Enforcement absent · Australia
Australia made a minimum daily care time binding in every aged care home from 2023-10-01 and attached no funding consequence until 2026-04-01 — that consequence reaches metropolitan homes only, where compliance with both targets had fallen from 68 to 66 percent in the quarter ending 2026-03-31
Australia sets a minimum daily care time that every residential aged care home must deliver. From 2023-10-01 the requirement was an average of 200 minutes per resident per day, of which 40 minutes had to come from a registered nurse. From 2024-10-01 it rose to 215 minutes, of wh…
- Resolution status
- not confirmed
- Checked
- 2026-09-09
- Evidence type
- SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
- Outlet
- weeklysource-care-minutes
- Authoring mode
- Derived from press reports
- Views
- 4
What is happening?
Australia sets a minimum daily care time that every residential aged care home must deliver. From 2023-10-01 the requirement was an average of 200 minutes per resident per day, of which 40 minutes had to come from a registered nurse. From 2024-10-01 it rose to 215 minutes, of which 44 minutes had to come from a registered nurse. Each home reports against both figures and the results are published quarterly, broken down by remoteness category under the Modern Monash Model.
When the requirement became binding it carried no financial consequence. A home that delivered less than the target was funded on the same basis as a home that delivered more.
That changed on 2026-04-01, two and a half years after the targets took effect. From that date the national weighted activity unit that sets residential funding is graded by care minute performance, and a home below target can lose up to 33.41 Australian dollars per resident per day from its base care tariff. The change reaches non-specialist homes in metropolitan areas only. Homes in the remaining remoteness categories, covering regional centres, rural towns and remote and very remote Australia, sit outside the funding link entirely, whether they meet the targets or not.
The measured trend running into that date was downward. In the quarter ending 2025-12-31, 66.81 percent of homes nationally met both targets at once, and among metropolitan homes the figure was 68 percent. In the quarter ending 2026-03-31, the last quarter measured before the funding link commenced, those two figures were 63.6 percent and 66 percent. The rest of the homes fell short on at least one of the two targets.
The separate regulatory route has been used sparingly. The Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission has accepted enforceable undertakings over care minutes from 11 providers covering 27 services, measured against 707 approved providers running 2,590 services at 2025-06-30, and nine of those undertakings are held by a single provider. No source opened here gives the dates on which they were accepted.
Whose problem is this?
| Role | Who |
|---|---|
| Affected | People living in residential aged care — 204,000 in permanent or respite residential care at 2025-06-30, across 224,493 operational places. The share of them living in a home below target is not published · residents of homes outside metropolitan areas, for whom the funding link does not exist at all |
| Raised by | The federal government, which set the targets and publishes the quarterly compliance figures that show the shortfall · the sector peak body, which has said the targets are beyond the reach of some providers because of registered nurse shortages · a sector data consultancy that tracks the published results by remoteness |
| Decides | The Department of Health, Disability and Ageing, which sets the targets and designed the funding link and its scope · the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission, which holds the regulatory instruments · the federal Parliament, which alone can change the underlying obligation |
| Bears the cost | Residents in homes delivering below the target, in care time not received · providers that staff to the target, which carry that cost while being funded alongside providers that do not · homes outside metropolitan areas, which carry the obligation without the funding grading that now applies in the city |
The body that sets the target, the body that publishes the measurement and the body that holds the enforcement instruments are three different parts of the same government, and for two and a half years none of them attached a price to missing the number.
Where does this problem end?
| Axis | This is the problem | This is not the problem |
|---|---|---|
| What | The distance between a binding care minute target and what follows from missing it — no funding consequence at all until 2026-04-01, and after that date a consequence drawn to metropolitan non-specialist homes only | Whether 215 minutes is the right number. The target was set by government and is recorded here as set, not endorsed or criticised |
| Whether funding reduction is the right instrument, as against direct workforce funding, training subsidy or a larger regulatory role. Both directions appear in the record and neither is preferred here | ||
| Who | Homes delivering residential aged care and the federal bodies that set, measure and enforce the target | Any individual provider or home, none of which is examined here |
| Where | The federal residential aged care system | State health and disability systems, and residential aged care rules in other countries, were not examined |
| When | 2023-10-01 through 2026-09-09 | The Royal Commission process that recommended mandatory care minutes before 2023 |
| Scale | 707 providers, 2,590 services and 224,493 places, with 63.6 percent of homes meeting both targets in the quarter ending 2026-03-31 | Waiting for a government funded package in the community, which is a separate programme with its own failure point and is covered in a separate document |
Three value questions sit next to this document and none of them is decided in it. Whether residential aged care should be delivered by for-profit or not-for-profit operators is one. Whether the minute target should be higher, lower or replaced by an outcome measure is the second. Whether reducing the funding of a home that is already short of staff helps or harms the people living in it is the third, and the record contains the funding link and the workforce shortfall claim side by side without resolving it. The boundary here is not whether the targets are right but whether anything follows from missing them.
What is the state now, and what should it be?
Now
| Indicator | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Total care minutes required, per resident per day | 215, as an average across the home | 2024-10-01 onward |
| Registered nurse minutes required, per resident per day | 44, within the 215 | 2024-10-01 onward |
| Earlier level of the same targets | 200 total and 40 registered nurse minutes | 2023-10-01 to 2024-09-30 |
| Financial consequence for missing the targets, at introduction | none | 2023-10-01 |
| Financial consequence for missing the targets, now | funding weighting graded by performance, up to 33.41 Australian dollars per resident per day off the base care tariff | 2026-04-01 |
| Homes the funding link reaches | non-specialist metropolitan homes only | 2026-04-01 |
| Homes the funding link does not reach | every home in the remaining remoteness categories, regardless of performance | 2026-04-01 |
| Homes meeting both targets, nationally | 63.6 percent | quarter ending 2026-03-31 |
| Homes meeting both targets, nationally, prior quarter | 66.81 percent | quarter ending 2025-12-31 |
| Homes meeting both targets, metropolitan | 66 percent | quarter ending 2026-03-31 |
| Homes meeting both targets, metropolitan, prior quarter | 68 percent | quarter ending 2025-12-31 |
| Homes meeting both targets, nationally, earlier reading | 60 percent, with about 1,000 homes short | quarter ending 2025-09-30 |
| Enforceable undertakings accepted over care minutes | 11 providers, 27 services, nine of the undertakings held by one provider | date of acceptance not stated in any opened source |
| Approved providers, services and operational places | 707 · 2,590 · 224,493 | 2025-06-30 |
| People in permanent or respite residential care | 204,000 | 2025-06-30 |
| Published resident-weighted compliance rate | none in any source opened here | 2026-09-09 |
| Published count of the homes the funding link reaches | none in any source opened here | 2026-09-09 |
Should be
The target state here is written by the government itself and needs no substitute. Every residential aged care home is required to deliver an average of 215 care minutes per resident per day including 44 registered nurse minutes, and the requirement is mandatory rather than aspirational. On the government measure, the state that would satisfy the obligation is every home meeting both figures. Against that, 63.6 percent of homes met both in the quarter ending 2026-03-31, and the direction of travel over the two most recent quarters was away from it rather than toward it.
How big is it?
The population layer for this document records not-derivable, and the reason is arithmetic rather than editorial. The compliance statistic counts homes and the population figure counts residents, and no source opened here joins them.
What is counted. At 2025-06-30 there were 204,000 people in permanent or respite residential aged care, across 707 approved providers, 2,590 services and 224,493 operational places. In the quarter ending 2026-03-31, 63.6 percent of homes met both care minute targets at once, so 36.4 percent fell short on at least one of the two.
Why those two numbers cannot be multiplied. The compliance share is a share of homes, not of residents, and homes differ greatly in size. A shortfall concentrated in small homes and a shortfall concentrated in large ones produce the same 36.4 percent while affecting very different numbers of people. No source opened here publishes a resident-weighted compliance rate, or a count of residents living in homes below target, so the direction and size of that difference are unknown.
A second reason the product would mislead. A home is recorded as short whenever its average falls below the line, whether it is one minute below or many. A home a fraction under the target and a home far under it enter the same 36.4 percent, so the count of homes below target does not measure the amount of care that was not delivered. No source opened here publishes the distribution of the shortfall.
A third quantity that is missing. The funding link applies to non-specialist metropolitan homes. No source opened here states how many homes that is, or how many people live in them, so even the size of the group the new consequence reaches cannot be stated. The provider and place totals above cover the whole country and cannot be narrowed.
Under what conditions does it arise?
1. The obligation and the consequence were separated when the targets were made. From 2023-10-01 the minimum care time was mandatory and publicly measured, and nothing in the funding arrangement distinguished a home that met it from a home that did not. A home that delivers less than the target and a home that delivers more were funded identically for two and a half years.
2. The consequence that finally arrived was drawn narrowly. The funding grading that commenced on 2026-04-01 applies to non-specialist homes in metropolitan areas. For every home in the remaining remoteness categories the position after that date is the same as the position before it, which is that the target is binding and missing it costs nothing in funding terms.
3. The regulatory instrument is available but rare. The Commission can accept an enforceable undertaking from a provider that is not meeting care minutes, and has done so with 11 providers covering 27 services out of 707 approved providers. Nine of those undertakings sit with one provider, so on the reported figures ten providers account for the remainder.
4. The measurement is honest and the trend it shows is not improving. The quarterly publication is the thing that makes the shortfall visible at all, and over the two most recent published quarters the national share meeting both targets moved from 66.81 percent to 63.6 percent. A measurement system that reports a decline and a funding system that does not respond to one are running side by side.
5. The workforce constraint is asserted but not independently sized. The sector peak body has said the targets are beyond the reach of some providers and has cited a registered nurse shortfall of 4,043 at June 2025 rising to 17,550 by 2035. No opened source names the body that produced those figures or the method behind them, so the claim sits in the record without a traceable basis.
6. Where compliance is highest is where the funding link does not apply. In the quarter ending 2025-09-30 the published spread ran from 50 to 61 percent in metropolitan and large regional centres, about 68 percent in small rural towns, and 74 to 75 percent in remote and very remote areas. The funding grading introduced later reaches the metropolitan end of that spread and not the rest of it.
What has been tried?
| Attempt | By whom | What happened | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Making a minimum care time mandatory | The federal government | Homes required to average 200 care minutes per resident per day including 40 registered nurse minutes, with quarterly reporting. No financial disadvantage attached to falling short | 2023-10-01 |
| Requiring a registered nurse on site at all times | The federal government | 24 hour registered nurse coverage required, with an exemption pathway for small homes in remote areas. At August 2023, 86 percent of reporting homes complied, a figure calculated after removing 125 exempt homes from the denominator, following 53 exemption applications | 2023-07-01 |
| Raising the target | The federal government | Requirement lifted to 215 total and 44 registered nurse minutes. Metropolitan achievement of both targets at once stood at 40 percent at June 2024 | 2024-10-01 |
| Publishing quarterly compliance by remoteness | The federal government | Metropolitan achievement of both targets rose across 2024 and 2025 on the earlier published series, and the national figure was 60 percent with about 1,000 homes short in the quarter ending 2025-09-30 | 2024 to 2026 |
| Accepting enforceable undertakings | The Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission | Undertakings over care minutes accepted from 11 providers covering 27 services, against 707 approved providers. Nine of the undertakings are held by a single provider. Dates of acceptance not stated in any opened source | date not stated |
| Linking funding to performance | The federal government | The residential funding weighting graded by care minute performance, with a reduction of up to 33.41 Australian dollars per resident per day from the base care tariff. Applies to non-specialist metropolitan homes only | 2026-04-01 |
Two directions have been tried in sequence rather than together — set and measure the target first, attach a funding consequence later. The first ran for two and a half years and produced a public quarterly record. The second began on 2026-04-01 and covers one remoteness category out of the full set.
What was found?
| Finding | Observed value | Evidence grade |
|---|---|---|
| Care minute targets and commencement dates | 200 total and 40 registered nurse minutes from 2023-10-01, raised to 215 and 44 from 2024-10-01 | high — stated directly by an opened source |
| A financial consequence attached to the targets before 2026 | no | high — one opened source states no financial disadvantage applied at introduction, and a second reports the 2026-04-01 grading as newly arriving |
| Funding link commencement and size | 2026-04-01, a graded funding weighting with a reduction of up to 33.41 Australian dollars per resident per day from the base care tariff | high — stated by an opened source ahead of commencement |
| Scope of the funding link | non-specialist metropolitan homes only; homes in the other remoteness categories are outside it regardless of performance | high — stated by the opened source reporting the change |
| Homes meeting both targets, metropolitan | 68 percent in the quarter ending 2025-12-31, 66 percent in the quarter ending 2026-03-31 | high — one opened source, one measure, two consecutive quarters |
| Homes meeting both targets, nationally | 66.81 percent in the quarter ending 2025-12-31, 63.6 percent in the quarter ending 2026-03-31 | high — same source, same measure, same two quarters |
| Earlier metropolitan series | 40 percent at June 2024, 49 percent at March 2025, 54 percent at June 2025 | medium — a different article by the same outlet; no opened source states that the earlier series and the later one are computed the same way, and the step from 54 to 68 percent between them is unexplained |
| National compliance, quarter ending 2025-09-30 | 60 percent meeting both targets, about 1,000 homes short | medium — single opened source |
| Enforceable undertakings over care minutes | 11 providers and 27 services against 707 approved providers, nine of the undertakings held by one provider | medium — single opened source, reported as a cumulative count with no dates of acceptance |
| Compliance spread by remoteness, quarter ending 2025-09-30 | 50 to 61 percent metropolitan and large regional, about 68 percent small rural towns, 74 to 75 percent remote and very remote | medium — a sector data consultancy analysis, opened directly, describing its own reading of the published data |
| Registered nurse coverage requirement | 24 hour cover from 2023-07-01, 86 percent of reporting homes at August 2023 after 125 exempt homes were removed from the denominator | medium — single opened source, and the figure is nearly three years old |
| Registered nurse shortfall | 4,043 at June 2025, projected to 17,550 by 2035 | low — cited by the sector peak body in an opened article; no opened source names the body that produced the estimate or its method |
| Approved providers, services and places | 707 · 2,590 · 224,493 at 2025-06-30 | high — the national aged care data collection opened directly |
| People in permanent or respite residential care | 204,000 at 2025-06-30 | high — the same collection |
| Reason the funding link excludes homes outside metropolitan areas | none stated | high as an absence — no opened source gives a reason, and the impact analysis that would carry one did not read |
| Resident-weighted compliance rate | none published | high as an absence — every opened source reports compliance as a share of homes |
Why is it still unsolved?
Enforcement absent — the target is binding, the shortfall is measured and published every quarter, and for most of the sector nothing follows from being on the wrong side of the line.
A requirement that costs nothing to miss is a request that has been written down and counted. That is the first part, and it was a design choice made when the targets commenced rather than a failure of administration afterwards. Between 2023-10-01 and 2026-04-01 the government knew, quarter by quarter and home by home, which homes were below the line, and the funding those homes received did not depend on the answer. The measurement is public and quarterly, and for most of the sector the published number is still the only consequence of missing the target.
The second part is that the consequence, once it arrived, was drawn to a fraction of the sector. Non-specialist metropolitan homes now face a graded funding weighting. Every home in the other remoteness categories carries the same obligation with the same publication and the same absence of financial effect that the whole sector had before. That leaves two regimes running under one rule, and no opened source explains why the line was drawn there. A rule whose enforcement stops at a map boundary is enforced against geography rather than against performance.
The third part is that the regulatory alternative has not filled the space. The Commission holds instruments it can use against a provider that does not meet care minutes, and the reported use of enforceable undertakings covers 11 of 707 approved providers with nine of those undertakings sitting with one provider. Whatever else that shows, it does not describe an instrument operating at the scale of a shortfall that runs to more than a third of homes.
The fourth part, which is the one that keeps the pattern stable rather than merely slow, is that visible activity keeps arriving and the underlying number does not move with it. Targets were set, then raised. Reporting was built and published. A funding link was designed, announced and commenced. Each of those is a real step and each is reportable as progress. Across the two most recently published quarters the national share of homes meeting both targets fell from 66.81 percent to 63.6 percent, and none of the steps taken so far had reached the homes on the wrong side of that figure.
What observation would mean it is solved?
Candidates — (a) the published share of homes meeting both targets rises toward every home, and keeps rising across consecutive quarters (b) the funding link, or an equivalent consequence, extends to homes in every remoteness category (c) the government publishes a resident-weighted compliance measure and it improves.
(a) alone is weaker than it looks. The share is a count of homes and the quarterly figure moves with the composition of the sector as well as with staffing. Homes closing, merging or being reclassified would shift it without a single extra minute of care being delivered, and a home that lifts its average from one minute under the line to one minute over it moves the same amount of the statistic as a home that closes a large gap.
(b) counts coverage rather than effect. Extending the funding link to the rest of the country would remove the geographic split, and it would still leave open the question the record cannot answer, which is whether reducing the funding of a home that is short of staff makes it less short. The published spread by remoteness already shows the highest compliance in the areas the link does not reach, so extending it is not obviously the operative variable.
(c) is the observation this document would most want and the one nothing currently supports. It would say how many people, rather than how many buildings, are on the wrong side of the target, and no opened source shows that anyone publishes it. It is also the measure least easy to satisfy on paper, because a resident-weighted rate cannot be lifted by changes in the number of small homes. The three have to be read together, and (c) is the one that would show whether the obligation is reaching people.
What is it connected to?
Fills with researchthe aged care workforce pipeline and registered nurse supply, the residential funding model and how the base care tariff is set, the wider quality and safety regulatory framework and its use of sanctions, minimum staffing standards for residential aged care in other countries and what follows there from missing them, and the relationship between staffing levels and measured care outcomes. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.
What these sources do not say
- Why the funding link excludes homes outside metropolitan areas. No source opened here gives a reason. The impact analysis prepared for the change is the document most likely to carry one and it did not read in this round, so the scope is recorded here as a fact with no stated basis.
- Which measurement period the funding reduction is calculated from. No opened source states whether a reduction from 2026-04-01 is set by performance in an earlier quarter, by performance in the quarter it applies to, or on some other basis. Without that, the relationship between the fall recorded in the quarter ending 2026-03-31 and the commencement of the funding link on 2026-04-01 cannot be characterised, and nothing in this document treats the fall as an effect of the funding link.
- Whether the quarter ending 2026-03-31 is the most recent published quarter. The most recent reporting opened here is dated 2026-07-15 and covers that quarter. No later publication was located in this round, so the absence of a more recent figure reflects what this round found rather than what exists.
- How many homes and how many residents the funding link reaches. The provider, service and place totals cover the whole country. No opened source counts non-specialist metropolitan homes separately or gives their resident numbers, so the size of the group the consequence applies to is unknown.
- How compliance is distributed across residents rather than homes. Every opened source reports the share of homes. None reports a resident-weighted rate, and none states how far below the target the homes that miss it actually sit.
- Whether a home meeting its average leaves individual residents below it. The requirement is an average across a home. No source opened here examines the distribution of care time within a home, so whether a compliant average conceals shorter individual care time is outside what these sources address.
- Where the registered nurse shortfall figures come from. The estimates of 4,043 and 17,550 are cited by the sector peak body in an opened article. No opened source names the organisation that produced them, the report they come from, or the method. This is a case of this round not reaching the origin rather than of the origin not existing.
- What the government says about the reforms. A departmental media release on mandatory care minutes was located by search and the government page describing the care minute requirement was identified, and repeated automated requests to both timed out, so neither was read. The regulator statement on action against homes that do not meet care minutes did not read for the same reason. Three rows below are blank with the reason recorded rather than filled with a substitute link, and a fourth carries a link to a file that returned only binary, so no government statement of position appears anywhere in this document.
See the evidence
| Item | Source | Confirmation |
|---|---|---|
| Care minute targets of 200 total and 40 registered nurse minutes from 2023-10-01, raised to 215 and 44 from 2024-10-01, and the absence of any financial disadvantage attached to falling short when the targets were introduced | Health Services Daily, Aged care provider racks up nine enforceable undertakings over care minutes | 2026-09-09 |
| Enforceable undertakings over care minutes accepted from 11 providers covering 27 services, with nine of the undertakings held by a single provider, and no date of acceptance stated | Health Services Daily, Aged care provider racks up nine enforceable undertakings over care minutes | 2026-09-09 |
| Homes meeting both targets at once — 66.81 percent nationally and 68 percent in metropolitan areas in the quarter ending 2025-12-31, and 63.6 percent and 66 percent in the quarter ending 2026-03-31 — together with the scope of the funding link, which reaches non-specialist metropolitan homes and leaves the other remoteness categories outside it | The Weekly Source, Care minute compliance falls at aged care homes, published 2026-07-15 | 2026-09-09 |
| National compliance of 60 percent with about 1,000 homes short in the quarter ending 2025-09-30, and the funding grading announced to commence 2026-04-01 with a reduction of up to 33.41 Australian dollars per resident per day from the base care tariff | The Weekly Source, 1,000 aged care homes non-compliant with care minutes, published 2026-01-30 | 2026-09-09 |
| Metropolitan achievement of both targets at 40 percent at June 2024, 49 percent at March 2025 and 54 percent at June 2025 | The Weekly Source, Just 54% of metropolitan aged care homes achieve mandatory care minute targets, published 2025-10-08 and updated 2025-11-05 | 2026-09-09 |
| The registered nurse shortfall of 4,043 at June 2025 rising to 17,550 by 2035, cited by the sector peak body, and its position that the targets are beyond the reach of some providers because of workforce shortages | The Weekly Source, New care minute targets out of reach of aged care providers: ACCPA | 2026-09-09 |
| Compliance spread by remoteness in the quarter ending 2025-09-30 — 50 to 61 percent in metropolitan and large regional centres, about 68 percent in small rural towns, 74 to 75 percent in remote and very remote areas | Mirus Australia, Tracking Care Minutes: Sector Performance July–September 2025 | 2026-09-09 |
| The 24 hour registered nurse requirement from 2023-07-01, compliance of 86 percent of reporting homes at August 2023, 53 exemption applications, and 125 exempt homes removed from the denominator of that figure | The Weekly Source, 86% of aged care homes have a Registered Nurse on site 24/7 and exempt homes not counted | 2026-09-09 |
| Approved providers, services and operational places at 2025-06-30 — 707 providers, 2,590 services and 224,493 places | AIHW GEN Aged Care Data, Providers of aged care | 2026-09-09 |
| People in permanent or respite residential aged care at 2025-06-30 — 204,000 | AIHW GEN Aged Care Data, People using aged care | 2026-09-09 |
| The impact analysis prepared for linking care funding to care minutes delivery, which is the primary record of how the funding link was designed and why its scope was drawn as it was. Nothing in this document was read from it | Office of Impact Analysis, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Linking care funding to care minutes delivery in residential aged care | URL reachable 2026-09-09, content not read: automated retrieval returned the file as binary only |
| The government position on the mandatory care minute reforms, which is the only statement of its own case located in this round. Nothing in this document was read from it | Australian Government Department of Health, Disability and Ageing, Mandatory care minutes boost care levels for older people in Australia | URL not confirmed: automated requests timed out on three attempts |
| The official description of the care minute requirement and how it is measured, which is the primary statement of the targets themselves | Australian Government Department of Health, Disability and Ageing, Care minutes in residential aged care | URL not confirmed: automated requests timed out on two attempts |
| The regulator statement on action taken against homes that do not meet care minutes, which would give the dates and scope of the enforceable undertakings recorded above | Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission, Commission cracks down on aged care providers failing to meet care minutes | URL not confirmed: automated requests timed out on two attempts |
No primary government document was read in this round. The national aged care data collection opened directly and supplies the provider, service, place and resident totals. Everything about the targets, the funding link and the quarterly compliance figures reaches this document through trade and sector publications that were opened and are dated, and the four government and regulator documents that would carry the primary text were not read — three pages timed out on repeated requests and the impact analysis was reachable but returned only binary — so those rows are recorded with the reason rather than filled with a substitute link. Where a figure rests on a single opened article it is graded medium above rather than presented as settled, and the two compliance series published at different times are not spliced together, because no opened source states that they are computed the same way. The one number cited without a traceable origin, the registered nurse shortfall, is graded low and attributed to the body that cited it rather than treated as an official projection. Nothing here treats the fall recorded in the quarter ending 2026-03-31 as an effect of the funding link that commenced on 2026-04-01, because no opened source states which period a reduction is calculated from. This is a Path A output, so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.
This table holds 14 evidence rows, 11 of which carry a source you can open · 5 distinct sources. How this table is made
People affected
Estimated range Not derivable
The reason and what is missing are listed under “What is missing” below
What is missing 2
Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.
- SectionWhat is it connected to?
the aged care workforce pipeline and registered nurse supply, the residential funding model and how the base care tariff is set, the wider quality and safety regulatory framework and its use of sanctions, minimum staffing standards for residential aged care in other countries and what follows there from missing them, and the relationship between staffing levels and measured care outcomes. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.
Fills with research
- Derived valueThe affected population could not be derived
The compliance statistic counts homes and the population statistic counts residents, and no source opened here joins them. In the quarter ending 2026-03-31, 63.6 percent of homes met both care minute targets at once, so 36.4 percent fell short on at least one of the two; at 2025-06-30 there were 204,000 people in permanent or respite residential aged care. Those two figures cannot be multiplied. Homes differ greatly in size, so a shortfall concentrated in small homes and a shortfall concentrated in large ones produce the same share of homes while affecting very different numbers of people, and no opened source publishes a resident-weighted compliance rate or a count of residents living in homes below target.
A resident-weighted compliance rate, or a count of the residents living in homes that miss either target; the distribution of the shortfall, since a home a fraction below the line and a home far below it are recorded identically; and the number of non-specialist metropolitan homes reached by the funding link that commenced 2026-04-01, together with their resident numbers, which would size the group the consequence actually applies to.
Needs a new measurement
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
Comments
The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.
The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.
You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.
The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.
You must be signed in to comment.
You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.
This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.
No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.
You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.
Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
No comments yet.