Coordination failure · Australia
Coercive control became a stand-alone offence in New South Wales in July 2024 and Queensland in May 2025, each on its own timetable, and in NSW 682 reports led to 42 proceedings, of which 10 were finalised and four ended in a finding of guilt by 2026-06-30
Coercive control is a pattern of controlling, threatening and isolating behaviour inside a relationship that need not involve physical violence. Australia has eight states and territories, each with its own criminal law, and each is deciding on its own whether and when to make t…
- Resolution status
- not confirmed
- Checked
- 2026-10-04
- Evidence type
- SecondaryPress reports and institutional documents
- Outlet
- nsw-bocsar-coercive-control-monitoring
- Authoring mode
- Derived from press reports
- Views
- 3
What is happening?
Coercive control is a pattern of controlling, threatening and isolating behaviour inside a relationship that need not involve physical violence. Australia has eight states and territories, each with its own criminal law, and each is deciding on its own whether and when to make that pattern a stand-alone criminal offence.
New South Wales was first. Its offence commenced on 2024-07-01. Queensland followed with section 334C of its Criminal Code, in force from 2025-05-26, carrying a maximum of 14 years and covering current and former intimate partners, family members and unpaid carers.
Everywhere else the offence is either enacted but not yet in force, still a bill, or not proposed as a stand-alone crime at all. South Australia passed its Act on 2025-09-04, with assent on 2025-09-11 and commencement reported as expected in 2027. Victoria received assent for its Act on 2026-09-22, and its official bill page carries no commencement date. The Australian Capital Territory tabled a bill on 2026-05-28. Western Australia, the Northern Territory and Tasmania have widened civil family violence definitions or are amending existing laws, without a stand-alone offence in force.
The first state to measure its own offence shows how slowly the new law moves through courts. In the two years to 2026-06-30, NSW police recorded 682 coercive control reports, 42 proceedings were commenced, and 10 had been finalised by the courts — six withdrawn and four ended in a finding of guilt. The other 32 proceedings were still open on that date.
Whose problem is this?
| Role | Who |
|---|---|
| Affected | People subjected to coercive control by a partner or family member · in NSW, 95 percent of victims in recorded incidents to 2026-06-30 were women |
| Raised by | State and territory governments that legislated · family violence services and advisory bodies consulted on each bill · the NSW Domestic Violence Death Review Team, whose finding the NSW government cites |
| Decides | Each state and territory parliament and government, separately — on whether to create the offence, whom it covers, its maximum penalty and when it commences |
| Bears the cost | People in jurisdictions where no stand-alone offence is in force · police and courts that must apply different definitions on either side of a state border |
Whether a person can report this pattern as a crime of its own depends on which side of a state or territory border they live on, and on which month they ask.
Where does this problem end?
| Axis | This is the problem | This is not the problem |
|---|---|---|
| What | Whether a stand-alone criminal offence of coercive control exists and is in force, its commencement date, whom it covers, its maximum penalty, and the reported-to-finalised record where one exists | Whether criminalising coercive control is the right policy at all |
| The national arrangement that leaves the decision to each jurisdiction | The overall effectiveness of civil protection order systems | |
| Who | People in the eight Australian states and territories | Family violence trends and inquiry recommendations in general, covered by the separate dossier on recommendation implementation |
| Where | Australia | Coercive control laws in other countries were not examined |
| When | 2024-07-01, the first commencement, through 2026-10-04 | Earlier law reform debates are mentioned only where they explain a current position |
| Scale | Resident population by jurisdiction as of 2025-09-30 · NSW and Queensland enforcement counts | Prevalence of coercive control itself, which no opened source measures |
Excluded by name — the value question next to this one. Whether a stand-alone offence helps or harms is contested. Concerns about wrongful prosecution of victims and about uneven effects on minority communities are part of the record, and this document reports them as positions taken by specific bodies without deciding between them.
What this dossier examines is narrower than that debate and does not depend on how it ends: whether the same conduct is a crime in one state and not in the next.
What is the state now, and what should it be?
Now
| Jurisdiction | Stand-alone offence | Key date | Maximum penalty | Covers | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New South Wales | in force | commenced 2024-07-01 | not stated in opened sources | not stated in opened sources | 2026-10-04 |
| Queensland | in force | commenced 2025-05-26, section 334C | 14 years | current and former intimate partners, family members, unpaid carers | 2026-10-04 |
| South Australia | enacted, not in force | passed 2025-09-04, assent 2025-09-11, commencement reported as expected in 2027 | 7 years | current and former partners | 2025-10 |
| Victoria | enacted, commencement date not shown | assent 2026-09-22, Act 41 of 2026 | 10 years | intimate partners | 2026-10-04 |
| Australian Capital Territory | bill | tabled 2026-05-28 · the government said commencement would take two years or more after tabling · passage not confirmed | 7 years proposed | not stated in opened sources | 2026-10-04 |
| Western Australia | none | staged approach announced 2023-11 · civil restraining order definition amended to reflect the patterned nature of coercive control · no date for a stand-alone offence | none | none | 2023-11 announcement |
| Northern Territory | none, by design | coercive control defined in the civil domestic violence law · stand-alone offence deliberately left out | none | none | 2023-10 |
| Tasmania | none | existing Family Violence Act 2004 offences of economic and emotional abuse · amendments announced in 2026 to capture patterns better | none | none | 2026-10-02 |
Two of eight jurisdictions have the offence in force, and they differ on whom it covers. Where enacted laws state a maximum penalty, the figures run from 7 to 14 years.
Needs a new measurementthe target state: no opened source sets a national target for whether, when or in what common form the offence should exist across Australia. Secondary summaries report that the national principles issued by the Commonwealth Attorney-General in 2023 left criminalisation to each jurisdiction, but that document could not be opened, so its wording is not used here as a target.
How big is it?
Between about 3.9 million and 13.4 million residents lived, as of 2025-09-30, in a state or territory where no stand-alone coercive control offence was in force on 2026-10-04.
The low end counts Western Australia, the Northern Territory and Tasmania, where no stand-alone offence has been enacted or proposed as such: 3,903,900 people. The high end adds Victoria, South Australia and the Australian Capital Territory, where the offence is enacted or proposed but not in force: a further 9,498,700. New South Wales and Queensland together held 14,317,100 of the 27,724,744 national total, about 51.6 percent by the arithmetic of this document.
These are residents, not victims. The figure says how many people live outside the reach of an in-force offence, not how many of them experience coercive control. No opened source measures how common coercive control is across Australia, so the number of people harmed by the gap cannot be derived.
Under what conditions does it arise?
1. Criminal law belongs to each state and territory. Each parliament writes its own offence, chooses its own scope and penalty, and sets its own start date, so a single pattern of conduct is treated eight different ways at once.
2. Enactment and commencement are separate steps. South Australia and Victoria have passed laws that are not yet operating, because commencement waits on preparation with police, courts and prosecutors. The ACT government said at tabling that its own timeline would run two years or more.
3. Jurisdictions chose different instruments on purpose. The Northern Territory placed coercive control in its civil domestic violence law and left out a criminal offence, a design that advisory bodies supported. Western Australia described a staged approach starting with civil definitions. Tasmania is extending offences it already has. These are stated choices, not omissions.
4. The conversion record is short and comes from two states only. A finalised case takes time to reach court, so the first two years of data mostly show proceedings still underway rather than outcomes.
What has been tried?
| Attempt | By whom | What was done | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Crimes Legislation Amendment (Coercive Control) Act 2022 | NSW government and parliament | Enacted 2022, commenced 2024-07-01 · 682 reports, 42 proceedings, 10 finalised in the first two years | 2022–2026 |
| Criminal Law (Coercive Control and Affirmative Consent) and Other Legislation Amendment Act 2024 | Queensland government and parliament | Section 334C in force 2025-05-26, maximum 14 years · 149 reports and 53 charges in the first five months | 2024–2025 |
| National principles to address coercive control | Commonwealth Attorney-General with the states and territories | Reported by secondary summaries to leave criminalisation and its form to each jurisdiction · document not opened | 2023-09-22 |
| Family Violence Legislation Reform Bill 2024, amending the Restraining Orders Act 1997 | WA government | Civil definition of family violence amended to reflect the patterned nature of coercive control · no date for a stand-alone offence | 2023-11 announcement, 2024 amendment |
| Royal Commission into Family Violence final report | Victorian Royal Commission | Reported by secondary summaries to have recommended against a new stand-alone offence in 2016, citing concern about wrongful prosecution, and to have favoured better enforcement of existing law · report not opened | 2016-03 |
| Justice Legislation Amendment (Family Violence, Coercive Control, Good Character, Risk Assessment and Other Matters) Act 2026 | Victorian government and parliament | Bill introduced 2026-08-11, assent 2026-09-22 · new offence with a 10 year maximum · no commencement date on the official bill page | 2026 |
| Criminal Law Consolidation (Coercive Control) Amendment Act 2025 | SA government and parliament | Passed 2025-09-04, assent 2025-09-11 · maximum 7 years · commencement reported as expected in 2027 after consultation with police, courts and prosecutors | 2025–2027 |
| Crimes (Coercive Control) Amendment Bill 2026 | ACT government and Legislative Assembly | Tabled 2026-05-28 with a proposed 7 year maximum · committee inquiry with a hearing reported for 2026-08-20 | 2026 |
| Justice Legislation Amendment (Domestic and Family Violence) Act 2023 | NT government and parliament | Coercive control defined in the civil domestic violence law · stand-alone offence deliberately excluded, with advisory bodies in support | 2023-10 introduction |
| Strengthening Our Responses to Family Violence consultation and amendments | Tasmanian government | Consultation closed 2026-04 · amendments announced in May and August 2026 to capture patterns of behaviour better under the existing Act · no stand-alone offence | 2026 |
Victoria is the clearest case of a position changing over time: secondary summaries report a recommendation against a stand-alone offence in 2016, and an Act creating one received assent ten years later.
What was found?
| Finding | Observed value | Evidence grade |
|---|---|---|
| NSW stand-alone offence commencement | 2024-07-01 | high — NSW government page |
| Queensland stand-alone offence commencement, section and maximum | 2025-05-26 · section 334C · 14 years | high — Queensland government page |
| NSW reports, proceedings and finalised outcomes, 2024-07-01 to 2026-06-30 | 682 reports · 42 proceedings · 10 finalised, six withdrawn and four ended in a finding of guilt | high — NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research monitoring report |
| NSW share of recorded victims who were women | 95 percent · female victim with male offender in 93 percent | high — same monitoring report |
| Victorian Act assent date | 2026-09-22 · Act 41 of 2026 · no commencement date on the bill page | high — Victorian legislation database |
| Victorian maximum penalty and scope | 10 years · intimate partners | medium — media release from a member of parliament |
| Queensland first five months | 149 reports · 53 charges | medium — public broadcaster report |
| SA passage, assent, maximum and expected commencement | 2025-09-04 · 2025-09-11 · 7 years · 2027 | medium — support service summary citing the SA Attorney-General |
| ACT bill, maximum and stated timeline | tabled 2026-05-28 · 7 years proposed · two years or more to commencement | medium — public broadcaster report |
| WA staged approach and absence of a commencement date | no stand-alone offence date announced | medium — WA government announcement dated 2023-11, no newer opened source |
| NT design excluding a stand-alone offence | civil definition only | medium — public broadcaster report, 2023-10 |
| Tasmania without a stand-alone offence | amendments to existing Act in 2026 | medium — public broadcaster report, 2026-10-02 |
| Share of intimate partner domestic violence homicides preceded by coercive and controlling behaviour | 97 percent | medium — NSW government page citing the Death Review Team, whose own report was not opened |
| Resident populations by jurisdiction | as listed in the population chain | high — ABS, as of 2025-09-30 |
| National principles leaving criminalisation to each jurisdiction | 2023-09-22 | low — document could not be opened |
| Victorian Royal Commission position in 2016 | recommended against a stand-alone offence | low — report not opened |
| NT commencement date of its 2023 Act | 2024-03-25 | low — page could not be opened |
| Intimate partner homicide frequency, 2024-25 | one woman about every 11 days · one man about every 26 days | low — page could not be opened |
Why is it still unsolved?
Coordination failure — every jurisdiction can act, none has to act on the same terms or at the same time, and no opened source names a body that sets a common standard.
The offence exists where a parliament has written it and a commencement date has arrived. Each of those two steps is taken separately in eight places, so the national picture changes one jurisdiction at a time and in no fixed order. Between the first commencement in NSW and any date when all eight have the offence in force, the legal status of the same conduct depends on location.
The differences are not only in timing. Queensland covers family members and unpaid carers as well as partners, South Australia covers current and former partners, and Victoria covers intimate partners. Maximum penalties among the enacted laws range from 7 to 14 years. Even when every jurisdiction has an offence, people who move or whose relationships cross a border may meet different definitions.
Some of the variation is deliberate. The Northern Territory and Western Australia chose civil routes on stated grounds, and secondary summaries report that a Victorian Royal Commission advised against a criminal offence in 2016 on grounds of wrongful prosecution risk. A coordination failure here does not mean that one answer has been ignored; it means that no shared process exists to reach one answer or to decide that different answers are acceptable.
What observation would mean it is solved?
Candidates — (a) a stand-alone offence in force in all eight jurisdictions, or a stated national decision that civil routes are an accepted alternative (b) common or explicitly reconciled definitions of whom the offence covers (c) published reported-to-finalised data from every jurisdiction where the offence is in force.
(a) alone is incomplete. Eight offences with different scope and penalties can all be in force while the same conduct is still treated differently across a border.
(b) alone is paper. Matching definitions say nothing about whether reports become proceedings. NSW shows that an offence can be in force for two years with 10 of 42 proceedings finalised.
(c) alone measures volume, not reach. Conversion data exists only where the offence exists, so it cannot show what happens to people in jurisdictions without one. The three have to be read together.
What is it connected to?
| Connection | Relation | Grade |
|---|---|---|
au-family-violence-recommendation-implementation-gap | That dossier asks whether inquiry recommendations were carried out · this one asks whether the laws that were passed are in force, and where | Corpus document, same jurisdiction |
au-minimum-age-criminal-responsibility-patchwork | Same structure of state-by-state criminal law with no common standard, applied to a different legal question | Corpus document, same jurisdiction |
kr-intimate-partner-violence-legal-gap | Gap in Korean law defined by the kind of relationship covered, rather than by whether the pattern of conduct is recognised | Corpus document, different jurisdiction and mechanism |
What these sources do not say
- The wording of the 2023 national principles. The Commonwealth page and its known copy returned HTTP 403 to automated fetching. The description that the principles left criminalisation to each jurisdiction comes from secondary summaries, and no opened source quotes the document itself.
- A federal statement on why no common standard was set. No opened source carries a Commonwealth explanation for leaving the form and timing of the offence to each jurisdiction. Stated positions were found for the Northern Territory, Western Australia and the ACT and are reported above.
- Commencement proclamations for Victoria, South Australia and the ACT. The 2027 date for South Australia is a reported expectation, not a proclamation. The official Victorian bill page carries no commencement date, and no opened source gives one.
- Whether the ACT bill has passed. The committee report was due before 2026-10-04, but no opened source reports a vote.
- Why so few NSW proceedings had been finalised. No opened source evaluates whether the record reflects the difficulty of proving the offence, police training, victim participation, or ordinary court time.
- How the Queensland figures fit together. The opened report gives 149 reports and 53 charges, and splits outcomes as 40 resolved, 70 unresolved and 39 withdrawn, with a further 17 found unsubstantiated. It does not explain how the 17 relate to the 149.
- Whether the absence of a stand-alone offence leaves people less protected. No opened source compares outcomes under existing laws in WA, the NT or Tasmania with outcomes under a stand-alone offence.
- How common coercive control is. No opened source gives a national prevalence figure. Secondary summaries report that the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare lists it as a key information gap, but that page could not be opened.
- The NSW maximum penalty and scope. The opened NSW pages used here give the commencement date and the monitoring counts, not the penalty or the relationships covered.
See the evidence
| Item | Source | Confirmation |
|---|---|---|
| NSW coercive control reports, proceedings and finalised outcomes, 2024-07-01 to 2026-06-30 · victim and offender sex shares | NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research, coercive control monitoring report June 2026 | 2026-10-04 |
| NSW offence commencement 2024-07-01 · 97 percent of intimate partner domestic violence homicides preceded by coercive and controlling behaviour | NSW Government, coercive control law page | 2026-10-04 |
| Queensland commencement 2025-05-26 · section 334C · maximum 14 years · persons covered | Queensland Government, coercive control laws page | 2026-10-04 |
| Queensland first five months, 2025-05-26 to 2025-10-26 · 149 reports · 53 charges · outcome split | ABC News (2025-11-28) | 2026-10-04 |
| Victorian bill passage and assent 2026-09-22 · Act 41 of 2026 · no commencement date shown | Victorian Legislation, bill page | 2026-10-04 |
| SA passage 2025-09-04 · assent 2025-09-11 · maximum 7 years · commencement expected 2027 | Catherine House, citing the SA Attorney-General (2025-10) | 2026-10-04 |
| Victorian offence maximum 10 years · intimate partners · bill introduced 2026-08-11 | Media release of a Victorian member of parliament | 2026-10-04 |
| WA staged approach · Restraining Orders Act 1997 amendment · no stand-alone offence date | WA Government announcement (2023-11) | 2026-10-04 |
| Victorian Royal Commission 2016 position against a stand-alone offence | Royal Commission into Family Violence, summary and recommendations | URL not confirmed: the report itself was not opened and the position is taken from secondary summaries |
| NT design placing coercive control in civil law and excluding a stand-alone offence · advisory body response | ABC News (2023-10-25) | 2026-10-04 |
| NT commencement 2024-03-25 | NT Attorney-General and Justice, law reform page | URL not confirmed: automated fetch returned HTTP 403 |
| Tasmania 2026 amendments to the Family Violence Act 2004 · no stand-alone offence | ABC News (2026-10-02) | 2026-10-04 |
| ACT bill tabled 2026-05-28 · maximum 7 years proposed · two years or more to commencement | ABC News (2026-05-28) | 2026-10-04 |
| ACT committee hearing 2026-08-20 · report due 2026-09-11 | ACT Legislative Assembly, Standing Committee on Legal Affairs inquiry page | URL not confirmed: automated fetch returned HTTP 403 |
| National principles of 2023-09-22 leaving criminalisation to each jurisdiction | Attorney-General's Department, National Principles to Address Coercive Control | URL not confirmed: automated fetch returned HTTP 403 and the wording was not seen |
| Resident population by state and territory and national total, as of 2025-09-30 | Australian Bureau of Statistics, National, state and territory population, September 2025 | 2026-10-04 |
| Intimate partner homicide frequency, 2024-25 | Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, domestic homicide page | URL not confirmed: automated fetch returned HTTP 403 |
| Coercive control prevalence listed as a key information gap | Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, key information gaps page | URL not confirmed: automated fetch returned HTTP 403 |
What was opened and what was not. The three government pages for NSW, Queensland and Victoria, the NSW monitoring report and the ABS release were opened directly and carry the commencement dates, the assent date, the enforcement counts and the population figures. The positions of the other jurisdictions come from a WA government announcement, public broadcaster reports and a support service summary. The national principles, the 2016 Royal Commission report, the NT commencement page, the ACT committee page and two national data pages could not be opened; those rows keep their place with the URL left blank. This is a Path A output (research-based definition), so observation_refs is empty and provenance_mode: press-derived.
This table holds 18 evidence rows, 12 of which carry a source you can open · 9 distinct sources. How this table is made
People affected
Estimated range 3,903,900–13,402,600 As of population 2025-09-30; legal status 2026-10-04
Derivation chain
| Term | Value | Source | Assumption |
|---|---|---|---|
| Residents of Western Australia, the Northern Territory and Tasmania (2025-09-30) | 3,903,900 | Australian Bureau of Statistics, National, state and territory population, September 2025: WA 3,061,700 + NT 265,500 + TAS 576,700 | Jurisdictions where no stand-alone coercive control offence has been enacted or proposed as such as of 2026-10-04. This term alone is the low end. |
| Residents of Victoria, South Australia and the Australian Capital Territory (2025-09-30) | 9,498,700 | Australian Bureau of Statistics, National, state and territory population, September 2025: VIC 7,104,300 + SA 1,908,200 + ACT 486,200 | Jurisdictions where the offence is enacted or proposed but not in force as of 2026-10-04. Added to the first term to give the high end of 13,402,600. |
Sensitivity The figure counts residents living where no stand-alone offence is in force, not people experiencing coercive control; no opened source gives national prevalence, so the number harmed by the gap is not derivable. The width of the range reflects two definitions of the gap, no offence enacted versus no offence in force, not measurement error. The range will narrow as South Australia, Victoria and the ACT commence their laws, on dates not confirmed in opened sources. New South Wales and Queensland held 14,317,100 residents; together with the high end this is 27,719,700, and the remaining 5,044 of the national total of 27,724,744 are residents of other territories not assigned to either side.
Regional breakdown The chain terms are already sums of measured state and territory populations; no further sub-state breakdown is meaningful because criminal law applies at state and territory level.
What is missing 1
Grouped by how it gets filled, not by block number — that axis is the only one that tells a reader what can be done next.
- SectionWhat is the state now, and what should it be?
the target state: no opened source sets a national target for whether, when or in what common form the offence should exist across Australia. Secondary summaries report that the national principles issued by the Commonwealth Attorney-General in 2023 left criminalisation to each jurisdiction, but that document could not be opened, so its wording is not used here as a target.
Needs a new measurement
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
Comments
The comment was empty, so nothing was posted.
The comment exceeded the limit, so nothing was posted. We do not truncate and save.
You just posted a comment. Please try again in a moment.
The target comment could not be found, so nothing was posted.
You must be signed in to comment.
You have already reported this comment. Each person counts once — to withdraw it, use Cancel report under Reports you filed on the notifications page.
This report has already been reviewed. A judged report cannot be filed again or withdrawn.
No reason was chosen, or Other was picked without a note, so the report was not filed.
You cannot report your own comment or your own profile. Use Delete to take down your own comment.
Report received. Once 3 different people report it, the comment is hidden until review finishes — the outcome appears on your notifications page.
Voting and commenting require you to be signed in. Sign in from the account page
No comments yet.