing one discretion does not settle who makes the original consent decision, which remains with a Minister, and a later amendment could reinsert a similar power. A change to the text also says nothing about how many review applications are made in the first place.
(b) alone makes the power visible without changing it. A published list of call-ins with reasons would show whether the power is used rarely or routinely, but the review would still move out of the tribunal whenever the Premier chose to act.
(c) alone counts filings, not outcomes. A high share of reviews reaching the tribunal could reflect that few matters were judged to be of State or regional importance, or that few parties applied for review at all. The three have to be read together, and (c) needs a count of consents issued to be interpreted.
What is it connected to?
| Connection | Relation | What the sources say |
|---|---|---|
| The Juukan Gorge destruction of 2020-05-24 | The event that preceded the 2021 Western Australian Act and the federal parliamentary inquiry | Carried out under a Section 18 consent as the Act then stood |
| Commonwealth national cultural heritage reform | Parallel reform at the national level, background only | Commitment to new national legislation on 2022-11-24 · partnership extended to June 2026 · no documents published since 2022 as of a 2025 status review · the sources opened do not say how a national law would interact with the Western Australian mechanism |
| South Australia and Northern Territory amendments | Heritage law changes in other jurisdictions in the same period | Offence, penalty and administrative changes only, commenced in South Australia on 2025-01-01 and passed in the Northern Territory on 2025-05-15 |
What these sources do not say
- Whether the Section 18A power has ever been exercised. No source opened reports a single determination by the Premier under that section, nor the matters, dates or outcomes of any. The absence of a report is not evidence that the power is unused.
- How many Section 18 consents and tribunal review applications there have been since 2023-11-15. The government publishes decision registers under s 18(3), s 18(6A) and s 18B(3), but no count drawn from them appears in the sources used here.
- Why Section 18A was added. The government stated reasons for repealing the 2021 Act. No source opened carries a stated reason for giving the Premier the power to determine tribunal review applications. Those are different propositions.
- Whether the Premier must give reasons, report to Parliament, or face further review when determining an application. No source opened addresses any of these.
- The enacted wording of section 18(5). The statement that native title parties may now apply for review, where the original 1972 Act gave that right only to proponents, rests on a law firm analysis written when the repeal was announced. The sources opened do not reproduce the enacted wording of that subsection.
- Whether Section 18A has been amended since 2023. The enacted text of the 2023 amending Act supports the description here; no source opened states whether the provision has changed since.
- How Western Australian native title parties have responded to Section 18A specifically. No such response was found in the sources opened, as distinct from reactions to the repeal of the 2021 Act in general.
- The position of the Western Australian government on Section 18A itself. Its published reasons concern the repeal; no statement defending or explaining the call-in power was found.
- What happened to the Commonwealth partnership after June 2026. The latest source opened is a 2025 status review; no 2026 source reports on it.
- How much land is currently under native title claim or determination. The 86 percent figure is dated to around 2018 and 2019 on the page that gives it.
See the evidence
| Item | Source | Confirmation |
|---|---|---|
| Enacted text of Section 18A(2) to (4), the Premier power to determine a tribunal review application and the 14-day window · royal assent to the repealing and amending Act on 2023-10-24 | Western Australian Government legislation, Aboriginal Heritage Legislation Amendment and Repeal Act 2023 | 2026-09-15 |
| Date and context of the Juukan Gorge destruction · the mining operator account of the event, including its apology and remedial steps | Rio Tinto, Juukan Gorge page | 2026-09-15 |
| Repeal announced 2023-08-08 and the reasons stated by the Premier · statement by the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs to Parliament on 2023-08-09 · full commencement of the 2021 Act on 2023-07-01 | ABC News (2023-08-08) | 2026-09-15 |
| Commonwealth response of 2022-11-24 accepting seven of eight inquiry recommendations | ABC News (2022-11-24) | 2026-09-15 |
| Federal inquiry report of 2021-10-18 with eight recommendations · context of the destruction · royal assent to the 2021 Act on 2021-12-22 | Norton Rose Fulbright, A Way Forward: Juukan Gorge final report | 2026-09-15 |
| Transition and commencement timeline of the 2021 Act · the restored 1972 Act extending tribunal review of Section 18 decisions to native title parties · commencement of the restored Act on 2023-11-15 | Allens, Repeal of the Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Act 2021 | 2026-09-15 |
| Partnership with the Commonwealth signed on 2022-11-24 to co-design national heritage legislation | First Nations Heritage Protection Alliance, reform page | 2026-09-15 |
| Partnership extended from June 2024 to June 2026 · no reports, papers or other documents published since 2022 · South Australia amendments commenced 2025-01-01 and Northern Territory amendments passed 2025-05-15 | Ashurst, Little progress in cultural heritage reform around Australia in 2024-2025 | 2026-09-15 |
| About 89,000 Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people in Western Australia at the 2021 Census, 3.3 percent of the state population | Australian Bureau of Statistics, Western Australia Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander population summary | 2026-09-15 |
| About 86 percent of the state land mass under a registered or determined native title claim, figure dated to around 2018 and 2019 | Western Australian Government, Department of the Premier and Cabinet, native title claims page | 2026-09-15 |
| Register of ministerial decisions under s 18(3), January 2026 to current | Western Australian Government, Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage | URL not confirmed: the PDF file was located but its text could not be extracted, so its contents are not used |
| Register of ministerial decisions under s 18(3), 2025 | Western Australian Government, Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage | URL not confirmed: the PDF file was located but its text could not be extracted, so its contents are not used |
| Collection page listing the named registers of ministerial decisions under s 18(3), s 18(6A) and s 18B(3), by year, including January 2026 to current | Western Australian Government, Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage, Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Committee document collection | 2026-09-15 |
| The Commonwealth government response document itself, as a primary check on the news report of 2022-11-24 | Australian Government, Parliament of Australia, Government response to A Way Forward and Never Again (November 2022) | URL not confirmed: automated request returned HTTP 403 |
| Consolidated text of the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1972 as at 2024-05-14, as a primary check on the restored Act including section 18(5) | Western Australian Government legislation, Aboriginal Heritage Act 1972 consolidated text | URL not confirmed: the PDF file was located but its text could not be extracted, so its contents are not used |
The only primary legal text among the opened sources is the 2023 amending Act on the official Western Australian legislation site, and it supports the Section 18A power, the 14-day window and the assent date. The standing of native title parties to seek review and the commencement date of the restored Act rest on a law firm analysis; the consolidated 1972 Act that would confirm both could not be read as text. The reasons for the repeal come from a news report of statements by the Premier and the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, not from the parliamentary record itself. Commonwealth material comes from a news report, a law firm review and the reform page of the partner alliance, because the government response document returned HTTP 403. The decision registers that would give counts of consents, review applications and Premier determinations were located but not readable as text, so no count from them is used anywhere in this document. This is a Path A output (research-based definition), so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.
This table holds 15 evidence rows, 11 of which carry a source you can open · 9 distinct sources. How this table is made
People affected
Estimated range Not derivable
The reason and what is missing are listed under “What is missing” below
What is missing 2
Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.
- SectionWhat is the state now, and what should it be?
the target state: no source opened sets an official standard for when the Section 18A power should be used, how its use should be recorded, or what share of review applications should reach a tribunal determination. The state government did state what it wanted from the 2023 repeal — to reset, end confusion and strike the right balance — but that statement concerns the repeal of the 2021 Act and does not describe a target for the review mechanism.
Needs a new measurement - Derived valueThe affected population could not be derived
The term that would size this problem is the number of Section 18 consent decisions, State Administrative Tribunal review applications and Premier determinations under Section 18A since 2023-11-15, and no source used here reports those counts. The published decision registers were located but their text could not be extracted. The two figures available describe whole-state reach rather than use: about 89,000 Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people in Western Australia at the 2021 Census, and about 86 percent of the state land mass under a registered or determined native title claim, dated to around 2018 and 2019. They measure different things in different years, and dividing either by the other or scaling one by the other would be apportionment, so neither is used as a chain term.
Count of Section 18 consent decisions since 2023-11-15 · count of tribunal review applications under section 18(5) · count of applications determined by the Premier under Section 18A · the parties and sites covered by those decisions
Needs a new measurement
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
Comments
The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.
The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.
You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.
The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.
You must be signed in to comment.
You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.
This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.
No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.
You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.
Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
No comments yet.