Supply shortage · Australia
Australia committed to 10 extra days of mandated fuel stockholding and about 1 billion litres of government-owned reserve by 2030 — the August 2026 consultation paper states there is little to no spare jet fuel storage capacity and limited spare diesel capacity, and the model it puts out for consultation leaves building and owning that storage outside government
Australia requires fuel importers and refiners to hold minimum stocks of petrol, diesel and jet fuel. The instrument is the Minimum Stockholding Obligation, created by the Fuel Security Act 2021 and operating since 2023, and it covers entities representing 100 percent of the pet…
- Resolution status
- not confirmed
- Checked
- 2026-09-21
- Evidence type
- SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
- Outlet
- dcceew-fuel-security-consultation
- Authoring mode
- Derived from press reports
- Views
- 1
What is happening?
Australia requires fuel importers and refiners to hold minimum stocks of petrol, diesel and jet fuel. The instrument is the Minimum Stockholding Obligation, created by the Fuel Security Act 2021 and operating since 2023, and it covers entities representing 100 percent of the petrol and jet fuel supplied domestically and 98 percent of the diesel.
In May 2026 the federal government announced two additions at once. The obligation is to rise by 10 days for all three fuels by 2030. Alongside it a government-owned stockpile, the Australian Fuel Security Reserve, is to hold about 1 billion litres by the end of 2030, with 3.2 billion dollars allocated in the 2026-27 budget.
Neither exists yet. The reserve is proposed to be established in legislation, and that legislation has not been made. The uplift has not been written into the obligation rules. In August 2026 the department published a consultation paper setting out how both would be designed; consultation closed 2026-09-15, and the paper states that decisions on the key policy questions are expected by the end of 2026.
The same paper states the constraint. It describes storage as the critical enabler of fuel security, and reports that extra stockholding cannot physically happen, or be deployed effectively, unless there is enough storage capacity in suitable locations. On what is available now it reports that recent stockholding data suggests there is currently sufficient capacity to support a 10-day uplift for petrol, and that there is little to no spare capacity for jet fuel storage and limited spare capacity for diesel storage. It further states that the reserve and the obligation uplift may compete for access to storage infrastructure, particularly for diesel and jet fuel, which could affect implementation timing and costs.
Under the model put out for consultation, government would not build, own or provide storage infrastructure. The department states it intends to provide support for co-investment in storage, and records that the quantum of that support and the criteria for accessing it remain design considerations rather than settled figures.
Whose problem is this?
| Role | Who |
|---|---|
| Affected | Users of liquid fuels across the economy. The paper states liquid fuels make up more than half of final energy consumption in Australia, about 2.5 times the share taken by electricity, and gives no base year for that comparison |
| Raised by | The department itself, in the consultation paper it published in August 2026, and the government in its May 2026 budget and announcement |
| Decides | The federal government and the department on the design · the Parliament on the legislation that would establish the reserve · the responsible minister, who holds the powers of temporary reduction and suspension under the Act |
| Bears the cost | Obligated importers and refiners, who must hold the additional stock and find tanks for it · the federal budget, 3.2 billion dollars for the reserve and 34.7 million dollars over four years for administration · whoever invests in new storage capacity, since the proposed model places that outside government |
The body that set the number of days is not the body that has to find the tanks, and the paper does not name who will build the capacity that both programmes need.
Where does this problem end?
| Axis | This is the problem | This is not the problem |
|---|---|---|
| What | The distance between two announced quantity commitments and the physical storage capacity available to hold them, and a design that is not yet settled | Whether Australia should meet the International Energy Agency measure of 90 days of net imports, and which yardstick is the right one for judging fuel security. That question is contested and this document does not choose between the positions |
| Policy support for keeping domestic refining, which the same paper treats as a separate axis | ||
| Who | Federal stockholding — obligated importers and refiners, and the proposed government reserve | State and territory stockpiles, which the paper mentions only as able to top up the federal reserve |
| Where | Australia, at the federal level | Fuel stockholding arrangements in other countries were not examined |
| When | The May 2026 announcement, the decisions expected by the end of 2026, and the fill schedule running to 2030 | The causes and the conduct of the 2026 oil market disruption are outside this frame |
| Scale | Days of cover, litres of stock, and litres of tank capacity | Fuel prices, excise relief, electrification and lower carbon liquid fuels are outside this frame |
The boundary matters because one document holds both the promise and the constraint. Nothing here disputes that more stock is wanted. What is unsettled is where the stock would physically sit and who would pay to build the place.
What is the state now, and what should it be?
Now
| Indicator | Value | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Legal basis for minimum stocks | Fuel Security Act 2021; obligation operating since 2023 | consultation paper, August 2026 |
| Coverage of the obligation | entities representing 100 percent of petrol and jet fuel supplied domestically and 98 percent of diesel, with no base date given | consultation paper, August 2026 |
| Target days now, refiner and importer | petrol 24 and 27 · jet fuel 24 and 27 · diesel 20 and 32 | table as printed in the August 2026 paper |
| Whether those days count consumption or imports | not defined anywhere in the paper | 2026-09-21 |
| Temporary reduction, as the paper records it | a footnote records a 20 percent reduction for petrol and diesel, for most eligible entities, running to 2026-09-30 | as read on 2026-09-21 |
| Temporary reduction, as the register records it | the instrument registered 2026-03-16 applies from 2026-03-16 to 2026-06-30 and is recorded as no longer in force | 2026-09-21 |
| Operating refineries | 2 | consultation paper, August 2026 |
| Storage labels in the paper diagram | diesel 4.9 GL and jet fuel 1.1 GL, with no statement of whether these are tank capacity or stock held | consultation paper, August 2026 |
| Government reserve in existence | none — proposed to be established in legislation | 2026-09-21 |
| Stock held in that reserve | none — fill proposed to begin 2027-07-01 | 2026-09-21 |
| Storage co-investment support | stated as an intention, with the amount and the access criteria not set | consultation paper, August 2026 |
| Consultation | closed 2026-09-15; key policy decisions expected by the end of 2026 | 2026-09-21 |
What it should be — taken only from the documents of the institutions that set it.
| Target | Source that sets it |
|---|---|
| The obligation rises by 10 days for petrol, diesel and jet fuel by 2030, the departmental preference being that the full uplift is in place for the 2029-30 financial year. Three staged paths are put to consultation | consultation paper |
| The reserve holds about 1 billion litres by the end of 2030, proposed as about 80 percent diesel at about 920 ML and about 20 percent jet fuel at 240 ML, each described as about 10 days at 2025 consumption levels, with fill beginning 2027-07-01 | consultation paper |
| Diesel and aviation fuel reserves reach 50 days. The unit is not defined in either document that states it, so this target cannot be compared with the day counts in the table above | budget page and the prime ministerial release, both May 2026 |
No source opened here states a target for the package expressed in the International Energy Agency unit of days of net imports, and none states how the obligation days and the reserve days add together. The target set above is therefore complete only in the units the government has chosen to use.
How big is it?
The sources opened for this document measure the problem in litres and in days of cover, and none of them turns either unit into a count of people.
The uplift. The paper estimates the additional stock at roughly 430 ML of petrol, 930 ML of diesel and 250 ML of jet fuel, calculated on calendar year 2025 import and refinery production volumes.
The reserve. About 1 billion litres by the end of 2030, proposed as about 920 ML of diesel and 240 ML of jet fuel, each described as about 10 days at 2025 consumption levels. The paper gives the two component volumes and the total and does not state the relationship between them.
The space they have to fit into. The paper carries a diagram labelled 4.9 GL for diesel storage and 1.1 GL for jet fuel storage. No sentence in the paper says whether those labels are tank capacity or stock currently held, so they cannot be subtracted from anything.
The exposure behind the litres is stated only as a share. The paper puts liquid fuels at more than half of final energy consumption in Australia, about 2.5 times the share taken by electricity, and does not break that down by sector, by region or by household.
Under what conditions does it arise?
1. The unit of the promise is not the unit of the constraint. An obligation is written as a number of days and discharged as litres in a tank in a particular place. Days can be added by a decision taken in a budget. Capacity is built over years and by whoever decides to build it.
2. Two programmes draw on the same capacity. The uplift falls on obligated importers and refiners. The reserve is owned by government. The paper states that the two may compete for access to storage infrastructure, particularly for diesel and jet fuel.
3. The scarcity is uneven and the uplift is not. The paper reports sufficient capacity for a 10-day petrol uplift, little to no spare capacity for jet fuel and limited spare capacity for diesel. The same 10 days applies to all three fuels.
4. Most of the obligation sits with importers, whose targets are already the higher ones. Two refineries are operating. In the current table the importer target exceeds the refiner target for every fuel, and for diesel it is 32 days against 20.
5. The obligation can be dialled down when supply is tight. The Act carries ministerial powers of temporary reduction and suspension, and a reduction of up to 20 percent limited to petrol and diesel was made by instrument during the 2026 oil market disruption. The register records that instrument as applying to 2026-06-30 and as no longer in force; the consultation paper footnote records a reduction running to 2026-09-30. The two accounts do not agree and the instrument that would bridge them was not among the documents opened.
What has been tried?
| Attempt | By whom | What was done | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Statutory basis | The federal parliament | The Fuel Security Act 2021, Act No. 65 of 2021, created the Minimum Stockholding Obligation alongside a refining production payment. The obligation began operating in 2023 | 2021, operating from 2023 |
| Raising the importer target for diesel | The federal government | One opened news report describes the importer diesel target rising from 20 to 32 days. The current table shows importers at 32 and refiners at 20 | 2024 |
| Temporary reduction of the obligation | The responsible minister, by instrument | A reduction of up to 20 percent, limited to petrol and diesel and requiring a suitable written plan. Registered 2026-03-16, applying to 2026-06-30, now recorded as no longer in force. The consultation paper footnote records a reduction running to 2026-09-30 for most eligible entities | 2026 |
| Short-term supply measures during the disruption | The federal government | The budget page records more than 1 billion litres secured between March and June 2026 through obligation relief, additional freight guarantees and fuel specification adjustments | 2026-03 to 2026-06 |
| Budget package | The federal government | 3.2 billion dollars allocated to the reserve, a 10-day uplift announced for all three fuels, and 34.7 million dollars over four years for administration. Both the budget page and the prime ministerial release state a 50-day figure without defining the unit | 2026-05 |
| Design consultation | The department | Consultation paper published 2026-08-18 covering the reserve, the uplift, three staged paths and the emergency release arrangements. Consultation closed 2026-09-15 | 2026-08 to 2026-09 |
Each step so far has moved either the number of days or the money attached to it. The storage that those days have to sit in is the subject of support the department says it intends to provide, and that support has neither an amount nor criteria for access.
What was found?
| Finding | Observed value | Evidence grade |
|---|---|---|
| The legal instrument for minimum domestic fuel reserves | the Minimum Stockholding Obligation under the Fuel Security Act 2021, operating since 2023 | high — all 24 pages of the consultation paper were read directly |
| Current target days, refiner and importer | petrol 24 and 27, jet fuel 24 and 27, diesel 20 and 32 | high |
| Committed uplift | an additional 10 days for petrol, diesel and jet fuel by 2030 | high |
| Preferred sequencing | the full 10-day uplift in place for the 2029-30 financial year, with three staged paths put to consultation | high |
| Volume the uplift implies | about 430 ML petrol, about 930 ML diesel, about 250 ML jet fuel, on calendar year 2025 import and refinery production | high |
| Reserve size, split and schedule | about 1 billion litres by the end of 2030, fill from 2027-07-01, about 80 percent diesel at about 920 ML and about 20 percent jet fuel at 240 ML, each about 10 days at 2025 consumption | high |
| Spare storage capacity | sufficient for a 10-day petrol uplift, little to no spare for jet fuel, limited spare for diesel | high for the statement — the recent stockholding data the department attributes it to is not reproduced in the paper |
| Competition between the two programmes | the paper states they may compete for storage access, particularly diesel and jet fuel, which could affect implementation timing and costs | high |
| Who builds and owns the storage | under the model put out for consultation, government would not build, own or provide storage infrastructure | high |
| Storage co-investment support | an intention, with the quantum and the access criteria named as design considerations still to be settled | high |
| Legal status of the reserve | proposed to be established in legislation; not established as at 2026-09-21 | high |
| Decision timing | consultation closed 2026-09-15, key policy decisions expected by the end of 2026 | high |
| Operating refineries | 2 | high |
| Basis of the day counts in the obligation table | not stated in the paper; the reserve volumes are described on a consumption basis | high for the absence — every page was read |
| Storage diagram labels | diesel 4.9 GL, jet fuel 1.1 GL | medium — the labels were read, the paper does not say whether they are capacity or stock |
| The 50-day figure | stated in the budget page and in the prime ministerial release of 2026-05-06, unit undefined in both | medium — the budget page was read in full, the prime ministerial release only as excerpts supplied by the retrieval tool |
| Status of the temporary reduction | the March 2026 instrument applies to 2026-06-30 and is recorded as no longer in force; the paper footnote records a reduction to 2026-09-30 | medium — register entry and paper footnote do not agree, and the extending instrument was not among the documents opened |
| Whether Australia meets the International Energy Agency measure of 90 days of net imports | one opened news report states that the obligation has not been met since 2012, and does not state the source of the stock figures it prints alongside; a 2020 commentary from a policy institute argues that counting stock on water, which the agency measure excludes, gives an average of 86 days for 2019 | low — no determination by a public body was opened here, and the two accounts use different counting bases |
Why is it still unsolved?
Supply shortage — the binding constraint is not the number of days but the tanks those days have to sit in, and the department states that for jet fuel there is little to no spare capacity and for diesel only limited spare capacity.
A stockholding obligation is written as a number of days. The thing that discharges it is a tank in a particular place, plumbed into a particular terminal. Days can be added by a decision taken in a budget, and capacity is built over years by someone who has decided to build it. The paper states this directly: additional stockholding cannot be physically achieved or effectively deployed without sufficient storage capacity in the right locations.
Two programmes now draw on that same capacity. One raises the obligation on importers and refiners by 10 days for every fuel. The other places about 1 billion litres of government-owned stock into storage that government proposes not to own. The paper states the two may compete for access, particularly for diesel and jet fuel — which is exactly where it reports spare capacity as limited or absent. The scarcity is uneven across the three fuels and the uplift is not: the same 10 days applies to the fuel with sufficient capacity and to the fuel with little to none.
The design questions enter after that, as reasons the shortage persists rather than as the shortage itself. The model put to consultation leaves building and owning storage outside government, and the support the department says it intends to provide for co-investment has no stated amount and no stated criteria. So the timing of the uplift rests on investment decisions by the parties that would have to take them, and the paper itself records that the competition for storage could affect implementation timing and costs.
Nothing is settled yet. Consultation closed in September 2026, the reserve has no statute, the uplift has no rule, and the paper says the key decisions are expected by the end of the year. Until they are taken, the quantity commitments stand as figures with a date attached, and the capacity to hold them stands as an open question raised in the same document that made the commitments.
What observation would mean it is solved?
Candidates — (a) the rules that set the obligation are amended so the target days rise by 10 for all three fuels, and reported holdings meet the raised targets (b) the reserve is established in legislation and holds about 1 billion litres (c) storage capacity in service for diesel and jet fuel rises at the locations where the stock has to sit.
(a) alone counts a rule. A target day count can be raised in an instrument without a litre moving, and the same Act carries powers of temporary reduction and suspension that were used in 2026. An obligation that can be lowered by instrument is a different observation from stock standing in a tank.
(b) alone counts litres but not availability. The paper proposes that a reduction or suspension of the obligation would be considered before a general emergency release of reserve stock. Reaching the litre target therefore does not by itself say which stock would be drawn on first, or how quickly either could move.
(c) alone counts tanks. Capacity is not stock, and a terminal able to hold the litres is a precondition for the other two observations rather than a substitute for either.
All three share a unit problem. The opened sources do not state whether the obligation days count consumption or imports, the reserve volumes are described on a consumption basis, and the 50-day figure in the May 2026 announcements is defined against nothing at all. Until that basis is published, an observation reported in days cannot be compared across the documents that use the word.
What is it connected to?
Fills with researchpolicy support for keeping domestic refining, which the same paper treats as a separate axis · port and terminal investment · state and territory stockpiles, which the paper mentions only as able to top up the federal reserve · the International Energy Agency measurement question, excluded above as a contested value question · aviation and freight exposure to a jet fuel or diesel shortfall. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.
What these sources do not say
- What the day counts are measured against. The table of target days does not state whether a day is a day of consumption or a day of imports. The reserve volumes are described on a consumption basis. Nothing opened here reconciles the two, so the obligation figures and the reserve figures cannot be added.
- What the 50 days is. The budget page and the prime ministerial release both print a figure of 50 days for diesel and aviation fuel. Neither defines the unit, and neither states how the obligation and the reserve combine to produce it.
- How the reserve volumes relate to the reserve total. The paper gives about 920 ML of diesel and 240 ML of jet fuel, and separately gives a total of about 1 billion litres. It does not state the relationship between the components and the total.
- The data behind the capacity judgment. The finding that jet fuel has little to no spare storage capacity and diesel limited spare capacity is attributed in the paper to recent stockholding data. That data is not reproduced anywhere in the paper.
- What the diagram labels mean. The figures of 4.9 GL for diesel storage and 1.1 GL for jet fuel storage appear as labels on a diagram. No sentence says whether they are tank capacity or stock held, which is the difference between a headroom figure and an inventory figure.
- How large the co-investment support will be and who can access it. The paper states that the quantum and the criteria are important design considerations. It gives neither.
- Whether the package restores the treaty measure. The paper mentions the International Energy Agency once, in the context of supporting coordinated international action through a release. No opened government document states a projected day count under the treaty measure, a target for it, or a date for returning to it.
- The operative text of the Act. The register listing and the obligation rules were reached at the level of contents and compilation dates. The provision setting the target number of days did not load on any page opened here, and neither did the explanatory memorandum to the bill.
- What extended the temporary reduction. The instrument opened here applies to 2026-06-30 and is recorded as no longer in force, while the paper footnote records a reduction running to 2026-09-30. No opened document carries the instrument that bridges those dates.
- Whether the government accepts the account of non-compliance with the treaty measure. The four government documents opened here carry no statement of the government position on it. The departmental pages that would be the natural place for one did not respond.
- How many people this reaches. Every opened source measures the problem in litres, in days and in dollars. None gives a count of people, a sectoral breakdown or a regional one.
- What the consultation produced. Consultation closed 2026-09-15. Nothing opened here says whether submissions will be published, or what industry and the state governments asked for.
See the evidence
| Item | Source | Confirmation |
|---|---|---|
| Legal basis and coverage of the obligation · current target days for refiners and importers · the 10-day uplift and its preferred sequencing · the three staged paths · the volumes the uplift implies · reserve size, split, fill date and 2030 target · the storage capacity statements for petrol, jet fuel and diesel · the competition between the two programmes · the proposed ownership model · the co-investment intention · the storage diagram labels · the count of operating refineries · the footnote on the temporary reduction · the emergency release ordering · the end of 2026 decision point | Australian Government, Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water — Strengthening Australia's Fuel Security and Resilience: Consultation Paper, 24 pages. Used under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence the document declares, with the attribution it specifies to DCCEEW 2026 | 2026-09-21 — cover, contents and every page read directly. The paper carries no publication date of its own |
| Publication date 2026-08-18, closing date 2026-09-15, and the closing stage still shown as pending | Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water — consultation hub | 2026-09-21 — full text reproduced and compared string by string |
| The 3.2 billion dollar allocation to the reserve · 34.7 million dollars over four years for administration · the 50-day figure for diesel and aviation fuel · more than 1 billion litres secured between March and June 2026 through obligation relief, freight guarantees and fuel specification adjustments | Budget 2026-27 — Fuel supply and security | 2026-09-21 — full text read |
| The announcement of at least 50 days of fuel supply and storage of diesel and aviation fuel, dated 2026-05-06 | Prime Minister of Australia — Government securing more fuel reserves: the Australian Fuel Security and Resilience package | 2026-09-21 — excerpts supplied by the retrieval tool; the full text was not read, which is why the 50-day finding is graded medium |
| That the Fuel Security Act 2021 is Act No. 65 of 2021, that it contains provisions on the target number of days, temporary reduction by the minister and suspension by the minister, and that the latest compilation is dated 2025-12-05 | Federal Register of Legislation — Fuel Security Act 2021 | 2026-09-21 — contents and compilation date only; the provision text did not load |
| That the temporary reduction instrument was registered 2026-03-16, applies from 2026-03-16 to 2026-06-30, and is recorded as no longer in force | Federal Register of Legislation — Fuel Security (Temporary Reduction—Securing Regional Supply) Instrument 2026 | 2026-09-21 — register metadata only; the provision text did not load |
| The rules that carry the day calculations for the obligation | Federal Register of Legislation — Fuel Security (Minimum Stockholding Obligation) Rules 2022 | 2026-09-21 — compilation and contents only; the calculation provisions did not load |
| The report that Australia agreed as an International Energy Agency member to hold 90 days of net oil imports and has not met that obligation since 2012 · stock figures of 37, 30 and 29 days of consumption for petrol, diesel and jet fuel · the note that the consumption measure differs from the treaty measure · the 2024 rise in the importer diesel target from 20 to 32 days · the statement by the responsible minister early in the 2026 disruption that stockholding obligations are high and that fuel continues to arrive | SBS News — The 90-day question looming over Australia's fuel price pain, 2026-03-18 | 2026-09-21 — read as excerpts. The report does not state the source of the stock figures it prints |
| That the 2026 temporary reduction is limited to diesel and petrol and excludes kerosene, that the reduction is capped at 20 percent, that a suitable written plan is required, and the wording of the ministerial temporary reduction power | HWL Ebsworth Lawyers — Fuel security: legal implications of the MSO framework under current global energy supply disruption, 2026-04-10 | 2026-09-21 |
| An earlier account of the treaty measure — 58 days as at June 2019, the lowest among the 30 members at the time, and consumption-basis cover averaging 17 to 20 days over the preceding decade | AAP FactCheck — Oil claim accurate but questions remain, 2019-09-19 | 2026-09-21 — the figures are from 2019 and are carried here only as the earlier state of a contested measure |
| The opposing position on the treaty measure — that counting stock on water, which the agency measure excludes, gives an average of 86 days for 2019 | Lowy Institute, The Interpreter — Australia has an IEA problem, not a fuel security problem, 2020-02-26 | 2026-09-21 — an opinion contribution, carried only as the position on the other side |
| An independent account of the package after the 2026 budget | Parliamentary Library, FlagPost — Australia's liquid fuel security: Budget update, June 2026 | URL not confirmed: automated retrieval returned HTTP 403 |
| The background holdings position before the 2026 package | Parliamentary Library — Liquid fuel security: a quick guide, May 2020 update | URL not confirmed: automated retrieval returned HTTP 403 |
| The government position on the 90-day treaty measure | Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water — Agreement on an International Energy Program treaty | URL not confirmed: the page timed out on two automated attempts |
| The current day counts for liquid fuel stocks and the basis they are measured on | Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water — Measures of liquid fuel stocks | URL not confirmed: the page timed out on four automated attempts |
| The current obligation settings stated outside the consultation paper | Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water — Minimum Stockholding Obligation | URL not confirmed: the page timed out |
| The consolidated text of the provision that sets the target number of days | AustLII — Fuel Security Act 2021 | URL not confirmed: automated retrieval returned HTTP 403 |
| The intended relationship between the obligation and the emergency reserve commitment under the treaty | AustLII — Fuel Security Bill 2021 Explanatory Memorandum | URL not confirmed: automated retrieval returned HTTP 403 |
| The agency account of emergency oil stock obligations and of member compliance | International Energy Agency — Oil security and emergency response | URL not confirmed: automated retrieval returned HTTP 403 |
| The official statistics series carrying current stock levels and the day counts derived from them | energy.gov.au — Australian Petroleum Statistics | URL not confirmed: the page timed out |
| The portfolio account of the package announcement | Minister for Climate Change and Energy — Joint media release: Strengthening Australia's fuel resilience | URL not confirmed: the page timed out |
One primary government document was read end to end. The consultation paper is the source of every quantity in this dossier except the budget allocations and the 50-day figure, and it was opened directly rather than through a summarising tool, which is why the design findings are graded high. The budget page and the consultation hub were reproduced in full and compared; the prime ministerial release was seen only as excerpts, and the 50-day finding is graded accordingly. The Act, the obligation rules and the temporary reduction instrument were reached at the level of register metadata, so no statutory wording is asserted here from a primary text. Where the sources disagree the disagreement is left visible rather than resolved — the register records the temporary reduction as applying to 2026-06-30 and no longer in force while the consultation paper footnote records one running to 2026-09-30, and the account of compliance with the treaty measure is a news report on one side and a policy institute commentary on the other, with no determination by a public body opened here to settle it. Ten addresses that would have carried the government position on the treaty measure, the operative text of the obligation provision, or the current stock statistics did not return a page, and they are listed above with the reason rather than dropped. This is a Path A output, a research-based definition, so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.
This table holds 21 evidence rows, 11 of which carry a source you can open · 9 distinct sources. How this table is made
People affected
Estimated range Not derivable
The reason and what is missing are listed under “What is missing” below
What is missing 2
Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.
- SectionWhat is it connected to?
policy support for keeping domestic refining, which the same paper treats as a separate axis · port and terminal investment · state and territory stockpiles, which the paper mentions only as able to top up the federal reserve · the International Energy Agency measurement question, excluded above as a contested value question · aviation and freight exposure to a jet fuel or diesel shortfall. Relation type and evidence grade were not confirmed in this round.
Fills with research
- Derived valueThe affected population could not be derived
Every source opened for this dossier measures the problem in litres of fuel, in days of cover and in dollars. None of them carries a term that maps a stockholding obligation or a government reserve onto a count of persons. The consultation paper states only that liquid fuels make up more than half of final energy consumption in Australia, about 2.5 times the share taken by electricity, and it gives no base year, no sectoral split and no household figure, so that share cannot open a chain either.
A published count of persons dependent on the diesel and jet fuel covered by the obligation; or an official estimate of how many persons a shortfall of a stated number of days would reach; or a sectoral and regional breakdown of liquid fuel consumption that could be joined to population data. None of the three was present in the opened sources.
Needs a new measurement
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
Comments
The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.
The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.
You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.
The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.
You must be signed in to comment.
You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.
This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.
No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.
You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.
Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
No comments yet.