Coordination failure · Australia
A provider excluded from one Australian care sector can register with the NDIS — a parliamentary committee reported on 2026-07-02 that no information-sharing arrangement between agencies prevents it
On 2026-05-01 an executive of the agency that runs the National Disability Insurance Scheme told a parliamentary hearing that of about 45 billion Australian dollars paid out in the financial year that ended 2025-06, about 8.3 percent, or about 3.7 billion dollars, was lost to wh…
- Resolution status
- not confirmed
- Checked
- 2026-09-12
- Evidence type
- SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
- Outlet
- abc-news-ndis-integrity
- Authoring mode
- Derived from press reports
- Views
- 0
What is happening?
On 2026-05-01 an executive of the agency that runs the National Disability Insurance Scheme told a parliamentary hearing that of about 45 billion Australian dollars paid out in the financial year that ended 2025-06, about 8.3 percent, or about 3.7 billion dollars, was lost to what the agency calls integrity leakage. The same evidence recorded two limits on that number: it covers deliberate fraud together with unintentional non-compliance, and the agency does not publish a figure for fraud alone.
The enforcement response is large and it is counted. A Fraud Fusion Taskforce established in 2022-11 joins 23 agencies, among them the scheme agency, the national services delivery agency, the NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission, the federal police and the criminal intelligence commission. As at 2026-05-01 it reported more than 600 active investigations, 15 matters before the courts, more than 2,500 providers removed from the scheme, and 77 search warrants in the most recent year against 30 across the four years from 2018 to 2021. As at 2026-07-02 the record had 17 people sentenced to a combined total of more than 60 years imprisonment.
The statute was strengthened in the same year. The National Disability Insurance Scheme Amendment (Integrity and Safeguarding) Act 2026 received assent on 2026-04-08. It set a civil penalty of up to 10,000 penalty units, about 3.3 million dollars, for a serious contravention; up to 2 years imprisonment or 120 penalty units, about 39,600 dollars, for providing services without registration; and up to 5 years imprisonment or 300 penalty units, about 99,000 dollars, for breaching a banning order. It also gave the Quality and Safeguards Commission advertising prohibition orders, banning orders reaching auditors and consultants, and faster powers to demand information.
Four months later the same Parliament said that was not enough in one specific respect. The Joint Standing Committee on the National Disability Insurance Scheme, which had the matter referred to it on 2026-03-25, reported on 2026-07-02 with 12 further recommendations. The central one is that no arrangement for sharing information between agencies stops a provider or a worker excluded from one care sector, aged care for example, from registering with the disability scheme. Alongside it the committee asked that kickbacks be made reportable, that conflicts of interest be managed, and that a worker registration scheme be created. The responsible minister said the recommendations would be considered seriously. Three opposition members of the committee said in a dissenting statement that the report understates the scale and the nature of the problem and leaves out provider registration and market control measures, and a Greens member said the response needed to be evidence-based, adequately resourced and directed at those who commit misconduct.
Whose problem is this?
| Role | Who |
|---|---|
| Affected | Participants of the scheme — 751,000 as at 2025-09-30 — who buy supports from providers whose exclusion history in another care sector is not visible at the point of registration · the public revenue, which funds the payments · providers and workers who comply, who compete against those excluded elsewhere |
| Raised by | The scheme agency itself, which put the leakage figure on the parliamentary record on 2026-05-01 · the Joint Standing Committee on the National Disability Insurance Scheme, which named the information-sharing gap on 2026-07-02 · dissenting committee members, who said the report understates the problem |
| Decides | The federal Parliament, on whether to legislate information sharing and a worker registration scheme · the responsible minister and the department, on whether to accept the 12 recommendations · the NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission, which registers providers and issues banning orders · the scheme agency, which pays claims · the regulators of the other care sectors, which hold the exclusion records that would have to travel |
| Bears the cost | Participants, whose scheme is the one being drawn on · the public revenue · the taskforce agencies, which fund detection and recovery out of the same appropriations either way |
The body that named the gap is a committee of the same Parliament that had legislated new integrity powers four months earlier. The exclusion records that the committee says should travel are held by regulators that answer for a different care sector, so no single body in this record both holds the records and needs them.
Where does this problem end?
| Axis | This is the problem | This is not the problem |
|---|---|---|
| What | The absence of an arrangement that carries an exclusion decision from one care sector to the registration of a provider in another, as named by the committee on 2026-07-02 | Whether the penalties raised by the 2026 Act are adequate — that amendment is law and is outside this frame |
| Whether privacy limits and natural justice for a person listed in an exclusion record should yield to cross-sector sharing. That balance is the value question sitting immediately beside this document and it is not decided here | ||
| Whether all providers should be required to register, and whether the market should be controlled more tightly. Dissenting committee members raised both; neither is settled here | ||
| Who | The agencies that hold exclusion records and the agency that registers and pays | Any individual provider, worker or company, none of which is examined here |
| Where | The federal scheme and the federal and state agencies in the taskforce | Cross-sector exclusion registers in other countries were not examined |
| When | 2022-11 taskforce through 2026-09-12, with the committee report of 2026-07-02 at the centre | The history of scheme integrity measures before the taskforce was established |
| Scale | Integrity leakage of about 8.3 percent of payments in the financial year to 2025-06, and 12 recommendations outstanding as at 2026-07-02 | Whether the scheme should be larger or smaller, and whether participant budgets should be reduced, are separate questions and are not ranked here |
The boundary here is not whether misconduct occurs but whether one regulator can see what another has already decided. A second boundary matters as much: money leaving the scheme and money being taken out of participant budgets are different events, and no source opened here connects them.
What is the state now, and what should it be?
Now
| Indicator | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Arrangement stopping a provider excluded in another care sector from registering | none, on the account of the committee report | 2026-07-02 |
| Committee recommendations outstanding | 12, including cross-sector information sharing, reportable kickbacks, conflict-of-interest management and a worker registration scheme | 2026-07-02 |
| Government response on the record | an undertaking to consider them seriously | 2026-07-02 |
| Integrity leakage as a share of payments | about 8.3 percent, about 3.7 billion dollars of about 45 billion dollars | financial year to 2025-06, stated 2026-05-01 |
| Figure for deliberate fraud alone | not published | 2026-05-01 |
| Amount recovered against that leakage | not stated in any source opened here | 2026-09-12 |
| Integrity and Safeguarding Act assent | 2026-04-08 | 2026-04-08 |
| Civil penalty for a serious contravention | up to 10,000 penalty units, about 3.3 million dollars | 2026-04-08 |
| Providing services without registration | up to 2 years imprisonment or 120 penalty units, about 39,600 dollars | 2026-04-08 |
| Breaching a banning order | up to 5 years imprisonment or 300 penalty units, about 99,000 dollars | 2026-04-08 |
| New commission powers | advertising prohibition orders · banning orders reaching auditors and consultants · faster information gathering | 2026-04-08 |
| Agencies in the taskforce | 23 | 2026-05-01 |
| Active investigations | more than 600 | 2026-05-01 |
| Matters before the courts | 15 | 2026-05-01 |
| Providers removed from the scheme | more than 2,500 | 2026-05-01 |
| Search warrants executed | 77 in the most recent year, against 30 across 2018 to 2021 | 2026-05-01 |
| People sentenced | 17, combined more than 60 years imprisonment | 2026-07-02 |
| Participants | 751,000, up 1.6 percent over the previous quarter | 2025-09-30 |
| Registered providers | not obtainable from any source opened here | 2026-09-12 |
| Providers or workers excluded in one sector who later registered in another | not counted in any source opened here | 2026-09-12 |
Needs a new measurementthe target state: no source opened here names a target. There is no published leakage rate the scheme is meant to reach, no date by which a cross-sector information-sharing arrangement is meant to exist, and no deadline for a response to the 12 recommendations. The committee described the mechanisms it says are missing and the Act describes the penalties that now apply, but every opened source is silent on when any of the missing mechanisms becomes binding.
How big is it?
The leakage is published in dollars and in a percentage, for one year only. About 3.7 billion dollars, or about 8.3 percent of about 45 billion dollars paid in the financial year that ended 2025-06, stated by an executive of the scheme agency on 2026-05-01. That figure mixes deliberate fraud with unintentional non-compliance and no opened source splits it. No opened source gives a series, so there is no earlier or later year here to read it against.
A second set of dollar figures appears in the reporting of 2026-07-02 — a scheme total of 56 billion dollars and 1.35 billion dollars already spent on the response to misconduct. That report states neither the financial year of the 56 billion nor the period covered by the 1.35 billion, so neither is joined to the 45 billion in this document.
The population side does not resolve. The scheme had 751,000 participants as at 2025-09-30, which is the size of the scheme rather than a count of the people standing behind the missing cross-sector check. Reaching that count would need the number of registered providers, the share of them that also operate in another care sector, and the number of participants served by those providers, and no opened source gives any of the three. The population estimate for this document is therefore recorded as not derivable rather than assembled from a division that no source performs.
The harm in this record is published in dollars and the scheme population is published in people, and no opened source joins the two.
One opened source, a commercial blog written for participants, reports a separate reform package passed in 2026-08 — reductions of up to 50 percent in community participation budgets from 2026-10, a new access test from 2028-01 assessing permanent impairment first, a projected fall in participants from 760,000 to 600,000, and 240,000 reassessments across 2028 to 2031. No official source opened here confirms those figures, and no opened source links them to the leakage figure in either direction.
Under what conditions does it arise?
1. The response is counted in actions taken after a matter has been identified. Investigations, removals, sentences and seizures are all measured and published. No source opened here publishes a count of registrations refused, or claims stopped, because of something already recorded about that provider in another care sector.
2. Exclusion decisions are made inside one sector and stay there. An exclusion recorded in one register does nothing in another register unless some rule obliges the second one to read the first. The committee reported on 2026-07-02 that between the care sectors no such arrangement exists.
3. The instrument strengthened in 2026-04 acts on parties already identified. Higher civil and criminal maxima, advertising prohibition orders and banning orders reaching auditors and consultants all raise what follows a finding. The committee reported four months after assent that 12 further measures were needed, and cross-sector information sharing was the first of them.
4. The scheme grows while the arrangement does not exist. Participants reached 751,000 as at 2025-09-30, up 1.6 percent in a single quarter, so the registration decisions that would have to consult another register are being made at a rising rate.
5. The quantity that would size the gap is not published by anyone. No opened source counts how many providers or workers excluded in one care sector later registered in another, which means the gap named by the committee has never been measured in the record available here.
What has been tried?
| Attempt | By whom | What was done | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fraud Fusion Taskforce | 23 agencies, among them the scheme agency, the national services delivery agency, the NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission, the federal police and the criminal intelligence commission | More than 600 active investigations, 15 matters before the courts, more than 2,500 providers removed from the scheme, and 77 search warrants in the most recent year against 30 across 2018 to 2021 | established 2022-11, figures as at 2026-05-01 |
| Criminal outcomes through the courts | The courts, on matters brought by the taskforce agencies | 17 people sentenced to a combined total of more than 60 years imprisonment | as at 2026-07-02 |
| Raising the penalties and widening the orders | The federal Parliament, in the National Disability Insurance Scheme Amendment (Integrity and Safeguarding) Act 2026 | Civil penalty up to 10,000 penalty units for a serious contravention, up to 2 years imprisonment for unregistered service provision, up to 5 years for breaching a banning order, plus advertising prohibition orders, banning orders reaching auditors and consultants, and faster information gathering. Cross-sector information sharing was not part of this amendment | assent 2026-04-08 |
| Parliamentary inquiry into the integrity of the scheme | Joint Standing Committee on the National Disability Insurance Scheme | 12 further recommendations, the first being an arrangement for sharing information between care sectors, with reportable kickbacks, conflict-of-interest management and a worker registration scheme alongside it. The government response on the record is an undertaking to consider them | referred 2026-03-25, reported 2026-07-02 |
| Case-by-case investigation and restraint of property | The Australian Federal Police with the scheme agency, and the crime and corruption commission of one state | Search warrants at five premises in Queensland, about 176,000 dollars in cash and precious metals seized together with one cryptocurrency wallet, and about 5.02 million dollars restrained separately by that state commission. No charges had been laid as at the date of the release, and nothing in this document anticipates any | investigation opened 2025-10, warrants 2026-04 |
| Funding the response | The federal government | 1.35 billion dollars reported as spent on the response to misconduct in the scheme, over a period the opened source does not state | reported 2026-07-02 |
Two directions have run at the same time. One raises what happens once a body has found misconduct, and the other, which the committee put first in 2026, asks that each body be able to see what another has already decided before a provider is registered at all.
What was found?
| Finding | Observed value | Evidence grade |
|---|---|---|
| Whether an arrangement stops a provider excluded in one care sector from registering with the scheme | none, on the committee account of 2026-07-02 | high — two opened sources carry the committee finding; the report itself was not opened |
| Number of committee recommendations | 12 | high — two opened sources agree |
| Government response as at 2026-07-02 | an undertaking to consider the recommendations seriously | medium — one opened regional report |
| Dissenting positions on the committee | three opposition members said the report understates the scale and nature of the problem and omits provider registration and market control; a Greens member called for an evidence-based, adequately resourced response directed at those who commit misconduct | medium — one opened regional report |
| Integrity leakage in the financial year to 2025-06 | about 8.3 percent of about 45 billion dollars, about 3.7 billion dollars | medium — one opened news report of oral evidence at a 2026-05-01 hearing; no transcript or agency publication was opened |
| Whether deliberate fraud is separated within that figure | no | medium — the same single source, in which the agency executive said the figure includes unintentional non-compliance |
| Amount recovered against that leakage | not stated | high for the absence — none of the seven opened sources carries a recovery figure |
| Assent date of the Integrity and Safeguarding Act | 2026-04-08 | medium — one opened law firm note; the Act text was not opened |
| Penalty maxima under that Act | 10,000 penalty units civil · 2 years for unregistered provision · 5 years for breaching a banning order | medium — the same single source |
| Taskforce composition and activity | 23 agencies, more than 600 active investigations, 15 matters before courts, more than 2,500 providers removed | medium — one opened news report |
| Search warrant counts | 77 in the most recent year against 30 across 2018 to 2021 | medium — the same single source |
| Sentences recorded | 17 people, combined more than 60 years imprisonment | medium — one opened news report |
| Seizure and restraint in one investigation | about 176,000 dollars seized and about 5.02 million dollars restrained separately, with no charges laid as at the release | high — the police media release was opened directly |
| Scheme total and spending on the response | 56 billion dollars and 1.35 billion dollars | low — one opened report, which states neither the financial year of the first nor the period of the second |
| Participants | 751,000 as at 2025-09-30, up 1.6 percent over the previous quarter | medium — one opened trade magazine reporting the quarterly figures of the agency; the quarterly report was not opened |
| Contents of the 2026-08 reform package | community participation budgets cut by up to 50 percent from 2026-10 · new access test from 2028-01 · participants projected to fall from 760,000 to 600,000 · 240,000 reassessments across 2028 to 2031 | low — one opened commercial blog; no official source opened here carries any of it |
Why is it still unsolved?
Coordination failure — the decision that would stop the registration has already been made, by a regulator that answers for a different care sector, and the committee reported on 2026-07-02 that no arrangement carries it across.
An exclusion is only as strong as the registers that can see it. The 2026 Act made the consequences of being caught heavier in every direction that a single regulator controls: the civil maximum, the criminal maximum, the reach of banning orders, the speed of information demands. None of those touches the case the committee put first, which is a party that has already been dealt with in one sector presenting itself to another. In that case the finding exists, the record exists, and on the account the committee gave on 2026-07-02 nothing obliges the second regulator to go and look.
The second part is that the two things this record measures are measured by different bodies and never multiplied together. The leakage figure comes from the agency that pays, on one year, mixing deliberate fraud with unintentional non-compliance. The exclusion counts come from the enforcement side, cumulative and undated in their coverage. Nobody publishes the number in between — how many of the parties excluded in one care sector turned up in another. A gap that nobody counts has no baseline, and without a baseline nothing can later be shown to have closed.
The third part is that the response produces a steady supply of visible activity. Investigations, warrants, removals and sentences all generate figures, and those figures grew: 77 search warrants in one year against 30 across four earlier years. Activity of that kind is evidence that the response is running, and it is not evidence about the registration door, because none of it is counted at that door. As at 2026-07-02 the committee had named the missing arrangement and the government had undertaken to consider it, and no source opened here records anything after that date.
What observation would mean it is solved?
Candidates — (a) an arrangement for sharing exclusion records between care sectors is in force, with named agencies, a stated effective date and a point in the registration process where it is consulted (b) integrity leakage falls as a share of payments across successive financial years on the same measurement basis (c) the number of providers and workers excluded in one care sector who later registered in another is published and falls.
(a) alone counts paper. An arrangement can be created with a scope narrower than the exclusions it needs to carry, or consulted at first registration and never again. The only account of it here is a recommendation, and as at 2026-07-02 the response on the record was an undertaking to consider it, which is not an effective date.
(b) alone cannot be read. The 8.3 percent figure exists for one year, mixes deliberate fraud with unintentional non-compliance, and comes from oral evidence rather than a published series. A fall could mean fewer wrong payments, or a change in what the category counts, and no opened source would let anyone tell those apart. It would also move with the 2026 penalties and the 2026-08 budget reductions at the same time, so it cannot be attributed to the arrangement in (a).
(c) is the observation that bears directly on the gap and it does not exist yet. No opened source publishes that count at any date, so the first version of it will be a baseline rather than a result. That is the reason it is worth more than the other two: it is the only one of the three measured at the point where the committee says the failure happens.
What is it connected to?
Fills with researchaged care regulation and its exclusion powers, child care and early education regulation, worker screening and clearance schemes, health practitioner registration, and cross-sector exclusion registers in other countries. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round, and no source opened here draws any of these connections.
What these sources do not say
- How much of the leakage was recovered. Every opened source counts what was spent on the response, how many investigations are running and how many parties were removed or sentenced. None gives an amount recovered against the 3.7 billion dollars, so the most consequential ratio in this record cannot be formed.
- How much of it was deliberate. The agency stated that the figure includes unintentional non-compliance and did not divide it. That is a stated absence rather than a search that failed.
- Whether 45 billion and 56 billion describe the same quantity. One source gives about 45 billion dollars paid in the financial year to 2025-06; another gives a scheme total of 56 billion dollars without naming a year or a basis. Neither acknowledges the other, and this document does not join them.
- Whether 751,000 and 760,000 describe the same quantity. The participant count of 751,000 as at 2025-09-30 comes from quarterly figures, and the 760,000 baseline appears only in a projection in a commercial blog. No opened source reconciles them or states that they rest on the same basis, so the later-looking number is not a later actual here.
- The number of registered providers. No opened source gives it. An official page that would carry it returned HTTP 403 to automated retrieval, so the figure is absent from this record rather than estimated from something else.
- How many excluded parties moved between care sectors. That count would size the gap the committee named, and no opened source gives it at any date.
- What the government decided about the 12 recommendations. No source opened here records a response beyond the undertaking to consider them, and no opened source is dated later than 2026-07-02 on this question.
- What an independent audit makes of the taskforce. A national audit office page for a performance audit of the effectiveness of the taskforce sits in this record and could not be opened, so no opened source carries its findings, its scope or its status.
- The wording of the 2026 Act. The statute itself was not opened. The assent date, the penalty maxima and the new commission powers all rest on one professional note that cites them.
- What period the 1.35 billion dollars covers. The report that gives the figure names no start date, no end date and no appropriation, so it cannot be placed against any single year of leakage.
- Anything about the outcome of the 2025-10 investigation. No charges had been laid as at the date of the police release, no opened source records any since, and no inference about it is drawn anywhere in this document.
See the evidence
| Item | Source | Confirmation |
|---|---|---|
| Integrity leakage of about 8.3 percent, about 3.7 billion dollars, of about 45 billion dollars paid in the financial year to 2025-06, stated by an executive of the scheme agency at a parliamentary hearing · the figure covers deliberate fraud together with unintentional non-compliance and no fraud-only figure is published · taskforce of 23 agencies with more than 600 active investigations, 15 matters before the courts, more than 2,500 providers removed and 77 search warrants in the most recent year against 30 across 2018 to 2021 | ABC News, report on evidence given to a parliamentary hearing about scheme funding lost to integrity leakage (2026-05-01) | 2026-09-12 |
| Committee report of 2026-07-02 with 12 recommendations, the first being that no arrangement for sharing information between agencies stops a provider or worker excluded from one care sector from registering with the disability scheme · reportable kickbacks, conflict-of-interest management and a worker registration scheme · 17 people sentenced to a combined total of more than 60 years imprisonment as at that date | ABC News, report on the handing down of the committee inquiry into scheme fraud (2026-07-02) | 2026-09-12 |
| Assent on 2026-04-08 · civil penalty up to 10,000 penalty units, about 3.3 million dollars, for a serious contravention · up to 2 years imprisonment or 120 penalty units, about 39,600 dollars, for providing services without registration · up to 5 years imprisonment or 300 penalty units, about 99,000 dollars, for breaching a banning order · advertising prohibition orders, banning orders reaching auditors and consultants, and faster information gathering | Mills Oakley, note on the enforcement framework created by the National Disability Insurance Scheme Amendment (Integrity and Safeguarding) Act 2026 | 2026-09-12 |
| Government response as an undertaking to consider the recommendations seriously · dissenting statement of three opposition members that the report understates the scale and nature of the problem and omits provider registration and market control measures · a Greens member calling for an evidence-based, adequately resourced response directed at those who commit misconduct · scheme total of 56 billion dollars and 1.35 billion dollars spent on the response, with neither year nor period stated | The Daily Advertiser, Australian Community Media, report on the committee call for tougher scheme fraud rules (2026-07-02) | 2026-09-12 |
| One investigation opened in 2025-10 leading to search warrants at five premises in Queensland in 2026-04, about 176,000 dollars in cash and precious metals seized together with one cryptocurrency wallet, and about 5.02 million dollars restrained separately by the crime and corruption commission of that state · no charges laid as at the date of the release | Australian Federal Police, media release on property seized during a scheme fraud investigation | 2026-09-12 |
| Reform package passed in 2026-08 — reductions of up to 50 percent in community participation budgets from 2026-10, a new access test from 2028-01 assessing permanent impairment first, a projected fall in participants from 760,000 to 600,000, and 240,000 reassessments across 2028 to 2031 | ICANReady, blog post on the reform bill passed in August 2026 and what follows for participants | 2026-09-12 |
| 751,000 participants as at 2025-09-30, up 1.6 percent over the previous quarter | Link Magazine, report on the quarterly access and participant figures of the scheme agency | 2026-09-12 |
| Text of the Act as made, for checking the penalty provisions against their statutory wording | AustLII, National Disability Insurance Scheme Amendment (Integrity and Safeguarding) Act 2026, No. 41 of 2026 | URL not confirmed: automated retrieval returned HTTP 403 |
| The inquiry page carrying the report of 2026-07-02, its terms of reference and the full text of the 12 recommendations | Parliament of Australia, Joint Standing Committee on the National Disability Insurance Scheme, inquiry into the integrity of the scheme | URL not confirmed: automated retrieval returned HTTP 403 |
| Performance audit of the effectiveness of the taskforce, whose findings, scope and status are carried nowhere in this document | Australian National Audit Office, performance audit page for the effectiveness of the Fraud Fusion Taskforce | URL not confirmed: automated retrieval timed out |
| Official account of the taskforce, its membership and the number of registered providers | National Disability Insurance Scheme, Fraud Fusion Taskforce page | URL not confirmed: automated retrieval returned HTTP 403 |
No primary statutory, committee or audit document was read in full. The only document opened directly from a body inside this record is the media release of the federal police, which is why the seizure and restraint figures carry a higher grade here than the leakage figure does. The statute, the committee report, the inquiry page and the national audit office page were each closed to automated retrieval, so the assent date, the penalty maxima and the 12 recommendations all rest on professional and news sources that cite them. Where two opened sources overlap they agree, and the finding that no arrangement for sharing information between agencies prevents registration after an exclusion elsewhere appears in both of the reports of 2026-07-02 opened here. Where the record does not join up it is left unjoined rather than reconciled — about 45 billion dollars of payments for the financial year to 2025-06 sits beside a scheme total of 56 billion dollars from a different source that states neither a year nor a basis, and 751,000 participants as at 2025-09-30 sits beside a projection baseline of 760,000 that no opened source reconciles with it. This is a Path A output, so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.
This table holds 11 evidence rows, 7 of which carry a source you can open · 6 distinct sources. How this table is made
People affected
Estimated range Not derivable
The reason and what is missing are listed under “What is missing” below
What is missing 3
Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.
- SectionWhat is it connected to?
aged care regulation and its exclusion powers, child care and early education regulation, worker screening and clearance schemes, health practitioner registration, and cross-sector exclusion registers in other countries. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round, and no source opened here draws any of these connections.
Fills with research
- SectionWhat is the state now, and what should it be?
the target state: no source opened here names a target. There is no published leakage rate the scheme is meant to reach, no date by which a cross-sector information-sharing arrangement is meant to exist, and no deadline for a response to the 12 recommendations. The committee described the mechanisms it says are missing and the Act describes the penalties that now apply, but every opened source is silent on when any of the missing mechanisms becomes binding.
Needs a new measurement - Derived valueThe affected population could not be derived
The people standing behind the missing check are the participants who buy supports from providers whose exclusion history in another care sector is invisible at the point of registration. Reaching that count needs three terms and no opened source supplies any of them: the number of registered providers, the share of those providers that also operate in another care sector, and the number of participants served by that share. The only headcount in the record is the scheme population of 751,000 participants as at 2025-09-30, which measures the size of the scheme rather than the size of the gap, and using it would mean asserting that every participant is exposed to the gap when no source opened here says so. The harm that is measured is measured in dollars instead, at about 3.7 billion dollars of about 45 billion dollars paid in the financial year to 2025-06, and no opened source converts any part of that into people.
A count of registered providers of the scheme at a stated date · the share of them holding registration or employment in another care sector such as aged care · a count of participants served by that share · or a count of providers and workers excluded in one care sector who later registered in another, which is the quantity the parliamentary committee named on 2026-07-02 and which no opened source publishes at any date. The enforcement counts available here, more than 2,500 providers removed and more than 600 active investigations, are activity counts on the response side and are not a count of affected people.
Needs a new measurement
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
Comments
The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.
The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.
You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.
The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.
You must be signed in to comment.
You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.
This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.
No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.
You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.
Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
No comments yet.